(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

SQ: this one so big and zor dang.. hahah.. u shoul dgo popular, i picked up some of the activity and exercise book there.... same thing with letter writing and its fairly inexpensive (less than $5 per book). but of cos its not crayola lah.. but u can use crayola markers/colour pencils to do these activities.. hehehe

SQ: its not sad, it can be fun.. cos rae just love playing with water. i used to give her a bucket of plain water for her to play.. she will use her imagination.. now paiting with plain water so fun, maybe i will give her newspaper to paint on.. hahaha..

kelley: i think this is the transition time for ashlyn leh.. she is not used to it. i think need to let her cry for a week leh. u wanna hang in there. cos u will still get this prob if u switch her to anther school. maybe the other mummies can advice.

Kelley,
the crying part is normal phase. You go which school will be the same too. But if your MIL complains of the distance then you might want to re-consider. How about school bus?

SQ,
most of the shows are not available on Mondays except for Barney. If you are going for that at 7pm, I think it'll be very crowded.

I'll recommend the Sesame St one, it's going to be at Northpoint from tomorrow. Or you can go for Mr Men and Little Miss at Taka.

RR
i know i can count on you for show advice

where is the barney one at 7pm?

my hubby will have so much to say about the shows. haha... the sesame st one he'll say it's far. the taka one he'll say the parking is expensive and crowded
but they all sound fun to me!

kelley
i agree with star and RR
the crying will happen even if you change school
but distance is really something you cant fight esp if you need mil to pick her up

SQ,

my next gynae visit this wed... recently the baby moves very actively in the tummy.

my maid prefers me cos i teach her step by step cooking mah. My MIL cannot teach like that one, she ask the maid to use "eye power" to learn... hahaha...

anyway, tt day my maid cried when i spoke to her regarding hp... she say she homesick... sigh! i told her my condition for having maid, already told her agency liao, if she thinks it's not fair and still need hp.. then i'm call her agency loh... aiyo, me already let her call hm every weekend liao... Hv to be hard hearted, even though i know it's her 1st time out of her home to work.

Starfruit,
for the Sesame Street ones, think reach 45mins-30mins earlier will be ok. They'll let the audience into the seating areas early, have some singing and games before the show starts. That time when it was at Compasspoint, we went at 3.20pm for the 4pm show. They let us in around 3.40pm. 1st 30 families will get the free Meet & Greet pass to take photo.

The Barney one is madness, we went for the weekday 2pm show, the queue started at 12.30pm. Cannot imagine the 7pm or weekend shows.

SQ,
Barney is at United SQ. If you are going for the 7pm, then maybe you'll want to go earlier in case the queue starts early. :p

Men are all the same, I hate to "bring" Kent along for shows.

Kelley,

u need your mil to pick your gal up? if yes, then may hv to change sch for her convenience loh. Crying will still happen regardless u change sch anot

RR
our whole family have no patience to Q

probably everyone will get tired before the show starts and go home!
haha... so my hubby is "normal"
lucky you are goot lat enuf to bring RR yourself. if depend on papa they will have less to go to

mist
ya, i told hubby if not for the fact that i'm hungry, feel like just drinking h2o for the next 6 weeks cos feel v big and clumsy with the tummy. i kept being told mine is big. i dun recall it was tat big with YE even though the weight is abt the same
i won't give way to the maid oso. feel being taken advantage of. and i dun like pple to lililorlor to me. if she already knew about the T&Cs, then it's water under the bridge once she comes over. that's why i say i'll have no tolerance and can't employ a maid. sure ganna whacked by me given all their funny patterns
hee.. i'm excited to see how big your didi is on wed
keep us posted

SQ,
now not so goot lat liao cos Reyden's a handful lately. I'll drag my mum along if she's on leave. Luckily she's quite on for shows too, haha!!

RR
i tot Reyden better now cos you paying him more attention?
my mum's a great help too. but YE likes to act up with her around so i do get frustrated with the both of them cos my mum's a v indulgent grandma

SQ,
他时好时坏的, hahaha!! The other concern is if either one of them needs to go to the toilet when we are in the queue, I'll have a headache.

Starfruit's suggestion is good. If my mum or Kent comes along with us, we'll take turns to queue with one R, then the other one brings the other R go walk about and rotate.

star/RR
leaving YE alone with my mum is setting up a trap for my mum to fall into, and this YE will be in high heavens going wild and bullying her popo. i like to ask hubby to do such bo liao stuff cos it's easier for me to "scold" hubby than mum. ha!

SQ,

every grandma is indulgent, we may be worse when we become grandma.. hahaha...

hahaha... me not sure how heavy is didi now... i also dare not weigh myself. But i'm more hungry nowadays, and plus the festive coming, hv been eating quite good food recently.

as for my maid, i told her before mah, allowing her to call hm every weekend will be the last request i accomodate. And we hv pre-warned her, if she calls hm every weekend, she is likely to be more homesick, not to mention sms/text everyday. I told her i hv to be strict abt this lah, and i ask her to think carefully why she comes here to work, it's to save $$, not to spend $$!!! aiyo.... sometimes hv to be patient w them also lah, her 1st time overseas to work. I told her i also go to study and work for 2 years, i called hm only once a week too... and i focus on studying so tt i can go home soon. So she needs to focus on her work.

RR
talking about toilet breaks, this YE will INEVITABLY want to go toilet at coffeeshops. and the dirty ones. makes me puke. i dunno what's her problem. those clean shopping malls she seldom says want to ssh ssh. but once we sit down at gross coffeeshops, she will always want to go to those wet and slimy and stinko toilet. yucks to the power of infinity

hubby and i keep reminding ourselves that with kids, there will be good and bad days. whether it comes to behavior or meals. we just have to remind ourselves to appreciate the good days, and pray that the bad ones will be over soon before anyone gets killed

SQ,

hahaha.. your YE very cute leh.. my boy refused to go dirty toilets. he say stinks... hahaha..

he will go to shopping malls' toilet. recently, the teachers put him off diapers in school. He will go pee in toilet, when we go pee... but he's still not telling us tt he wanna go toilet leh. GUess hv to be patient bah....

Star: yeah.. i know the crying phase is norm... bt i thnk my MIL also thnk the distance is another prob..

RR: yeah..i thnk mst change another one which is near.. walking distance.. bt apparently.. the ones near my house are not very near too..hahaha.. bt ashlyn see sch uniform also cry leh.. take bus ok.. come down bus see sch.. cry also.. haiz..

SQ: yeah loh.. so either lousy sch or at least.. walkable..

Mist: ya loh.. probably change for comfort of my ear..

SQ,
hahaha!! Then you better avoid coffeeshops for the time being till she can control her bladder better. I hate coffeeshops last time too but now they also know it's dirty le. Now we can go out for 3-4 hours without having to look for toilet for them so at least not so bad liao.

Kelley,
yes, there was a period of time when RR saw their uniforms then will start to cry at home le but it became better after 1-2 weeks. Just got to peservere.

SQ,
luckily I'm the main caregiver and I have much patience to start with else would have seen Reyden and my face on papers long ago le.

两岁男童遭狠心母亲抛出窗外

hahaha!!

Kelley,

no choice loh, sometimes to make everyone happy... maybe a change is better especially when u need MIL to help.

Me also thinking how to let my maid sleep w MIL, after my confinement... hahaha...

RR
how was the barney show?

SQ
my family also no patience, mr tan will probably be complaining abt the crowd, and im a bit afraid of crowd now..there was this time after wedding dinner, i was stuck all the way inside the lift..and it moved so slowly..for a moment, i felt so suffocated and wanted to cry for help.

Kelley
usually kids take 1-2 weeks to adapt to new school? but if u can find one which is more convenient, will be better for your mil.

Mist
if you have set the rule then u have to be firm with it.
my maid good life lah :p she swims with us...and i always see other maids sitting at the side of the pool, watching the kids swim.

yest dropped rina off at lucky plaza to meet her tongxiang then went off to plaza sing, treated mr tan lobster platter at manhattan fish mkt..yummy

but today its his actual day, planning to bring him for a real 2 person dinner.
BUT, MIL forgot his birthday! this morning he told her tat she forgot to wish him happy birthday and before i went out, she told me we'll have dinner at 830pm, she will buy cake back! then wat abt my PLAN!!!! she should have celebrated earlier over the weekend mah, who ask her to forget!

Pinkpink,
Barney was ok but crowded with alot alot of kids. :p

You should have told your MIL about your plans and see what she says mah.

rr: hahha. u funny.. wat to do.. i not the main caregiver..

mist: ya loh.. when asking for help.. mst cater to the person we asking for.. bt also curriculum is a prob.. hahaha.. lousy sch mite as well stay at home.. no diff.. hahah.. hhmm.. tell ur MIL got no space.. ??

Pink: u should have just tell MIL tonight got plans already, won;t be back for dinner. Can come back and cut cake at a later time. can?

Kelley,
you read wrongly lah, the main caregiver's post is replying to SQ's post about kids' having good and bad days. :p

I think they are still young now so maybe curriculum not that important yet? It's more of letting them go to school to socialise, learn to be independent, have fun and learn some things. Maybe can go for something nearer 1st, when she's older then send to better schools?

Pinkpink,
if her way of celebration is just cut and eat cake then like what Starfruit suggested, can come back then cut cake at later timing, right?

PINK: i know to give her time.. but i thnk my MIL quite tired of taking bus and coaxing her to go to sch.. tell her cut cake later at what time.. before tt u go with HB?

RR: oooppsss... my HB say important leh.. if nt wat is the point of going sch? haha..

RR, star
no lah she wants to have dinner..also called SIL to join us. luckily SIL cannot make it cos her kids are sick.

anyway mr tan just came to tell me i can go ahead and make our own plans. he will tell her :p

Mist
you are already eating coconut jelly? is it too early to eat now?

Kelley,
ya, then maybe different. I send them to school cos no one to take care of them so curriculum not that important for us now. Or maybe you pull her out 1st and search slowly lor. At least won't get so stressed.

Kelley
err..ya curriculum is not that impt to me at this moment. for me, as long as school is decent, convenient, she can socialise, learn a bit here and there, im ok. not very familiar with serangoon area

mist: no to the HP. If she insist, then tell her please go find another employer. She is probably doing it to you cuz u giving birth soon and hoping u give in to her demands.

I refuse to let me ex maid have a HP but I told her can call monthly. If they dun wan the free stuff to call home, then something is very wrong - why they want to spend money to call home? Likely they want to SMS to keep in touch with their friends. I caught my current maid once SMS-ing while feeding my boy. I gave her warning, i told her, i will only give u one chance - if i see u sms-ing while looking after boy boy again, u will go back to agency. And don't tell me you know when you should use the HP, because obviously you don't.

after my first maid gone, I not so worried about firing the maid and getting a new maid. I can do it by myself!

mist: BE FIRM. u give in this time, more funny things will come out. my maid also know my patience is v limited already - i gave her a warning yesterday again about her behaviour and performance. if she thinks the other offer of $400 is better, by all means go, I can't be bothered to treat her like queen just to keep her.

Kelley,
Curriculum and distance is impt to me as if put cc I will put them in cc till 6 years old. Dun want to change or think of other place later on.
It's normal for your girl to cry, give her about 1 month bah.

RR,
We went to Marina Sq yesterday nigh and watched Winx club show. Esther at home can dance at outside cannot move at all. At least Dylan will try to do the action.

Huingee,
I think Kelley's concern now is also the distance cos the MIL complains of it.

Dylan knows Winx? Cos Esther watches it? I don't know RR will appreciate or not though I heard good reviews about the Winx shows.

RR,
Esther watch Winx club everyday at 7pm okto channel. At least Dylan will try to follow what they asked the kids to do. Esther just stand there, too shy to move.
They got singing, then the bad one comes out and fight.
Ok, not so boring. Not many kids yesterday, we went at 7pm. Still can get in to sit down.

Ya, dist is impt cos it's not us bring the kids to and fro only. If it's us parents then we dun mind.

Huingee,
oh, yesterday was the last day for Winx le.
Think will just go for Carebear and Bob this week.

pink,
wahahaha, u don look veri big. But finally see ur stomach bigger! Kekeke hmm, not sure abt the model lei. Must ask qq her model is wad. Anyway i not buying this le. Will buy the aircon with air purifier.

My new house is going to build lift soon. Now they making the area flat flat. Lol! I m so happy like mad women. Our new neighbours are friendly.
but got CATS! Alamak, hopefully if i scream they will come help to shoo the cats away. Their cats is free to go anywhere one. Now our gate have to get those tt cats cant come in.

mummies. Need ur suggession again. Hehehe
1. Detachable dish dryer rack hanging on the bar at the wall.
2. Dish dryer rack build together with my kitchen cabinet(which most of the ppl do).
3. Just get the simple dish dryer thing hang on the sink dry den keep.(cheapest way lol )

Which is better? The cost is alot difference. But more pratical is which one? Do u all keep ur dry plates and utensil in the cabinet or leave it on the rack everyday? i wan everything to be keep properly, not like now everything expose one. Just cant make up my mine which one to take.

yvonne: mine is this:
3. Just get the simple dish dryer thing hang on the sink dry den keep.(cheapest way lol ) but mine is a hanging detachable one on the railing i attached so may be similar to no. 1

cos i do not have any cabinets on the wall, so no. 1 and 2 were out for me. i dun leave dishes on the rack, usually keep after drying. i dun like to leave outside cos will gather dust. but now hor, the drying rack only has rae's dishes cos she has like 6 differnt bowls and dishes ..hahaha.

its really up to you. which one u like and meets your budget. the only thing i wanna recommend is washable paint for your whole house.. esp kitchen.. cos washer paint will raise ur budget by quite a bit. i regretted that my kitchen paint was not washable, ended up i repainted it myself with washable ones.

Pink: hope u hv fun with HB tonite.... so gd to hv couple time! Gd HB! Different pple different mah.. Adrian particular.. HIs bao bei.. he believes.. kids foundation start is from 1-3 yrs old..

Rr: well daddy thnks it’s time for sch.. cos all she do is watch tv n bully sister.. MIL also can’t take it.. ask me send sch..

Huignee: now my thnking same as urs.. bt of cos can choose gd ones are beta rite? I also plan to put for long term...

Ask u all hor.. wat is the thematic approach and difference with Montessori?

Mist: You shd get the agent to talk to your maid abt the HP. Let them "counsel" your maid. One thing abt maids (actually all humans are liddat to certain extent).. The better or more friendly you are with them, the more they will climb over your head. So always draw a line.
I thot you said your maid is new in Singapore right? But she's certainly acting quite "experienced"?

Yvonne: Think they all serve the same purpose? So just go for one where your budget allows.

star,
washable paint? Kitchen will have wall tiles. So is it ok? Tiles better to wash ?

Ok, so the rack, i think no need to build in la. Will be dirty and cannot bring down to wash. This nick silly one, say all kitchen must build this. Wah biang, he really old fashion.

Yvonne: Actually we have the build-in rack in the wet kitchen. It's designed to place above the sink, for convenience and for the water to drip dry.
You can clean the dish washing rack like you clean the cabinet mah. No need to bring it down.
Yes, shd have wall tiles for the kitchen, easier to clean..