(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

yvonne,

Everything is chemicals. chinese herbs also chemicals just that it is natural chemicals while western meds, most are man-made chemicals (also got some natural ones). Doesn't mean natural = better okay. In fact, natural chemicals much more complex and may have unpredicable effect. Chemicals have side effects of course. Even eating too much food got side effects, much less meds? The thing is, reduce when not necessary but if necessary, you don't have to worry about it.

yvonne, durian no need la. thanks.

DCC
its tasteless woh.. i can eat nonstop if i have $$ to buy. i oni ate twice during preg with tian. SQ, if got then eat. no need to eat too much.

yvonne, i am worried they are med overdose woh. must take care and dun give too much. cause children's kideney dunno can take it or not.

pink. *shhh*
i only want to tell you to rest, rest rest. dun overwork and be angry. just stay happie ok?
continue shopping.

bingo mejo.
i also second the idea of reducing those medicine or supplement when it they turn better.

i heard of children died cause taking too much cod liver oil cause they just love it.
have to give according to the instructions or less than that.

pink. will I be able to meet u?
since u taking progestrone. i have many tubes. i can give u then your bill wont be so chor. anyway i just have too many.
its progesterone, 50mg per tube. if taking 100mg, then need to get two tubes for injection.
its for injection, i mean.
let me know la. those hormones very expensive de. i have no use anyway.

SQ, drink lots of water is good. see, YE has no constipation problem. her intestines are already well greased during preg time. hm.. tian is really terrible, hard stool every 3 days. one soft stool every week. jialat right? sigh.

bunnie, my one tin, can last for 4 weeks.
what is the price of ntuc's mamil gold ah? i see got wu hua or not??

eh. in today's papers, a lady had sudden liver failure and needed emergency transplant. doctor's narrowed down the cause to the tcm supplements she has been taking for years. she goes to a tcm practitioner who prescribes according to her 'needs' over the years. doctors say it's difficult for them to test the herbs cos western machines not meant for it.

i feel that even 'natural' things have other components inside which may not be too good afterall. whereas for western supplements, when we take for eg vit c, it is purely vit c without the xyz found in say and high vit c fruit or veg. not that i think fruits n veg no good la. but if we want more of something, it's not good enough just eating more fruits or veg. jmho. =)

Wah, I read archives till "hei hei chuan". :p

Kaexin,
you sure know me well. :p

You very steady leh, think I would have cry already if I lose sight of any of them at such a crowded places. I was so worried that K will run into the lift or went down the stairs.

Pinkpink,
don't worry too much, stay positive.

Starfruit,
we are not going for the trial tomorrow liao. Think you got our slots.
Kent got activated for tonight's duty and he can't make it in time tomorrow morning. Then the Act3 people die die also need a parent to accompany each child.

Nana,
when are you coming to collect the crocs? Wait for me to collect the CP stuff from Pinkpink 1st.

RE: DCC

Now that you all mentioned, I think it really helps cos apparently RR considered quite good weights at 34th week and both have good appettite too.

Cos both my mum and MIL bought and took turns to cook for me when I was preggie so I had quite abit of it.

joelle, i have the same thikning also. that's why i refused to eat chinese herbs when i was unwell two months back. i scare got weird substances. aiya, mil keep saying even fruits and vege all contains pesticides, jialat.
hb says we still need to take those vege to build up our immunity to those pesticides woh. he said otherwise body cannot take it when we take outside food, then also jialat.
sigh!
i dunno if i can live beyond 40 years nowl.

i heard of one lady died cause she ate bird nest everyday.

yvonne,
u are the one who says (or Nick says) eat durian during preg will cause something to the kid right? i can't remember what is the something.. cough? or sensitive nose or something?

QQ, yvonne, Mejo,
when u all say eat DCC, u mean u eat the worm? i thot just throw into soup to brew the soup. must chew on the worm as well?

Kaexin,
aiyah, Reyes only know "Aunty Michelle" (see you most often liao), "Aunty Joelle" (cos they remember we went her place that time) and "Aunty Fi" (their twin friends mummy) lah. haha!!

there is another believe.

preg mama with very bad ms = bad intestines themselves
so will lead to children with bad intestinal movement as well.
is this true??

it is TRUE for me and tian.

astro, tend dun have that problem and u no ms.
so the total count is 2. plus YE = 3
anyone want to contribute???

mejo, good appetite??got ms?
yvonne got ms?

qq,
oh.. like tt huh... den i better check with dr ong... gosh... didn noe it is so jia lat...

autum,
ate durain? they said eat durain bb will be strong... but i don think so lei... bb always cough now..

re: Bu during preg
i never took all the herbal thing le. i only took bird's nest and pearl powder. pearl powder was very constant.. everyday I took when preg with EJ. with EV, i slack liao. but still almost everyday.. or at least every other day.

QQ,
i also quite kiasi about chinese herbs. my friend told me that her grandma died because of poisoning from this bag of herbs given to her by her SIL (grandma's SIL).. apparently when she died, they send her for testing and all kinds of toxicity came back but cannot narrow down to what.

yvonne,
i remember u said Nick came to this conclusion about eat durian le.. then like u both asked a lot of friends about this, and it seemed like true.. or maybe cause bad skin? it's not cause the baby to be strong.. i know it's not this.. i remember it's something not-good one. but i can't remember what is the something.

Re: Chinese herbs
Remember recently got a case of baby died from poisoning cos the mum gave chinese herbs? It was in the newspapers. So sad ...

Autum,
think it's bad skin problem. Cos my mum says it's heaty and will cause the kid to be "re4 di3". She took alot when she had my sis and my sister has very bad skin condition and eczema. But I didn't take durian and Reyes also has got bad skin problem leh.

autum,
yes! i remember... his partner's wife... also took durain.. end up both kids eczema... and so is my 2 gals... durain no good ha!

Autum,

It's supposed to be 70mins with 15 mins break but we didn't really keep track of the timing lah.

qq, so cannot take dcc? will have side effect which we don noe? hmmm.... if continue the medication now also no good? actually they are recovering fast u know? don noe y... and i sometime think is it because she have stop going pg...

yvonne,
ya ya.. i think it's eczema that u and Nick say.. hmm, dunno true or not hor.

Irin,
so got make or not. haha.

QQ,
your bad instestines means cannot pass motion, for our kids?

autum, i drink the dcc soup, plus eat the worms. hee. dun waste ma.
but hor, i dun take everyday la. only like once in a month. i think once in two week should be ok bah.

yvonne, dun be too scare. i mean short term is ok. long term got to be careful.

autum, my bad intestinal problem can include
- poor appetite
- not really constipation, but easily get colic when young.
- got bigger reactions to food, especially new food introduction.

RR, yvonne,
durian too good baby skin is also no good. but sometimes it runs in blood. i din take durian at all, but tian also like that. maybe if i take, worst?? who knows le?

durian is ok de, the pesticides for durian called hao3 lian1 dong1 is not good for skin.

qq,
oh... hmm... i understand now... just like korean ginseng.. normal days cannot take... onli veri sick ppl or confinement women and old ppl can eat... same logic? lol..

RR
shouldnt give herbs to babies, too young to take.

DCC, buy from reputable medical halls like EYS, Hock Hua. should be fine.

QQ
me bad MS, leia's bowel not very good but since we switched to Friso, it becomes better. I feel that Enfa is too bu for her.

QQ,
Tian's skin also no good?
Same here. I also didn't take much durian but Reyes' skin is bad. But then Reyden has got very nice skin. funny ...

oh, then think RR don't have bad intestinal problem. I had ms during 1st trimester so consider what?

Pinkpink,
ya, usually if I need to get those chinese medicine for them, I'll either get from EYS orr Hock Hua. Safer ...

autum
mr tan also had very bad skin condition bcos his mum ate a lot of durians during pregnancy. he seen skin doc in his teenage years and gradually got better.

Irin,
hahah.. $10 quite cheap la. I paid $10 for a mini class today! went after work.. then spend another $30+ on shopping there.. haiz..

QQ,
well, if that is the case, your poll is very true for me. I got zero MS with EJ. he ok with most food except egg white when young.. poo many times a day.. no allergic reaction. but then, he doesn't eat much.

for EVee, she cried more, has a little bit of problem with poo at first (but now ok liao).. and I have minimum MS when preg with her. Also, with EV, i had a bit of constipation when preg, but not with EJ.

hmm, i think i should ask my mom whether she ate a lot of durian when preg with me (but i doubt so). i have terrible acne in teen years.. and in adulthood, there was one stage i had terrible acne too.. then had to go and to skin centre.

so the poll is

6(astro,qq,yvonne,autum,sq, pink):1 (RR)

i go sleep first.

pink, i still dunno the horse wear shorts answer
come.. reveal answer

the reason why i thought of this poll is because my tcm doctor asked if i had bad ms to start with. if i do, probably my chang2 wei4, is not too good. this will also result in bad chang2 wei4 for our kids. if i can improve this problem now, then the next bb should be better.
maybe its not 100% true for everyone. she said ms is ok, but very very very bad ms is generally happen on ppl with bad chang2 wei4.

sorry, long post.. very wu liao.

qq,
not i smart la.. i saw swmom answer... but she said if nobody saw, wait for pink.. wahahhahaa... but pink resting ma... so i help to say the answer... heee

RR, tians skin is one of the worst in this thread. she had excema since young. bad diaper rash. etc etc... now still got rashed at her joints cause too sweaty and hot weather. hb is halso having the same problem as her. its yi2 chuan2.

yvonne, i see... i din see swmom's answer. wah, the answer is so simple, but i still cannot answer. very bad.
this type of idioms must challenge edde laoshi leh.

i go orh orh le. nite nite

QQ,

Elisha time, I got little MS She is

- poor appetite == good appetite
- not really constipation, but easily get colic when young. == she poo few times a day, no colic
- got bigger reactions to food, especially new food introduction. == no reactions to food

QQ,
oh, I didn't know Tian also has got eczema. Reyes' eczema is also quite bad. She has got scratch marks and wounds over her body, people might think I abuse her, haha!

huajing, so my question need to be amended.

those with SERIOUS or bad ms like me, SQ, (who else? we very poor thing), our kids belongs to the intestinal not very good one. not necessarily poo everyday means ok.
maybe its the DIGESTIVE system.
i am blur.. haha!
anyway.. just an idea for you all to think about. not really proven de.

RR, eczema babies:
teng, tian, reyes, bel, sam, matthew (paxs boy),
racia also a bit sensitive skin, usually to food?? (i forgot).
keira(sensitive to food), rash..

RR, u play cheat.. haha! u have two babies le. easier to get ms cause more hormones ??? i dunno woh.

i really puke big time. like very serious type. really serious type.
so its very subjective. we need not spend time on this topic anymore. i think the answer is quite POSITIVE woh. hee.

supposed to sleep le.. nite la.. eyes closing liaop

QQ,
i think there are 2 parts to your discussion.

1. Does bad intestines in mama = bad MS
2. Does bad MS mama = bad intestines in kids

The two may not be linked at all. Cos in the first place, by itself, there may be no prove. So you need to "prove" 3 times.

whether 1 is correct
whether 2 is correct
whether 1 leads to 2

hahah.. sorry i equally bo-liao. sounds like proving hypothesis like that.