(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

michelle
nowadays YE is sticker to her papa too. maybe cos my training is finally successful, or she really enjoys bullying her papa. takes super long time too, esp bathe, can be more than 25mins (after that i stop looking at the clock to avoid blood boiling).

i just let them be as long as it doesn't get out of hand. cos i find it irritating if i keep nagging at them too. but my mum and granny will nag and comment nonstop and they drive me crazy too. maybe more than YE

Autum: Those nesting boxes, they came in a box of their own. Yah, am sure if you had known, you wouldn't have ordered.

Joelle: I agree. I have one good example. The tv is a very good distraction for them and can keep them occupied for very long. But if it's longer than say 45mins, I'll start to worry that too much tv is no good for them, and I'll want to switch it off.. :p *sigh*

joelle
agree. i have to keep reminding myself to be more lax. i'm more conscious of it during mealtimes esp. i find that nagging doesnt get more food into YE's mouth. so i stopped. my mum is the one who keeps nagging nonstop. she drives me and YE crazy

of course my mum and grandma commented that i'm so lazy, never bother to pian4 my dotter to eat. i have to live with that criticism and not flare up at them instead. which is v difficult given my bad temper

joelle,
I agree that Asians tend to be more gan cheong. I feel it's not just the women.. men too. There was once I brought EJ to the playground.. and I let him climb up this tall structure by himself. In fact, i was standing there, encouraging him to climb.. it's like a huge n-shaped structure with ladder up each side of the "n".

Then this uncle, with bigger kids there.. came and shake his head and finger at me. But he didn't do it meanly la. I know he is just worried for EJ's safety. haha.. He smiled and just shake his finger to imply don't let him climb so high.. (i think the man is actually can't-talk de).. anyway.. my point is, Asians in general are more gan cheong. So sometimes I feel I don't have a choice but be gan cheong too! :p

joelle/AAA
my mil is v impressed that YE doesnt ask me for tv. cos she knows i dun watch tv myself and frankly i dunno how to operate the all-in-1 remote control that controls the tv, dvd, radio, fan, computer blah blah blah. plus i'm not interested to learn

but the moment she sees my FIL and hubby, then YE will ask for TV. can watch the whole day if i dun stop them. TV is a bad bbsitter, but of course my hubby thinks otherwise. lazy pig

autum
also my mentality towards asians vs the non-Asians. maybe it's the way they do it too. when the asians give me parenting advice, i find that they do it in a kpo way. when it's the non-Asians, tey are not so offensive. personal opinion

So the moral of the story is: Let's be more lax with the children. Give them (and ourselves) a break and let them be! Hahaha.. Then we (both kids and mums/parents) can have peace with each other.

SQ,
dunno le. then sometimes, i feel pressured by my hb! cos i bo-chap right.. then he will nag at me to imply that i don't care.. then i feel irritated by that cos i feel it's like u are trying to imply i am not a good mother? then u come and do la!! :p

Autum: We're the opposite. My hubby always console me not to worry and think so much. That a lot of his friends bring up their kids the same way. That I shd be more relaxed and not put too much pressure on myself. When all this time I was hoping he will "scold" some sense into me..

AAA
i think there's truth in your moral leh. dun laugh

autum
i know. my mum's and granny's lidat. and they tell me straight in the face how come i'm lidat. meaning i'm not a good mother. well, at the end of the day, who's to judge us right? s long s we are happy, and so are the kids can liao. i cant please everybody, and that's just my parenting style.. the ang mohs call it freedom, the chinese choose to call it laziness. so be it. fine with me.

despite all my grouses, i'm still grateful for the help i get though. else it would be worse if i'm all alone, and scared this YE will be even thinner with no one else to try to force feed her! ha!

AAA
hubby also not complaining so we should be glad! count our lucky stars. some men make a lot of noise and comments and never lift a finger with the kids!

AAA/autum
at least nowadays we have the forum to share parenting tips and keep reminding ourselves. imagine our parents time where got such thing! then my mum says got to wash diapers, cook, blah blah blah. we are certainly having it easier physically. maybe not emotionally and mentally though...

haa....another example is not letting him get messy!! i freak out when he gets food over himself.... whereas the ang mos (with the exception of astro!) can let the kids mess up n touch everything ard them!! *foam at mouth*

and yes... the other day at the airport playground... i see the ang mo parents sitting at the benches by the side n letting the kids play...while the chinese parents will hover around the slides and block the children's way!! =S but that aside, the ang mo kids r the obedients ones who play by the rules while the asian kids climb all over the slide doing stunts.... =\

SQ, AAA,
last week, EV had a bad fall, and knocked her head on the night-side table.. resulting in a baluku and a red-line. her skin wasn't broken, so there was no bleeding.. this happened when hb, me and EJ were out having dinner.. meaning left EV and maid alone at home. my maid called me to inform me.. then i asked repeatedly over the phone, was there bleeding, she said no.

So we continued to eat our dinner and got home in an hour. By then was 9pm. When we got home, EV was crying.. turns out, my maid used an ice-pack for her bruise and she was crying because of that. I think too cold and pain.. anyway.. i saw her bruise and i thot ok la. Then hb said, let's go see doctor.. I told him, if you really want to see doc, then we go KKH.. can scan, Else, what is the point of going GP. then I told hb, it looks just like a bruise to me. Don't be so gan cheong.. and i said if we go doctor, i think doctor will laugh.. then hb didn't want to go kkh, cos he think must wait.. so i told him, no need to see doctor la.

Well, turns out that by the next morning, the bruise went away! The ice-pack really really works!! The baluku was very big, but it went off totally.. leaving the red-line. Well.. i dunno am I not worried or what.. but during that moments, i do have self-doubts.. so glad it turns out that i am right :p

Kaexin,
Kent also take ages to bath them!! Which I cannot tahan. But they like him to bath them cos he'll let them play in the toilet. Can you imagine the time he takes to bath them is enough for me to cook dinner??

Joelle: Haha! I've also seen ang moh kids who are the tough ones at GGB, while the asian ones are more timid/tame.

Autum: Aiyooh.. Sounds really scary to me.. I feel daddys are more gan cheong with dotters..

wa AAA
so pretty! all in one from courtship to wedding to honeymoon to kids! sweet.

autum
you really cool then. i would freak out. everyone in the family knows that if YE hurts herself, they'd better pray it's when she's with me. else everyone will ganna really bad when i'm back!

so the ice pack really helps? wah, your maid really good with such remedies hor

Joelle,
ok, so now I understand why I can handle them on my own better. Cos I'm more bochap than Daddy and grandparents. They always make me gan cheong when they are around.

RR
i feel that with two kids bathing together, it's never ending. so the time taken will be more than twice wor

joelle
there was this v gross chinese woman sitting next to me. the dotter's around a year old or less, she mess around with her spaghetti and soup and bread, and the mama can just pick her up without wiping her hands and bao bao her out of the restaurant. i heard her telling the daddy that she forgot to bring out wet wipes. wa, that is beyond me man. as much as i try to let go, it's too much for my sanity!

autum,
you know what, we were were walking back from the carpark last nite and Keira walked into the railing. she started crying but i distracted her so she stop. when ws got back, he ask me she fell down issit ???

thk in all ASIAN parents are more concerned in our attitude. ie: maclarren stroller re-call. i bet this wouldnt have happen in Asia and only in angmoh countries where they are more relaxed.

SQ: Yah, the album looks this way.. Am saving a few pages to add pics of meimei..

RR, SQ: When hubby is around, he only gets to bathe one of them. Quite rare to be able to get their timing zun enough to bathe together.. And when together, I throw them both into our bathtub to play water... They really love it..

but i find the ang moh kids too rough leh. like they will shove and push and trample upon our younger kids. how to teach our kids not to stand in their way and be trampled on?

last week we were at a play area, YE and this chinese girl saw the same thing at the same time. YE went to touch it and she ganna whacked cos the gal tried to push her hand away and landed up whacking her face instead. it was an accident, but damn heartache. i feel like beating up the gal, which obviously i cant lah since i'm an adult

RR,
ya, coz ws will take hanky for her to cover her eyes, wherelse, i will just ask her to put her hands on the wall and look up so i can wash her hair.
then she wants to play with the watercan if not then play with bubbles.

that is why they can take ages while bathing!

RR
kids mah. they like to play
i'm slowly being tao2 tai4 cos i kept creating opportunities for papa to play with YE. and i'm always the bad guy. it's good though to know that she's not so reliant on me anymore. else i fear for her when i'm not around

kaexin
ws so gentle. there was once when YE threw tantrum and refused to bathe. i just drag her to the toilet, pin her down and splash cold water on her whole body and hair. she was crying non stop and yelling all the while. then finally stopped when i'm done rinsing her. it wasn't really a bath cos i was trying to be fast. and she wanted to zzz liao but i find it so unhygenic letting her go to bed straight from the playground. yucks. after tat, i'm glad i never had to do it again (yet)

SQ,
haha.. i didn't even scold my maid at all. In fact, i was quite impressed that she knows how to use the ice-pack.. she didn't lose her 'sanity' and just sit there and cry.. or be lost. :p

Kaexin,
yes!! Kent will let them play with water guns, "gongs", hold shower head to be firemen, ask them to bath him & etc ...!!

Think I'll only do those when I have lots of time and in super good mood.

SQ,
hmm, maybe because i myself used to fall down a lot as a kid. so to me, fall down and knock is really no big deal. I even have a scar from stiches on my forehead from a nasty fall when I was about 4yrs? :p wahhaahah..

Autum,
Your maid not bad, know to use ice to reduce the swelling.
Normally if bring to see dr, dr will give cream loh then ask you go back to observe got any vomit or fever.

AAA
first time u revealed your face! nice~!

SQ
my mum also commented that i get pek chek easily, maybe thats why leia is so impatient like me. she said sometimes she keep quiet bcos she scared mei mei will end up like Leia!

she said i always yell at her, and i replied bcos she always make very SILLY comments w/o thinking! e.g. she kept telling me the condo besides mine has very nice swimming pool, more accessible, i shd have bought that. I burst out 1 day and shouted at her that she thinks i didnt compare? if if its within my budget, i would have bought it!
and i said she did the same thing on my wedding day, kept complaining that my nite gown too revealing, the wedding gown is too long! i was like.."WTH...its my wedding day, what does she expect me to do!"

she said i should have been more tolerant even if she is wrong, im more ke qi to my MIL etc. i said at least i can burst in front of her, with MIL's nonsense, i have to keep it inside, even worse!

interestingly, my mil also recently complained to mr tan that he has been very fierce to her, but very ke qi to my mum...these 2 old ladies ah...aiyo.
mr tan frankly told mil that their rship is not as good bcos she has to lock herself in her room with her pets while he's busy working, maybe it will improve after her pets pass away :p

joelle
wats MMMM in west coast plaza?

Huingee,
that's exactly what i told my maid.. i told her, if EV vomits in the night, must wake us up and we will go hospital. just that i dun have cream :p

Pinkpink,
wah, I think my mum and yours can be good friends. I always say her "ma3 hou4 pao4", always like to give redundant commments and make people more pekchek.

SQ
did you pull YE to the toilet when u are pregnant?
wow u are fierce!
u know wat, after caning, leia seems to forget abt the incident easily. she still hug daddy like kolar bear after he smacked her!

AAA,
Nice album, now you got time to do better do. When meimei comes you will be busy as need to bf her.

Autum,
Normally we just use jambak, the green cream.

RR,
Kids will associate daddy with play things bah.
Now if Dylan wants to play wii, i will tell him to wait till daddy comes back. Mummy dun know. :p

Pinkpink,
Reyden will be like that de too. Forget about caning or scolding incidents easily. I console myself by thinking at least he forgives and forgets easily, won't "ji chou" and get upset over things that had passed.

But on the other hand, it's harder to discipline and make him remember. So "mao tun". :p

Huingee,
but I'm usually the one who bring them out for play, buy toys for them and spend more time with them leh.

RR,
I know, for me I'm lazy. But the toys all i bought.
That day hb saw Esther's xmas present, very nice polly pocket with boat. He asked me who buy one? I said who else, me lah.
Then his fren give Dylan an expensive leapfrog toy. He asked him why buy so an expensive toy, his fren said cos he saw our house toys all like good brands one.
I told hb, even thot the toys are good brands one most i bought during sale, or when bil when US or from forum when people sell of BN toys.

Maybe go Changi T3 today. Worth it to go all the way there? Farmart is a bit decrepit, perhaps due to the rain... but we enjoyed Qian Hu although by the time we reached, is already 30 mins to closing.

Mejo,
oh ... then nothing much there for her to play le. There's a small playground by the side but not worth the effort to go there for it bah.