(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Hey Tay
frankly i also wish that my kid/s will grow up to let say 5-6 yrs old so that i can start touring around.
I guess he used the wrong words when he mentioned that he gave up golf for the children. we also gave up a lot of things for our kids but its worth it.
anyway i have very low expectation from the daddy :p so it depends on how u look at it.

re: ballet
a bit tempted now. should i wait till leia ask me to let her join or?

re:piano
piano lessons are expensive rite? unless she asks. Mr tan and 2 sis had piano lessons since young, he told me its waste of money, now forgot everything.

pink: if u like.. u let leia join loh.. doesn't reali matter.. heheh ballet also expensive hor.. tell u first...hahah..

nana: did they say y.. now everyone knows i dont read news..

pinkpink,
Piano lessons expensive cos as the grade gets higher, more expensive. Also it can drag many years if the child dun practise and make the progress slow. Beginner stage about $100+ per mth, then slowly increase as the grade gets higher.
No hurry about ballet. Can start at 4 years old.

Kelley,
Ya, the lady at Esther ballet school said ballet also ex if take the grade till 7. Mmm, i didn't think so much, just let her play play now. Thinking of changing her to cc ballet which is much more cheaper next time.

huingee: ya.. i remember.. when i was at almost the last grade.. it was quite ex.. which ballet sch she at now ah?? wat is the teachers name?? actuali i lost contact with my ballet teacher.. if not i recommend u all.. she very nice..

crazy... ballet again. haha!!!
kelley, saturday hor, if ppl give up on friday we still got chance. u know? wait ah...
i will let tian try the bebe dancing, i think she will love it. i aagree with AA, if our kids enjoy and ican afford, ok to go ahead and continue.if she says she is tired, not happie, then stop.
but i scare tat she likes so many things now. my pocket got hole liao.

Tay, let me write a long one for u in next post.

huingee: i see.. crestar has so many activities de ah.. my gal's sch also under crestar i thnk..

QQ: of cos.. can't force de la.. wat is bebe dancing??hahaha.. if she like so many.. than u choose see which she excels more in loh...

Tay,
you sounded very low in morale perhaps its because of delia's fall. nevermind de, many kids also fell down at least once from the bed. many of our kids do, but of course got some exception de.
no worry.. aslong as she is fine.

I believe if I have a maid, my hb will do the samething too. now we dun have a maid, he sees a need to balance my stress and workload. we share. otherwise how can I get ready to have another kid next year?

I have been doing things without him for quite a while, in fact he feel left out cause i can go out by myself without his help. he will want to tag along cause he feels kpo and wanna get involved.
You may just let him decide what he wants, next time he will want to tag along also?. Actually, he is going for exercise in fact, it is good for him too. however, tell him to try to fork out some quality time and spend with the kids. that's good enough.
QUALITY TIME.. the keywords.

some parents have towork OT, to bring home bread. however quality time (be it a few hours or wat) is more important. those routines? you can get your maid to help. Try to RELAX a bit. sometimes routine is out of control or haywire when you are not around, who cares so much? when our kids wake up on the next day, they cannot remember liao. but if we mama go insane, then very jialat and it will spoilt the whole family's ambiance. right?
if free, jio me out to lim teh..

and yes, Dylan likes dancing? haha!! come come.

kelley, your teacher? sure or not??
still young and pretty now? cause got a big generation gap of more tham 20 years leh. haha!!

nana; thanks..

QQ: true also.. mayb i can be.. haha.. not certficied enof.. hahha.. my teacher also very pretty n "ci xiang"!!!... doubt she still teaching la.. mst be her students now..

Tay; i dunno, somemore i feel that mummy feel a stronger sense of responsibility for the kids than the daddies. maybe thats why its easier for the daddy to go enjoy their own program w/o the kids. Or maybe we are the more attached mummies.. so will always plans activities around the kids. Or maybe he feels that there is a maid, an extra pair of hands to help you. so

joelle,
i agree with u on bilingual thing.

If a child is exposed to many languages, he has more symbols to represent his thoughts, etc etc. this makes him learn faster and better.
however, there are a contradictory view on this especially on children with language and brain connection. most of the child who doesn't speak clear languages (or i should say kou3 chi1), mild one.. they are exposed to multiple languges. those with only one language exposure have less tendency to have kou3 chi1.

anyway, we are in singapore. multilanguage exposure if a societal need.....

kelley,
Crocs in US may file for bankruptcy. but they haven't file yet.

now there are a lot of croc-like shoes in the market. I just bot a pair that looks just like my crocs from Toa Payoh central shop.. $9.90 nia. All from china. then there are plainer designs going at $6.90. comfort level the same le.

QQ: i think u r very good at consoling ppl.. totally agree with you on the part about mama going insane.. hehe quite funny if i try and imagine all of us going beserk.. hahah.

mejo: This pic of YT very cute leh. so now is her skin smoother from all the lip balm she applied? next time u must screw the jat tighter or place it out of her reach. Rae cannot reach my cosmetics an di dun let her see me putting on make up, i will go hide in the bathroom, but she loves to take her CB Calendula cream to apply on her face.

QQ: i think cos of the unique sg environment, i feel the kids in SG has a better ability to sbsorb multi language. So we must leverage on this and make thier brans work even harder. anyone exposing their kids to other language now?

star, i am not very good la.
i need ppl to console me when i am down.

eh, if we all go insane, i thikn very big news...

bilingual, yes... we have the advantages..
actually in msia better.. at least 3 languages, excluding dialects.

mejo, i saw YT picture i laugh so loud. wah!!! u not scare that she eating the cream ah?
tian is also like that, but more gentle way. she will use cream or oil to apply on one side of her face nia. not like YT, going to ti4 hu2 zi like thatl haha (shaving)!!!.. haha!!

QQ: so dialet exposure should be now too hor?? ok ok my mum better start speaking to her in Cantonese man.
eh, u never go for lunch meh? how come whole hr still see u around one?

QQ/mejo: i think our girls now very vain leh.

last nite i was battling with rae when it was time to change to her PJ, she rejected my choice, keep asking me to "Change change". she say it is not "mei mei", she wants something "mei mei" and she went and picked out her floral halter top from CP.. aiyo.. so vain!!! i ask her if she wants to wear that to sleep, she told me yes!!! anyone else battling with her kids over clothes now? and where can i find Mei Mei PJs??

star,

yesterday she didnt want to change out from her PJ,so i brot to school with her uniform in her bag. my 1st time! anyway, since its was raining so heavily yesterday and she was sneezing on the way to school, i ask teacher to just let her wear her uniform over her PJ

silly but i prefer to keep her warm, so scared she fall sick

Pj, i noticed she likes her butterfly, elephant and cupcakes pjs from gap more. but Rae might like the princess Pjs ??? but dunno whether got size for her or not.

Star, i finished my lunch quick quick then start planning here while sitting.
i am reading papers and such, and finding info from web today.
whole day paperwork, very tiring.

girls, vain a bit ok la.
tian also choose her own pyjamas. i said at night can only wear pyjamas, no dress or skirt. she always want to be in qun2 zi.
when we go playground, she knows that its not good to be in qun2 zi, i will ask her to change into top and shorts.

by the way, i wanna ask mama here.
do you let your kids start wearing clothes by themselves? tian can wear la, but takes a long time. i just let her be. but if its a raining day, i want her to speed up a bit.
very funny to see this.

Autum : ooh.. thanks.. i will make sure i open my eyes n see at my market area..

Star: tt day ashlyn also like tt.. than my MIL commented.. beta don't always let her choose wat she wana wear.. if not bigger problems will arise next time.. like they only want expensive items@!!!! haha

QQ: most of the time, if she wants to wear, i let her be. but if its windy or weather cold, i wear for her lah, speed it up. now she wants to take out her clothes herself before bath.. so damn slow, and i alwasy wait till impatient.. cos she must take out he rtop first, then slowly pull out her pants and her diapers. and since i scared she catch her cold, most of the time, i help her lah, to speed up.

star
leia chooses the shoes she wants to wear.

she attempted to draw my eyebrow, in the end i saw pencil marking at the side of her eyebrow.

kelley: I mean its so tedious to argue with them over clothes..i think now they are trying to exert their independence lah, its a growing stage. what u wrte sounds scary leh.

nana
seth oso speaks w ang mo accent for chinese... but nvm wan la..they will adjust slowly.

starfruit
yup. according to the research. they will excel in both languages. same rate as 1 language.

qq
haa..not my view la.. it's the research in the papers ytd. :p thou i m now introducing seth to all languages. long as we r comfy. i dun particularly insist on 1 spoken language or wat. but i do insist my ah ma n mil speak to him in dialects..hee... i wan him to learn leh. sometimes he parrot them very cute wan. :p

QQ,
No harm let Tian try dancing since it's just opp your house. Just see the timing ok or not. Last week we went to peek at the girls doing ballet at civic.

star: don't know.. my MIL say mayb to scare me.. hahaha..

pink: ash even chooses what shoe she wana buy.. tt day brot her to colette to buy shoes..i tell her buy this?? she say no.. she pointed to another pair n tell me.. mummy buy this.. lucky it's cheap.. so jst let her be.. haha

pink: rae also choses her shoes, she alwasy wants her pipi minnie shoes, so noisy and i try and get her to wear her silent crocs.. hahah.
hey is Leia picky over clothes? she is cute lah, putting on makeup, i dun think she will be a tom boy lah.

QQ/star,

the article that joelle was quoting is from yesterday ST. the japanese did a test among kids in japan and in seattle. if u want, i go scan and email you the article to read.

QQ,
yesterday after i change diaper for K, she wants to wear her own PJ bottom. but we were already on her bed and in the dark. so i told her i wear for you ok ? she said NO! then ws tried to wear for her, she also said NO! in the end, she said, keira wear.

kaexin, she also gaining her independence..
this is another developmental milestone.
hor..
good wat.
i let her wear herself but ensure that no fan or aircon blowing on her.

star
haa..no la..just hokkien n cantonese w mandarin n english. malay i oso dunno, how to teach! :p

kaexin
yes, that's the one. i tried to find the online article but cannot find leh. maybe u can scan n show them. :p i find it useful la...contrary to what we think that 2 languages will confuse the kids n all.

joelle,
more than 1 languges will not confuse our kids. they will just pick up.
just that its not easy to achieve, the whole family has to be committed and use many languages.,..
i use too much mandarin bah. haha!!

Star : Tiff will also ask for "mei mei".. den i hoax her by telling her.. tat she in her uniform also "mei mei" or her pjs.. also "mei mei" i will let her choose her pjs lor.. she knows that for sleeping she can choose pjs only lor.. and when go out.. wah! if let her choose.. example if i start to get ready at 10.30 and appt at 12.. i will leave house only at 1 manz..

QQ : ya.. i will ask tiff to take off her clothes and wear her clothes by herself.. for clothings.. top always different mah.. sometimes zip behind or halter neck or wat.. den i will wear her top and her bottom she wear herself lor.. keke

back from lunch! had expensive kway chap.. but supposed to be famous one. ordered a 1-person share - $4.50.

sleepy sleepy..

Autum: $4.50ok lah.. i tot when u mention expensive, it will be more..heheh

nana: good lah, tiff good girl, will listen to u.

QQ/Joelle: ok i think hor, from today now, i will speak with rae in cantonese and english, daddy and nai nai can speak with her in english and hainanese. I better ask MIl to teach her more hainanese man.

nana: hahah ok ok i will try maybe her PJ really not mei mei enuff, cos i make her wear the same PJs.. not really the lah. This is cos i bought 5 of the same gap romper exactly the same in 2 colours (3 purple and 2 pink) and she wears them every nite, the same piece.. so maybe she fedup, dun want to wear liao, wanna wear something mei mei to bed.

star : hahaha. ok.. Tiff's pjs got stain somemore lor.. hahahaa.. (eeee.. me also paiseh to say) hahahaha.. and most of them are white.. hey.. CP's PJs are nice lor..

Pink : the CC teachers did encourage la.. but really must have patience to let her do it herself kind.. and I did not forget the CP

I got Kira a new pair of goggles and I find them really good, no plastics parts in front which could scratch her face apart from the ones on the strap behind, soft rubber, small fitting frames:)

star,
haha. now u know how giam i am! but $4.50 for delicious food ok la. :p if eat rice is about $3, so $4.50 is 50% more! I don't mind paying if the food is nice. worse is those expensive and not nice, then i will feel very irritated. kekeke..

QQ,
EJ now can wear his own pants and briefs. But shirt still got difficulty. But can see he wants to do it himself... cos he always say he want to wear himself, but end up cannot then he will come and ask for help. haha.