(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

huingee: ops. that would make autum worry again :p..

btw, i called BJG.. no pick up phone one.. any idea if whole company goes on leave when vacation ah?

QQ,

Haha, everyday she eats complicated porridge no problem de. At my mom's place, she will eat porridge with only fish and veg and she still can vomit sometimes. Nothing to do with the complication of the porridge. She has reflux problem as an infant so I suspect reflux is the problem and she also have a shallow stomach maybe cuz cough cough or choke only will vomit. Last Sun , my hb feed her very watery cereal also she vomit...

YY,

Yar, definitely she is less of a merlion now as compared to younger. I rarely have to deal with merlion situations liao except when we introduce new fruits. She started this bout of merlioning when we feed her peach on Sunday morning.

Huingee,
oh oh..

Astro,
erm, i dun think EJ is the only one who has no problems with teething, in this thread. But u are right, maybe i shouldn't say it out here in this thread and learn to be like the rest of those with no problems to keep my comments to myself. So that i won't irritate those mums whose babies are having problems with teething!

actually i m just genuinely puzzled. as in why some babies experienced so much discomfort while others sail through teething. because if we can find out what is the reason(s) then perhaps we can know how to better manage or avoid? Ok... enough said. ZIP!

moon
pix of jayden in tunnel very nice leh! love the colours, can tell he really enjoyed himself.

mummies who had been to A&E,
we sent leia to NUH A&E last nite, entry temp was 38.9, then the nurse checked again 39.9 degree.
few complaints.
1) we were there a 1230am, and could only go back at 430am?
nurse check temp, after tat 1st doc (looks like little gal to me) checked and consultation. Blood test, put urine bag.
2) Blood test, nurse pricked on leia's finger. then squeeze out her blood bit by bit, at least collected 30drops, more than 5mins! she cried and cried and we were so helpless, pain man!
3) we waited for 2hrs for test result + waiting for consultation again. looks more like viral fever. Her urine spill out from urine bag. they still test on it and found out it's either contaminated or may be infection. so i have to collect her urine and go back NUH later to test again

why are they so inefficient?

mejo: can i ask? how much water to the Scoops of FM added to her porridge?

autum: hmmm. good that EJ with some other bbs in this thread .. sail thru teething.. good ..
but i think u get my pt.. forum is very open.. and because we cant see the nonverbal.. pple might misinterpret u as being scarcastic and and not emphatic to what they are going thru. so ya.. that's what i need to say

as to why different bbs different reactions to teething..think 'DBDP''.. ??? :p:p:p

Pink,
oh my.. is Leia better now? Did the doc say why sudden high temp? Poor Leia.. sounds painful for her, especially the blood-squeezing part. U better take care too.. so that u have energy to take care of her. Leia is with Marissa now or with you? *Hugz* to Leia ok.

SQ, Astro: I don't feel the tone is sacarstic leh. Like EJ, Anna also has no problems when it comes to teething. She's her usual self - most times cheerful, sometimes cranky due to whatever reasons, not specific to teething.

Autum: Yah, thanks. You reminded me. I'll ask my maid to flip them over..

this LG Viewty phone is not very gd.. when it is being charged.. cannot call/receive call/sms.. then no button to adjust volume in mid convesation.. lousy.. yucks..

Astro,
actually i think nobody here thinks that I am sarcastic except you leh!! wahahahahaha... siam *bish* by Astro.. kekekekek.

Autum: Do u mind if I ask where yourhubby works? Trying to figure out where is the best place to pick up the neurogain from you.
Can email me if not convenient. [email protected]
but I'll only be able to see it from home.

bbmouse: good again that Anna doesn't have much pain... just that my pt .. can be more sensitive to other pple that whose bbs are not exactly having smooth teething .. that's all.

Pink,
Has Leia fever gone down? If it's viral fever will be 3 nights high fever. Have to take med to push it down. Sayang sayang Leia.

Huingee,
wat is viral fever? as in what causes viral fever? ok, i know virus la.. but any particular reason? or anyway to avoid?

something to share.. my colleague just shared with me.. i want to let u guys know.. :p

---- ---
Sufferings

There are 2 kinds of suffering: the suffering which leads to more suffering, and the suffering which leads to the end of suffering. The first is the pain of grasping after fleeting pleasures and aversion for the unpleasant. the continued struggle of most people day after day. The second is the suffering which comes when u allow urself to feel fully the constant change of experience - pleasure, pain, joy and anger - without fear or withdrawal. The suffering of our experiences leads to inner fearlessness and peace..

We want to take the easy way, but if there's no suffering, there's no wisdom. To be ripe for wisdom, u must really break down and cry in ur practice at least 3 times.

In turth , happiness is suffering in disguise. but in such a subtle form that u dun see it. If u cling to happiness, it's the same as clinging to suffering... but u don't realise it.. when u hold onto happiness, it's impoosible to throw the inherent suffering. They're inseperable like that..
---
powerful hor?

Actually there's one thing abt anna when she's teething. Or at least I think this is directly related to teething. She becomes more aggressive. Likes to bite into things - toys, pens, whatever..

Autum: No, not convenient. I find your hubby a bit familiar. Has he worked in a bank before?

Astro: I know what you mean. But don't read it wrongly. We're all just sharing our baby's behaviour - it's not meant to brag or to laugh at someone else.

Autum,
I'm not sure the reason to cause the fever. Don't know how to avoid. Just need to standby fever med. My elder girl that time fever till 40 degC.

Astro,
wau, very chim.. i think most buddhist teaching talks about this right.. as in suffering and happiness is the same thing.

Actually I suddenly feel giddy.. Dunno why..
Maybe I didn't sleep well last night.

Autum: It reads ok to me.. I even agree with you re penelope..

Huingee,
40deg is very high! can i ask, when must we send baby to A&E? i mean, fever until how many degrees then we must send? u try to give the fever med first, then still hot, then send to hospital or straightaway send to hospital after measuring temp?

ya autum: super chim.. but i like. heehee.. there's another part of birth and death.. but think dun post here.. coz a bit morbic.. not good for the preg ladie here :p

but i found myself asking myself that same question abt birth and death also :p

bbmouse: ok.. i reading this damm interesting book at the moment :p very soon i will attain nirvana.. and wun feel so much :p:p

ok. going lunch. come back later..

pink: where is leia now?

bbmouse,
my hubby didn't work in a bank. he got common face maybe.. haha.. hmm, do u urgently need the Neurogain? if not, then maybe we wait for the Aquadoodle spree by bbmarch then we see how to pass.

pink.. how is leia now??

------------------------------
My ger now wake up know how to "nua" in bed leh.. and den my hubby says i teach her one

Autum: Not urgent at all. Ok, we wait for that spree. Thanks..

Autum: Erm.. I don't know if this is the right thing to do, need to confirm with experienced mums or nurses. If Anna has high fever at night, I will strip her, bathe her and give her med before sending her to A&E. But like I said, not sure if this is the right thing to do.

Pink,

Poor Leia! Is squeezing blood out for 5 mins a normal protocol?!?? Can like that one meh? The urine bag can't blame them cuz it is like that one. YT also have a urine bag last time but it will spill de. Dr want to give her a second urine bag but we said forget it and test whatever tiny amt is inside. Luckily it was clear so we din test again. But then the area where the urine bag is taped to her skin become red and inflamed. She actually cried in pain everything she peed or we wash her in the bath during that time. For the first time she refused to sit in the bath even though it used to be one of her favorite activity. Take care, okay.

ok.. itchy fingers.. still want to post before i leave for lunch.. and later get shoot for it.. :p

----
our birth and death are just one thing.. You can't have one without the other. IT's a little funny to see how at a death people are so tearful and sad, and at birth how happy and delighted. It's delusion. I think if u really want ot cry, then it would be better to do so when someone born.. cry at the root, for if there was no birth, there would be no death.. can u undertand this?
---

ok.. go for lunch. above posted is from a BOOk.. not from astro :p

tata

pink,
Wat happen to Leia.. Is she better now? aiyo, y they squeeze her little finger so long.. so poor thing.. I hate NUH A&E hv to wait super long 1.

bbmouse,
if u bathe anna (when fever), cannot use cold water right? cos bb will shiver more? hmm, i suppose the logical thing to do is to give fever med first.. unless if don't have fever med at home, then no choice must send straight to A&E.

Astro: I have a counter saying to what the book says. "There is a season for everything". A season to rejoice, a season to mourn, a season to sing, a season to cry etc...

Autum: Bathe with luke warm water. Can't be too cold in case she catches a cold, but not warm water. I will just make sure the windows are closed before we bring her to bathe. As for medication, always good to stand by fever med at home. They can keep for 6mths, and usually it's some leftover from the doctor's visit.

Norm.. i bring Tiff to A&E (*touch wood* no need to go liaoz ar.. ) will go to Mt A.. i think its less crowded.. and more friendly.. and for me .. i think its not as costly as u imagine it to be..

My colleague brings her ger to Mt E. and .. she says the service is good and fast.. they attend to u fast..

as for KKH.. i hear a lot of stories.. including from my friend who works there during her attachment..

its becos they see the same cases everyday.. and to us its new.. to them its not new.. so they bo chap..

Astro,
wau.. i like the birth and death paragraph.. i think it's so true. you know something, I m the type who believes that during funeral, pple should be happy (if the person dies at a reasonably advanced age, say after 60yrs). Because I feel that if u have lived till that age, when most of your life is complete (children, grandchildren, career, friends etc).. there is nothing to be sad about passing on leh. In fact, we should celebrate that this person (who died) has lived a full and meaningful life.

Hmm, but if the person died young, then i guess that's a different story. Cos if he/she leaves behind a young family, haven't witness enough things/events.. then that is quite sad.

astro, autum..

i agree with autum..many times we cry at a funeral and we are sad becos we feel the pain of the person leaving US and not vice-versa..
I also think ppl should be happy at funeral.. but.. its always otherwise..

Autum,
Will try to lower down temp lst at home like bath or sponge. When bath, start will warm water and slowly add room temp water till water abit cold. if immed put bb in room temp water, bb will cry as too cold for them.
Paracemadol will only lower the high temp abit so if very high temp it's not enough. Have to use another fever med called bifen. That time we don't have so the temp can't go down after taken med for one hour.

Huingee,
thanks. will try to remember that. use warm water first then slowly add cool water.

Nanabear,
yea, i also heard that Mt A is not bad place for A&E.

Hi Mummies, pax's gf has replied. She is willing to repack for us but conditions applied. I will update the details in GG...not v nice to post here.

As for the rest who cant access GG, i will pm u.

Who cannot access GG??