(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Edde,
ya, back. The kids had fun but very very tiring for us this time cos of Reyden lah ... Kent almost wanted to leave him there. Then I had motion sickness on the van journey down, vomitted all the way.

Hmmm ... If Anthea uses both hands then maybe not lah. You monitor for awhile more then see lor. Anyway nothing much you can do if she's a left hander. Don't attempt to change lah. Very confusing for the kid. It was so tramatising when my grandfather used to cane me to make me change my master hand.

Juni,
I am not sure if I should turn up :p cos I worked in a place where there have been many many cases of H1N1.. same place as Astro.

Juni,
AA was saying some people thinks that she's a spoilt brat/mum when they know she's a SAHM and has 2 maids.

Kids swim, I also need to jagar mah. haha. Plus if hubby too tired to go then I'll drop dead with the 2 of them. :p

evelyn
if u need anything from NTUC for the potluck/bbq just let me know!

irin, whats with Reyden?! kent so angry eh.. ya, whenever i tok abt the issue on "left hander" i think of u and wat u told us :p

Oh ya, wanted to say we made it for our 1st diaperless (ok lah, I brought 2 pieces for Reyes' night use) and milkless trip! hehe. So basically it was only clothes in the luggage.

RR,
issit? hahaha,, i must have missed reading abt that. but if AA can afford it, why ppl must think she is a spoilt brat/mum just because she is also a SAHM. those ppl are really silly or envious!

Edde,
he bit Reyes' arm (thru her sweater) till it bled!! You can imagine how angry Kent was.

Ya, ya, reminder for those mummies with left-hander kids too. Pls don't attempt to change your kids' master hands. :p

Kaexin,
ya lor. Silly remarks lah.

Haha, actually nothing to congrat about lah. Just that it was an easy trip without so much barang barang lor.

autum, you've just posted the most tricky question of the century...I really don know, shall we vote? pls don ask me okay, ask the rest of the mummies. And I'd love to see you leh!

RR, kids pool no deep plus if we sit there to eat then you can see them or at the playground, all nearby.

I think those ppl must be jealous of AA lah. I would love to have 2 maids or 3 if I have the space and money:)))

Juni,
you said the same thing as Kaexin about AA.

hmmm ... maybe cos I'm still suffering from the after-effects of today's motion sickness so lazy to think about it. Give me a day or 2 and I'll get excited about the gathering after I regain my energy. hehe. Let you know again.

juni, no leh.. i wish i hv coz i spend so much there every mth!!! my hb always fainted at my bill
can u imagine there was 1 mth i spent almost 1k at NTUC over 1 mth??? coz i stock up FM and diapers and non perishable stuff on their sales.. then my hb will nag at me the whole mth..

Mejo, HJ,
hmmm ... if the bb has very high jaundice might have to stop or switch to partial bm leh. Reyden had that and went thru 2 sessions of phototherapy but it was still high and on the verge of blood transfusion liao so the PD also advised me to stop for few days to a week and monitor. It's to prevent it from going higher and affect the bb. Luckily it came down a week after I stopped giving him bm.

HJ,
so maybe you can still express out and go partial?

Juni,
bilirubin level will take longer time to come down with breastmilk. Though usually it won't be harmful cos eventually it'll still come down. But in cases which the bilirubin level stays high for too long, it's no good for the bb so some PDs will advise to stop or go partial 1st and let the jaundice go off before continuing.

HJ: how about 1/2 BM and 1/2 FM? I did hear of such cases of BF jaundice, but it's a temporary thing. I just started giving V BM mixed with FM and she has been cleaning out her bottles ... dunno if she misses BM cuz I remember she prefers BM to Fm when she was younger.

OK time to BF liao ... HJ dun be discouraged ok *Hugs*

Arias first described breast milk jaundice (BMJ) in 1963. Breast milk jaundice is a type of neonatal jaundice associated with breastfeeding. It is characterized by indirect hyperbilirubinemia in a breastfed newborn that develops after the first 4-7 days of life, persists longer than physiologic jaundice, and has no other identifiable cause. It should be differentiated from breastfeeding jaundice, which manifests in the first week of life and is caused by insufficient production or intake of breast milk.

Pathophysiology

The etiology of breast milk jaundice is not clearly understood, but the following factors have been suggested to play a role:

An unusual metabolite of progesterone (pregnane-3-alpha 20 beta-diol), a substance in the breast milk that inhibits uridine diphosphoglucuronic acid (UDPGA) glucuronyl transferase
Increased concentrations of nonesterified free fatty acids that inhibit hepatic glucuronyl transferase
Increased enterohepatic circulation of bilirubin due to (1) increased content of beta glucuronidase activity in breast milk and, therefore, the intestines of the breastfed neonate and (2) delayed establishment of enteric flora in breastfed infants
Defects in uridine diphosphate-glucuronyl transferase (UGT1A1) activity in infants who are homozygous or heterozygous for variant Gilbert syndrome promoter polymorphism
Please see Jaundice, Neonatal for an in-depth review of the pathophysiology of hyperbilirubinemia.

Frequency

United States

Jaundice occurs in 50-70% of newborns. Moderate jaundice (bilirubin level >12 mg/dL) develops in 4% of bottle-fed newborns, compared to 14% of breastfed newborns. Severe jaundice (bilirubin level >15 mg/dL) occurs in 0.3% of bottle-fed newborns, compared to 2% of breastfed newborns. A strong familial predisposition is also suggested by the recurrence of breast milk jaundice in siblings.

International

International frequency is not extensively reported but is thought to be similar to that in the United States.

Mortality/Morbidity

Breast milk jaundice in otherwise healthy full-term infants rarely causes kernicterus (bilirubin encephalopathy). Case reports suggest that some breastfed infants who suffer from prolonged periods of inadequate breast milk intake and whose bilirubin levels exceeded 25 mg/dL may be at risk of kernicterus. Another group of breastfed infants who may be at risk of complications are borderline premature infants (36-37 weeks' gestational age) who are poorly nursing.

Race

Whether racial differences are observed in breast milk jaundice is unclear, although an increased prevalence of physiologic jaundice is observed in babies of Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Native American descent.

Sex

No sex predilection is known.

Breast milk jaundice manifests after the first 4-7 days of life and can persist for 3-12 weeks.

edde : den u got NTUC card right?? the link point can cashback to pay for ur next month groceries..

evelyn : erm.. no bread provided.. kekeke..

are the other mummies letting the kids swim?? i dun feel like going down to water.. but i know tiff would love to play with water..

Kai,
payment made.

To Account POSB Savings
126-16676-1 Lynn
Amount S$33.80
Transaction Reference 2332483903

Kiddo
I'm happy with the wet mrng cos my car is super duper dusty.
Free car wash! hehehe..Look at the bright side!

Evelyn
U really very 'eng' last nite, still can compose songs.
Hahaha...

Edde
Not OCK? Hahaha...kidding.

PIGHEADS
Pax
Enne
Tay
Ladysol
Shannie
Pearlyn
Giolyn
bbmarch plus Yvonne (haha)
blurbelle
Astro
Mindy (Kaexin pls help to inform ok?)

Delivery today! Yeah!

morning mums..

Astro: Thanks for the explanation. Strangely, I'm still not gan cheong. Haha.. Maybe cos I'm home most of the time?

RR, Kaexin, Juni: Thanks.. These comments/remarks get to me only when I'm feeling fragile lah. Else, I really can't be bothered.

Edde: I'm like you. Will stock up on MP when there is sale. Else, I find buying at regular price very boh hua. Now I must go stock up the wet wipes and more MP again. But I must agree $1k a mth is a lot leh. On average, we spend abt $500/mth at ntuc.

Juni: The thought of BBQ food makes me hungry.. Yummy yummy.. You girls have fun..

something to share
CO likes to cut paper with scissor. I just let her use metal scissor with round head. This morning, i saw a fiber scissor at the supermarket. Cut paper only...will not cut hair etc.(i never realise that) It looked very safe...

kai,
how much is min's ? i wll let her know.
hey, when you wanna come n collect your loot.
going start to charge you storage liao

anyone, interested in getting this ?
COACH PINK WRISTLET, usd 60
2635297.jpg

Description: NEW Coach 42382 Pink Heritage Sign Capacity Wristlet.
Retail: $98
Color: Hot Pink
Material: Leather
Measurements (approx): H:5" L:8" W: 1"; Leather Wrist StrapFull Length: 12"

Straight from Coach store!!
# Zip Closure
# Brass/goldtone hardware
# Leather Hang Tags
# Interior has slip pocket
# Interior pink lining
# Dog leash wrist strap
# Stripe on front with Coach logo

CK : got plastic scissors for kids.. and it will cut paper nicely too.. its looks like a toy.. but can really cut paper and strings.. very safe for our kids..

CK : dun say like that la.. i also sharing.. i din know also until i saw Tiff's CC photos that they use it.. den i ask the teachers.. they told me.. den i go buy for home also.. haha

kai
i hv asked Kaexin to order RnL on my behalf. can let me know how much to trf? i trf to yr account directly then