(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

autum,
ya.. .every mom use different method...

irin, ck,
i will heart pain when nick really scold bel.. but usually he scold in a funny way, and i end up laughing there... wahahaha... den i m the one getting beating from nick... cos i laugh when he teaching bel.. whahahaa

RR
to me, caning shd be the extreme lo. my mum will cane us when we reach the limit. n she oni cane once each time..jialat jialat kind... so we remember.. haa..it din traumatise me too much but i learnt fr it. with seth, i find it's not very possible to use that method. maybe now he still dun understand it. i feel discipline shd go according to child n not to wat we believe. some kids dun take to sweet talk wan. i tried reasoning w seth but it dun work. cane.. chope chope immediate effect! so it's really easy to get into the habit of caning. but i've been telling myself not to make it so habitual that it has no effect on him anymore. nowadays i just try to use it in extreme cases of misbehaviour. heh.

Autum,
ya, I think different ways work with different mummies and kids.
Told you Kent is just like you, he tried what you just suggested!
He let them played at the playground beside their CC just now but ... they still ran to the playground at my blk's downstairs when they walked past. haiz ...

Joelle,
but then I agree with what you say about if punish 1 then will have to punish both also especially for twins cos they learn most of the things from each other. Reyes must learn that she cannot everything also follow Gorgor, in fact must try to "correct" gorgor's wrongdoings too.

Yvonne,
I don't dare to talk to the teacher about his behaviour. Worried that she'll start complaining non-stop. haha!!

RR,
R sounds like K. i din tell you meh last thursday, she did the same after CC but she went the extra mile, worshipping the ground.

last nite, i showed ws where and he ask me wah! she can even choose the surface.

ask K dun cane lah. actually i quite tempted too

tat's why i said i am fast running out of patience.

but just now after work, she was such a good gal! so i praised her and she can even tell me she went to fire station and saw fire engine when i ask her where she went. she even clap after she told us. so all of us clapped too

RR,
nowadays after last thursday. i always used the long way home, no shortcut for me. coz i realised if i used shortcut, she w/o fail, will ran to the playgrd !

but MIL commented today that at CC, she always on her best behavior. not like at home. so i told her coz she always take advantage of you guys.

Joelle,
ok, you got a point there, discipline should go according to kid but the thing is we don't know what works with Reyden. I know with Reyes I can sweet talk her, if extreme then scold or cane, she'll remember.
But Reyden ... soft, hard, cane, talk all don't work.

kaexin,
that's why! I think Reyden behaves well in school and when there are outsiders around. He'll only do the extreme when he's at home or alone with us.
No long way, definitely have to pass by the playground leh ...

Yvonne,
sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. I'm just worried that it'll give him the wrong idea that everything he does must come with rewards. headache ...

Autum,
ya, I guess so bah ...

irin,
actually EJ loves the playground too.. but the thing is, when I pick him, i pick in my car, so we drive past playground, he will always say he wants to play, but no chance. If i walk to pick him, the walking route doesn't pass by any playground, so he won't ask. guess i am lucky in this aspect. for you, playground is just downstairs right. so a bit hard.

RR
maybe the canning wasnt painful enough to leave an impact?
hahha im not encouraging violence but like wat joelle said, just that ONE big time will make them remember.

Autum,
ya lor, last time when we were staying at old place, need to drive, no such problem. Now with walking then have this problem. And the funny thing is it'll usually happen when we pick them and not sending them. They won't feel like playing at the playground in the morning?

irin/ edde
tks
just now i told chloe le..think she dun understand la, i told her bb inside mama no more..she replied wat i said..but kept smiling.. i ask her to hug mama, she came to hug me n said 'i love u mama' this is wat she tells me every night or when we hug each other.

edde
pls take care..go drink more water, today i stayed at home walk ard the hse also feel very stuffy n hot.

pink
i m not sure abt bak kut teh, but i think mostly msg? not much of the actual herbs le.. dun go to extreme its ok la..i also drank abit of alcohol few mths back cos sitting in the fridge very sayang..

tonite's talk abt caning? hmmm like mindy i also kept my cane in the store room, either i take it out or i ask her to stay inside storeroom which chloe never cos she refuses to go inside.

irin,
i think in the morning, they know they are going to school to play.. so they don't need to go playground. after school, is different mah. after school can play!

RR
i suspect reyden is the kind who will behave if u use reyes to psycho him. like if he is notti, u tell him how good reyes is... fr the way u say how he wanna be like meimei regarding the toilet training part.. i believe it may work if u can come up with a method to use reyes to teach him. heh.

re:playground
i always tell seth the playground is hot in the afternoons n he cannot play. if he insists, i let him touch..then he will guai guai walk away fr it. heh.

Pinkpink,
haha!! you also another "bian tai" mummy like Joelle. I know it's painful cos I kena also. :p Reyes could remember too but not Reyden so I think it's him lah, not that the caning is not painful enough.

RR,
I caned Dylan and Esther once. Was very mad that time, but very heartpain after it.
Hb also caned Dylan before. There was a time, he can caned Dylan a few times. But i notice he didn't use alot of strength. I told him, use cane only if it's very serious thing and must cane hard hard to make them really scare. I also dun like to see him cane Dylan, i will cry.
Nowadays we don't cane them, punish them by standing in naughty corner. Must be very persistent in making them stand in the naughty corner.
You try to talk to Kent as caning is not a good method. To some kid they will get more rebellious.

Joelle,
the playground not hot at 5+ liao leh. :p
No lah, cannot use that method too often, I don't him to get upset with Reyes. Can see that he bullies the sister alot and he don't love her as much she loves him. If we do that too often, it might just backfire.

Huingee,
haha, I'm that some kid lor!! :p
Think he uses the cane cos his father also used it on him last time and he could still remember the few incidents so he felt that it works. I must make him see that apparently it doesn't work with Reyden.

Sorry for ranting about Reyden here. Tks for all the inputs. 1st time kent and I have strong disagreements about the kids so I felt abit "wu2 nai4". I just pray hard that he'll go thru this T2 safely. :p

Belle,
chloe's so sweet. At least you've got her with you. Don't think too much bah, rest well and take care.

Irin,
for me, i always try not to use mei-mei as comparison to EJ.. but sometimes i can't help myself. like if EJ is naughty, then I may say "see, mei-mei so guai, not like you, so naughty".. but i conciously tell myself not to do that often. cos i don't want them to have rivalry, but sometimes really cannot control, i will make such remarks.

but if it's good things, then i will purposely make the remarks, to reinforce the good behavior. like if EJ shares his toys with EV, then we will tell EV "see, kor-kor share toys with you, next time u must also share with kor-kor".. something to that effect.

RR, Autum,
I think it's ok to let them play playground after school. But tell them just a while as need to go back eat dinner. If they dun listen, then next day say no playground. Drag them home, slowly they will understand play awhile only. When you call them go home, let them do the last slide down then go home.
My route home is not playground, it's ntuc, breadshop, toy shop, rides etc. Very firm tell them no, then they get used to it.
Last time fil, mil brought kids back home everyday have to buy tibits or playground. I dun like that but no choice as they said the kid will cry. Old people cannot tahan kids cry, not like use.

joelle,autum,irin,
i cannot use mei mei... bel will go hit her... i think she will be jealous when we praise or compare mei mei with her.. so end up got beaten up.. lol!

i go slp liao.. night..

Autum
ya, ya, only the positive things lor. Like the toilet-training thing that Joelle mentioned or like whenever Reyes tries some new food or play with some new things then I'll use it as encouragement. But I won't use it when he misbehaves cos don't want him to think we are comparing or we are scolding him cos meimei is behaving.

Yvonne,

Yar, my MIL cooked for the whole family. But my burger is made to order cuz I told her I want 2 mushroom instead of one and I don't want those breaded chicken patty and tomato sauce.

Belle,

Haha, I can eat alot so must control if not will balloon. My mouth can open big big to bite the mushroom. My mil not really ang mo, she can't really speak English one but she is adventurous with dishes. The first time she bought fresh mushrooms, she threw away alot cuz she though all spoilt since the bottom under the cap is black!

Irin,
yalor, that's why i told myself to be concious not to remark if one or the other is misbehaving. else they will feel unhappy with each other in future. haiz, as parents, we really have to think of everything! haha.. no wonder i got so much white hair after having kids!

mejo
ur MIL is so cute, threw away fresh mushrooms
now she is a PRO liao ..can still buy portebello type of mushroom for the whole family.

RR
you shd hv a compromise or a common pact with your hubby on discipline matters so that you won't feel so bad for R.

For our case, both of us are in support of physical punishment. so when hubby tab D with cane, i was pleased bcoz he stopped his tantrums.

even when he wailing for me to hug.. i din do it right away.. i just ignore him coz i don't wanna make my hubby the lousier parent at the moment.

anyway.. we can only do this (caning) when my MIL is not ard.. when she is ard i think you shd know who is my boy's protector.

I also kept a metal ruler in our bedroom so that no need to go out to grab cane and a ruler is within my reach!

For R and my D.. i think it takes alot of patient to guide them right. and you know they tend to do things to spite us and test our limit.

RR
to add.. perhaps tell Kent if he is really angry with RR, try smacking to cane on the sofa first to see if they stop their tantrums or cries before laying the cane on them

Belle,

The portobellos are sold at hougang NTUC. $3+ for a pack of 4 burger sized pieces. Think they are on offer. Normally is $4.80 per pack.

mejo
ur burger looks cute
your mil is so cute to make you the burger
and you are so cute to take pic and post here

RR
wa, i can't imagine cane yet as much as i'm hot tempered with YE. dunno how i will react man. think i will cry if i were you. lousy

i never know what to do with the portobello
wash them become soggy
dun wash like so dirty
what's the right way?

belle
chloe is so sweet. nowadays i have to keep reminding YE to say bye bye mama when she goes to school in the am!

SQ,

Dun wash! Or you just lightly rinse. No need to wash one, no pesticide whatever so why wash?

Haha, cuz my MIL ask me to take pic and go and test my mum let her guess what kind of burger is it. LOL. Think she also very proud of the burger!

mejo
i just had portobello ytd too!! hee... i got it for $3.80 for a pack of 6 at ntuc!! yum!! i marinated mine w vinaigrette and grilled! yum!!

sq
i washed the mushrooms quickly under the tab. the right way is actually to wipe them with a damp cloth i think. heh.

mejo
oh..i din see the big ones. i grilled in a grill pan. hee... then we ate it like steak... vegetarian style! haa.... but i added minced pork to the remaining marinate thou.. haa... meat eater! =X

RR
Wat about time's up method?
I used it on Kai. Eg. if he sees those coin rides.
He will be v. excited over them & make his way up & refuse to come down.
We gave him some time on it & after a while we will tell him one minute more ok?
He will show me the one finger sign & nod his head.
After tat, i told him 1min up.
If he refuse, i will say u agree on the 1min right.
Normally, he will come down.

Tis mrng, i woke him at 7.30am (he overslept).
Then he show me the 1min finger sign :p

Angel,

Kai is so cute! Haha, I can so just imagine him trying to stay in bed for a while more and showing you the 1min finger sign.

i din read in details, as usual...

but aiyo.. now canes, rulers and metal ruler ?? all came in? i thought we were supposed to be busy massaging our kids's feet last night? and praising them high high? hee hee.

RR, you have 2 kids, not easy. Actually if I were you i will let reyden run and release all his energy at playground before going home. if it is something (maybe just 15 min) that they look for on daily basis after cc, isn't it wonderful? i am unable to bring tian to playground cause by the time i reach home, around 7pm le, a bit dim and scare of mosquitoes.

Every kid is different, even twins also can be very individual de. it is not right to compare both kids.
can I ask you a question? about reyden.
- what is he good at? (physical? fine motor?)
- is he interested in stories?

just make him do more things that he is good at, boost his morale a bit, and try not to cane him bah.. i feel so heart pain. twins le, very cute de.

mejo, wah. the burger looks so nice. your mil is very IN.

I am quite happy today. these few days tian had been having nightmare and kept screaming to look for me. I talk talk talk to her last night, brought her to my room and told her where my room is, my bed, and ask her to show me her room, etc etc. then i told her to sleep and mama will leave after she is asleep. if happen to wake up in the night, then go back to sleep. if the sun came up already? then can wake up. dunno if she understand or not.
no chaos last night, and she woke up by herself in the am.
maybe just my luck.

QQ,
Ya loh, everyday i walk home from after walk see lots of kids at playgroud. They so happy, but i didn't let my kids go playground every evening when we walk back from nanny house cos Dylan already shower liao. But on weekends, sometimes i will bring them down for playground for 30 to 45mins then go home shower.

joelle
can i eat your mushroom?
sounds yummy
i used to like the one at Brewerkz. dunno if it's still good

joelle/mejo
thanks for the rinsing tips. i tot looks dirty, never wash :p

mejo
your mil so cute. still ask you take pic to show your mum

QQ
haha... now that you reminded me. ya, we were supposed to massage, sudd became canning the kids. oops.

huingee
i also dun bring YE to playground in the evening. cos that is after her shower. aiyo, dun wanna bathe 10000 times then ganna sick again

huingee,
they will look forward to go playground, so good right? tian also likes to go playground, though her activity level is very low as compared to other kids. she is more like patroling playground.