(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

joelle
u got good memory, i cant rem wats my score, only know the 3as &amp; 1 a* cant get me into st nic :p then i went to anderson ss, but again not enuff to go to anderson jc. <- edde u were from AJC right?

Wah, you all have such good PSLE grades! Haha. I din even bother about picking a secondary school that time cuz Ahmad Ibrahim was like across the street from my house. In any case, my grades aren't good enough to get me into an elite school. :p

Hmm, hb as an educator believe that good schools are better because less disciplinary problems and teachers can concentrate on teaching. On the other hand, I had been in not so good school, my primary school was one of the worst in the neighbourhood, and while fighting are quite common (even i had fought with guys!), but still I think it was quite alright. I don't really like schools/teachers that are too grades oriented. My chem teacher in secondary school who obtained 100% distinctions year after year made me hate chemistry. on the other hand, I have heard that some of my classmates were inspired by her to become teachers!?!?!? Majorly weird, haha.

Wow blur u hv gd memory ! Ya I was from Ajc..

Mejo my xue mei, the chem tr u referring to is miss shanti!? I love her!! She taught me in sec 3 and 4 from D7 to I think A2!! She is very strict no doubt :p do u remember a Chinese teacher li Lao shi?? And yang Lao shi ms yong?? They inspired me in becoming a chinese tr
I wonder if I hv inspired anyone in my yrs of teaching!!

Autumn, yes typo... :p 2C..

AAA, lavonne can switch provided there is vacancies. There is none so, she is on waiting list. I intend to enrollment in Chongfu Pri. The more popular sch within my area....

Huingee, yup gg for CF. Lavonne cp that the teacher is always on mc. Apparently at least once a wk one of e teacher will b mc. And the kids r merely made to do colouring! Faintz. .... P2 treated like k2s. She in YP. Initially tot Juz go for e most cconvenient sch but Lucius is unlike Lavonne and needs a more 'on e ball' environment. .....

Joelle: You're from NYGS? Does that give your children (err.. future dotter(s)) an advantage getting into that school or even into NYPS?

I'm now re-thinking my strategy... Of course if the children are smart and enjoy studying, going to a demanding school will bode well.. If they're less inclined, then there's no point making their lives miserable. And if they go to a less on the ball school when they excel if they're challenged, then how? Having said this, we won't know their calibre until they're in school itself right? Hmm...

Thinking of FF now.. Wahahhaa.. .

Linda, my nephew was in chingfu too.. P2, my SIL also say no good, now he trf liao, this yr started a new school in sembawang. I wonder if my nephew and lavonne at classmates.

AAA: actually u dun have to worry about sec school.. if anna's results is good at olevels, she can enroll in any school.

Huignee: what u mean no mroe Olevels? no need to take O level liao?

Belle/AAA: thats where affliated sec school comes in useful.. i had only 4As i think, and i got into CHIJ sec cos was from primary mah. Belle in your case, a large number of vacacy already taken by the st ni8c pri school girls, thus those few seats left they will only accpt ppl with very good results.

edde: i think i every remember ur fighting incident in school.. did u mentioned in here the last time. i also remember u had a student who parents wanted to sue or something isit?

Linda: Technically speaking, vacancies will be hard to come by in CF unless another student transfers to another school (sch B) right? And in turn, some other student in school B transferred away to sch C. And so forth.. Correct?

Star: Honestly, there's a part of me which desires the children to mix around with the "right" company. This is purely for vanity reasons I must admit.. Anyway, I was thinking over it last night..
Is it better to be one of the top students in an average school or just one of the average students in a top school??
I think the former is good for the child's morale, while the latter is good for the parent's face.. :p

AAA: i think its always better for yoru child to be a top student in an average school, this will do a lot to boost the child's confidence and i feel that they end up achieving and do more later in life. But then again, they friendships they develop in pri and sec schools may be very good conbtacts for them in future. I sound like such an "ambitious" parent.. heheh.
anyway, i think there are no "right" or "wrong" crowd, cos the students in the elite schools may not be any better than the ones in the average neighbourhood schools. u know what i mean.

Morning.

Sch talk again... Scare mi off... I don dare to think. Don noe how to plan. I feel it is a tough task for mi.

My thinking is this way.
If a child going to a normal sch. He/she can always be top student every yr. He/she will have the interest of learning n can concentrate in sch.

If going to a top sch. (Base on a friend son.) i casually asked him.
Mi: ah boy, how is ur new sch?
Ah boy: no good.
Mi : y?
Ah boy: becos i can get full marks in ****(a tuition centre he started from young). . but i nv realise when i go primary sch, i have onli just pass for my maths. Eng, chi got band 1. maths made mi feel so sad.
Mi: don worry. work harder. Sure u will win ur classmate.

After this talk to my friend son. I was so scare. Didn noe their feeling can be so drama. One thing to worry is tt he will lost interest. Den jia lat.

But if a child feels boring in normal sch. I have seen some other kids telling mi tt the sch teach rubbish. In the sense, they already noe wad is tt. Yet teacher is teaching the stuff she already noe. But she is not able to go to a better pri sch until sec sch, when she score so high for psle.

Yvonne: u r very right, sometimes, if a child do well, it will motivate them and they will continue to be interested in study. If they consistently can't perform as well as their classmates, soon they will loose interest.

Let me give you another pespective, i have a fren who enrolled her ger in PCF kindy, the child was very smart and teacher say the environment is not doing good for her and asked my fren to transfer her out to another school cos the school is no longer challenging enough for her. always two side, no right ot wrong/

Star, Yvonne: Ya, agree it's tricky, and there's no way to find out what's right or wrong, cos we can't undo the effects and start from zero again. And the most ironic thing is.. After all the efforts, doing well academically doesn't mean the child will do well, or be happy in life. Hahaha!!

On a happier note, my meimei is 6mths old today. Which means, I've bf-ed for 6mths liao. Heheh.. To think I wanted to stop at 3mths.. Not bad.. *give myself a pat and a thumbs up sign*

She's taking her cereals now (7 spoonsful, dunno if she can finish it), will take some pics of her later for scrapping..

Mejo,
my situation was so similar to yours! I was in one of the worst pri school but I wasn't a good student anyway. I fought with the boys till the teacher had to call my mum in. And I was stripped off as a prefect cos I argued with the discipline mistress at Pri 6. :p

I went into a relatively ok sec sch, discipline was good but grades-oriented too. They had 100% passes for chem for many years too and I was so pissed when the teacher "advised" me to drop it. I purposely didn't declare my colour blindness condition, flunked chem, got an E8. So I was a "record breaker" in that sense. Wahahaha! :p

edde,

Yes, referring to the same. She is BEYOND strict, her methods would have this generation of parents up in arms. My good friend, who is an extremely guai girl hid in the toilet to avoid her lessons! For the first three months in her class, my blood pressure shot up every time she walked into class. She is very demanding of us. She has said as much that when she graduate,she didn't know there are other jobs out there besides being a teacher and she wanted to excel in her work, so for her, excelling in her work = good grades. I felt differently. To me, as an educator, excelling in my work means making my students interested in learning. Maybe it is the way I learn. I can't stand high pressure tactics.

Can't remember the chinese teachers in particularly except the last one who is a new one so you probably never met him but he did go to NIE to teach a new generation of chinese teachers. That guy is... weird. He talked about ghosts, heaven and hell in class. Worse, he said that 50 years later, a particular part of SG will sink and ask us better not buy properties there.

Star,
Some sec sch now is 6 years, direct to A level. Can dun take O level. But quite scarly, all the 6 years result depend on the A level results.

Nowadays schooling is different from our time. Parents n kids are diff and have diff expectations. I also quite worry to put my kid in a popular primary school. But i dun have much choice as I dun want my kid to study in the primary school below my block. I dun like the kids and uniform there.

Autum,
My hb is a old boy of PH, hence we can get didn't. Will not think of parent voluteer as no time to do and even if dun might also can't get in if not within 1 or 2km.

RR,

You notti girl! Haha. I actually got very good grades for 'O' levels but then my grades bombed in JC. Haiz. Anyway, I got a feeling that doing well academically has much to do with how determined you are to do well and how far you want to go more than anything else.

Mejo,
ya, I was a very notti gal last time so my mum said I shouldn't complain about Reyden now. hahaha!
Yes, I did pretty well for my O levels too despite my poor grades for PSLE. So I guessed it all depends on the kid, motivation and determination.

Star I mentioned something abt parents sueing somebody?? Hahahh i can't recall that.. Maybe not me? Or my memory failing.. :p

Mejo the tr who tok abt ghost and spore sinking is so funny! I like trs who tell stories in class then I won't fall asleep :p

Linda I was from YP!! During my time which is eons ago, YP is very gd.. I also heard now STD dropped a lot ESP aft the merge.

I won't enroll my kids in top sch and also becoz I dun hv the ability too. I dun like sch which focus just on academic. I agree with mejo on her idea of education. Also worse still when I am such a lazy parent. But I do care a lot abt the envy of the sch and mix of students. I think peers are very impt ESP in pri schs. I dun want my kids to mix with the wrong company from the start tho I know this is beyond my control. As I can just do as much to prevent this. Dats why I prefer to let my gals go to a convent sch if possible.. But then again I heard lesbian cases are high in convents! I hope that is a sweeping statement!! :p

hi morning mummies...

today's topic is on school?
i feel that it dpds a lot on the kids character? some prob will excel better under stressful / competitive conditions, while others may do well only when they can learn at a slower pace? anyway to do enrollment only when they are 3-4 years old, i guess it is always a gamble.

personally i feel that being able to focus well is a very important trait to learning better regardless of the learning condition. so i have been trying to train Mag in that way. Frankly i am quite a lazy SAHM. i know quite a few friends who are SAHM too and they did so much studying and teaching to their kids! i feel so ashamed haha! but anyway, i strongly believe in equipping my girls with the skills to learn instead of just throwing at them the knowledge. hopefully it will bring them somewhere haha =)

AAA: yes its scary cos we as their parents must make this decision forthem now.. *sigh*.
wow 6mths is a good milestone. so are you continuing?

mejo: i burst out laughing at ur talk abuot ghosts, heaven and dunnowhat else chinese teacehr :p

re elite or no elite?
miser and i have been talking about these ALL the time..coz i all hyped up about getting teng on the right track.. he says dun need this or that.. foster on encouraging him.. success drives him more.. today is another day teng went ot shcool happy.. i dunno what i did.. or did he truly grow up? miser said.. it is the music class.. coz that day teng was reading 'crochet.. semi breve'.. off his music book.. i couldn't believe my ears and went delirious and praised him nonstop.. miser said teng felt very encourged by my reaction and starting tuesday (the day he had his music class).. he has been going to school happily..??? hmmm i am not sure if it is true.. then i countered and asked.. but i don't pressurise him at little gym how's that he is hesitent to try? miser said coz teng knows that he can't do it as well as others.. and he can sense me disappointed.. (thought i still cheer him on..).. .so he dun want to try liao..
miser said.. shouldm't worry too much.. be like himself.. never go to good school.. all normal schools.. end up acheiving more than his 'elite' friends..i said. that's him.. not necessarily everyone is like that.. he says yala.. so dun have to plan so much.. ultimately.. it depends on the calibre of teng then i asked.. teng good or not? he said average.. then i said 'so what's ur pt?'.. he said.. 'so go normal school lah. just beside us nia mah.. don't hve to shift lah'..
*fainted*

magsmum: it is because i am an educator.. and i know both sides of the fence. and the realities behind that fence.. so i am more hyped upon making sure teng dun get the short end of the stick.. ha! shd be like miser.. dun think so much. just enrol in that nearby primary schools..

impt question for us to consider.. all the accolades of the school.. acheived by students.. or acheived by teachers?

edde: the crowds at convent school is also not great lah. i can tell u cos i was from a convent school. Pri school still not so bad, worst is secondary! hahah and you are right, lots of cases of lesbianism.. heheh. u should ask autum too, she was from a convent school!// hahaha/

AAA: so cute the photos.. and sophie is huge!!! Ariel likes it?

in myhumble opinion. the only thing we have to teach the child. is to teach them how to love learning.. and the rest gets going by itself

but that is alsothe hardest to acheive.. no?

learn for the sake of learning.. not for the results.. sometimes easier said than done.. look at how grades driven we are? but can we fault anyone on that? Singapore is a meritocracy..
so the poor chap ends up.. 'be good in EVERYTHING..' ops.

astro,
My bro also all along in normal sch. Got best all-rounder in normal sec sch. Then in uni, all his peer is those top sec sch. He said his results are much better than them except english.
Good that Teng likes music, if he dun like gym then dun force him.
For Esther she likes music but she is lazy. So i need to push her to learn. But overall she still enjoy music.

The worst is the primary sch beside you is popular and you can't get in even if in 1km.

Astro
Ur miser hi 5 w my hb again
Jus go nearby sch
He also went nearby school
Top e sch in psle results n went to A Gd sec sch
He has proven no need go gd sch also can do well
Wat can I say?

Aaa
I always enjoy lkg @ ur kids pics, ESP nw w Ariel

SQ: the two of them clones lah wrt to their way of thinking.. :p but there's a difference.. miser didn't go top school coz his ang mo very de bad.. but his maths and science and everything ele power.. me not good in maths. but power in english.. so i still survive :p

SO.. it is not the schools.. the command of English?!
ops.. heh

huingee: i read your post.. see?! see?!
the crux of the issue is English and Maths! not the school!
ha.. bingo! we got it ladies.. focus on maths and english.. no matter what kind of school.. hahaha :p:p

astro

yes u r right that way, talking about the realities. unfortunately, singapore's system is that way. if u want to beat the system, then u better be damn rich in order to do things the "alternative" way? =)

actually the thing i fear most as a mum is my girl coming up to me next time and say " mummy why didn't u do this / that with me? see... ur laziness has caused me to end up in this state..." =(

yeah, i believe language is very impt - either english / chinese. coz if u cant understand it well, u may not be able to comprehend even the simple maths /science questions?

AStro: i want to add, if kids go to good school, foundation of english is really much better.. but then that was last time when most of our parents were not eng enducated. nowadays, most kids have parents like us and even the teachers are all mostly uni grads, so i think neighbourhood schools are not so bad too.

SQ: which school u eyeing, all girls school? so both can enroll in the same school?

Starfruit: Yah lo. We got to decide for them, and they may end up hating us for the decisions. :p

Star, Astro: Yup, she loves her sophie. So I like to think this way.. She likes to bite her legs.. Wahahhaa..

Astro: Re language, it is so impt. More than before since teachers sometimes set math problems based on the children's understanding in English rather than mathematical problem solving. I find this going too far..
I find a healthy dose of peer pressure is good for the child. But then again, they won't be able to control the effects of peer pressure..

SQ: Hey, you haven't posted YE and YH's pics for some time.. I miss them.. Post some pics soon..

AAA
ok thanks for concluding for me.
ah tan and his sisters are all from FF. i just hope that the school is not over-pressurising.
i prefer my kids to go to normal school. if too boring, i'll 'upgrade' her to better school.
is FF considered average school?

and while we are on the topic of creating the most conducive environment .. miser and i had an extension of that topic (also started out from elite school).. to miser.. the best way to learn.. is to fail.. i was like 'huh? so does that mean that you won't stop teng from failing?'.. he nodded his head.. i went 'eh.. put it this way.. even if u know teng is set up for failure.. u wun intervene?'.. he said 'ya. i wun '.. me: even if he is enroute to commit crimes etc and about to be jailed?? miser: i wun.. he has to learn . so be it if he has to learn it in jail'.. i went speechless :S

i know what he saying.. then i asked.. like that you are not a good father.. he says. we can only do as much...i retorted.. how much is 'as much?'.. he said philosophically.. well, noone knows..

wah. sometimes can pull hair talking to miser !

Astro, SQ my hb and yrs are in the same league!! He said if he can excel from neighborhood schs why the need to send kids to gd schs??!!

Star oh no hahahaha! But luckily like u said pri is ok
sec sch is beyond our control I am sure by that time our kids will be more influenced by their frens than us.. And depends on their psle results.. I always tell my students even if they are not academically inclined it's always gd to hv a 一技之长 at least to survive.. Always rem 小时了了 大未必佳 and 行行出状元!let's not think so much 儿孙自有儿孙福! wahahahahah!

Hey, side track ait.

Remember all those sega n nintendo games? super mario n circus charlie? I m so amaze tt i can download to my phone n play... Lol! nick is totally stunt when i show him his fav childhood game, contra, street fighter... Lol!