(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Astro: dunno what colour, cannot remember liao, think it could be the white one , in hb car i go see tomorrow.
opps.. its amplifier.. never read properly.. hehehe

joelle: ah fook cannot meet me for lunch tomorrow cos i will not be in office tomorrow and wed.. only tue, thurs and fri ok.

Irin: i did not read up on archive.. so did reyes take tamiflr??

juni/yvonne: wha i am impress with sam diving, klaus gripped her so well leh. i saw yvonne flicking water on sam;s face, is this the way to go?
Wha bel is so cute.. she wore her glasses into the pool and she is so sexy with her bikini. rae alwasy tell me "pa4 pa4" when i flick water on her face.. how to overcome??

hey juni, get klaus to do regular class with us lah, we will pay for the classes. i am so excited.. when can start? suppose to start swimnming class with my SIL but no news from her leh.

juni: not just chunking.. but picking up contextual clues to infer, to link and to make predictions..

QQ: heh.. i think i am more excited for him than he is excited himself?! but i just have this end in mind.. greater confidence for him.. that is my ultimate goal.. dun need stunts also can :p

hello mummies.....
howz the weekend?

re: language
i tink both nags chinese quite bad...coz us...the parents... just can't seem to speak mandarin at home. Coz i tried few times..dan son will start asking me this or that word is in mandarin...i get stuck. Cannot explain. My hubby's mandarin worse...he couldn't even read out son's K1 mandarin spelling list. K1!!!! So hubby will do english homework wif son...i do mandarin homework. My mandarin still okie...i tink bcoz when in sec school...my mandarin teacher made me sit right in front of the ohp...dan everytime my mind wonder..she will call me to answer question. She very alert...seems to always know when my mind wonder...bcoz of her..my mandarin from e8...become b3.

but both nags english still okie...that day..small small nag say...see mummy, i can balance on the pole. I was shocked she used the word balance. I think her teachers also just speak to her in mandarin in school. Coz they tink her mandarin needs to improve.

QQ: i read all those when i was preparing for my interview for a special needs teacher (autism in particular :p)..

and all those needs to be taken in context one.. see overall balance.. not in items..

yep. that CDU.. ha. i almost sent teng there :p

QQ/Astro/Juni:
Hey but if you ask a child a question and he/she answers you in another language, this means there is no issue with their comprehension right? as in they understand your question which is aksed in a diff language and beccause they cannot answer in the same language u ask, they choose to answer u in the language they are familiair with. U get what i am saying?

first swimming lesson: next Sat at 5.30 pm, limit to 4 babies:

$100 for 10 lessons for parents with 1 child
$150 for 10 lessons for parents with 2 children.

pls list your name here:

Yvonne

Juni:

Me me..

pls list your name here:

Yvonne
Star with rae

juni, wah, i see photos then show jay.
we are interested to make tian swim like kira.. so impressed.. haha!!
i ask him if he can do it himself he replied: wah u think i am GOD ah???
haha!! i almost want to roll on the floor liao, haha!!! cause i ask him to do too many things...

star, i think the answer is 50:50 for tian.
tian might be just picking up the words, plus some of her own guess that lead to her reply. sometimes, i can sense that she doesn't not fully understand. just partial, plus some guess. most of the time, she is correct but maybe she is good in guessing? since both of us are so predictable.

astro, dun scare me. CDU very serous la.
normally after 5 years old then need to be more kancheong. they are so young, we just be sensitive to look out for symptoms nia.

I find rae still have problem pronoucing leh.. she say "popcorn" as "forfont"..how come har? and for the longest time i didn;t understand what she was tell me.. turn out it was popcorn. she wanted to eat popcorn.

juni,

pls list your name here:

Yvonne
Star with rae
Jay + tian (QQ swimming 10 laps to tone up her own muscles)

mummies, we can fix another day for a second swimming grp.

Pls note the duration is only 30 mins with Klaus, the rest of the time, you can play with your child/ren in the water but without Klaus's assistance. Somebody has to be in the pool with the kid, not just Klaus.

QQ: how come u say Tian only picks up some words. i think we must persist a bit, dun try and correct in chinese if she gets it wrong, just try and all eng environment for a while.. i ams ure she can pick up very quickly.
I fell rae can understand us very well both in english and chinese but she tends to answer in english. MIL teaching her hainanese now, whenever MIl test her on a body part in hainanese, she will anyhow point if she cannot remember, quite funny to watch leh.

Juni: fully understand that this is parent accompanied class. no worries on the 30mins.. i think our kid can only handle 30mins lesson now.
thanks for arranging
It will be me with rae these few weeks, cos daddy needs to do RT.

star, give her more time?? and see how.
when they started speaking, also similar la.
tian's songs are not all in order one. sometimes just anyhow.

juni: i am interested.. but can i start another class on sat instead? 530 is too late for me..
will a class at 4 - 5 be too much to request?

star, cause sometimes she give funny answers...
牛头不对马嘴。
very weird, but most of the time she is ok la.
i think she guess guess sometimes.
not fully understand de.

star: yes.. we all always stick to the familiar.. but the child has to break thru that comfort zone. else it is still stuck coz he/she cannot articulate what he/she wants.. it hinders. in my school. loads of such examples. coz they no confidence to speak up.. lang learning takes a lot of courage..

star, this is perfectly normal, have seen many young bilingual or multilingual children behaving like this. But later on, once they have master all, they will exactly to speak what language to which person. A friend of mine, Italian born in England, married to a German. She speaks English to the boy, father to him German and grandma, Italian. This boy at age 5, speaks to each individual in each respective language. Amazing sight!

wha does rae whave learning difficulty?? I got this from QQ's link:

http://www.singaporelearning.com/knowledge_cafe/kidzgrow/kc001_tell_tale_signs_of_ld.asp

· Poor feeding as an infant or toddler >> Yes, poor feeder even till now.

· Delayed speech (after 18 months of age) I always say her speeech dev is very slow

· More allergies and/or more severe reactions than most children << she is extremely shy? this counted a not?

<strike>· Coordination difficulties e.g. difficulty tying shoelaces, poor ball skills, confusion between left and right orientation</strike> >> This one no problem, so can strike out.

· Dreamy, easily distracted from the task at hand << She day dreams a lot

<strike>· Disinterest in studies and/or reading</strike>>> NA cos she loves to read and will read to me if i dun read to her.

<strike>· Untidy handwriting, or slow in copying</strike> NA also cos she loves to write and draw now.

<strike>· Consistent under-performance in school, despite average/above average intelligence </strike>>> NA

Am i being paranoid?

juni: oh. i forgot. yvonne's name = 2 bbs liao :p

hmm. but once signed up it is 10 lessons. actually for me. i just need teng to be with others.. and enjoy the experience.. and a pool!! can liao :p i can stretch my ears to hear what Klaus is saying.. then ask miser to do it to teng.. kekeke.. :p hey. eh.. if we just go and play together. earlier. u mind or not ah? :p

Astro, 4.30 to 5pm then, the mothers need all to be punctual. And if we can get another 2 more kids to join in, that shd be okay.

Juni: wha the case u cited is exactly what i want.. i want rae to speak english to me and hb, haineses and chinese to nai nai and cantonese to por por.. hehehe. but i think, rae cnanot handle now.

juni, then best is to go there earlier so that wont be late. right?

star, u are a bit paranoid la. now too early to see if she is in this group.
i think this refers to older age, except the POOR FEEDING. tian also included. haha!
but she is 50:50 in her feeding. sometimes ok sometimes not.

Juni: so normal ah.. haha.. i think we are all scaring ourseleves man.. the more we read, the more scared we become. *sigh*. this is the disadvantage of living in a century where u can get access to infomation so easily and readily.

QQ, ya, you can cos you need to change, tian needs to be changed. be here 10-15mins earlier, get ready and wait at the whirlpool, it's above the big pool.

juni: yep. hence i suggested starting a class at 4 - 5 earlier if klaus dun mind.. u see

ok. so.. another class at 430 - 5pm :p

1. Astro

lelong lelong!!!

star: Rae is fine.. she just has a reserved character.. soon. soon. then u see that she will transform. once her age for a 'character change' strikes her :p.. like teng..

juni/yvonne
so paisei jus now came late n my seth so uncooperative. i oso wanna join in the swim lessons leh..but need to wait for him to overcome his fear of water b4 i sign up right? if not, let him see fr the side of the pool oso got prob i think. sigh sigh.... =(

star: ur list.. what u listed as problems.. are not innate problems.. all environmental issues.. which can be changed one.. :p
then out of so many items.. look how many u strike out liao? so welcome to the paranoid club :p:p

joelle, don worry, I understand. Don pressurise him. If he agrees to sit at the side with you, that's already an improvement:) Soon, he'll be jumping in with a board:)

juni: good, now we established another bus.. hehe direct to u. great. pls buy and shop more with QQ.. hahaha.

Joelle: as usual, will pass ur stuff to ah fook.

Autum: ur stuff with me too.

Juni: wanna check, do we need to prep goggles this sat for the class?

juni.. wah we all got excited. my sleeping time is over woh.. now preparing to go sleep. too excited.

astro, star. paranoid club? haha
when i see those i was not really paranoid. somehow i feel that it is hard to generalise a kid.
everyone has a strength, at least.

re: speaking Mandarin

Actually my experience with Reyden is that someone die die will have to speak to him in that language, cannot mix or halfway switch to English.

He started off with English, refused to speak/answer us in Mandarin even though he understands what we say. And though we tried to speak to him in Mandarin, sometimes we are worried that he doesn't understand or get confused, we tend to switch to English or mixture. He ended up not speaking Mandarin at all until he went to the CC.

It happened that his CC has a few PRC teachers who can't speak English at all. I think he didn't have a choice and after almost like 4-6 mths there, he started to converse with us in Mandarin though it still sounds abit weird lah but at least he started.

talking abt speaking mandarin...

seth always asks us to "CPU" after he poos.... wah lew...i thot engineer's son learn computer terms so soon!! end up he meant xi3 pi4 gu3!!! =S

Starfruit,
you are paranoid lah, I don't think any of the kids here are in that group.

Oh ya, we gave her 1 dose of the Tamiflu and she vomitted big time. I stopped after that. Continued with the oral ventolin, chlormine, parcetamol and her fever came down since afternoon le. Thank God ...