(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

i juz rec'd some clothes bot fr gmarket too
colig intro this site to me

AAA,
where were you when we discussed this site the other time? hehe.

The only thing I don't like is the long long scrolling to see the items.

QQ
but if dun feed bb milk then the poor boy hungry will cry wat .. no? then defeats the purpose of sleeping thru?

mist
ya exactly wat i meant so ur mil should NOT use to brush her comb w the brush.

star
yep UNsupervised. I dun hv anyone to watch over..anyway we thought we worry too much also no use unless i quit which is impossible.

belle: if u keep feeding milk when they wake up, u r encouraging them to have this habit leh. So by giving water, once they learn there will not be milk, they will drink more and learn to sleep though.

Do u install cam to watch your maid when you are not around? what time does pete get home?

mummies, I feel a sense of relief. I just learnt from my maid agency, that my previous maid will be going home tomorrow! Yipee! I am happy for her also la, that her family managed to pay off and she can go home.. and my liability for her is over too coz work permit is cancelled yesterday. At least now I don't have to worry about her anymore.

star
oic.. i din know there's this method. Chloe's time i still feed milk b4 i zz, she dun wake up in the mid of the nite to cry or drink milk. I tot by not giving bb milk, they are goin to cry worse.

hv tot of installing but never get to do so. pete comes hm abt same time as me, stimes 9+

belle: yes you are training them to drink enuff before they sleep. if they dun drink enuff, they will wake up. and once they learn they won;t get milk in the middle of the nite, hopefully they will drink more at the last feed before bed.

SQ/Pink: the Singapore Toys Games and COmic Convention is happening this weekend. Get your tickets early to enjoy early bird special. I am heading down on sat.

Pink, Germaine, Ash, Starfruit, RR: Wha now than I know so many mummies shopped from that link? Heheh..

Star, Belle: Yes, I've read that giving babies milk when they wake up at night is encouraging them to wake up for milk. However, I don't think it applied to all babies though. Anna was ok, Ayden took longer, and meimei needs her milk, else she'll cry the whole house down. :p When we gave water, she could finish the whole 260ml bottle and that was still not enough. My maid gave her milk and we discovered once she had her fill, she will guai guai go back to sleep.

Hey, I found a good place for our gathering next time. IKEA! No mrt but I think there's a complementary bus service which ferries people from the nearby mrts? (Need to confirm with mums who don't drive though..)
The canteen sells quite decent food.
Just brought Anna there for the meat balls. There's a Christmas set (with turkey) now too.

yo... come in for a peep.

autum! what a big relief! cause she is problematic la. like a bomb cause i still remember her etopic pregn incident. haha~

AAA, i tried and tried and concluded that ah will wake up for fun oni. so i dare to feed water now
i let him drink 20ml water, he sleeps for 2-3 hours. let him drink 80ml milk, 100ml, also 203 hours wake up. day time refuse to drink milk somemore. so i decided to give it a try, i might fail though. but if i dun try, he wont want to drink milk in the day then night time come kacau me.

now 12am if he wakes up, i feed milk. after tat no more... water until 6am or later.
his drinking pattern v jialat. each time 80-100ml, or less. every 3-4 hours. so a bit low.
but i see him a bit bui bui then i tried lor.
i hope i dun bring him any torture.

blur, i am desperate la. i need to sleep.

QQ: last time water in middle of nite dun work for A. by the 3rd day of water, he took 1 sip and start crying liao. so bo bian, carry on w milk till he sleeps thru on his own. tt time we were really tired!

AAA,
ya, Ikea is good for gatherings cos the kids can be "deposit" at the play area.

The Tampines Ikea is even better, free parking but not as accessible as the Alexandra one.

QQ,
I also think the feed water method work for some kids only. It didn't work for Reyden. He'll scream the whole house down if we give him water instead of milk in the middle of night. And he only slept thru after 18mths. :S

Ah will don't take pacifier? For Reyes, we just gave her paci and she slept thru at 2-3mths.

Ash,
ya, you can "deposit" the kid there and go walk around or eat but only for an hr. No adult inside.

RR, no pacifier for ah will woh.
oh no. i also afraid my plan fails. haha!! seehow bah

ash also cannot ah. i try and see. if really cannot then i give milk bah. no choice.

QQ: ah will is getting enuff lah, look at his size, he is like a mini sumo wrestler.. so cute.

AAA: were u at Ikea for lunch> i was there this afternoon.. had pasta, chix wings, meatballs and fries.. hahaha.. my colleague had the xmas set, she say the chix is very dry.

RR: Thats true. We can deposit the kids and be kids-free for at least 1 hour. Haha!! So when is the next gathering? Its very crowded when I was there this afternoon. Very surprised!

Ash: Yah, don't have to buy anything. Hehe..

Star: I was there for tea cos I wanted to avoid the lunch crowd. But it was still very crowded when I arrived at abt 2 plus. I like their meat balls. Rather, I like the sauce and the cranberry jam, I always asked for more.
The chicken is tough? How abt the turkey? I would like to try that next time.

Ecmom: I've placed the orders. My discount is only 25%, not so big deal lah.

QQ,

Yar, it worked for me. But then of course, YT forever low milk intake one mah. I close one eye lar. Oh and she started solids close to the end of the 4th month cuz she hates milk. I 'talk' to her too. I told her mummy needs to work and cannot take it if she wakes in the middle of the night. So I think after about 1 week of water feeding, she slept from 12 am to 5 or 6am, can't remember liao but around there.

I just found out 2 of my friends are expecting their #3! And like me, they each have 1G and 1B. Hmm.. I really think the govt's plan is slowly taking effect on people..

Hey, talking abt sleeping through the night., rather the not sleeping through the night.. Ayden is still not consistently sleeping through yet. *sighz* I wonder what's wrong. He doesnt wake up for milk, not even water. He's dropped that habit for a long time. The difficult thing abt him waking up is that he will continually wake up a few times the same night, at intervals of maybe half an hour and it can be as many as 5 to 6 times per night? It's super disruptive!

AAA,

He wake up to do what? He cries when he wakes then go back to sleep? Maybe overstimulated before sleeping. Wind him down before night time and don't let him play too hard after 7pm.

Mejo: He wakes up, cries "don't want, don't want" most of the time, (not sure if the waking up or the crying comes first though), and he'll sometimes kick his legs while still lying in bed. Even if he doesn't cry out, he'll go eh, eh, eh", it's as if he's having a nightmare.. Then he'll want to come sleep with my hubby. And equaly tiring, no matter how many times and how disruptive a sleep he's had for the night, he'll wake up at abt 6am (sometimes earlier) and will demand to go downstairs. And he'll scream if we tell him to wait a while, or to sleep longer.

In fact, he cries whenever the answer we give him is negative, regardless of what his request is.

He'e a super high maintenance child. :p

AAA,

Sounds like over-stimulation to me. Try giving him a wind-down routine and reduce morning naps bah. YT will also talk and scream in her sleep at night if we go out till too late or she played computer games or iphone at night.

Mejo: If she goes back to sleep on her own without being any more disruptive to the adults, then it's really ok. I'll trade that in without hesitation with what ayden is exhibiting now.

Mejo: I dont think hes being over stimulated though. Cos this has been his habit for a long time, whatever he does before sleeping. Each time there's a period (a few days at most) where he only wakes up once and goes back to sleep on his own, we tell ourselves the worst is going to be over soon, but his disruptive self comes back again without fail.

To the extent sometimes I ask if he's just being naughty. Cos when I really buay tahan him, I'll threaten with the cane. Should I use the cane in such an incidence?

AAA,

Hmm, I dunno cuz YT sleeps beside me every night anyway. Probably she will disturb us if I'm not sleeping beside her. She will wake up, touch us to see if we are still there and then go back to sleep. Sometimes she will even feel around our faces to check that it is the right person beside her. :p

AAA,

I don't think he is being notti per se but that is his natural sleep wake cycle. He is probably a light sleeper. But I still suggest you try a wind-down routine. Like shower him, let him do some quiet activities and then read him a book before he sleep. Last time I will also give YT a massage after shower too. It seem to help.

Mejo: He's on full-day cc. I go bring him back at abt 6pm, then he'll have his dinner, and then he'll take a shower. Hubby will be back and we'll all be in the family room. These days, the winding down is playing on the iphone for anna and ayden while meimei walks abt. Before we had the iphones, we'll sometimes let them listen to children songs on utubes. Then the maids will bring their milk at ard 7:50 - 8pm, they'll drink their milk, brush their teeth, and lights out.. This has been the routine since forever. There's no change.. So why liddat?

AAA,
Ayden sleep together in the same room as you? Quite tiring if he wakes up a few times per night. Is he insecure? Give him a soft toy, tells him no need to be afraid. The teddy bear will sleep together will him and mummy, daddy around too.

HN: Yah. The 2As have been sleeping with us for some time, before meimei's arrival. I feel he's insecure too, and it's prob the reason he comes over to sleep with papa when he wakes up. I'll try the teddy bear method, altho he has no habit of hugging even his bolster. He doesn't even like his blanket sometimes.

Ecmom: The code can only be used once. If it can be reused, I would have used QQ's 40% code lo..
But I've forwarded the email to your HJ04 email account. You try.

QQ
ya think i will just stick to the current arrangement for ethan.. it's still manageable w his waking routine i kia si, scared he lose wgt. He dun seem to gain wgt fast le.. i tot 4 mths he is fatter.. i think he is small size for a boy

Ikea for outing? good good.. if got tampines outing call me! in fact i went alone today to get some frames saw bryan ong & michelle chia .. i love ikea chicken wings.

mummies with kids goin to ccc...
i received some info on chloe's comm book..next yr n2 has speech n drama & abacus.. total $90 more per mth added on to sch fees...haiz.. pondering over to let her or not. any mummies think speech & drama n abacus is a must? or should i opt just either one hmmmm...

ecmom: US is one day behind us. I just got the email yesterday and placed the orders this afternoon. In any case, it can't be re-used, so it's a moot point.

Going for supper.. Back to yak and order SB stuff later..
Hehehe..

Belle,
it's optional, right? You can try out for a term and see if Chloe likes. RR tried out music and speech & drama for this year and both prefer the music so will probably continue with that for next year. It's $160 per term (3 mths) for each enrichment so quite the same bah.

RR
yes it's optional. Yeah charges i guess is abt the same. Does RR's sch hv separate phonics classes?

Ecmom
I prefer s&d too though if chloe can go both would be good exposing her in various areas to see what suits or interests her.

Belle,
I think phonics is in the curriculum, not separate.
I also thought s&d is better but it will depend on who is taking on the course. I don't quite like this s&d centre & the teacher. So you have to see if her school outsource to a good one.