(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

nana
please la. drop the presumption that sahm r very free and can spend all day teaching the child la. if working mother no time to educate children, then dun give birth lo. why bring them out into the world then spend all the time earning money and leave no time for them? i'm sure some of the working mums here do spend time teaching their kids wan.

pink
it's up to 12 yrs old leh. with the science set... hee. did u teach her to 'check' answers after that? seth will check then go 'same same' and clap for himself! :S

jo : check answers ? hmmm.. maybe i should listen to the demo.. becos the one that i did was some books that need pointing.. use the pen.. etc.. also got series up to 12 yrs old.. with english, maths, science.. its a different one?

nanabear,
Yes logico can use up to 12 years old. Start with the 4 years old one. It's fun, moving the buttons around to the correct answer. Like moving car like that.
I did with Esther before, then i stop. Opps, must start again.

pink : wat u say also true.. previously.. she dun even care abt flash cards.. recently she started "playing" with her flash cards.. books not yet.. she will listen to me read.. and den wanna draw on the books lor.. haha..

jo : its not whether a working mother got no time to educate den dun give birth.. not everybody's family background is the same.. e.g. If the family has big big financial problem.. does the mum have a choice not to go to work?? does tat means that a mum cannot give birth just becos of financial problem and have to work?

or does it means that a mum who has to work.. has to abort the child? educate of cos will have time to educate.. but to wat extend? why some parents can home school their kids? why some cannot? becos of qualification??? or becos of no time??

let's put it this way.. a FTWM like me.. Of cos i would educate my kid when I can.. but of cos educating comes in different sorts of different ways... teaching manners also educating mah.. to my point la.. same as.. if with a professor degree but with no EQ, no Manners, no social skills.. wat's the point..

joelle
12yrs old? did i remember wrongly?
err..i took out the simplest colour matching logica for her to play and she completed everything.

when daddy came back, i told him the amount i spent and he was shocked! hahhaa. so i brought the logica set and let leia demo one more time to him. we were happy and he didnt make any comment liao.

after i gave her a break and she went on with her barney books. which books did you choose for the FOC?

nana
1 day 15minutes is enough.

gosh... my laptop need few hrs to finish defrag.. jia lat... corrupted liao...

back to topic..

talking abt encyclopedia? hmm seriously hor.. the first time i read those encyclopedia, was when i go explore my sis's cabinet...(she got the disney, the yellow colour ones and white colour ones[don noe the series, all picture inside is mickey mouse]) i take out 1 by 1 reading it... and tts when i was pri 1! some i don even understand wad it means.. and i DESTROY it by using my crayons... scribble all over!!! hee.. i think till now my sis still don noe... lol!

i guess no rush?hmmm... slowly they will be interested in books... and really need them to understand more words... i remember i read "the human body"... wah! chim lor!! i onli noe how to read, head body leg, hand arm,... tts all i understand from the thick book... slowly i also read abt space... i remember i memorise the planets... i got A for science! lol... wahahha... i think our todd now still young..
but exposure is good also la... heee... (conclusion, i think my ah bel sure don understand a single thing if i go dig out and read to her. she sure gong gong sit there... wahahaha)

I dunno if i am talking sense.. but thats my thinking la.. no offence la.. just debating :p

and den hor.. my time with my ger everyday nite is like from 7.30-8.30.. 1 hour.. 7.30 she finishes her dinner.. 8.30 she goes to bed liaoz.. between 7.30 to 8.30.. washing .. cleaning up.. by time 8 pm liaoz.. so left like only 1/2 hr for her.. if u wanna tell me no different with FTWM and SAHM.. i tell u.. my POINT IS there is a big difference.. NOT BY saying who is freer.. but its the time spend with the kid and the bonding..

nana,
relax la.. hmmm... both got the different job la... sahm need to handle house chores.. which is never ending like FTWM having work piling up for them to finish.. we face children, working mom face the boss... tts the diff.. 24/7 face the children is no joke.. u have been there.. u should noe..

i feel tt we cannot compare la... REN BE REN QI SI REN(sry for my language)whaha... we know working mom is tired from work... stay at home mom also tired from housechores and taking care of the kids.. some don even have time to go toilet(mi)... is a different job/occupation..

nanabear,
Ya, for us everyday very rushing. But 15min per day for reading is ok. Make it before bedtime reading. Tiff will enjoy it.
Didn't said you need to invest on the books. Any book will do bah.
But if buy this, cos many many books then no need to buy any more books liao.
Having said so much, i didn't buy yet. Very tempted.

I feel being a mom is not easy already, be it SAHM(facing kids 24/7 + hsework) or FTWM(face boss + piling work + see people face + go home still face kids)

All is for the good of the kids, stay home to take care of kids, go work is also for income for the kids, if can choose good, if cannot choose, must make do, some pple who can afford to be SAHM would also opt to be FTWM and vice versa if can afford to be SAHM, so I feel both also not easy lo, but also depends on circumstances to be which one ba, coz sg very 'sian shi', bo $ no talk. hee.

pinkpink-how much is the set!!!

huingee,
i wonder, if got this books already, den still got ppl come and teach? these books really ex lei... i wonder who bought for my sis the last time...
*jealous* lol... and is too ex to let my gals destroy... i better let them destroy the cards den these books.

Reyes' fever shot up.

2574457.gif

See her so weak and tired even when watching her favourite Barney.

Good thing is Reyden is fine le. He just poo-ed and it's those hard type, not watery liao.

Tks mummies ...

Huingee,
I count myself very lucky that usually they take turns (even though one right after another) but good enough.

Nana,
not better, infact I just took the pix less than 15mins ago.

Hope she'll be ok later cos I'm bringing Reyden for a wedding dinner. Don't know Kent can handle her or not, luckily my mum will be here.

nana
huignee said only 2 companies have such early home training program - Timelife and Grolier.

timelife is the one selling at $5k plus.

enne
mine is around $2.4K over 24mths.

yvonne
maybe few yrs back not so ex :p

RR
reyes looks so poor thing, sayang her for us please.

pinkpink-wah.. so u paying by installments?

yvonne-haha..'antique' liao.. maybe the new ones now 'improved' version??

pink : oh.. den must be the timelife.. that is so ex.. and i find not practical..

irin : yesterday u said u bringing reyes and not reyden.. now reyes sick.. aiyo.. *hugz reyes*

ash,
The one pink has disney words, encyc, logico etc. Many many books, so many that they give you a free bookshelf for it too.

Ash
there're a few sets. i didnt bring the list.

if i remember correctly,
consists of almost everything in the product list except body science, science experiment, NEW BOOK OF KNOWLEDGE - ENCYCLOPEDIA, crafts.

bunnie
u just ask the uncle to demo.
leia considered slow in terms of picking up things.
some say some kids pick up early at a gradual pace, some pick up fast and once they start, they cannot be stop.

when uncle asked me is SPIDER an insect? my face went red..cos i dun know the answer :p

hello mummies, any one miss me. Aiyoh got so many things to update. Recently the whole family is coughing and now gwyen is having fever. Hope will subside soon.

My mil's maid keep complaining that she cannot tahan my mil and want to be transferred. So now hb and I will be getting a maid under our name and she will be at my in law place only when we are at work. Sighh.. lost of privacy. So the new maid will be coming in 3weeks to a months time.

Nana,
ya lor, now will stick to original plan, bring Reyden. hehe.

Close secondary school friend, cannot miss it else I would have just stay at home.

Ash
the answer is No.
insect has 6 legs + feelers + body is portioned into 3.

spiders have 8 legs + no feelers + body portioned into 2.

Giolyn
its like that one. my maid also a bit cannot tahan my MIL. my MIL kept telling her she did this wrong did that wrong and kept comparing leia with my SIL's kids.

Mr Tan told her no need to come home half day to watch over leia and maid since her schedule is so unpredictable.

Bunnie
u really want the bear set?
let me know cos im ordering other items.
V should take size 7 since leia is wearing 5.
lemme know soon.