(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

QQ
cos you v disciplined let tian zzz in her own room
now you are enjoying the fruits of your labour

pink
what time is your gynae appt on fri? hopefully after this no need jab and med liao and you will feel better

SQ, hb said i am very harsh cause he was scare of dark last time,cannot sleep alone de. sil also said tian very ke lian, midnight scream also nobody around. but i am always there, she can come into my room and look for me if needed.
see how la. maybe not 100% successful afterall.

tian got play a bit at playground, but most of the time looking at other kids, then kpo a bit. if they dun wear shoes, then she will ask them to wear shoes or etc. if other kids play rough games until so high, she will also laugh. i see it more kpo and guan3 jia1 po2 than anything else.

huingee, SQ. i bath tian before she sleeps.wash hair if really sweaty and dirty. wash body oni if no sweat. but really quick bath la. not dilly dally and play with water.

QQ: hahah patrolling playground!

kai/RR: i always use the time out method too/ depending on how much time i hv. i'll say like 5mins or 2 mins then count down slowly like "ok, 1 min left". they will understand.

QQ: i still fail at letting A sleep on his own mattress. last nite he woke up & stand next to my bed. keep insisting on coming up. i keep refusing then he cried. i let him stop crying and try to prevent him but still cannot. so end up he sleep on my bed till morning

QQ
mil usu bathe YE after dinner, before she comes home. so it will be around 630pm. then if we detour to playground, got to bathe again at 8pm or so. aiyo, troublesome lah. plus my mum always complain bathe so late then ganna cold.

tian is very mature in her thinking. do you close her door and yours at night when you zzz? then she will just open and walk out?

i'm in two minds about this zzz in own room. last time YE could, then we brought her travelling so frequently she got used to being in the same room with us. which i actually still dun mind cos she zzz like a log and dun disturb us. plus i like to turn over and look at her face and think of how blessed we are to be mothers. v nostalgia at times.

but now i might have a problem with #2 coming. cos if all squeeze together, no one gets quality zzz. but if i throw someone out, which of my kids should it be?

kai/ash
i must try the time out method too

ash
i think bo bian de
if you realy want him out of your bed, you got to let him cry and cry for days on end and he wil get it. the question is do you wanna do it.

hubby suggest letting YE zzz in her own room now. i quite bu she de. plus she really doesn't bother us. plus if she's in her own room, and she cries, sure look for mama and not papa. then i have to run two rooms. i might as well just kill myself

SQ, i yan1 zhu4 my door and her door, not fully closed cause she is not 100% proficient in opening the door yet. she will pull her door, then walk a few steps, then push my door and said: tian tian qi3 lai2 le4.
if you can, you try to let YE sleep in her room from now on, so that next time will be easier.
try first. if really cannot then bobian, most importantly you need to get quality sleep now.

we have extra tilam in tian's room, I can sleep with her if I want to. hb likes to sleep with her in the past one week, that's why its hard to undo the problem.

ash slowly bah. not easy but have to do it a little bit at each time.

Morning ...

Min,
we've also tried caning the cane on the sofa or floor but he's just not scared. This morning when we were walking to school, he went around picking up sticks and I asked him remember Daddy cane or not? Scared? He answered me "not scared."! I almost vomit blood. Not easy to handle kids like him ... You are right about patience.

Kai, Ash,
the time out method does work with RR also cos usually when I bring them to the playground on weekends, I'll do that and they'll listen.
The problem was probably cos Kent didn't expect them to run to the playground without his permission and they just played on and on despite him asking them to go off so he lost his temper. And plus the things Reyden did over the weekends so the anger just got accumulated lor.

SQ,
haha, that means YE's still not as bad as Reyden. :p

QQ,
I feel so heartache when Kent caned him too. Think I'll cater extra time for him to play at the playground now. He's very good at his gross motor skills, very active boy. He doesn't quite like the TV, books or those "sit-still" activities.

But then it's not only the playground issue alone, we noticed that he had been very mischievious nowadays. He'll purposely do things that we asked him not to or things that he knows it's wrong.

SQ/QQ: i think i'll let him cry a little bit each nite. kekek!!! cos its disturbing for him to sleep with us. he will toss n turn & me & hb are light sleepers

RR: confirm kent cannot be a sah dad. i dun think i can be a sahm too. the week tt A was sick and without maid. i was going mad on day 3 n loosing my patience

QQ
i bu she de kick her out now, v guilty esp cos i dun play with her as much anymore. the oni time we are together now is when we lie down and sleep. then she will go "mama... mama". i find it v sweet. then we will just zzz. sometimes i fall zzz first, sometimes it's her.

when she wakes up at night, she will just say "milk". no crying nothing. then i will ask hubby make milk. then we stuff it into her mouth, she drinks, and zzz again till 7+am. so i'm not complaining wor.

i hope i dun regret later.

now i'm thinking of everyone cramming into the same room, then when YE is about four and #2 one, then i shift them out?

dunno if it will work.

i can also put tilam in YE's room, but of course my bed would be more comfy. i also dunno why hubby "complain" since she realy doesn't bother us. haha...

ash
ya, i dun like YE on my bed
my bed is mine
cos she will not only toss and turn, but will zzz diagonally and horizontally. and i very scared she will whack me unknowingly, so i dun get good zzz

RR
boys are more active

gals will sa3 jiao1 afterall and you sweet talk abit, they will listen. that's what i like about gals

Ash,
I'm pretty surprised with that cos he had always been a more patient and better tempered person than me. This shows that mothers always have a bigger heart for their kids. :p

SQ,
You can try to let YE sleep in another room. Or maybe you sleep with her too. If she really cannot sleep at another room then let baby sleep in another room by itself. It's easier to train babies.
Last time i also bu she de, dun want her to feel left out and lazy. So ended up all 4 of us still sleeping in the same room. Initially baby cry will disturb jiejie's sleep. But after awhile also immune to it liao. Esther really sleep like log like papa.

RR: sometimes its also bcos we u/s our kids behavior more than hb. so we know why they do certain things & how to control them. but the dads dun u/s them?

SQ,
ya, gals are so much sweeter.

Actually part of the reason why I think Kent loses his temper with Reyden is cos of Reyes. Most of the time Reyden's mischievious acts involved Reyes like pushing her, teaching her the wrong things, disturbing her sleep, snatching her things & etc ...
I do believe that if Reyden is a single child, Kent would probably have more patience with him. I feel so sad for him ...

Ash,
ya, you are right in that sense.

Anyway I talked to Kent about this issue last night and he promised that he won't use the cane on them again. I just hope Reyden won't get worse. :p

RR,
Some people use naughty corner, some is deprive them of watching their fav show and some is temp take away their fav toy. Slowly they will learn.
I can control Esther as she is older, can understand. She very scared of me and hb when we are angry.
But for Dylan he scared of hb but not me.

RR
but it's not that kent loves reyes more right?

ash
ya, same level

huingee
that was an option. but if i put #2 in another room, i still have to walk over for feeds. super tiring. if i zzz with bb, then YE will find my side of the bed missing when she stirs. and she will wake up fully wor. then everybody no need to zzz

ash/RR
i find also that daddy doesn't bother to read up as much on child development as we do. so they dun understand as much. dun you find that sometimes they dunno why the child behaves in a certain way and you have to educate them based on what you read? for me, it's the case

SQ,
Ya loh, it's tiring to walk over esp for babies.
I trying to move them out of my room this year. But headache cos involve rearrange their room and the study room. Cos fil sleepover on weekend, need to arrange a bed to put in my small studyroom. Also not sure to let them sleep on what. If put 2 beds there will be not much space on the floor to play. Bunk bed mafan to climb up, put out bed mafan to put out. Maybe just let them sleep on mattress on the floor.

RR
Reyden is really a tough guy.
Stop the cane for the time being is a good idea cos he may get 'immune'.
Try rewarding like star chart etc...then remind him of the rewards perhaps?

Think Kent also gancheong, gotto jaga two.
Then weather hot, gancheong, become 冲动? hahaha..

Mejo
Funny hor.

SQ: do u convert her bb cot into toddler bed or u got a new bed? i used to convert cot to toddler bed to same level as my bed & put beside me. but i find the bed too small for him to toss n turn.

anyone got ikea kids bed tt can convert fr small to big?

SQ,
ya, ya, that's right! Most of the time I'll forward whatever reading material I find useful to Kent.

I won't say he loves Reyes more lah but he has got more patience with her and maybe cos she's a girl so he would be more protective towards her lor.
But somehow I just feel that cos Reyes is there as a benchmark so Reyden will always seem to be the naughtier one. At least for now lah, not sure about future though.

Kai,
haha!! I also think the weather has got a part to play leh!! That's why now I make sure either I go with him or I go alone to pick them.

ash
i converted her cot
which brings me to the next problem of where my #2 is gonna zz
should i waste $ and get a new cot
or should i let go of YE's and convert her to a bed?
then i have to train her early, plus the pantang saying of i can't shift anything now
aiyo, so many problems when i think about it

RR
forward also won't read
ya, 2 kids will sure compare
even when they are not twins

the weather does drive me crazy
now everytime i talk to YE, i make sure there's a fan blowing DIRECTLY at me so my temper won't flare
then the silly gal still come and turn it off for me

SQ: throw out no2.. cos easier to throw than YE.. hahaha

i also wanna try and transit rae to her own room.. need to clear the room first. lots of rubbish in there. that room has became my store room.

star
u finaly here
but throw out #2 i got to walk over 10,000 times at night leh

YE's room used to be a storeroom too. then we cleaned it up for her. now i still forbid hubby to throw rubbish there so it's empty

ash
we already have a bed for her
so maybe i should get out, then ask hubby and brother to shift?
but i thot no one is supposed to shift my bed during this period? i might need to shift my bed abit to squeeze everyone in the same room

my mum specifically warned me not to prep anything for #2 this time round based on our bad experience previously. she said when i go hospital deliver then start preparing.

siao lah. old folks dun understand the importance of transitioning early

ash
we already have a bed for her
so maybe i should get out, then ask hubby and brother to shift?
but i thot no one is supposed to shift my bed during this period? i might need to shift my bed abit to squeeze everyone in the same room

my mum specifically warned me not to prep anything for #2 this time round based on our bad experience previously. she said when i go hospital deliver then start preparing.

siao lah. old folks dun understand the importance of transitioning early

good morning.. i read abt u all saying abt caning..

on sunday.. tiff's dad bought a cane.. all the while. i have been using balloon stick to "scare" tiff.. and will cane her hands if really my limit liao.. other wise.. i will ask her "u wan mummy take cane?" she will say no and den she will do wat i wan her to do..

on sunday.. her dad bought a cane! i ask him.. why u buy cane!?!?!? he said "becos she play with the cane at the shop" i am like! WHAT!@

wah lau. den tat sunday.. tiff kanna threatened by the cane almost the whole day.. wah lau.. heartpain.. den i warn him.. u take somemore.. threaten somemore.. no use liaoz later.. hahaha..

RR : ur Reyden ar .. aiyo.. if me i also like u vomit blood .. yes.. alot of patience.. he dun "eat hard" ?? he "eat soft" ?

ya man so active, i just diappeared for 30mins.

SQ: throw #2 out.. easier.. leave YE where she is. let #2 learn to sleep on his/her own. its not that diff. just my thought.

ok i better start dumping all the rubbish and clear the room for her.

ash
cos i need to fit in the single bed and my king size bed and the cot in my room. so i need to shift abit wor.

star
maybe that would be what i do eventually if i never move my butt to get YE out now! but i feel so unfair lah. whichever kid doesn't zzz with me, i feel so sorry for him/her. think not fair. but the expense of fairness might be no zzz for everyone and it might not be worth it.

*thinking. heavens help me!*

SQ,
hehe, I was having that problem for quite awhile before my maid left. Eventually all moved into my room but I like it this way cos it's very good bonding time at bedtime and I get to see them the moment I open my eyes.

But think for you, it's better to let #2 sleep in the other room if your hubby wants to have good sleep. Or in any case if you decided to let YE move out, must get it done now, need to give her ample time to get used.

Nana,
he don't eat hard and don't eat soft. That's why headache lor.

SQ : wat bad experience for preparation u had the last time??

SQ : the swelling is stil there
me very upset lor.. me cant leave work
last nite me went to "review" for my knee.. doc acupunture and put medi again lor.. ask me to eat medi too.. this time i guai guai eat.. the leg swell til very painful too lor.. *sobz* hahahaa..

doc said cannot walk too much, cannot carry heavy things, cannot stand too long.. aiyo.. my job requires all these lor..

RR : Cane not scared.. try the loving way.. really.. praise and praise when he does not do notti things.. praise him whenever he gets things right..

RR
ya i know must move YE out now which is unlikely cos that would mean interrupted zzz for me for now. i'm so short sighted

will see about #2 then. no other choice

i also like YE in my room cos when she opens my eyes, she will say mama and gives me a hug. then she will read her book and say thank you mama cos she knew i bought it for her. very wu hua. i buy one time she say thank you so many times

think with Reyden, he needs to set his own time. not you or kent. else he won't buy in

SQ: wah so sweet, YE will say thank you for the books. A has nvr said thank you for his books

nana: poor thing. u beta try very hard to heal your knee. dun play play

ash
i'm surprised myself
sometimes we hand her things and if she doesn't say thank you, we will remind her
but for the books, everytime she sees them, she will say thk you mama. and she says it a few times morning and night. so really worth la. no complaints