(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

re gentle, i confirm not gentle, even break their toys! Close drawer or do anything all very rough. So, handling children also very rough. Jia lat! Still learning to try to be soft and gentle, but when i wan to get things done quickly, back to my usual pattern again. Lol!

rr, y kent keep caning him? Hmm, maybe u tell him is a terrible 2phase? I keep reminding myself this, so to prevent me from buying a cane.

RR, your reyden incident reminds me of CO. I went to fetch her from school, she wants to play in the playground, and dont want to come home. So i waited for her until no patience. Then i grabbed her into the cab, she struggled and cried for 5 minutes. but after a while, we both forgot about the incident.

Yvonne, sometimes, i upset with CO, i also screamed at her. Then i realised i like siao char bor. ha ha.

mummies, my house is filled with this potent virus!! sun morn anthea woke up with high fever >39C, brought her to KK but was only given paracetamol and brufen. last nite my turn to run a fever, now still on panadol. this morn, andrea's turn to wake up with high fever, now giving her paracetamol.. all 3 of us including maid having cough and runny nose.. if we hv travelled overseas, i think all of us wld be quarantined liao!! but now we also quarantine ourselves at home
the only fit survivor in the house now is dave. luckly he is on leave to look after all of us.

Irin,
aiyo, ask Kent not to cane them la. so sim-tia. Reyden wants to run about, then let him run lor. after he run run, expend energy, then will come home. tell him that kids got boundless energy, must have patience to deal with them. tell him things like, if he (Kent) doesn't want to do something and if kena force and caned, he also don't like it right. maybe use this kind of logic to reason with him.. ask him to see from the child's perspective.

blurbelle
ya come to think of it, it will be less stressful after your new house is done up.

bbmar, yvonne
i drank Bak Kut Teh many times leh...even before i conceived...oh no...

autum
i think u are just being patient.

edde, oh no! U better rest! Yes, must stay at home. Remember bel and sam also took turns to have fever. I think is the flu! Quickly bring them to get flu jab after they recover. I wish the 4 of u speedy recovery.

Yvonne,
kent's usually the more patient one, seldom shout at them. That's why I think Reyden had pushed him to his limit liao. The cane was meant for kiki, not them leh. haha!!

CK,
that wasn't the 1st time liao, that's why Daddy lost his temper. And the thing is Reyes will follow whatever Reyden does so it makes Daddy even angrier. haiz ...

Edde,
huh? Take care! Better ask Dave to take more vitamin and rest more too in case he also falls sick before you all get well.

Autum,
ya lor, I feel like crying everytime I see him cane them. Then Reyes' so "wu2 gu1", everytime kena scold and cane cos she stupidly follow the brother. I did tell him before and he'll agree with me. But each time he just get so angry with Reyden that he'll forget whatever I told him. When he loses his temper, I also can't help. Just like that day, I tried to intervene, I got caned instead.

Irin,
hmm, caning is a form of violence le. i will use that as a last last last last.... resort. I really hope i dun need to ever cane my kids.. (pray hard!)

pink,
somehow i can't picture u to be the type who will cane kids leh. haha.

edde, actually if majority of the family is down with the same symptom, most probably dave will get it after 1 slowly recover.(if he very strong.) that time, first was bel, den sam den me, nick was the last but was quite mild. I keep giving him vit c, made him drink tons of honey cos he complain sore throat. All the complains was the same before i get the virus from the 2gals. And luckily he only got cough, after that give cough syrup he recover. But still got inlaws they all also coughing. Very difficult to control.

Autum,
I had never use the cane on them before too and I don't think I ever will also.

Reyes woke up this morning and told me sadly "Meimei pi4 gu3 tong4 tong4, papa cane." I could still see the cane mark on her backside, so sim tia ... Then I asked Reyden pi4 gu3 pain or not, he still can answered me "bu4 tong4 bu4 tong4". Gave up ...

yvonne,
dun use hangar to threaten la. I rather u buy a cane to use that to threaten. cos cane is a special weapon... but hanger is very common household items. I probably have no logic for saying this, but I feel that if u use hanger, which the girls can get hold of easily.. then maybe next time they imitate u, and take the hangar to threaten each other?

but if cane, there is only one.. and u keep it somewhere they can't take. so if u take it out, they know it's "oh oh".. can consider what i say ok? altho i have no prove la.

Autum,
I think Kent's quite like you, a patient one. But too bad Reyden isn't like EJ, sad ...

Yvonne,
hanger?? Wah, that's scary leh. :p

RR
there're cane marks? wow thats bad.
mr tan said he will not cane gals, will cane boys. his logic is that boys have got to be tough. your reyden is definitely a tough boy.

Yvonne,
you think he's funny?? I'm going "ki siao" liao. On one hand, eager to teach him, on the other hand must "ti2 xin1 diao4 dan3" whenever he misbehaves when Daddy's around.

yap guys.. cant wait to get well soon else dave will be wasting his annual leave at home

blur, just scroll back to learn abt the news.. *hugs*

interesting topics in discussion, but me too groggy to think now...

irin, now i finally realise! I m starting to learning from my mom and dad! Mom used hanger to scare me den my dad saw, changed to cane, den i take and throw away, my dad found my long wooden ruler, and both use it to beat me when my spelling never get full marks.

Pinkpink,
surprisingly lor cos Reyes only kena 1 stroke and it left a mark but Reyden had got 3 strokes and no mark. Reyes' more xiao jie, haha!!

Autum,
the 1st time was on Fri when he pushed Reyes on a chair and she fell head down on the floor lor. Not 1st time that he pushed her liao and I always tell him cannot push her. Then over the weekends, he just don't want to take his nap and kept disturbing Reyes.
Then Sunday when Daddy was nagging at him, asked him to throw away some papers that he scribbled, he threw it in the washing machine.

Nowadays he'll just run around whenever we go pick him, refused to follow us home. A 5 mins walk home can take up to half an hour. He also like to pick up leaves and twigs along the way. And alot more which I can't even remember liao.

Autumn, she cried. But when HB beats her, she wants to cry but dare not to cry. her tears well up in her eyes...i also heartpain. but when i beat her, i no heartpain.

Pinkpink,
we tried both "ruan3 and yin4" liao also didn't work. Just got to wait for him to "wake up his ideas." :p

CK,
oh ya, ya. I also don't feel so heartpain when I smack his backside but I feel upset whenever hubby canes them. why like that huh?

RR
just to share..
we hv also started to introduce cane to my boy.

and i believe my boy- D is like your R.. those defiant type.. need to be very fierce and let them kena once then they will listen. soft tatic or love education don't work on him

and my hubby started to use cane on him last wk bcoz he threw a tantrums, refused to pack his toys.
but it was only a tap on his thigh and he oredi scared .

but i feel that for R's character.. is "beat beat lor..no big deal". so perhaps don't use cane on him that often. tell Kent do it once in awhile when really outa control. and also tell him it will remain a stigma on them and be afraid of him (-ve way) in future

i will start with verbal warning first.. then if not will threaten to open storerom (whr cane is placed).

normally my boy hears the word "storeroom or Cane" he will change his attitude oredi.

RR
i m a believer of the cane. haa... n i agree w kent's way leh. if can, must cane both. ha... like dat they learn too ma. reyes will learn not to copy reyden... cos she knows right fr wrong.. she shd have stuck to her own understanding. i remember when i was younger and 1 parent cane, the other will shield. eventually, as kids we know how to hide behind the other parent. then my parents 'woke up' and both took the same sides... that was when i knew i cannot misbehave liao. =p

CK, Irin,
hmm, i dun feel heartpain if hb scolds EJ le. in fact, i feel hb not fierce enough and i feel pek chek! hahah.. but hb never beat EJ before la.

Irin,
Reyden really sounds like a handful. I guess just have to be extra patient bah. I also dunno what i will do if i face this situation. Maybe i will purposely set aside time for him to run around. ie. after school, when picking him, i will bring him to playground to let him run, pick up leaves, stones etc.. until he happy. then take it as bonding time. as for pushing mei-mei, i think the only way is to reinforce. everyday tell him, regardless of whether he pushed or not that day. ie. make it a point to drill everyday. i think these are some of the methods i will try and see how.

edde,
aiyoh, ur family sounded like mine when K was hospitalised. coz that time both & K were down with fever. myself has been on 3 rounds of anti biotics but din fully recover.
u monitor that teh gals are not coughing too much and they din have phelgm.

aiyo.. i miss newborn!!! must go and sayang my baby now.. kekeke.. aft that go cook maggi mee.. my whole mouth tastes like chemical now..

yvonne, i hv slept the whole of yesterday and today! haha... so shiok...

kaexin, a whole house of sick pple is really no joke..

Autumn, scold, me also no heartpain. Is the sad and pity look that made me heartpain. But still must control myself...cant say or do anything. ha ha.

Cayden looks like Huajing hor? hee.. congrats Hua Jing!

Irin,
haha.. i just see that different mummies here give u different viewpoints.. got soft, got hard.. so u can try all methods. let us know which one work hor.

Min,
yes, you are right! I think Reyden's really the "beat beat lor, no big deal" type. We'll always start with verbal warnings 1st but somehow he just ignore whatever we say and continue with his own activities that's why Kent resorted to using of cane. And apparently he'll forget about it the next moment. Doesn't help too ...

Joelle,
I don't believe in caning. I got caned very often when I was young and it didn't make me any better. In fact it had caused my relationship with my dad to worsen over the years till there was a period of 1-2 yrs which I didn't talk to him at all. I don't want my kids to go thru the same thing as me leh.