(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

RR, next time if we all go shopping, can bring reyden along. and he can be our consultant. quite special leh.
i ask jay then sian. anything also nice one. ask tian also cincai fu1 yan3 me.

Autum, $1 per art piece is consider cheap liao. now seldom have things at $1 de. should whack. nevermind. whack next time.

huingee, dylan ok liao?

SQ, i already know how to sing this national ant when i was in uni. i was one of the cheerleaders during NDP. haha!!!
pledge? i just listen and follow nia. cannot memorise one.
converted liao. now officially new citizen. 3 months later go CC and collect IC from MP.

the wat insertion hor? dunno got any harm to my body in long term? maybe will do that? or just use other methods la. anyway not much activity one, wont kena accident de. *shh* we will b busy and tired with our kids.
haha!
my mum and auntie said: wah 2 where got enough? 3 also not enough la. 4 is still not too bad, 5 is the best.
wah!!

sq
ya la...that's y must think on our own b4 we get convinced by sales ppl lo. in my case, it was oso right timing cos i was looking for honey to let seth drink regularly. (read: willing to spend more) then i understand abt the heating part prior to this, so i was happy to try yummihouse. the final straw was when he made me smell the different honey vs the market bought ones... the 'honey' smell which i thot was so b4 is actually the smell of preservatives. so i was immediately put off by that. and agreed to try it lo. only after trying then i feel it's good la...so promote here abit.. heh! :p

astro/sq
i googled the same way as miser! haha... but for this, i easily typed breastfeeding and honey and got this site. usually i will google w keywords then look for answers fr medical sites. :p

kaexin
fr the articles, babies cannot process the raw honey due to their not fully developed digestive system. but once they are bigger then no such prob liao. as for breastfeeding, cos out body would have processed the honey before passing on to the babies, so not a concern too. i read another article that touches on acid killing the spores. the adult acid easily kills the spores while the child's acid may not be 'sour' enough.

SQ, oh yes forgot to tellu.
i heard from a fren before. she has a fren also use many types of methods, still kena accidents. kena accidents until scare.
so i am afraid that i use the method (below arm insertion), then i also kena bb. like that consider 1st accident liao. how?
so use other method better.
haha!!
jay said i can get preg easily, and those methods might not have effect on me. how many times can I afford to have accident? he dun mind #3 though. *scare*

re: half boiled eggs.
there is a 'tutorial' on the ieatishootispost website b4.. apparently egg yolk cooks at above 65 deg. and egg whites lower. so if u want those jap eggs, u gotta boil at a constant 62-65 deg for 45 min!! to get a perfect egg!! for such precise temp, it is easier to use induction stove w temp control. but so long to cook my eggs? i think i can survive on normal ones. :p

QQ
welcome to singaporean-hood! :p the shampoo is here? okie i can arrange to collect fr u n pass u sq's honey then. :D eh..but lnt holiday right? u all still continuing after this?

joelle,
not yet not yet.
i hope shampoo can reach me by tomorrow. or today...
not yet.. mai kancheong.
when here then i beep beep u.

LNT we continuing for another sem. cause we dun want tian to feel left out and big change because of didi's arrival.

Joelle,
U went Genting already? Post pics! I feel like going again but think will wait until EV is bigger.

QQ,
Congrats on being a Singaporean. We should have a party to celebrate that. Party party party! :p

autum, genting ah? wait for me la. nxt year.

haha!
i go orh orh liao. or watch my serial. not yet started my serial today. hee.

My maid is confirmed leaving by end of August. Her aunt has a found a job for her in Macau and she is going to take care of a newborn there. Oh well, her pay will be more than double what she can get here. Plus in HK/Macau, they give 1 off-day a week. So it's time to say goodbye to her.

Oh well, today I called EJ's CCC. I intend to put EV there full-day, from mid-July onwards. Then at least by end Aug when my maid leaves, she would have settled down in her CCC, plus she may not feel so attached to my maid already, since she would be in CCC and seeing less of her.

Then, I intend to go maid-less for a couple of months.. and see how things goes. Maybe will get a maid in Nov-Dec.. or even next year. Some question marks in my head now.. but can only hope for the best. Hope that my dear EV will settle down quickly.

Then I also intend to renovate my place! Oh well..seems to have so many changes going on.

SQ,
still PR, waiting for my re-entry permit to expire so that i can apply for citizen then. i cheapo mah, since paid liao, will fully utilise my re-entry permit! wahahaha * dreaming nia

Autum,
good that she tells you now and not last minute. At least you still have time to plan for things. EV will be ok de, don't have to be too worried.

QQ: Congrats! Welcome to the family.

Joelle, Astro, SQ, Kaexin: I would google slimming and breastfeeding. The question at hand is not the honey (since cleared that it can't be passed to the baby), but and (side) effects of slimming which may affect the breast milk which may in turn affect the baby, right??

Heheh.. Just woke up, that's why quite clear-headed..

Autum: Wha! You're so brave to go maidless. My goodness.

Half-boied eggs: Pink, SQ: Is yours a special kind?

Actually I like it better without a maid. Though more tiring but more privacy and both kids "belong" to me. :p

Just to share something abt manuka honey,
believe some of you know that Elisha and Cayden down with HFMD. We gave Elisha 1 tea spoon of Manuka honey each mrning (b4 she got it too). Cayden got it 4days B4 Elisha, I saw few ulcer on her throat on monday but her ulcer/red spot/blister are totally gone yesterday. Cant believe it, only 3days. but yet Cayden's blister are dried but still there.
We suspect is coz of manuka honey that work well on Elisha.

autum, hope EV can adapt to CC very soon.
maidless for a while u might be busy.
dun forget if kids are sick, also need to take leave and stay at home de. actually this is my main concern cause if i take leaves then my work is affected somehow. i have no cover de.
eh u renovate your house for wat? i tot u wanna buy a bigger house? then plan #3. seems like #3 plan is on hold for a while liao.

AAA, autum, joelle,
thanks. haha!
kaexin, dun convert la. u can do it next time but now u dun need to. and also u can own msia properties, etc etc. dun convert also can de.

today went out a while to run errants, and i got pain at V area. so jay said i should rest in bed instead. maybe i really cannot walk too much.
now week 33.
hm... next week 34...
and counting counting.. if hits 36, then i declare i am free to walk until i give birth.

QQ: Rest well. Don't walk too much. I was like that too. Can't do much while being pregnant. That's why kenna treated like a "queen".. Lots of things also cannot do. You shd also lah.. The last leg already.. For running errands, Jay is more than happy to do for you lah.. Jia you..

QQ, Pink, AAA,
actually I dare to go maid-less for a while is because it so happens that by end Aug, I will be having semester break again, until October! So technically I will be quite free. SO I intend to make use of this period of time to bond with my kids. But then, in the meanwhile, I will still start to look for a maid, and if got any good ones along the way, I will take.

QQ,
I want to renovate to create space. Because eventually, if I get a new maid, I don't want the maid to sleep with the kids. I want the maid to sleep with my mum. So I need to create space etc.. but see how first. Many things to consider. And you are right, my #3 plan is gone. It's very sad, but my #3 plan actually hinges on whether i can get a (good) maid or not. Well, this is life.. full of decisions.

Ecmom,
Manuka honey definitely has some healing properties..

Kaexin, Bunny: Before I make payment to the bp organiser, the place you buy the foam art has no other crafts supply? If yes, got similar stuff? Else I buy from BP lo..

Autum: Are you waiting for Edde's maid? Wahahhah!!! Having maids doesn't mean less bonding time mah.. It may mean more time since the non-kids related work can be left to outsiders. It really depends on the parents how much (or how little) they want to be involved with the children.

autum,
I know it very good for sore throat, cant believe it good for HFMD too. and we only take the 16+. means the higher will heal even faster :p

so fast 2years liao, it good to have maidless, it will be very busy for you but more privatecy.

AAA,
Waiting for edde's maid? No la. She is leaving by end August too. And I think her intention is to go to HK too.. if I am a Phil maid, I also want to go leh. Can get double the pay and off every week.. why stay in SG?

Hmm, yes, technically I agree that having maids doesn't mean won't bond with the kids.. but if everything is left to the maids to do, then the actual amount of time spent with the kids is very little. At their age, I think they do still need a large body of time in order for the bond to be created.

Hey, just being curious, what do you normally do with Anna and Ayden on a daily basis? You do colouring, drawing, reading, pretend play with them?

For my case, I even let my maid do those stuff with the kids.. of course, I do with them too, but my maid also does those stuff.. so she is really with them all the time, so to speak - taking care of menial chores as well as playing and fun-stuff.

AA,
bunnie is the one organising the DIY foam, think she getting it from her NUS supplier. think got sand art too.
but if you want to get fm BP, you can go ahead and make payment coz i dunno when bunnie will read ur post :p

Autum
why gone? can be on hold for a while. my galfrens (our age) are just getting married and planning for kids next year. so its not too late.

Zoe tay is having #3 at the age of 42 le...

hey hey, about maid going to Hong Kong, if HKG pays well, why dun they choose to work there first?

Pink,
they don't choose to work there for a few reasons.

1. HK needs to have a placement fee. For SG, the maids come and pay this fee through the 6-mths salary deduction. For HK, they need to pay the fee upfront, before they can go. There is no such thing as salary deduction there. For most of the maids, they wouldn't have so much savings in the first place so they can't cough out the fees. The fees would be in the region of 80-90thousand pesos.. about S$3k like that.

2. HK people demand high standards.. mostly they wouldn't take fresh phil maids (I think).. that's why most Phil maids will come to SG or Middle East first, then proceed to HK.

Autum: No rules leh.. I do whatever I feel like doing, at the spur of the moment, with them. THat's why I can suddenly decide I wanna bring them out, and give orders to my maids to pack and change them, and off we go!

When they were younger, I had the concern what if they grow closer to the maids since we don't do the babycare stuff. My hubby said not to worry, cos the kids will learn that for fun stuff, they'll come to us, for shh shh and passing motion etc stuff, they go to aunties.. Plus, my maids change so often, they've come to learn that aunties are temporary and mummy and papa is there ALL THE TIME. So I'm not worried now..

I can't face them 24/7 or I'll go ki-siao! So our solution of having maids who are also capable to play with and engage them above and on top of their daily needs is a must. And I appreciate my maids for that.

Pink, Autum: Unlike Singapore, where maids can pay off their loan as they work, if they go to HK, they have to pay for their journey expenses there. Many are not able to afford this sum, hence they come to Singapore to work first.

Astro: Your parental talk..
Did they say which style will most likely turn out well-adjusted children?
And what did they say of children who grow up under this style?
'Indulgent Father (low control, high affection) & the on-and-off Mother (high control, moderate affection? (when compared with the dad lah))

AAA ya my maid has decided to go back to phil.. I may let her go as early as end aug as Andrea is joining anthea in her ccc beginning aug.. So if she settles in well in ccc I will let my maid leave 1 mth earlier as her bonus
but this hasn't been communicated to my maid yet coz I dun wanna give her fasle hope in case last min I want her to stay thru till end sept.

Ya she has intention to go hk too as her auntie is working as an agent there now..

Autum: On days when I'm feeling self-indulgent, or moody or tired or just lazy, then I involve myself less. On days I feel energetic and happy or guilty, I'll involve myself more.

If I have no maids to "stand-in" on these days, then days where I am "on" will be lesser or even non-existent.

Edde,
Oh, Char's contract is supposed to be until end Sept? then when you say let her leave earlier as a bonus, means you will still pay her salary for the month of Sep?

AAA,
heh, I find what you posted to be theorectically impossible. :p If you have no maids, you said the days u are "on" will be non-existent.. erm, actually if you have no maids, you will have to be "on" all the time! Unless you have some other people to do the job for you (be it babycare or play)..

Autum, Edde: Actually your experiences with your maids are good, why are you hesitating getting another maid to help? I can understand with those who have really nasty experience and simply do not wish to go through the bad experience again.

AAA,
I think I should be getting another maid ah.. but some time later.. a couple of months break. But having said that, ideally I still don't want a maid.. for the privacy issues.. and afterall a maid is an outsider.

What I seriously wish for, is a daily-maid.. not a live-in maid. ie, someone who can come everyday to do the housework and chores and even cooking and cleaning.. then go home. Unfortunately, such an option is not available to us, at a low-cost.

Autum: This point on privacy, hmm... I understand why someone with no maid before is concerned over this, but for someone who has a (well-liked) maid before, why is this an issue again?
Can give me some examples of something you want to do but can't do with your maid around?

Moreover, your mum stays with you right? She's family of course, but the additional loss to privacy (due to the addition of a maid) must have been reduced somewhat..

Autum: Actually hor.. when the chores are done, the maids retire to their rooms to rest, you don't see them anymore..
Isn't this the same as if they have "gone" home?

Autum ya actually her work permit expires in beginning oct but her pay day is end of the mth. So I am thinking of letting her go in end aug then take her sept pay as her "bonus". Then on my side, I dun hv to pay ccc and maid for an extra mth and need not cough up another sum of "bonus" for her. Of cos many pple told me dun need to give bonus or dun need to give so much but to me, tho she is not perfect but 无功也有劳.. She really took very gd care of the household ESP the kids.. So just take it as a token of appreciation for her bah..

AAA I can see myself growing fatter and lazier with a maid ard!! Hahahahaha and I dun want my kids to grow up reliant on the maid coz I am actually quite a hands off mum :p and the biggest reason is I hate to manage pple ESP one whom I face 24 hrs at home. In fact I am nvr in favour of having a maid in the first place no doubt a gd maid is really a great advantage to hv.

Autum, AAA
wow $3k is still not a small sum afterall.
it's like they earned $350 x 24mths in singapore = $8400 and they need to invest $3000 to work in Hong Kong, not knowing whether their HKG employer will be good anot. quite a big risk. well well.
guess I have to be prepared that Rina may go afterall, her sil is working in Hong Kong.

I definitely cannot live without a maid, cannot imagine that I cannot have time alone for myself, to eat with my frens etc. for every outing with my frens, I need to make sure that my mum is able to help me to fetch my gal on that day and I must reach home by 10pm to take over. well, i'm supposed to be 1 of the luckier mummies with help.

Edde: I find I'm losing weight slower this time cos my maid can cook quite well.. And she takes the effort to ask if I want to have brunch, tea break, supper etc... :p

AAA exactly!!!! Dats why I am also looking forward to losing wt without my maids yummy cooking!! I am more worried abt my kids coz they will lose wt with my yucky cooking hahahahaha!

AAA,
Currently EV sleeps with my maid.. so my maid doesn't have her own room to retire to. So there is still very close proximity. My mum stays with me on week-days only, on weekends, she stays at my brother's.. and my mum is someone who doesn't need to tag along with me everywhere.

For eg. if i want to go shopping and I want to bring the kids out, I have to bring my maid.. but I don't have to bring my mom. So my mom is not "stuck" to me. Another example will be if we all go for holiday.. like say Genting.. I have to bring my maid along, and can't leave her alone in SG..

Of course, the usual going out, I can leave her alone at home.. but as time goes by, some things also become habitual. Like last Sunday, we went out to eat dinner.. of course, I can jolly well buy a packet of rice for her and leave her at home.. but I will feel a bit bad too.. like leaving her at home while the family goes outside to eat. Cos when EV is small, we definitely need to bring her along for the babycare stuff.. now that EV is bigger and don't need so much babycare, and I just throw her alone at home.. also like not very nice. So in other words, she is very much stuck to us.. just as we are very much stuck to her.

Over the past weeks, I do try to bring the kids out on my own.. to nearby places like playgrounds/mac for short times.

Autum actually now we do make it a pt to go out on our own without maid coz we hv to 上手 in handling the kids without her. I told char this honestly and she agrees too. I think she is happier to stay at home alone than tagging along with us coz it gives her some breathing space and she can hv some me time, ESP in her case when she doesn't take off day. But of coz once we are home we throw the kids back to her coz we wld be exhausted! Wahahahahha!