(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Autum,
so sad to hear tat. But yr SIL must stay positive. My colleague was diagnose with nose cancer in aug 2007, stage 2B (equivalenrt to stage 3), but he's very positive and has strong family support, he seeks treatment and recovering very fast! Back to work in December and now he can eat any food too. taste bud has yet to fully recover and his hair also growing liao....

Hi Cutie Jace,
Thanks for sharing that.. It's comforting to know that. I just called my SIL.. she everything also dunno.. jialat.. she said the last round when she went to the doc, and she heard the word cancer, she very sian liao.. dunno what else to ask! I worry for her, cos she is like those everything-also-dunno-kind.. her next appt is tmr and my brother will be going with her. I am now wondering if I should take leave tomorrow and accompany them.

Well, at least my SIL is now angry.. as in, she was cursing just now when I called her.. she went like "ta ma de... so suay, zhong cancer"... I think this is better than being depressive and want-to-die.. if she is pissed, then I think it's more likely that she will be proactive and positive.. oh well..

HI Carol, excited about the eye assessment? Today muah on MC cos really sick but still going for the eye assessment. Luckily hb is with me cos i really weak.

See you later.

autum
the part of your sil cursing is really funnie. although this is sad news.

she must be a v unusual lady to react in that manner. and to cope with life's challenges so far

QQ n Pink

wow tian n leia also big big gal gal liao. are those real apples? i gv to vanda to play an real aple b4 and unknowingly, she bites a portion off... scares me

Autum: Life/Time is just so elusive.
When we think of quitting/retiring and of the road/time ahead where there isn't much to do, we think we have too much time and will get bored.
But if something such as an illness strikes us, we will feel there isn't enough time left to do things we want to do.

*a big, long and silent sigh*

SQ, not bah bah already. now trimmer. haven't weighed him for a while but think still the same as 2 months back.

autum, like you said, it's good your SIL is behaving this way rather than wallowing in depression. with strong family support and will, it'll definitely help in the process.

try harder!

QQ
where are u?

<font color="ff0000">CCT CNY Spree</font>

THE BINGOS
Code: 30664
Colour: Dark Grey
http://www.cct-fashion.com/index_eproduct_view.php?products_id=2762
Qty: 6 (Pax, Pinkpink, Starfruit,Angel,SAL, Pink's Colleague Gwen)

Code: 10708
Colour: Grey
http://www.cct-fashion.com/index_eproduct_view.php?products_id=2890
Qty: 2 (Hope &amp; SAL)

Code: 30679
Colour: Brown
http://www.cct-fashion.com/index_eproduct_view.php?products_id=2966
Qty: 2 (Hope, Rina - my colleague)

Code:10697
Colour: 2 Yellow, 2 White
http://www.cct-fashion.com/index_eproduct_view.php?products_id=2624
Qty: 4 (Hope,Pax-Yellow, Pax,Pink-White)

Code: 30661
Colour: Black
http://www.cct-fashion.com/index_eproduct_view.php?products_id=2763
Qty: 2 (Hope &amp; SAL)

Code:30630
Colour: Pink
http://www.cct-fashion.com/index_eproduct_view.php?products_id=2416
Size: L (Michelle &amp; Angel)
Qty: 2

Total = 18pcs

First 12 pcs of clothes: US$20
Every Additional 10pcs: US$12

autum
sometimes ignorance is a blessing...
i hope your sil's cancer is only minor case...i've seen a video of a guy with nose cancer, his face was distorted, was a handsome man, and acted in TCS for a while...affected me a lot. i feel that its the worst type of cancer

Carol
the bag looks nice!

Fion
its fake apple, but tian and leia sucking it as tho its real apple???

for the first time in my life, i feel "penalised" for being a mum. i actually lost out on an offer to another lady. the reason given: she's single and can work late everyday

WOW! my head is still spinning from the weight of this reality

SQ,
tats life. found a new one, can't take vacation time during school hols coz my baby not in school yet, priority given to scholl going kids mummy

baby girl,
i know. it's a reality. but when i'm told that the boss likes me but i lost out cos of that fact, my head still spins. in fact, it's still spinning now. i'm a bit groggy, machiam need to suddenly zzz kind. dunno why. guess i've always been "fighting" to win, when it's sth like this, a fact which i can't change, maybe i can't accept it subconsciously lah...

i try not to log in from home. cos when YE sees me, she wants to stick to me. then when she zzz, i hope to do some of my own stuff lah. unless bo bian. anyway......

michelle,
ya. that school hols one. my hubby ganna for the entire 6 years in his previous company. that policy sucks!

michelle,
i see audrey itching to have another bb. then i tot YE is growing so fast maybe it's nice to have a sibling for her.

but after today, i think no thanks to being preggie again!

but it would be good to hear the good news from other mummies from march thread

Michelle: My post disappeared!? Looks like we're not very productive in Mar thread. Hehehe..

Wanna ask you mummies.. What do you our children will feel if we don't work and stay at home? Will they then think that it's natural and god-given right for mums (or female) to stay at home? See, I don't want Anna growing up thinking she doesn't have to earn her own living.

babygirl
i dun think kids will understand the SAHM's sacrifice until they become parents themselves, that's my thoughts.

baby girl,
i think it depends on wat we teach them, and how.
put in the right way, they'll see how wei3 da4 a woman is cos we have to be mother, wife, and work at the same time. we just go through different stages at various times, and our priorities changes.

but of course if we stay at home and laze around the whole day and never do anything for/with them, then they'll have the perception you feared

pink,
you are right. i tot i understand my mum's sacrifices, until i became a mum myself!

but i was always thankful that i'm luckier than my friends who had to settle their meals at the school canteen cos their mums were working (as much as i hate home cooked food)

baby girl,
i think i know what my problem is.
i'm too insecure to be a SAHM.
as much as my husband is a nice guy, i feel that it's just "different" in the way we are treated and viewed by the men, our families, and the society as a whole if we don't work (as in go to the office kind of work). although the one week i was staying at home, i feel like i slogged harder than at work!

SQ, agree with ur tots. i was basically 'resting' at home during the whole of my pregnancy. prior to tt was helping hb in his Biz and now tt i have delivered bb 2mths ago...i can sense tt he cant wait for me to go full force into helping him again. We had arguments aft my confinement , nt sure if due to slight post natal blues or becos his words really sounded harsh.

cos i wanted very much to TBF my bb this time, hence all my attention and time is on the bb. i kept pushing his work aside and he didnt seem pleased. i told him to nt think tt i was 'rotting' at hm doin thing . maybe is my ego too, cos i feel tt being a SAHM is so noble and the fact tt i m doing TBF now when i failed the 1st time when i had my son. i always complained tt wrking for someone else at least i get to enjoy 3 mth ML. but working for him sucks...hahaha...

i also feel financially insecure although he doesnt restrict my spending. but having earned my own keeps before, the way i spend money is still different now tt i am spending 'his' money.

although the chance of me going bk to workforce is knda slim, neither do i forsee myself being a SAHM, i still hope to have my own biz one day at least doing something i enjoy and earning my own $$.

SQ
this is just 1 of the sacrifices we've to be prepare to make once we choose to be mummies.

just now had lunch wif colleague, his wife pregnant, he's not keen to have kids but wife desperately wanted 1, went thru keyhole surgery to have 1. i made a comment tat mummies very cham, had to go thru so much miseries, got to work etc...then he "slap" me back by saying: its you gals who made the choice, u gals wanted it, we guys no choice just follow, then when you suffer, complain so much to us...

hello S@L,
so fast! bb 2 months liao!!!
my SIL works with/for her hubby too. they have their own shop. and she also has to work after one month confinement, not three months like us

ya, maybe it's my ego, maybe i'm just too sensitive. i feel that we just cannot talk loud loud if we're SAHM.

but i also dun have the solution for myself...

pink,
think your colleague feels that he's "forced" to have a kid, that's why he made that remark

v cham when the couple can't agree whether to have kids or not. that's why my friends always tan2 pan4 before marriage to make sure that no one blames the other for not willing to have kids

oh S@L,
i was also thinking of TBF if i were to have a second kid. and that would be difficult with the disruption of work and having to pump, considering my miserly milk supply
so if i have a second kid, got to take NPL till at least 6mths to establish the ss. haha...

Hello mummies....

SQ......
wah..who wana be SAHM? I also wana be leh...but hor...like you say lor...no money...talk also no sound. I see my best fren...SAHM after her kid....now when talk to hubby also...like so meek like that.

actually...there is more to life than work. Yes...work..we get money lor. At the end of the day...the money that we earn at work...we find it satisfying to not only spend on ourselves...but its good to just buy things for our kids...as and when we like it..wifout needing the hubbies to grumble.

retail therapy..after motherhood is a good thing. We got one more dept to go check it out. Motherhood gives us something to look forward to at the end of the day. Coz our babies...loves us unconditionally.

having babies is addictive...when you have one....you would wnaa have another to let the 1st one play with...dan when you have the 2nd one...like in my case....have the 3rd one...doesn't seem like a bad idea. AT least the kids would be able to take sides with each other when they fight...hehehehe

audrey,
you are cute. today i see you here, lucky i'm not going to zzz

so you have time to login in the day as well! hee hee... i love your last para:

retail therapy..after motherhood is a good thing. We got one more dept to go check it out. Motherhood gives us something to look forward to at the end of the day. Coz our babies...loves us unconditionally.

S@L....
yeah..women muz work. No matter how little money we may get from part time...at least part time won't get detached from the 'society'. SOmetimes the men dun know how difficult it is to look after the kid full=time until they are stuck with the kid for the whole day. Just like hubby..always tink its easy to look after 2 kids at home whole day....i made him look after....dan i say i go out watch play with my frenz....when i came back...he was so glad. Sometimes muz let them eat bitter(chi ku) a bit.

SQ....
you got excited at the retail part..or touched at the unconditioned love? hehehehe

i tink the retail part more....can have one more lah...one very lonely leh. If boy...dan can jio your hubby to buy toys for the son....or rather...let son play wif his toys. Let son bang his toys....i tink your hubby would go mad. lol

SQ...
i tink they would run to their mummies if they nid to tend to the baby for a day. My hubby did that sometimes when i needed to work overtime. MEN. But its nice to see them play with the baby lah...its just make you feel its worth it lor. They also have something to look forward to.

pinkpink....
i tink your that colleague trying to act tough lah...or maybe...he really loves his wife a lot. His heart aches when his wife have to go thru so much pain to conceive. And mayb he tinks that there is more to life dan having a kid. Though he may say that..i tink his love for his wife is very deep lor.

SQ, ya time flies..so fast 2 mths liao...feel a bit 'slow' to get into the momentum of work. i have been working for hb for almost 2 yrs...cant imagine losing my 'freedom'if i work for someone again...well sometime i tell myself tt i m lucky and then i wont feel so sad.cos self-employment allows me to have more time to shop, work at my own pace and spend time with kids. like i can bring my son to the zoo on a weekday afternoon, no need to join the crowd during weekends. also lucky tt my hb allows me to buy things i like and dun question me, cons is i tend to overspend. ..the only thing i hate most is every month i will give my mum some $$, feel 'unbalance' tt i need to take my hb $$ to give my own mother....

oh talking abt hb who dun wan babies....one of my fren almost suffered from depression during confnement. her hb took leave from work and my fren tot he wil help her out cos they both have no experience in takin care of bb.instead of helping my fren, he went drinking and meetin his car club frens and left my fren to fend for herself. and when she complained, he said tt 'its u who insist to have a baby, nt me,.so u have to bear the responsibilities of being a mum."

my heartache for my fren and for the bb too..so sad to have such a irresponsible man as a hb/father.

audrey, hmm i m nt like u le..i plan to stop at 2 only! this preg is real hard for me..so no more babies for me..,..i cross my fingers lo...dun wan to hv another accidentally...

autum....
can ask your SIL to get some good honey. Like manuka honey..at least 25umf. Can ask her to mix it with a little bit of water...use gauze to soak..and put ard neck area. DO at home after her radiation sessions. It helps to prevent and relieve skin peeling/ulcers that might happen. I normally ask my MIL to use the UMF 50. And to prevent ulcers...which will occur also. Mix some manuka honey wif water..and take daily. CAn take the 25umf.

S@L....
i tink your hubby very good lor. At least he doesn't stop you from spending. I also plan to stop at 2....but hor..sometimes just feel like having one more. Dun know leh...see how lor...

hey audrey
if i'm a real tai tai, i dun mind having 3-4. factory just keep operating until 35-36 yrs old..sucks..2-3 more yrs for me...

SaL
Im kinda in the same situation, on a crossroad now. I'm not very keen to continue what im doing now, i can close my small 1-2person dept and seek for another job. Here, i seldom mix with my colleagues cos they are either much younger, and as for the guys, they hang out with my hubby more. so i've been feeling down, and reminiscing the good old days in my ex-companies, but working for pple..u tend to loose flexibilty. i remember my 1st trimester, i doubt i can go thru it while working for pple...sure die...

so i wish to sell my share, get a sum of money..either make babies, and do some flexible biz which i really love and can work from home..wishing and hoping lah

pinkpink....
if till 35...still young...nowadays...40 also can. My classmate..she's 40...have 4th kid now one yr old. Dan still TBF her kid till now.

working is good....keep us sane. Its like dat wan...when we working...we wish that can be SAHM. Dan when become a SAHM...we would wish to go back to the workforce...so the compromise is to work part time...

i told my hubby liao. AFter i finish my 3 yrs bond..i would work part time. Part time is to gibe money to my parents....dan he have to provide spending money for me every month.

audrey
i agree with you...working helps to keep us sane, and money helps us when it comes to retail therapy..ya i need to provide for my own family too, cant give up a job just like tat...somemore my parents have very little medisave.

audrey - me want to be SAHM. have been thinking for the last 6 mths. and exploring various options of working part-time.. just when i sort of decided i'll tender once the bonus comes in and i finish up the Annual Report which I'm doing (delivery in early Apr - so i can tender in Mar!)... my ex-boss called to ask me to join her... URGH.. timing timing...

I still want to do it.... sometimes i think i just think too much. Maybe JUST DO IT then see how. otherwise, i'll never get it done!

Astro, astro are you there? Can you confirm if you wanna join us at Kindermusik class? i have the confirmed list with all particulars liao.. except you. If you are not able to, i'll quickly ask around again. see your emails for the details, yah? cheers! sorry to bug you! :>

Sal, Audrey, SQ, Pink: Agree to be able to work part-time is the ideal. I wish the society is more acceptable to flexible work hours for caregivers (could be the mum or the dad).

Sal: I have a gf who went back to work after being at home for 2 years cos she felt badd asking hubby for money to give to her parents. And her parents also tell her they feel bad, and encourage her to go back to work.

Pink: I don't have lobang for tag heuer. I also don't have any Tag Heuer watch.

Audrey: I agree with you that having children is an addiction.
After having one, I want another. But I also tell myself I will stop after the second pregnancy - if got twins then I'll have 3 children. Cos I want to provide well for each of them, and it's a fact raising a kid costs money.

SQ: The banking sector is undergoing changes. Banks are still writing down on their exposure on sub-prime. It may not be a bad time to exit the market cos the road is going to be tough.. I just want them to pay me for how we fared last year.

pinkpink...
if dun work....dan cannot bingo too much. hehehe...but main thing is....have to work for our parents....dun tink my hubby that good....will give me money to give my parents.

veryberry.....
work lah. actually working also got perks...at least we work..got days off. If be SAHM....NIL DAY OFF!!!! On CALL 24 HOURS!!!

babygirl...
yeah...wish companies are more pro family. I work in healthcare...supposed to be more pro-family....they also dun encourage part time. And part time...they have to review yearly why you nid to work part time also.

yah yah yah...i would love to get a pair of twins also. But hor...no family history of twins leh. I wana have one more...coz i got so many nice clothes...so many toys..that i feel sayang lor...if dun have one more. Kinda lame excuse for wanting one more. YOu got lobang how to get preggy wif twins? CAn take fertility drugs a not?