(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

ash, i also like tt! Shoot the med into the throat, sure vomit, i m so cruel too, even more worst, cos dr ong explain tt if med is swallow after 5 second, means med is in, i always control her count till five den let her lean forward or pat her to throw out. Sometime can, sometime cannot, cos her phlegm is veri thick and sticky.

astro, can listen on his chest, u lie on his chest and listen, the sound is veri clear. And is so nice to lie on their chest. Lol! Like baby like tt.

astro
oh so the ventolin not suitable this time? how come fever n all develop?

aiyo i just finish talkin to my sis, nephew scalded his hands yday.. right hand all big blisters.

CK: so the PD prescribed u with a suppository to treat gastrics?? *confused*..u are real cool! beer, with or without alcohol! heh..
i am mindful of whatever i introduced to teng. coz he very big size.. so he has less room to 'explore' the sweet and high calories stuff.. :p

Ash: ah.. in a way, that's good..coz u know the phelgm is def out..

teng takes his med quietly. as long as u allow him to dictate which colour to take first :S.. now he self feeding himself using the syringe.. very weird to see him do that.. u want to try dr ong's medicine? i wonder why teng likes it so much. he told dr ong.. 'give me medicine'..then Dr ong looked at him and started laughing.. she replied 'ok.. i will give you MORE medicine'.. then teng nod nod..

yvonne: who is this 'she' u are referring to? bel or sam? :p
no lah. i tried last night.. i hear only the heart beat.ha.. after that he got restless.. and sat up liao..

AA: i haven't observe his poo for a long time liao :p

Ash: have to.. yesterday. teng has to take nose drops.. when he was in WW III mood.. wah liew.. forced him down.. and he kicks!! that's why.. when he sick ah.. i think he needs two persons to hold him down.. if he is to be adminstered nasal drips.. hmm. this one till now, dunno how to get him to 'like' it.. :S

belle: not no use. is i big mouth.. go and request for a change :S

wah.. scalded! painful.. ! blisters.. reminds me of shingles.. ouch!

Belle: i THINK. coz the phelgm still there.. airway not 'opened' sufficiently.. so 'inflame' the airways.. think very slight.. coz fever easily contained with panadol.. later going to confirm this with PD.. via call..

Ash: I can understand your pain in feeding A med. Anna loves her medicines. She says they are her "juice". Even the really yucky ones, she will take without any noise and just show a squirm on her face after swallowing it. On the other hand, Ayden is completely opposite. We have to hold him down to take his med. :p He will surely put up a fight and we have to giap his head too, cos he knows we'll force it into his mouth and so he will shake his head profusely in an attempt to shake out the med too. :p
So I have a taste of both worlds.

Astro: That's the prob with having a maid. I make it an effort to watch them bathe and change him to look at his poo once in a while.

Astro, sorry for the confusion. No, the suppository is standby for constipation. on top of motilium, there is another medicine she prescribed, but i dont have it now.

Ash, Yvonne: Got method in the shooting. Cannot shoot at the centre into the throat, that will cause choking. Shoot at the sides for the med to trigger down the throat.

AA/astro: i already try to psycho him liao. b4 going to doc, i even tell him this is not doc, it is uncle vincent. then after tt keep telling him med is sweet & gd boy etc etc. *sigh* still cannot. so i shld bring A over to see teng eat med this weekend?

AA: he will also close his mouth, n we hv to "squeeze" his cheeks to open his mouth. once i even hurt his gums till bleed while trying to force in the syringe. so i also gather tt i can only use the slim syringe & not the fatter one

Ash: How abt giving him some biscuits or even gummies inside the room? Whenever we go see the doc, anna will ask the doc (whoever the person is) for some biscuits. That has become her bribe to behave herself for inspection.

Yvonne: I think what you hear by listening to their chest, is the sound coming from the throat, not the lungs leh. Phlegm in the throat will also sound like wheezing.

AA/Ash: ah. i should do that. :p

AA: ha.. i do agree i have become complacent.. heh. i guess my focus now is more on discipline.. rather than the daily routine :p ha. i know. excuses :p

aiyoh. teng is throwing his trantrums again.. !
coz dun want to stop his playing (that $2 racquet and ball kind that i bought from daiso.. he's addicted to that!.. koaz. i shouldn't have brought it for him!) and to eat lunch.. wah liew.. and ellie has to 'aggravate' it by telling teng that she is going to the kitchen to get his lunch and not going to play the games with him.. i was trying to distract his attention so that she can go into the kitchen to get his lunch..then end up teng cried so loudly! ok. now he cooled down. but sometimes i just dun understand her, like must let teng know her whereabouts all the time, must invoke a reaction in teng all the time...! haiz..

miser/titu said i should be happy that teng loves ellie SO much. coz must be ellie very patient with teng.. but i think stil can be better.. she and my mother..'fighting' it out to get a reaction and be a 'pet' of teng.. wah liew.. sian..

AA: why must be the thin syringe not the thick one? coz teng takes. 3.5ml.. which is beyond the capacity of the thin syringe leh..

Ash: got chance.. swimming this sat?.. eh. but swimming not yet time for his med..

Ash,

wow, cough out phlegm is good, else always stuck in the lungs.... no harm trying again tonight leh, at least help A to recover faster...

Pax,
How much to pay for the samucus huh? u let me know hor, then we arrange to collect bah

Astro: Adults get bored easily, unlike small babies. I feel both your mum and Ellie are bored. So they introduce some "competition" to make things slightly more interesting for them. Teng has become the subject. As long as harmony in the general sense of the word is not broken, let them be bhah.

oh ya, want to ask all mommies something to see if this is a course for concern.

sometimes A will call out wrong names esp when he is a bit kan chiong. for eg, call me "daddy" then want to tell me something. or call maid "mommy" followed by telling her something. any other kids doing this?

Astro: That was ash saying to use the thin syringe. Yah, Anna too takes 3.75ml which is beyond the small syringe. I use the fat syringe or even the spoon to give Anna.

wha this ventolin, wheezeand phelgm talk very complex.. i am skipping all of it. will come back and ask if i get myself in the same situation.

all babies wheezing cos of the haze?

ash: u can try one trick. lie him down.. cos mouth will auto gao open when they lie down. and better if he cries.. cos mouth will open big big and shoot the med at the side so not to choke him. u try ok. better then forcing his mouth open till u hurt his gums. sayang lah.

ash: get the doctor's play kit for Asher? that time dr ong suggested this.. then i got the doctor's playkit for teng.. everyday pretend i/he is the doctor.. then now.. when go and see dr ong.. will tell him to say hallo doctor before going in.. and to ask dr ong to give him stickers.. and ask him to tell him to tell dr ong what's wrong with himself.. that makes him an happier and easier patient..

star: already made him lie down. his mouth will close tightly. cannot underestimate our very clever kids nowadays

astro: i keep wanting to get the doc's kit. think i shld really get one

ash: i think when he kan cheong, he gets too excited and end up calling names wrongly? should this be a concern? How often does he call wrongly?

Ash: It's not intentional right? Then it shd be ok. Get the adult he's trying to speak to to correct him. I also call out my friends' names wrongly when I'm gan cheong. Don't you?

AA: i think that is real childish of them leh! then makes me 'stressed' to stay at home to witness the 'competition'.. how dumb! :S..
miser doesn't like it also. then i tell him to go and tell ellie/my mum lah. he just said 'women, complicating!'.. arghhh..

3.75ml? for which medicine? coz teng is given 3.5ml.. which is very high dose for a 2 year oldliao.. but coz of his 5 year old build hence he is taking so much.. hmm.. maybe the concentration of the medicine has a part to play too?

i think using syringe is quite weird.. i think must tell ellie to be more consistent.. spoon means spoon. dun keep interchange..

star: yes. haze is bad.. dr ong even advised us to close the windows.. now i am wondering if i can still bring him for swimming .. hmmm..

Ash,
i can empathise with u on feeding med. but luckily for me, EJ now is ok with eating med. we feed him by spoon most of the time. last night we feed with syringe, he seems intrigued.. like playing like that.

But in the past, he behave like Asher. will violent struggle, yell, scream. Force into his mouth he will vomit out. For us the only way is to put into water/milk and let him drink. My colleague ever suggest that can even mix with food.. rice, cereal etc.. but i didn't try that. Maybe if u really boh bian, u try add to some fruit puree or something?

Astro: That's just my guess lah. If Teng is not compromised in this competition, then it's not so bad right? Actifed/fedec, paracetamol, polaramine etc. I'm surprised Teng takes 3.5ml only, given that his weight is higher than Anna's.

Astro, it also depends on the number of times we give the medication leh. So we shd compare the total cap per day instead of each time.

Ash: i think i got the doctor's kit from kiddy palace.. go and take a look.. got medcine.. got the stetscope (forgot how to spell), got jab.. and also got everything lah.. :p .. then now teng uses that fake scissor to cut hair.. so now he cut hair also dun cry liao.. ha.. the power of pretend play..

imagine this. i am using my laptop at my dining table. coz teng is seated her.. coz he was fussing, remember? so i got to lure him here to sit down and eat .. while i stay with him.. then just now he keeps shouting and throwing trantrums that he wants only the fish cakes, not the udons.. wah liew.. end up i got to spin a story to him that the fish cakes are drowning in the soup.. only when he clears the udon.. then the fish cakes can float up for him to be eaten.. then now he happily clearing the udon.. wah liew.. u got to be real imaginative to be calm a fussy tod!!

Astro,
EJ was prescribed 4ml of med for gas. then for Panadol, he has to take 5ml. so i think it really depends on the med.

As for interchange between spoon/syringe, i think ok la. can be 'fun' or them. We have been using spoon all along.. but cos we need to syringe out 4ml, then i told hb, might as well just syringe into his mouth, instead of tranfer from the syringe into a spoon to feed.

'mama.. is the fish cakes coming out soon?'
i replied 'not yet, must finish udon first'..

teng shuots at the bowl 'fish cakes come out soon!!!. mama.. ask fish cake to come out!.. mama! mama!!! fish cake come out!'.. aiyoh..

Astro: Yah, Anna is liddat too. Must spin a story to make her happy/forget the tantrums then she'll continue to be obedient. Thing is, not all maids are smart/lively enough to spin stories. :p Some are quite wooden.. *sigh*

AA: sometimes i just console myself that teng has a lot of pple to LOVE him :S.. duh.. anyway..

Autum/AA: i think.. concentration of the med here also an issue here.. maybe teng's is more concentrated? i also dunno. anyway. his is the usual 3 times a day leh..

AA: is anna given prescribed med which needs to be given with a higher frequency?

auutm: the pro of that.. is that it allows him to be flexible lah.. which is also good.. just werid to see him sryinge himself med.. like drug addict like that.

Ash
A is sick for a while rite?
did u bring him to PD? Dr Edmund?

yes, leia does call me daddy sometimes and call rina mummy or mummy 'rina'.

RR
weng is tough to match! i assume its the weng1 below..a few choices...
翁扬, 翁睿rui4,翁锐rui4,翁昂ang2,翁凯kai3,翁勇yong3,翁靖jing4

edde
thanks for the good news on arnold's new branch!

so now teng is finger feeding himself.. noone can touch his spoon/fork or attempt to feed him.. :S aiyoh he sleeps at 1230 leh.. when he is fussy.. heis real fussy.. kaoz.. i salute ellie's patience.. teng is real horrid when he wants to throw a trantrum.. :S
ellie still entertaining him with the story i spin. i give up liao.. duh..

Astro: Sometimes 2 times a day only, hence higher dosage each time.. Anyway, we just follow what the PD prescribe, won't go wrong lah.
I believe most of the meds (if not all) we get from the PD clinics are of the same concentration. Cos they in turn get from the same distributor/manufacturer.

astro,
The first aid course quite useful bah. I went before, last day got test mcq and cpr. But i forgot all liao.
Kids sick are more cranky. Good that your helper is very patient.

AA, i decided to go to gynae when i wanted to get preg. So my gynae gave me Clomid and soon after i got mense and know when to "work hard" and that's how i got preg.

My gynae know abt this and he mentioned he is not too worried about this and will review me again 9mths later.

Astro,
worth taking. for knowledge and appreciation. in a real drama, we won't be able to perform those steps as we won't remember.. but at the very least, we have some ideas and won't panic so much. That's what the trainer tells us honestly too.

if there is a real disaster outside (strangers).. and u see this man choking, with blood and stuff oozing out of his mouth, he said, no one in his right mind, not even a doctor, will perfrom mouth-to-mouth rescue! Especially doc will not do that, cos fear of aids, infection etc..

but if it is at home, and it's our own kids, family, then we may do that for our family. but even then, we may forget.. still.. good to have some knowledge. hmm, but u are quite preggie now ya. I attended when i was quite preggie too.. hahaha.. then went all out of breadth when practising the cpr.. cos got to pump and pump and blow.. until chuan! then the trainer tells me to take it easy :p

huingee/autum: ah i see. that's true also.. i am attending it for the knowledge sake.. for the simple first aid.. like cuts, choking etc.. which i forsee can happen for tods.. ya?