(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Mist,
actually rocker and sarong not that bad la. i have rocker too.. but no sarong. actually i think a lot of things.. it also depends on how the care-giver use them la.

QQ,
wah.. what golden advice did Star give u that made u kai qiao? maybe u should share it here!

AAA, her son can cook quite well too!! maybe my standard is low. and now he can do marketing plus cooking. i just need to wash if I feel like it. if not, he will wash. i am the queen.

AAA,
4 person as in me, hb and RR or 4 adults? If just the 4 of us, quite easy. But I can tell you exactly how long it takes cos I cook separately. Usually will cook soup much earlier so can simmer longer, then will start to cook the dishes that need for RR's dinner at 4+ (20mins), our dishes at 6+ (another half an hr) plus preparation (half an hr) so probably all in all, 1.5 hrs?

Mist
we just managed to wean leia off the yaolan, can u believe it? bcos we cannot afford to put the huge portable yaolan in the new house.
for mei mei, rina said she wont carry her too much otherwise she will demand for rocking or swinging all the time. that was the mistake i made cos leia was taken care by previous nanny. but overall, she loves my gal a lot lah and coming in jan to help me a bit.

this time im ordering confinement tingkat food. part of the reason of not getting CL is that i dun want MIL to tell her things like she thinks i will kick her out one day or ask her to cook sambal chilli again. haha.
i will get tingkat for 2 weeks, and give some recipe to mr tan and rina to make me simple confinement food for the other 2 weeks, my mum will make some too.

last sunday my FIL brought me to Fok Hua and bought me 6 bottles of birdnest..i still have some at home. too much liao.

SQ
so how? tempted to go HKG? really cant go?

AAA,
Nowadays sat if i'm going back my parents house for dinner I will call my mum early in the morning to let her know i'm cooking. Then she got time to buy and prepare the food. She will try to cook for us cos she see us eat outside food for us everyday.

Autum,
ya, I agree. If don't rely on those too much, actually not too difficult to wean off. If without those stuff, I think we won't survive their infancy stage le. :p

RR: Thanks.. My maid is taking abt 2-2.5hrs.. So ok lah, given she may not be as familiar as you. But I also want them to cut down the timing.

HN: Yah. Last time I'll also tell my mum what I want to eat, and she'll prepare those. Kekeke.. I like her deep fried cod fish served with sweet and sour sauce, and her pork..

AA,
learn to do the cooking yourself!

Autum... hm...
i have this mindset that i am the ladyboss in my house so the kitchen can oni have one owner right? u also know this. so.... i just need to let go and not be the owner when she comes. then at the same time i can reap some benefits from it, via food. I am reluctant to let go of my kitchen initially. stubborn la. so i have some criteria for that also la. if she is here, all her kids should also be paying her expenses rather than me & hb paying for it. there should not be any misunderstanding.
if everything is ok, i am fine. i should be happy and spend more time with tian rather than with kitchen.

i anti sarung one.

but if #2 is taken care by nanny, i think its not avoidable. HAVE TO CLOSE MY EYES!

think weaning off also depends on individual kids. there's no 1 right method.

tt's why all these things are invented to make our lives easier? or not (when diff to wean off).

pinkpink,
Having a CL not only cook good food for you and also help you take care of the new born baby. So that you can get good rest, remember to rest during your confinement. Must really lie down cos your always got backache.
I really apprecipate my CL help in baby and also Esther. She even help to shower Esther, cook and Esther. If Esther dun want to eat, she even help me feed Esther.
That's why i intro her to my frens who have more than one kid.

What's the diff bet sarong and rocker? They both refer to yao lan right?

Autum: Trying to. Haven't gotten round to start yet.. Kekekeke.. Was very happy when Pax lent me some recipe books. I asked hubby to pick one dish for me to try.. He picked fried rice, which I thought was no challenge at all. So I haven't started. :p

RR: I agree with you. I remember how extremely thankful I was when anna suddenly stopped crying when I placed her into the yaolan! Those were the days when my CL just left and nothing worked.
Then the yaolan became my rescue. It was totally magically! I can't imagine how I could have passed those days if not for the yaolan..

Ash,
haha, your comment about making our lives easier and not is funny.

I was anti all these when I was preggie too. Paci, Sarong, Rockers, Walkers & etc ... cos I read alot of negative things about these but after they were out, I just lost control over everything and at one point, I was quite upset over giving in and worried about weaning them off. But I can't deny that all those stuff made my life or rather my whole family's lives easier so I guess sometimes we don't have to be too "zhi zuo" afterall bah.

AAA,
think 2hrs is ok bah cos you have more adults in your household and I believe they cook more dishes than I do. Sometimes if I'm lazy, I'll just dump everything into the soup de. :p

RR, i agree with u. when we are desperate, anything that can help us, relief us a bit is good! and i am not so against walker now. there are always positive and negative sides of doing something, just need to manage. as long as happy can liao?

Autum: we talked about how one kitchen can only have one lady boss!!.. hahaha

Ash: do we have the same watermelon T-Shirt? hahah my whole T-shirt is a watermelon..hahah

SQ/ash: ok onz, we go next yr, i will have the dates, cos i have sight of such events at my current work place. They might be a another animation event coming up, think can buy Ts there too.

SQ: i think the reason ur 1st stroller pijia is becos its a fairly inexpensive one?? i dun think a quinny will damage so easily.. anyway, the stroller so heavy, won;t want to lug around?

I ask hb, told him i wanna bring my stroller to HK, he say no, ask me go rent at Disneyland!! arghh!!

Bel also very good with stroller.,. think cos yvonne train her from young, she will guai guai sit in there one.

Astro: i wanna ask u.. i notice teng kept walking on tip toes on sat at florida? why har? he dun want to stenp on the floor without shoes?

QQ: hahah u answered Autum liao.. hahah

Huignee
marisa my ex-nanny coming in jan to help me too, so i wont need a 3rd hand afterall. i hope to be more hands on this time, must make sure i have a smooth delivery

hey mummies
anyone has recipe for Gong Bao Ji Ding chicken cube? i just had that, super spicy and the black sauce is so yummy.

Talking abt strollers :

the other day i shopping for unbrella stroller.. i realise that my ger no longer fit nicely into a stroller.. becos i was looking for those total incline one.. and she simply dun fit nicely anymore.. haha

RR: It was really tough for me cos I had my first Indo maid then. She had BO and I didn't allow her to touch my baby. I'll only bathe when Anna is asleep. And will ask my maid to watch the yaolan, and if she cried to shout for me. This is the extent I was! Crazy.. Then we send her off when we found a new Philly maid, who was really good with babies.
The rocker and the maid really brightened up my days!

QQ,
hmm, I am the ladyboss in my house.. but my kitchen, anyone is welcome to use! hahaha... cos basically i m not a tidy person myself. I just discussed this with hb some days back.. when we were talking abt his mum. Hb said if his mum still around, and if she come, she is the type who will re-arrange the kitchen things. I told him, by all means go ahead. No big deal.. then he said I can't find my things.. then I answered, "ok ma, just ask". from this u can tell, I am not possessive over my kitchen. hahah..

AAA,
sarong = yaolan. rocker = bouncy net or those Fisher Price vibrating rocker..

Autum,
yes anyone can use your kitchen. but if monday make your pot1 black black, chao4 da1 and cannot be used anymore. tuesday throw away your favourite cup (old and dirty?), wednesday break the cover of the double boiler, thursday non stick woik become stiky wok..
can you still be the boss?
i wan to pengsa liao. but not so serious la.
mil's pattern is one incident per week.
not in days.

Autum: the kitchen will always belong to the lady of the house.. u can dun cook or use the kitchen, but it belongs to u as u r the lady of the house. i think me and QQ very old fashion one lah... we want to hold on to our kitchen.. but of cos my kitchen now belongs to to MIL.i gave my rights away to her.. hahaha

QQ, Autum, Star: I welcome anyone to take ownership of the kitchen. In fact, I'll like it. Then the person can re-arrange the things and make sure they're all clean. My maid (the one in charge of the kitchen) is not very thorough.. She can wipe the sink but forget the walls. So the ants will still come to savour the bits splashed onto the wall from the washing up. :p

QQ,
can. :p cos to me, those things are just "things". if it's MIL or Mum who spoils them, I am ok. But if maid spoils, then another story! :p I double-standard hor. kakakakak.. but also depends la. if maid first time spoils it and not on purpose I also ok.

Star,
hahaha.. so funny, the way u put it.. you gave your rights to your MIL. so cute.

AAA,
i think we are the same in this aspect for the kitchen!

autum
my fren's MIL is the extreme. everything must be spick and span...so she's kinda stress! haha must make sure that she washes her utensils thoroughly. too clean also difficult to live with :p

me too...i welcome anyone to use my kitchen.
But, floor must be cleaned up after cooking.

AAA,
erm, when she first came, she kept breaking the tongs for the milk bottles. I think cos we sterilise the tongs too, so the plastic becomes brittle. But when i use ok, when she use, think she use a lot of strength! She broke like 3 tongs, then I change to metal one, cannot break! hahah..

other than that, she didn't spoil anything. she broke my clock recently. But i don't blame her cos it wasn't meant to be a standing clock. It's a wall clock, but i put it leaning against the wall, sitting on my piano. So the clock tumbled down one of the days after she cleaned and put back.

hmm, i got nothing much for her to spoil le. what else can spoil??

Star: You're so cute, and possessive of the kitchen! Hmm.. I can't think of one part of the house I'm possessive of.. Maybe the masterbedroom bhah?

Autum: Hee... My only condition is the person needs to keep it neat and clean.
I'm not happy when the maids spoil something of course, but worse is they keep it from us! We've told them from the beginning that if anything was spoiled, to let us know. But still they keep quiet. And the worst thing is when we found out and questioned them, they'll say it was already like that, or they weren't aware the things are spoiled... *sigh* This I can't stand..

my mil can jolly well have the kitchen AS LONG AS SHE KEEPS IT CLEAN.
during confinement, i had to wake up in the middle of the night to wipe away the stickiness and mess. yucks!

star/autum
ya. my first stroller damn cheapskate kind. cos that was our 1st, and hubby kept telling me of how bb might not wanna sit in the stroller and we land up wasting our $

star, i think we make it sound even nicer.
we empower our mil to fully utilise the kitchen for the family's benefits. so if anything broken? charge to central fund. haha!!
autum, u are right. me too zhi2 zhuo2, that's y i dun feel like letting go. but now? ok la... i feel that she can have it if she wants. haha!!
she better come before i change my mind.

those things are just physical things, actually not very important de.

AAA, my mil is also not very clean one. i neep to help her clean up a bit sometimes. eh, i am not very clean already.. but cannot blame her, she old liao cannot see that well. my eyes lasik liao, can see clearer.

Autum: I find they're very chor lor. In the kitchen, they scratch our pots, steamer, utensils and even the hotpot! (as for how to scratch the hotpot, I haven't figured out). Hubby has "seen open" ler. No point buying branded stuff, unless I'm the one who use them. Cos whatever equipment it may be, it won't be taken care of under their usage.

AAA,
your maids have spoiled things? like how? or what?

my maid is very fast to admit. like the tongs/clock broke, once she sees me (when i reach home), she will immediately tell me "mam, i made a mistake".. then tell me what happened. that's what i like about her.

autum, u can play piano???
wah! i like. but i cannot play.

AAA, pink... u dun know de la. me and star siao siao about kitchen de.

SQ;'s laopok stroller is the most wu hua stroller that i ever seen. thowse who had seen it before u will know what i am talking about. value for money!

SQ
mine hor..hopeless. all the pots and pans..black black at the bottom. but im ok with it, just dun early in the morning bing bing bang bang wake me up im very happy already. its worse when we tend to visit the toilet more when pregnant.

my mum complained to me many times tat she feels offended bcos once my MIL return home, she walk straight to her room and bang her door close. im not sure if she has hearing problem or just used to it..but my mum is more deaf than her, sometimes door bell rings she also dun know..

heh heh QQ
thanks for endorsing my laopok stroller
my hubby will be v proud of himself for buying it!

i think seldom do maids admit they spoil things. so i just buy the decent ones, no need too expensive. spoil liao buy again. but they certainly waste a lot of water when they wash things!

QQ,
i cannot play piano la. It was passed over by BIL when he sold his flat. Hb insist on bringing it back. then now become part of the furniture! But mr wong can play a bit..just a bit nia.. like twinkle twinkle little stars! hahahah..

AAA,
scratch the exterior of the pots? hmm.. normal washing will also cause those very fine scratches on the pots.. those are understandable bah. unless u mean like a major huge scratch across somewhere.. then that is unexplainable.

Autum: I will give bonus points to the one who owns up and tells me if something is spoiled. One of my current 2 doesn't - the one in charge of the kitchen. :p
Until one day I couldn't stand it anymore and asked her why didn't she want to tell us when something is spoiled. I said all I asked is for her to tell me, and we've never and will never ask them to pay for it wat... I hope she gets better after this..

AAA
i think it's their nature
maybe the natural fear
also explains why they are always spinning tales
at least even if not all maids, then some/most of them

Autum: The scratch on the hotpot was quite a major one. For the utensils, even if they use soft sponge, will have scratches meh??

And they make a lot of noise doing the washing - cling cling, clang clang.. Noisy and I find why so chor lor?

Sorry to intrude again. I have not seen all of you for a long time since the last birthday bash for all our kids in the month of March. I'm the mommy of a pair of twin boys
Your posts are going really very fast till i couldnt catch what all of you are saying haha... Anyways, I merely need some advice from all of u since our kids are almost the same age.
I'll be moving in to Pinnacles@duxton soon and have since been sourcing around for a childcare/ kindergarten for my boys. I'm quite particular about where to put my kids.
Childcare/ kindergarten must be christian based so i managed to find one nearby my new plce, i.e YWCA at outram or Chinese Kindergarten at Jubilee church. After viewing both places, i realise that Chinese Kindergarten is much better than YWCA. However, i realise that kindergartens also follow the school systems, whereby the students also enjoy school holidays like any other pri/ sec/ jc schs in sg within a yr. I have my mom and the maid at home to look after the kids when they return home from school. For that, I'm ok. However, when the holidays come, i can bring them overseas, yes, and wata bt the remaining days after we come back from holidays with my mom and the maid looking after the children. My mom is the bochap type since she's merely the day overseer of the house and most of the time, my kids will be playing w the maid. I'm just worried that my children, being at the impressionable age, will pick up some undesirable habits because of the maid. Like for example, my current maid would instill fear in my kids, by telling them there's a frog or snake nearby, so that they become more tamed as a result and hence, easier to follow instructions. However, i feel that's the incorrect way of handling them already. Because of that, for a period of time, my boys seemed to be afraid of anything until i took time to "brainwash" them. So, to sum it up, I'm very fond of the kindergarten, but nw i'm concerned abt the caregiving arrangement during the holidays.
If you were in my shoes, what will you do?
Sorry for such a long and lorsor post...haha

QQ: cannot charge to central fund lah.. central fund u have a share leh.. should charge to the "verticals" i.e. her sons and daughters.. hahaha
But i like the empowerment bit leh.. hahaha.. wha make us sound so magnanimous..hahaha
i think heng my MIL very clean one, even cleaner than me.. she used to clean after me cos i dun match up to her standard.. heheheh