(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

QQ, Edde,
my dad also says my mum is shareholder, she sold her life to NTUC le. :p She can knock off at 4pm, reach home at 6pm type when it's only a 5min walk home.

SQ,
ya, and she don't cook everyday de so she don't buy things to stock.

Yes, I hate the unpacking too!! Then Kent will volunteer to help but he always make a mess out of it cos he doesn't know where to put the things. I end up doing double work. :p

RR
my hubby will try to help. then kept asking me where to put this or that. then land up getting on my nerves! i just ask him to step aside.

how come you all are a burden? you have your own family liao mah

AAA: i used to wrap in newspapers. but my maid says it stays fresher longer in tuppers. so now, all in tuppers & other cheapo containers

SQ,
she still needs to iron my sister' clothes, take care of her meals, worry about my kids & this and that. So I think we are more of a burden to her than she is to us.

AAA, SQ, hee hee.
i have long tuppers leh. "sat" or not?? those that can stand the whole carrot or vege... but not super long type that can fit into celeries. i think celery must cut into half then ok.
haha!
but my hb dun use them. i have to pack them in the fridge, sigh!!

RR, your mum is so young, and energetic. its good that she has friends, and she likes her job. wah! so funny hor? reach home so late. haha!

Ash, QQ: We need pax our tuppers lady here liao.. I also use tuppers to keep, but I find they can't fit in too many vege..

Ash: So you only place them into the tuppers without rewrapping? Do you remove the original wrapping?

AAA
there's long tuppers for veg. some may need to bend a bit

RR
that's cos your sis still unmarried mah. my mum also constantly nag about my brother. then for me and YE, she also worries about us. guess all mothers do that bah...

AAA
somethings you are cooking soon, no need tuppers. then some things better to buy fresh, so will cook v soon, also no need tuppers. tuppers oni for the "leftovers" here and there. enuf lah. veg dun keep for so long wor

pink
u can pass to me, then QQ or michelle can pick up fr my mom's place. or michelle can go ur place n pick up fr rina mah..

Ash,
i wash nice nice then keep leh.
sometimes its a bit wet then hb complains. actually if u want to keep vege for longer time, dun wash first. keep inside tupper (can take out the wrapping).

SQ, my mil worries for everyone. my mum has no worry for me/mysis except my brothersssss. it is very personal de cause they have differnt parenting style. my mil, worst. she had 4 kids to worry, and two dil plus one grandchild. many many worries. haha!! in another way, she kpo la.

reminded me to tell u something about her again. wait i go write another post.

SQ,
ya, think we'll always be their constant worries.

QQ,
my dad always joke and say "zai Jurong zuo gong de dou dao jia le", haha!!

Pax: Need your help on tuppers. You know which tuppers Ash and SQ ar talking abt? The ones to keep vege in the fridge. I'm using the rectangular modular ones for that now. But not really suitable right?

wahahaa.. tuppers lady... hv long tuppers. i chk n let u gals know.. to be honest, i dun store vege in tuppers, but i hardly buy.

Sq, oh. funny also this one. but i find it a bit weird though.

my mil must be telling my sil (her own dotter) that if she moves to singapore, she will be renting a room outside with her.
my sil told me this last night cause we were chatting about the aircon. etc etc.
i was like: wah, like that very weird la. how can a women, without husband liao, with two sons in singapore, with two HDB houses, and still unable to host an old lady? my god!!
i told her, your mum must be mad! siao4 liao3. we ended up laughing.. but in fact, mil might be feeling insecure and make stupid comments on and off.
why cant she be frank and tell her kids that she wants to stay with them? sigh!

ash, yes cannot last long. so i wash and cook withitn 2 days. usually sat and sunday then finish all.

weekday one hb go buy whenevr he has time now.

QQ: Why bother to wash first before storing? You'll have to wash them when you want to cook them right? And I think vege needs to be kept dry to keep fresh

AAA: hahaha...pretend
i need to wait for joann sale to buy the trimmer liao cos the ebay seller has no more of it.

QQ: my bunch of chinese spinach vege can last 5-6 days leh

AAA, complex..
cause i wash some for tian's porridge first. then the rest i keep for our own cooking, which can be another meal.,
or i keep tian's portion, after we cook ours. the i wash lor. cause small amount also. then the next morning i just take out and pour into the pot liao.

ash, good!! 5-6 days is good!! i will not wahs when i wanna keep for long. but so far seldom hit 5-6 days la. then we finish them liao.

Ash: Yes pretend.. Cos hubby always tells me, if we don't know how things are done preperly, we can't instruct the maids. And therefore we can't judge if they've done something correctly or wrongly. He says I'll be in a more powerful position if the maids acknowledge I've the personal experience.
I fully agree with what he says. So am learning and asking questions now..
Am really glad Pax lent me the recipe books. I could pretend I know how to make soup, fry vege and etc! Hahah..

I think 5-6 days is long enough. The chinese spinach leaves turn yellow quite fast.

Ok, will give a shout when there's sale on tools at joann..

extract fr tuppers site "Never refrigerate potatoes, onions, winter squash or garlic. Keep them in a cool, dark, dry cabinet, and they can last up to a month
or more. But separate them so their flavors and smells don't migrate. "

oopppsss....i must go back to tell maid. cos we keep everything in fridge

QQ
your psycho mil, for me, i'll just say "ok, up to you". haha.. if i'm in a mean mood, i'll say "ya, stay outside better. we all have our own families liao. that way, can prevent some conflicts"

wahaha... i like to deal with psychos and play along with their own game

Ash: Yah lor.. I can always depend on him to put things across very simply that makes whole lot of sense..

Hahaha... This one I know. Our onions, garlic and potatoes are kept in a basket outside the fridge.

Another thing abt potatoes. If you see green leaves sprouting, then got to discard. At that stage, they're poisonous to eat liao.

SQ, haha! no la, later the lightning strike my HDB unit leh. haha! but really pshycho leh. buey tahan sometimes. but it seems a joke to me.

ash! wah!!!!!! u keep those in your fridge. how big is your fridge??
eh, this container with grid looks interesting leh.

SQ/QQ: i buy small amt only. no smell leh. keke!! but my fridge can emit the -ve ion thing to rid of smell la. mayb it really work v well?

pax
your JE will only arrive next week..ash stays nearby...i can easily drop by her place for her to pass to swimming mummies.

keke
just now my MIL called to vounteer to fetch leia. i told her i will call her back. i tot for a while, called her back and told her no need :p

QQ
cos your MIL paiseh, of cos inside her heart she wants. not all old pple will openly tell u wat they want and accept readily when u offer something. initiate to tell her to stay with u if you feel that u dun mind.

QQ,

Your mil very cute, but i realise that old folks like to hint things rather than be honest and ask for what they want.... same as my mil and mother... very funny. Maybe in their era, they are not used to verbalise their wants.

So by hinting, they hope u will understand. hahahaha.....