(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

SQ
To add on, last night the kids were happily flinging the stones at each other! And at the TV! End up I must yell at them to stop. Wahahaha.

Autum,
bonus as in after 2 years? or after 1 year?
or during CNY ? as bonus?

I wanna lump together ba, leceh to split. bonus plus angpow together.

we buying a cake for tonight .

Autum,
bonus as in after 2 years? or after 1 year?
or during CNY ? as bonus?

I wanna lump together ba, leceh to split. bonus plus angpow together.

we buying a cake for tonight .

QQ: distance not exactly counted as a phase eligibility. So this means, If you are PV within 1KM, u will be at Phase 2B and u have priority over the PV more than 1KM (i.e. preference given to children staying nearer to the school)
If you are not PV or anything else, u will go to Phase 2C. but again u have priority with the rest in the group cos u are less than 1km. understand.

CK: All the best. take care and ask your mum to be strong.

SQ: We usually don't put the water bottles into the bag. When we're out with just anna and ayden, usually we won't bring any bag..

QQ: We take the easy way out. I think buying a present has so much more meaning.. But then go to crack the head at what to buy.. So we give ang bao too..
And I don't differentiate between BD, Christmas or CNY.. Just give $50.. For birthday, we'll buy a cake and gather round to sing her a song too..

AAA, SQ, i always da bao xiao bao when we go out, a sense of security that everything is inside. haha! star saw before. and i am not so organised in this.. haha!!!

Star, oh! i get what u mean.
if i am the volunteer, i think surely can get into innova liao, cause better chance sia...

AAA, noted. thanks.
cause last few years we give bonus to mimi during cny. it was like a bonus from a job like that. so thinking dunno maid got such system or not. haha!!!

Edited version..

QQ: At all phases, there is priority given to those within 1km and 2km. So say at phase 2C, there are 20 vacancies and 30 applicants.
The applicants' distance from school is as follow:

15 applicants - within 1km
3 applicants - between 1-2km
12 applicants - outside 2km

All 15 applicants (within 1km) will get in at this phase.
There are 5 more vacancies, so the next 3 applicants (those from 1-2km) will get in at this phase.
Then the 12 applicants (those who stay outside 2km) will ballot for the remaining 2 vacancies..

So the distance does play a part..

QQ, i also another one with 大包小包.
I usu will get them cupcake for them to enjoy only. Let them call home using house phone as a bonus. No ang paw for bday. But will give for CNY usu $8-10 and they usu also have a share when the relatives give the kids. So they are also happiest during CNY.

QQ: I'll place a "just-in-case" bag in the car.. We don't carry it around with us. But as and when we need it, we'll go to the car to take it.

My just-in-case bag has 1 ayden's pull-up and 1 set of his clothings. Anna has no just-in-case.. Hahah..

But you have ah will leh.. Sure will need to pack a bit more lah.

I asked the teacher how is ayden doing again today. Cos maybe I need to get an affirmation I didn't hear the wrong things previously.. And she said 很乖, 很独立. kwakwa.. Looks like he's settling down well then..

QQ: i think all u need is 1 big bag and dump everything in it. I cannot handle multiple bags sure will loose sumthing lah or one of the bags lah. i think u need a luggage trolley.. hahaha.
My hb will nag if i carry too many bags so its alwasy compact and 1 bag for us if possible.

ck,
Sometimes cancer cells multiply very fast, never know when it start. Don't blame yourself, just try to make your mum comfortable. Hope your mum recover well, so far breast cancer survival or success rate is quite high compare to the other cancer.

QQ,
Needs lots of luck for balloting. If choose medium popular sch, then most pro will get in as within 1km.
For phase 2c, if left 100 places, 120 applied. If all 120 within 1km, then all need to ballot. If 100 within 1km and 20 out of 1km, then all the 1km get in the others out of 1km not chance. If 80 within 1km, and 40 1-2km, then 80 within 1km no need to ballot and only the 40 need to ballot for 20 seats left.
Tian is citizen easier, as citizen have 2 ballots places, PR only 1.

But how does the school decide how many places to allocate for each phase?
Such tt they set a 'reasonable' number so we parents dun hv to ballot like crazy?

huingee, ok thanks..
now i understand. so i assume that given current situation, i dun need to go PV le. maybe yisi yisi ask jay to register, later dun work also can go in de.

maybe we work half half, slightly priviledge. we are so lazy.

star, we also have in case bag. and oh oh, i always have big bags de. many bags. cause i dunnohow to pack.
u are scaring everyone, trolley bag>??

CK, it is good to be back with your mum now. dun blame yourself la. just look ahead!! ok?

giolyn, next time if we go out together, u must see me da da bao and a bit of xiao bao.. haha!!! i dun think u can outfight me. jay buey tahan me, always.
i also big pack small pack when i go work. haha!

Mist
U asked if it made a diff gg to my JC? Yes n no. No bcos i still grad w a uni deg that i wan. Yes bcos i realised it opened many doors of opportunity. I hv pple who told me it s nt the results but the values that were taught in school. That was during my time. Astro n QQ hv met students with an attitude.
Hvg said all these, the best times i had in school was nt in GBW, but in uni.

SQ: The school first decides on how many P1 classes they ll have for that year. From there, they fill applications in priority starting from phase 1 - those with siblings studying in that school, then to 2A1 and 2A2. After 2A2, the number of vacancies will be divided equally between 2B and 2C. Any remaining vacancies from 2B will be carry forward to the next phase, and so forth until all the vacancies are filled.

Within each phase, priority is given also to those who stay within 1km, and those who stay between 1-2km.

Except for phase 1, the school won t know how many vacancies there are until it has received all applications from the prior phase.

QQ: hey to qualify for PV u need to fulfill the mandaotory required hrs. u can't just register as PV and do only half. cos if u cannot complete, school won;t formally certify u as a PV and u will go to phase 2C same as the rest. if u decided to work half only, might as well dun try cos it ur effort will be wasted lah.

QQ: too add on, staying within 1km gives u the added advantage when u are competing with the rest in your eligibility phases for the places.

AAA: i think some schools something may add additional classes in certain yrs right?

Star: Sure. Besides the projected demand (based on birth rates?) decisions on the number of P1 classes will be based on the resources that school has ie are there enough empty classrooms? are there enough teachers? etc etc..

Joelle: I have friends who know friends who do that..
Their reason is cos NY's teaching is purely in Chinese (but that's not true, in K1 and K2, there'll be eng lessons), and they're afraid the childrens' English will be affected.
Hmm.. Maybe I can go and scout out the PCF at the farrer void deck.. I didn't know there's one.. Wahahah!!!

QQ: pls lah, ur bag where got big. actually i remembered u and SQ luggage load was a lot when we went to Pulai Spring.. hahaha.
try and pack as compact as u can lah.

AAA very interesting articles. i didn;t know one can attend 2 diff kindergarten!
as for the BM, does this mean we need to start weaning at 4 mths?

Star
Since we drove to pulai springs, I din bother to pack
Jus put everything in e Car
Haha

Aaa
Understood
Tks for Explaining
I m so slow, Nw then ask
I always Siam tis topic when u al were discussing last time
Cos it's Nt my fav topic
Haha

Star: The article is slanted towards introducing solids to babies from 4 months on in developed countries..

SQ: No prob.. I've to recap this phase thing many times. After comprehending it fully each time, I'll forget it after some time. I said before, I don't understand why the phases don't follow simple numbering 1, 2, 3, 4 and so forth.. Why do 2A1, 2A2, 2B and 2C, then 2C sup unless the purpose is to create confusion? It makes the whole system difficult to understand and remember. :p

Haha SQ i agree they are disguising the phases so tat when u first see, u prob just think there are only 3 phases.

SQ i think i am mad cos this sch talk seems to be my fav topic. Haha cos i started talking abt this with AAA way back when our kids was not even 1. And i think this subject came up at least 2-3 times since then n most time no serious participation from the rest exp maybe AAA but now its really starting to generate a good/lengthy discussion. Hehehehe

AAA
rmbr we were talking abt makeup remover? last week, when I was on course at HQ, i went down to PS during lunch. i popped in at the Face Shop and bought "Brightening Rice Water Cleansing Rich Oil". it works very well, can remove eye makeup & mascara w/o too much rubbing too! RRP $26.90. i can get at $17 fr a blogshop..

i actually bought quite a few pdts fr the Face Shop. think i'm hooked! esp when i can get at cheaper prices. :p

QQ,

Have transferred you the money, sorry to take so long. Transaction no. 6465277712

Besides Mich, anybody else I should be paying?

Autum
can u help me buy the little flowers n beads & mail to me? i went ard Tg Pagar, Clementi & cannot find it..

star, faint.
i told jay about PV. then he said dun bother to do PV la. so sian.

sil was there too. so we were thinking if we can take 40 hours, diff ppl to lock in the hours instead of parents., is that feasible?
sil can take 5-10 hours, then mil can be traffic police (sil said one) cause she likes to do that. haha!!! then jay and me go join excursion for 1-2 trips can le. hjahahah!!!!

sot liao we all.

our plan is, no PV also can de. after all, if really cannot get in, then just let them throw us to any school. probably siling (hope la) got vacancies.

i still told jay can register to be PV first. cause can consider if we want to do or not after that. he said he dun want le.

Wah, I see all e discussion on sch, I also see stars. Lucky I saw e registration phase, at least I think for Xavier, shd be phase 2a, so dun need to do volunteer?

QQ: wah cannot so many ppl, i think the rule is only the aprents can volunteer, SIl, grandparents cannot. some schools limit to only the dad or mum. some schools allowed to shared between the Hb and wife. so must check with school.
And not all school is 40hrs leh. some cna be up to 80hrs. I think if its so easy, many ppl would have done it or sign up for it already.
It seems like u can do PV for more than 1 school but during registration time, only can reg at 1 school.

ya where is astro, wanna know if teng need to go to K1.

giolyn, ladysol was asking me for HK itineary too. i dun have a itineary at all.. hahah just go and decide on the spot what i want to do. I have been to HK a few times.. so we don;t draft out itineary anymore. and this time, i was preggy too, so we miss a lot of places like ocean park, peak etc. I only went to disneyland for 2 days. The rest we spent at mong kok. sorry leh. not sure if edde has a better itneary to share.

one place not to be missed, the Ngong PIng 360 cable car to Lantau island. go in the morning and u can spend half a day there at lantau at the big buddha, after that have vegetarian lunch and in the late afternoon take the cable car back adn go to citygate for shopping. This is usually the 1 itineary i recommend. the rest, up to you where u would like to explore.

star, thanks i was planning to do that. Wanna ask if to stay in disneyland it will be best to stay on teh second last day rite so that after that can check out and go airport rite?

SQ: They think too lowly of us then.. :p

Star: Yah, I remember we were talking about this way before.. And we're still talking abt this.. I know this topic will come up again..

Pax: I'm using Fancl Cleansing Oil. I don't buy often, but each time I buy, I stock up! *faints* Remember my Hokkaido trip? I must have bought back 10 twin packs or so.. Anyway, I've just finished using those and am using the ones I stocked up when I went HK with my girlfriends.. I will never run out of cleansing oil.. Hahha..

What other Face Shop product is good? Hey, I ordered the Skinfood Wash off Rice Mask, it's Good..
Try it..

Ok, this morning I confirm my meimei calls me mama ler.. And she also knows how to say "mum mum" when she wants to eat something we're eating.. She's also saying "chae chae" and "a-ti"..
And she wants to write!

pax,
aiya you don't say earlier, i went to serangoon central yesterday. dunno when will I go again leh.. could be next week.. then i rushing work also.. so i can't promise you. Sorry ah. Actually buying is not the problem, it's going to the post office! Cos I can buy during sundays or late night but I don't go to post office. :p Anyway, If I happen to go there I sms u!

QQ,
don't think that PV can be shared by so many different people. at most parents bah. if both you and Jay don't feel it's necessary, then don't do bah.

germaine, i think u can choose to stay either when u arrive or when you leave. both ways also can. cos its near to airport, so better to make this as a start of your trip or at the end.

AAA: fancl cheaper in HK? aiya i should have bought there.
how much are they selling in japan?

AAA: i also stock up on cleansing oil but AAA beats me hands down. i stocked up 3 bottles of the Kose cleaning oil and 6 bottles of the biore one. wanna try the fancl one now.
maybe i should ask Pax

pax, cheaper to get from blogshop?