(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Star, Michelle: I'll call ecreative to ask.. Then report here.. Agar agar, I sent them email, no reply wan..

SQ: my tot exactly, i have been hunting around for a HK mould for my agar agar, me determine to make it myself, but i have not found it so far leh.. maybe i need to import it in from Hong Kong!!
I think cos its agar agar thats why i can't bear to pay so much money for it...but cake wise, its different lah, cos more work and effort.

Starfruit,
Need to ask u, which brand of mozzie patch to buy is the best? I know last time all of you were busy buying and I didn't get any.. now very very jialat liao.. EJ got bitten really badly these past 2 days.. on his arms alone, got about 8 bites.. then his legs got some too.. argh! Now I am thinking maybe I should order 3 bottles of the CB Bug repellent!

re: Birthday party
I haven't done anything leh.. still headache over venue.. I need suggestions.. help!!!

Astro,
Pls be careful about UT, especially when it's not your dept's UT.. Don't be late and don't mess up.. else will kena complaint.. not to scare u ok.. but just have to be careful. Also, all Year 1 facis are expected to conduct UTs for all the Year 1 modules, as long as u have a class on that day.. so be prepared.. it happens very frequently.

You know.. Tell you all a joke abt my hubby.. I remember he commented once when we attended a birthday party with a 3D cake that it's a bit kua zhang.. Then just now I asked him what cake we shd get, he asked if I want to get the 3D one.. Hahaha!!!

SQ: hahaha.. see i told u barney is evil!! haha turning purple from eating a barney cake.. this is funny.

Baby Girl: i feel tat barney has got is very evil look on him leh.

star,
how about you start a BP for agar agar moulds?!
i sure support.
i like winnie and mickey and minnie and donald duck. hee hee...

i'm sure hk has a lot of such moulds

autum: yalor.. sian.. then just send in email.. if i blur blur.. mai die?! haiz.. i think all my PBL FP coursemates.. will go 'huh?' when they see this email..

Star: I must say I don't like Barney.. The more you say he's evil, the more it feels that way.. Can't explain why..

Ok.. I going to koonz soon.. Nite nite mums.. I'll order tom ok.. Wait for a few more mummys to join in..

Baby Girl: Thats why my agar agar will only be in a single colour..heheheh.

Autum: i am using this brand "One-der" its safe for baby, The patch is square and yellow in colour, red box. U can find in watson. but remember to scratch the patches to break the oil in it before using.
Where did EJ got bitten? at IC ah?

Talking about cakes.. I just attended my cousin's son's 2nd birthday.. and my cousin ordered a cake from McDonald's! Apparently, they have this special cake, which is frozen and delivered from McD USA. ie.. the cake is not made here.. it's nice!

If want to order, must tell them in advance so that they can order for it to ship here.. you will get the cake frozen, so must take it out for like 2hrs before eating. I can't remember how much.. anyway, just info for you all..

bbgirl: ya. mould only provide outline. then tihkn must mix different colours one leh into the agar agar and be careful that th ecolours dun mix and all become one messy dirty colour liao!

ehh. kinder? veryberry's class started liao?

baby girl,
v ez one. just need to add in the right colors.
my mum used to make big agar agar for parties. but v lao2 tu3 designs lah. those machiam fish swimming in the pond kind. nian2 nian2 you3 you2. i dun want such orbiang designs for 1st bday wor

Astro: not yet, veryberry asking for ur confirmation.. think starting next sunday. u joining?

SQ: aiya, u should join us for this kinder class since u signed YE up for 2nd semester.

Astro: I didn't join veryberry's class leh. After I attended the kinder trial conducted by another teacher last time, I said I want to try a class under shauna. No vancancy until they called me last Thurs.

SQ: oh,.... ur mum agar agar expert??? wha, i should hunt for the mould and get ur mum to do it..hehe.. she interested to take up freelance agar agar jobs?

Starfruit,
Thanks for info.. EJ got bitten both at home and the IC too.. I feel very sim tia cos EJ is very fair and his skin is sensitive (like mine).. so when bitten by mozzie, his skin will react badly with big red patch and like 'blisters'.. The IC teacher recommended us to buy Qing1 Cao3 You2 (chinese medicated oil).. it is very effective, but only if apply immediately after getting bitten.. then his skin won't have the 'blisters'.. but will still have red patches.

But Qing Cao You cannot use for long term.. ie, once the 'wound' is dry, must stop using, else will stain the skin... so now I very worried EJ will have a lot of 5cents-10cents on his arms and legs.. that's why I thot I better buy the CB Bug Repellent.

Star: Cannot lah. Must have the details then people can recognise it's a HK. Else, I don't know what it'll look like leh..

SQ: You sound like an expert..

star,
haha.... my mum loves to bake
she always volunteer to make for us then we tell her to just pay and let someone do the work

i'll most prob ask her to do mine together. she's v good with such things: mooncakes, pineapple tarts, loveletters etc. but she old liao leh...

baby girl,
i want the bug spray if you see this in time.
YE got 8 bites on her back, poor thing. since star posted that can use after being bitten, i'll try

if you order liao never mind, forget it

Ok lah.. I really got to go..

It's been sometime since the forum is so crowded and noisily fun..

Hope we always "meet" each other at the right time..

Nite nite..

Baby Girl: hehe, i tot with the imprint on the mould, will be able to see?? no?

Autum: ya the qing cao yao dun use for long, not good for bb. mozzie patch safer.

wa, autum,
qing cao you v pain when apply wan leh... ouch!

baby girl,
me not expert. but my mum is. she loves to do things in the kitchen. but i never stepped in till i have to cook for YE!

BBGirl,
yahlor.. actually i think apply qing cao you is ok.. but i just worry abt the staining..

re: Cold Storage Whole World in Your Hands Ad
This is currently EJ's favourite! whenever this ad plays on TV, EJ will immediately turn towards it and start to wave and sway/dance! Any of the babies here have the same reaction.. It's very funny to watch him dance to this.. I bet this TVC is the fave of all the kids in Singapore now.. this afternoon, i heard another kid singing this song.. hahah..

star,
i rem seeing some sprees about baking or what on jelly moulds leh. must go dig out something

aiyo, all these talk about cakes i feel like eating cake now

SQ,
huh, qing cao you is painful when apply? but EJ never cry leh.. infact, he isn't really bothered by all the mozzie bite.. he don't scratch or cry or anything. when we apply oil, he also no reaction leh..

Starfruit,
ya, I better go buy the patch tmr!!

SQ: ya i think i saw too.. but the mould very small.. i need a big big, like those cake tin size. Maybe i should go baking shops to hunt.

Starfruit,
how do u think they make the different colour for the agar agar such that the design comes out? Do u think it's done by layers?

SQ,
u said your mum makes the fish agar agar, got different colour in one fish? how to make, u know?

autum,
put in layer by layer/
the magic is to do so after the agar agar set, but not too long such that they don't stick and the whole thing breaks off in layers when it's inverted!
got it?

re: the medicated oil on broken skin
wah.. can use meh? sorry. me ang mo pai.. anything not prescibed by doc.. i wun apply one.. even ru yi oil i also skeptical..

star: izit.. alamak. i long time no check email and forum lah.. hmm. what time is the class?

feeling so lazy. sudents' reflections sitll haven't grade.. haiz

strawberry shortcake nice?

i'm tempted to order a small cake to eat on YE's bday. haha... the whole cake eat by myself dun share

i read that patissier is nice right?

sQ: the multi colour agar agar.... one word..chim.. such delicate thingy. i dun think i can handle.. rather buy it from store.. heehee just stick to my icecream cake can liao. whahaa

SQ: i like stawberry short cake leh. but i haven't tried Patissier one.. from angie's the choice ( somemore ppe told me lousy).. i happy liao. heehee..

SQ,
I think EJ hasn't develop strong pain sensors yet.. haha, cos we apply qing cao you on his broken skin, he also no reaction one.. then sometimes he will scratch himself until bleed, also no reaction one..

The agar agar doesn't sound that difficult to make leh.. not that i will know how to make la, but i think this just needs a lot of practice.

Starfruit,
u can start practising, cos agar agar is so cheap.. like not worth to pay so much hor. I told my hubby it's $42 and he was like "huh, so exp? agar agar is just water what!" hahahah..

star,
my gf always go to my mum.
cos she likes to learn, my mum likes to impart her skills.
the whole family's sad that i'm not taking over her skills. i hate to go to the kitchen
now everybody's hoping that YE will learn when she grows up. else my mum really has no one to impart her skills, which is such a pity. cos she can make almost anything i can think of