(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

pink, your schedule is really packed. no wonder you're stressed abt it...

joelle, no need light switches to play with. that one i have enough. need seth to play with him.

AAA, cuz my place no mozzies. haha. no lah, they always like to surprise me when i try to throw things down my rubbish chute and ard my house. imagine me working on my comp at night and then all of a sudden, a lizard pops out of nowhere. stop beside my comp and just look at me. think it feels i'm lonely.

star, then my toilet/bathroom also coffeeshop cuz all black too.

astro, if can just wait a while longer. i'm not too sure abt the numbers but odd case here and there still seems quite high?

star, i can't seem to take a nice pict of the table top but it looks somewhat like black marble/granite.

3353696.jpg

moogen/RR: hahah.. maybe the no taste is us 3 only.. hahaha .. cos only we like black.. hahaha.

Moogen: i would love to see ur black bathroom too.. hahaha. i can seee ur granite top.. granite is good.. but it was too expensive for me, so i went with black homogeneous tiles as counter top instead.. love it cos can put all sorts of hot plates/pots on it and i dun have to worry about damaging it.

Wha moogen, lizard come and visit u?> i would have screamed the whole house down if one lizard sat next to me.. i am terrified of lizards.

Pinkpink,
This two months will be busy and stressful for you. No choice loh, hope everything goes smooth and your mil dun give you any extra problem.
If shift in your new place maybe can let Rina stay at home alone. She can help in packing and cleaning up and prepare for your baby.

pink
your mil really zuo4 luan4. no value added and give trouble oni

moogen
i see your tabletop machiam got lizard sitting on it?! must be too much lizard talks

i hate ants, find them a nuisance
cockroaches i'm not scared, just take newspaper and whack. but my mum who is a staunt buddhist would just guide it to fly out of the window. i'm not so free
as for lizards, i'm scared of tem!!

joelle
maybe you can organise your own BP for that spray since we are so interested in it?! let me know. i also want. and i feel like stocking up in dozens. haha... kiasu
*dream of pest free house*

pink
i'm in the LNT bus too! QQ/star/astro

come to think of it, rina doesn't get much chance to stay at home and do housework hor? actually with your new place, you just design such that all your valuables are locked up, then you can let rina stay at home and spring clean for xmas and cny and enya's arrival right?

star, no picture yet?

AAA, my fren dun have space for the furniture now. he said if i really want, i can dispose. he gives me the freedom to dispose. :p
i dun need to worry about a whole kampung coming here for long tern stay, because my hb said he buey tahan too many ppl at home. so he will pass some to bil side. if bil dun agree, then bobian, they can find their own ways to rent a place outside. wah, this son is so cruel. i think he is referring to those working adults, who can rent a place outside, be it expensive or not. but if bil can take in 2 of them, then ok la. problem solved.
so, i dun need to think liao, my hb is going to settle things by himself. he insists to have a study room cause he needs to work from home.

moogen, u also belong to the black group. aiyo.,. haha!!

pink, huingee is right, u can get rina to help u clean your whole house before u move in. as for your mil, you already one ear in one ear out, dun care about her la.

Pink,

your mil very funny leh... familiar route to her workplace u mean? hmmm, ask Mr Tan to help his mum lah. I get frustrated w all these "trivial" matters, and make a mole of the hill. Want pple to help to familiarise, and still need to accomodate her schedule. argh!!! Pek chek!

Aiyo, u must be really tired leh. hv to try to get more rest lah.... Just get 1 day to rest lah, i'm sure all will understand one. Sometimes i also feel like just idle at hm, but w MIL and maid at hm, i abandon the idea. hahaha

moogen,
currently inlaw house's also granite. I think we cant afford granite. Our kitchen is too long! It will cost a bomb. 38ft. *i will faint when i see the cost. We will just get normal solid top.

Star, wad is homogeneous tiles?

pink,
draw her a map la. If bring her once, sure must go second time. Cos she may find another excuse tt she forget. Hey pls take care of ur health! Remember u are preg lei! Don over tired urself. *sayang u.

star, haha. yah hor. only 3 of us with black tiles. my bro also scared of lizards. i'm ok with them although i do get startled if i see them suddenly. the only one thing that i really detest is rat. the last time we had rats in my parents' house, i either hid in my room or stand on a chair while they hunt it down.

SQ, i also find ants a bother too. domie was eating his biscuit at the table just now then he can tell me that the ant ate the biscuit and went away. =s think that's the sign that the ants are taking over the house.

pink
i oso get v tired nowadays. must def nap in the afternoon, else i'll ko at 8pm! then i'll leave YE to her own devices while hubby entertain her. if you dun rest now, you won't be able to wor. can you take one day leave, put everything down, and just zzz it away?

moogen
rats is a "bungalow" or "landed property" problem right? i mean, we dun get rats in hdb flats (i hope not). so it's a "rich man's" problem. hee

wa, actually i hate YE eating biscuits and cakes at home. she's damn gross, use two hands to dig. then she will touch everything else, and make such a big mess. that's when the ants come. my hubby and her eat like chicken, they drop food all over the place and make such a big mess. i was so angry that day i told YE that she'll only get to eat those small biscuits (like cheerios and kidx) at home. so i dun have to deal with things dropping all over. but then again, she can be so disgusting as to even bite her cheerios into pieces instead of popping the whole thing into her mouth.

i think black tiles at home is quite a fashion statement. hee... i've never tot of doing that for my house. but then i din bother about reno since i have no patience for such stuff. just tell hubby what are the absolute must haves or must not haves and he dealt with everything then. poor thing

Yvonne,
I also have granite kitchen top. But mine not as nice as Moogen's as we choosed the cheapest granite available. Think about 3 big pieces of granite cos us 1k to do our kitchen top.

Homogeneous tiles is very similar to ceramic tiles. Just that homogeneous tiles the sides are flat, no cruve in. Also homeogeneous tiles if chip off u still see the same tile colour inside. Unlike ceramic tiles, if chip off what is see is white colour underbeanth.

If you kitchen is long, it's good to do L-shape. Your fil said not good to do wash basin at the L-shape then just put beside the L-shape. Not sure got enough place or not.

warao talking about insect.
I hate ants. Told every maid that I do not wish to see ants in my home. I scared of cockroach and my dear son say will kill it for me. And everytime he see one on the void deck he will really chase after it lor. hahaha...

SQ: u should come and see my toilet.. but now cleanliness level not to your epectation cos dun bother liao.

Yvonne: i too tired yesterday, will try and take a pic and post for u ok. i used black tiles for my counter top, grey and black mosiac for the cooking area, grey paint on all my kitchen walls (cos all no tiles) and dark grey tiles for floor. i love it.

Moogen: Domi is so cool, rae is scraed of ants, she will cry when she see one coming near her.. i think she very scardy cat one.

SQ: u also rest as much as u can.. cos when bb is here, u won;t get to rest liao. Hey will u go back to work after #2?

Ash: u here? ok today?

SQ, i wld faint if they can come in to HDB. then sth you can see them in food centres, bin areas etc. arrgh, don't talk abt them anymore. making myself cringe at the visual image.

yvonne: u dun have to do such a long cabinet.. i cut short my cabinet.. hahah so less tiles. no joke to tile everything, damn expensive leh.

SQ: u so garang.. not scared of cockroach.. i scream when i see cockroach! hate them to core.. if u don't like lizard.. go buy the trap box.. i caught 3 before.. the only bad part is after catching.. u don't dare touch the trap box.. hahaha..

ants: it's raining season... so i thnk they visiting every house which is dry.. hahah.. our holiday pests!

re: sch
my MIL has lost the battle to bring ashlyn to sch.. ashlyn won't even step out of the house.. hahah

ha star! why you sudd ask me this qn? it always get me going into a soap opera, but the long and short of it is it depends. i might if #2 reaches YE's age and is independent. and they dun need me around. but it also means YE will be school going age, and i would most prob need to be the chauffeur and jagar their homework too? then there's the fear that once i hit 40, it's gonna be v tough to return to the workforce. haiz, so that's why i say it's a long story

moogen
come to think of it, there are big fat rats at my void deck! yucks! once we saw a cat catching a rat too

yvonne
i cant comment anything on your reno since i never do any work for mine!

star,
ok. No rush.

Hg
cannot do this way, will look wierd.

Hg,star,
cannot do half way since cant do L. All will look wierd too. Lol!

This nick change his mind again. Now we start all over again to ask contractor to quote. He and his dad doing the job now. Calculated the cost from ID, overshoot by quite abit. So now see if can try to do it one by one. Coordinate by his dad since he volunteer.

kelley
exactly! i will not buy those trap box cos instead of seeing one lizard on and off, i see the whole kampung at one place! sure will freak me out and i will go mad with fear

when it comes to school, some parents will take leave and break the kid into the routine themselves. cos with grandparents, it's double the battle for us: one fighting the kid, one fighting the grandparents! but of course it depends on your schedule.

for YE, no one else can do the job except me. not even hubby or ILs or my parents cos they always give in. like yday, my hubby can be so stupid as to let her wear her dirty shoes to bed. then when he knows he sure ganna from me cos i gave him the dagger stare, he actually went to wash the shoes, then let YE wear to bed~!!!! what nonsense is that?!

Revo talk day 2 or isit day 3? Fun..

Yvonne: Kitchen/toilet/island tops - You have the same options.
1) Granite Top - Very lasting and easy to maintain. Don't have to worry abt scratches. Comes in many designs/colors and of course at different costs. The length/size of each uncut piece decides the cost.

I have granite top for my island and my master toilet. My island is more than 3m x 1m, and we wanted one full piece of uncut granite.
Searched high and low and found black galaxy - when the lights shine on it, the granite sparkles due to the golden flakes contained within. I'm very very pleased with it..

2) Coran top - This is synthetic material. They have different brands. Coran (spelling may be wrong) is a korean brand and one of the top brands in the market. LG is another brand. There're also cheaper taiwanese brands about. Lasting and have many colors too. But over time, scratches will appear.

The good thing abt a coran top is you can customise your sink (using the same material)too. And with this, you'll definitely not have any sink leakage problem.

Limitation is there's a certain max length and width, so can't have full piece.. You'll see the joint lines at the joints.

3) Marble Tops
Comes in even many colors/designs than granite. Marble is a porous stone. Need to clean off the stain quite quickly else, the stone will be stained permanently. Not recommended for heavy wet kitchen usage. Nice as toilet counter tops.
We use different marble top for Anna's, powder room and guest toilet.

4) Tiles

Yvonne,
38ft is top plus bottom? Cos last time when i do reno they have quotation for 10ft kitchen cabinet and it only includes the bottom cabinet. If need to do top cabinet have to add another 10ft.

yvonne, i suggest u use simple work top for kitchen. though it will scratch over time, but granite is too expesive, i feel.
i told myself, i will change to granite or anything that i like when I have more $$ next time. last time was really tight in budget so no choice. changing top is quite easy according to them. so no issue to change de.

my bil use granite as kitchen top. though it is of high quality, they seldom cook , so hardly use. i prefer to fully utilise things de.

dun use those acrylic sink (maybe similar to coran), use stainless steel cause for heavy user like you in future(u cook for your family i suppose), then it will be good to have ss sink, easy to maintain. if you use those ceramic type of sink, after a few year u won't want to look at it cause it is uneven colour and disgusting. cannot scrub until shiny shiny like ss.

SQ, Huignee
ya u are right. i shd let rina stay in new place and help unpack slowly, clean up before bb arrives. i was worried she has got nothing to do when leia goes cc.

i want to get webcam. saw this M1 mobilecam service monthly $8 plus, got to check it out.

mist
ya..luckily its not major reno, decided to use back my current house id to settle for me..things like curtains..i just leave to him.

kelley
wat u mean? ashlyn not going to school or changing school?

SQ
i might be roaming around clementi area on sat afternoon, waiting for mr tan to finish his bike lesson and fetch him...if u are home,i can pass to u too. if the items arrive by fri.

oh ya i also sleep early nowadays, very unlike me.

yvonne
i prefer homogenous tiles.

SQ, i think u should just invest in something, say a childcare. then u put your kid there,shake your leg and be a sleeping partner, while u can also moitor the school performance.

u can take a chair and sit at the entrance, talk to ppl. haha!!! gather info and feedback.

i still think it is possible to go out working when u are 40, but then, hm.. back to same line? or is it more fun being a driver for our kids? i dunno woh.

Joelle: Ants are scared of chalk? But I also can't reach the outside of the window. Erm.. It's full length sliding glass actually, and we have another piece of glass railing. Wanna give the bio-x a try..

Yvonne: Another -ve re coran/synthetic tops and sinks, check the melting point. Some are actually quite low and if you happen to forget to put a placment mat before putting down your pans/pots etc, it will leave an ugly marking.

I see.. Then the measurement sounds like it's for cabinets. For that, most people go for laminate. Most laminates are 1mm thick. And if 1mm only, glossy surface will appear wavy when light shines on it. Matte surfaces will be ok. But glossy surfaces look nicer. 2mm thick laminates are ok for glossy surfaces, but more expensive..

Stainless steel sinks are good.. I know there's one type which is really troublesome cos water may leak down. But I got to ask the foreman my hubby first.. Tell u tonight.

QQ: The idea you have, my hubby also suggests the same. Then I told him, so we close the school down when all our children graduate from that school isit??

Yvonne: Mid range for what?
Oh yah, there's another brand for acrylic. Stiles. Has more colors, I think a higher melting point, but still has a limitation on the max length and standard width. This brand is more ex than Coran.

aaa,
wah... still got like tt ah... veri technical liao lei... :p i don noe liao... omg, all this really is man job ... and this nick keep asking mi this ok that ok anot.. i don noe all those terms man!

pink
nowadays i'm at woodlands. clementi only on weekday nights, when we come home to zzz. my house machiam like hotel

QQ
you know me so well!! how you know i like to do such kpo jobs like sitting at entrance and yakking to pple? wahaha..... i'm v impressed with you. or you invest in CC, ask me go there and work? but then my interest prob won't be too long wor. maybe when YE and meimei goes to pri school i'll wanna move on too? dunno lah. me v troublesome...

yvonne
in addition to the feedback and preference and budget, i also think it depends on how long you intend to stay in the new house? i mean, when i first shifted in, i thot it was oni for 5 years. and would shift out once the 5 years is up. so i was unwilling to invest in those hi end stuff like granite kitchen top etc. haiz, who knows i'm still stuck here after these years, and i wonder if i will ever shift out of this place

so if you intend this new house to be your long term place, then can stretch budget abit. if you intend to move on as the girls grow up, then no need kill youself over having the very best since they will still be new and you will sayang when you need to move. jmho

Yvonne: Yes, it gets quite technical but essential to spend some time on to understand cos it'll affect the usage in future.
Actually I feel there's generally a trade-off between looking good and practicality.

SQ: Haha..

pinkpink,
Nevermind if Rina have nothing much to do, get her to clean this and that. Just dun go out of the house ok liao. Moreover now is condo, more safe bah.
As long as she finish the stuff you want her to do can liao.
My colig very good at planning for the maid to do work.
Heard in newspaper some condo dun allow maid to swim in swimming pool. Cos some condo owner dun like to swim in same swimming pool with maid.

sq,
nick say 5 yrs... we will work hard... get a condo... so the kids can go swimming downstairs... i don have to travel so far... also near shopping malls... wahaha (dreaming)

i am a veri "shi ji" person... he wan nice... so, we clash whenever we decide on something... for him, electrical appliances must get the latest model(all mans prob? no offence. but i veri paranoid) mi, i don mine orbiang... can use can already... my objection is to get out of this house.

Yvonne,
It's good to have dream. Then can work hard to have dream come true.

For reno quite easy for us cos my hb only pericular about tv. All the other things i can decide. And we have the same idea for our house, simple, cosy and bright.
Heehee, we dun like black tiles. Prefer white stuff and dun like dim lights.

Just do the reno lst the other electrial appliances come later.
That time we even used hb's old tv lst.

yvonne: I'm also using gas heater. Been 6 yrs liao n so far so gd. Only condition when installing is tt e area must b well ventilated. But on top of my heater is a cabinet n itschanging color cos of e heat. So dun build too close or best is no construction near heater at all

yvonne
then you are like my hubby
v down to earth
for me, i do and buy and do stupid things just because they look nice

since you already have a goal, and you know your objective, just go along it and you won't go too wrong

ash
come back and join us here! we talk about anything under the sun!