(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Pink: wha the doggie set is very cute.. hahaha.. love both Leia and Enya's smiles, esp the 2nd pic. Thanks for mailing out my set. so sad that the other 2 set is OOS.

SQ: u need to get a set for YE and YH too.

AAA: u prob need size 7 for mei mei and at least 11 for Anna. cos size 9 may be too small for anna.

pink, hv a gd trip!

blur, i enrolled them quite early for anthea's admission in june and andrea's in august.. and i am glad i did coz shortly aft that, i was told PG no more place! i visited a few CC in punggol and decided on this. and the P is kind enuf to wait mths for anthea and esp andrea's enrolment aft we registered. if u intend to put ethan in punggol ccc, must really find early, coz punggol ccc is really is great demand. u not putting ethan tog with chloe?

mummies, i am so angry now! today hb din drive to work so i waited with him for a cab. this man came after us, geh geh tok on the phone, walked past us and hailed a cab before us while we hv been waiting for so long! i went up to his cab, open his door and scolded him! luckily hb got another cab while i was scolding him else i wld hv made him climb out of his cab! so angry with this kind of pple, no integrity at all!

star, they love their HK shirts! $ well spent heehee..

autum, she cries too! but i am the hardhearted one, just drop her and leave. mou ghan tai! x.x

Giolyn,
boy/gal can also wear same tops, similar outfits mah. RR have at 3 sets of same tops/matching clothes. :D But I also think 2 gals wearing the same clothes would be nicer, hehe.

morning Edde!
so can wake up on time this morning ? since dave not driving, you shld have taken the car :p

actually, when K started at 18mths, i also just drop her off, for 1st day, i send her to the PG class, then i went downstairs to have Breakfast, read my book, 2 hrs later went to check on her. she was crying off and on too

always beta to drop off and go! but i thk i didnt even feel sim tia, just accept it as part of parcel of life for her

SQ, Edde: I agree with Edde's method. We have to be 狠心, and 不回头leave them there. If we dilly dally, I feel we're only prolonging their agony by giving them false hopes. Know what I mean? And after a while, they'll get the message that no matter how hard they try, no one will come to their rescue and they'll learn to move on.

Ash: Ok..

Star: Ok, will try 7 and 11.. Anna seems to have shrunk though.. Some of the dresses look very loose on her these days.

Edde: lucky i dun cut queue coz if i see u open the taxi door to scold me.. i will be very scared :p

i just came back from KKH.. coz check on bally's 'uti'.. it is in inverted commas coz the report has mixed growth making it a likely contaminated sample collected at dr ong's.. haiz.. arghh

bally is v ok now. no longer scareming and back to his smiley self.. but i was asked to take his urine sample at the hospital.. wah liew. i hate doing this. coz i need to take the darn bottle.. wait and wait for the boy to pee. and in the end, he was busy smiling at everyone, distracted. then he didn't and it was his lunch liao.. so went back.. next time must catch his urine and rush back to kkh within 2 hours.. wah. like i stay very near kkh? argh.. i super eng man.. duh.. then .....

i asked the pd in charge of bally.. A/P wor.. hahaa. since she is an A/P , astro can't resist but decided to 'test' her a bit.. coz they need to use nuclear medicine to do the DMAS (insert a radioisotope into bally to see if he has any kidney scarring from his previous UTIs).. i asked if there would be any active treatment if there are scars.. she said no. then i went. 'like that, there is no absolute must for it right?' then she adjusts her specs slightly, looked at me.. and started explaining.. hahahaha.. she has this 'ok. this kind of parent is that annoying want to know a lot kind of parent' expression on her face.. her explanation was peppered with lots of jargon.. but luckily i understood.. ha. so my reply to her was also in lotsa chim bombastic lang.. hahaha. funny lah. but she is good.. kekekeke.. when i am more familiar with her. i would want to ask her how come she doesn't want to start a private practice. and bally will be her regular.. she was gushing at bally.. inspite of her reserved nature.. hahaha. bally has this charm on older ladies.. :p

and i screwed up on this DMAS timing .. i had only two lousy timings given to me.. and DMAS requries bally to fast.. coz wil have to sedate him.. aiyoh.. haiz.. the form in kkh needs redesigning wor. it is not inuititve and it is not logical.. there were only four components.. but me.. poor with numbers.. i stared at the timing but still can't fit bally schedule nicely.. but it is very stupid because.. it went like this:

Estimated time of arrival: 845
Estimated starting time of Scan: 1200
Estimated ending time of scan: 1230
Estmiated start of fasting: 930
Estimated sedation time: 1130

aiyoh.. dun u all find it all look similar?! 'estmated' something.. then hor.. not logical.. should put the fasting time right up after time of arrival mah. the timings are all jumbled up!.. i am used to a chrological one leh.. i see this. i can't think and react.. argh. angry..

Astro: You just need to focus on the fasting and sedating timing.. The rest will be done by the docs right? Don't confuse yourself.

Or you can think this way..
Must fast 2 1/2 hrs before doing scan, and sedate 1/2 hr before scan.. And work backwards.

Edde: The bedsheet link you posted, can I ask if you've compared the prices with those selling at the malls? How much cheaper? I'll need to get when ariel is older and can share the bed with anna. This is how I intend to get them to sleep on their own bed next time.

Moody today.. My sis going back hk...

Sq
i will post bel n sam pic when i have time. Hehe.

Astro
alamak. So now don noe wad is the prob? Hope he is perfectly fine after the scaning... Erm. Y the urine will containminate ah? (i noe so silly to ask this now.).
Btw astro, my sis love the nursing cover.

edde
how EARLY is your early har? yeah i told hubby abt it, cos of the young families in pg, its not surprising that cc are in great demand.

I udstand how u feel when ppl snatch your cab. These ppl i dun believe they dun see u. just act blur. It happened to me afew times, only once i got the chance to go to the guy n tell him i was BEFORE him :p this poor guy maybe he really blur n never see me? when i told him off he seems shocked n got off the cab :p make me feel bad after that hahah.

just now went office w ethan.. then proceeded to AMK HUB to do some mktg.. upon reaching a guy was blocking our way at the escalator (which were all shut down) shouting ENTER AT OWN RISK, PLEASE LEAVE THE BLDG NOW! wah i got shocked yet alarmed as to wat has actually happened? bomb scare? suspicious gas? alot of ppl outside the bldg.. n more streaming in from AMK MRT le.. no sign was put up to stop ppl from heading to that direction also.. aiya i was w bb so faster scram.. haiz wasted trip.

blurbelle
just saw a note on twitter that amk hub was on fire this afternoon. good that u din manage to go.. blessing in disguise. =) the smoke won't be good for bb ethan i suppose..

Belle,
AML hub cought fire lah

my friend was inside, she said ntuc like a mess, gloseries everywhere, think the stuffs going to have hard time to pack it

Blur I did my search in dec last yr and placed deposit for the places.. Kiasu rite wahhahaha! And to my surprise many ccc already full or refusing to even add onto the waiting list!

Re the cab hijacker, he did see us coz he walked right past us. My hb and I so big sized I am sure he won't missed us. Act blur only qi si wo le!

AAA I am not buying the bdsheets. Not into this yet

joelle/ ecmom
oh no wonder, i didnt smell anything when there, it was abt 1+pm. i was puzzled why.. anyway better heed the advice of the mgmt guy since he sounded so 'angry' n worked up, so must be sthing wrong..

Went to collect flower world just now. Very happy with the purchases.

Jie mei pairs: There's another combination. The jiejie wears a dress as a top, and the meimei wears it as a dress. I think shd be able to find more combi this way.

AAA,
think you missed Pink's post. She mentioned the combination. I think she got a set the last round for her gals and herself, Enya - dress, Leia and her - tops.

I dunno why.. But I suddenly feel so happy to have my 3 babies.. Next time when they're older they'll all want to hold my hands (cos I only have 2 hands).. And I'll be so flattered.. Heheh..
Crazy thot.. Hahaha..

to add on to Autum's post, this is what they replied me when i asked abt donations -

We currently have only one drop-off location in Singapore (we hope to have many more in future!).
*SCAPE YOUTH PARK (Opposite Cineleisure Orchard)
113 Somerset Road
There are two bins, both are located outside the building on the ground floor.

hm... then better call them to double check.. coz thats wat they replied 2 wks ago.. i wonder which pc of info is newer..

morning ladies..

maid selection time. I need advice.

1. 34yr old, mother of 2 - 10yr, 5yr.
- Ex-Kuwait 2yr contract
- Motherly type and a bit auntie
- Housework I believe is no issue

2. 23yr old, single
- No experience overseas. Worked as helper in Phil before.. but seems that she was working and studying at the same time.
- Nursing graduate, young and softspoken
- Housework I believe should be ok too cos my expectations not very high.

Now these 2 persons seems to be extreme. My agent is pushing ex-Kuwait to me cos she knows I like experienced and middle-east. However, I am thinking abt the young girl because I thought she might be more young, energetic and fun for my kids? I mean, if I want someone to play, read books and sing Hi-5 songs with my kids.. perhaps a young one will be better?

Any advice?

autumm, i will choose 1 cos at least she has mouths to feed so will be more committed. But why the no2 wants to come and work. Nursing graduate is also in high demand mah.

Autum,

Older one might know how to handle kids better but your kids are very good natured so it is okay for you to get someone younger. I think younger one better also in the sense that they will listen to you and not insist on their own ways. Cuz the older one might be used to doing certain things in their own way and may perceive themselves as 'teaching' you things. My first maid is only 32 and she kept complaining hand pain, leg pain, blah blah blah cannot cuz she old. My MIL can't take it. Haaa.

Huingee,
Let EJ choose ah? Think he will choose the young one bah.. kids like young ones mah :p

Giolyn,
Nursing graduates in demand, but maybe she doesn't have full cert? I dunno. Or maybe the pay as a nurse is too low in their country. To go out of the country to work as nurse, i think they need more qualifications. I also dunno.. just guessing. I do agree with you that the older one has more committment.

Mejo,
aiyoh, i won't dare to say my kids are good natured! hahaha.. now everyday, I have to scold/scream at EJ. He is at Tantrum 3s, going to Fatalistic 4s soon.. and EV is going to Terrible 2s. wahahahahahah..

Previously i spoke to my prev maid before who is a edu grad. I ask her how come so many phil come to singapore as nurse. She mentioned as stepping stone to western countries.

Autum: ha.. i was wishing teng to quickly get to fabulous fours.. and now you mentioned fatalistic 4s! gosh.. does that mean it will never get better?! *faint*

ya.. the only thing that catch my attention wrt to the maid candidates was the nursing cert coz i thought she might be able to handle any medical emergencies than the older maid. but her age and lack of experience working overseas might cause some adjustment difficulties here.

older one, more committed like what germaine said. I think you can be quite firm and tell her to follow ur rules right? then maybe the older maid is more 'qualified'.

after a short lived week of happiness.. it is weeping wednesday for teng again.. the boy is unpredictable.. like the weather.. haiz.. .......

Germaine: there are quite a lot of fhilipino doctors, and engineers too. Ellie has an engineer cousin here who she always meet up with.. and the other time she had the abecess.. she was attended to by a filipino doc.. they spoke tagalog.. i was the one who needed a translation eh.. i thought i was in a SG hospital? but everyone is speaking tagalog!. ha..

morning mummies...

bbmar
i only rem my form teacher in P1 and P2, mrs lim cos she was the discipline mistress... and very fierce haha

anyone has remedy for stiff neck? aiya so painful =(

autum
i m inclined towards the young one. my own family maid was 24 when she came. we chose her due to her nursing cert too! and she has been the best till now. has been with us for 20 years liao! so young not nec no good... they learn better and faster.

Autum, re: maid selection, think will prob go for the older one too. the younger one with no exp overseas might have prob adjusting then you'll have more things to worry about.

Can you ask to speak to both of them?

edde/autum, think there's only one pick-up point now for blessings in a bag because comic mart @ serene cte has closed down.

joelle,
I still sum-xi-xi. Think will try to speak to the young girl first.

Moogen!!!
Haven't heard from you in ages?! Where have u disappeared to?? How is handsome Domie? Hmm, I already spoke on the phone with the older one.. i find her ok. Yea, I will try to speak to the young one too.. to gauge.

wanna share this, since a few of us taking supp. got this from consumerreports.org
<table border=1><tr><td>NAME </TD></TR><TR><TD>(also known as) </TD><TD>EFFICACY FOR SELECTED USES </TD><TD>SELECTED POTENTIAL SIDE EFFECTS </TD><TD>SELECTED DRUG INTERACTIONS </TD></TR><TR><TD>CALCIUM </TD></TR><TR><TD>(calcium carbonate, calcium citrate, calcium gluconate) </TD><TD>Likely effective in combination with vitamin D in preventing and treating bone loss and osteoporosis. Taken daily, appears to reduce some PMS symptoms. </TD><TD>Belching, gas. </TD><TD>Calcium can decrease the effectiveness of certain antibiotics, osteoporosis drugs, and thyroid drugs. </TD></TR><TR><TD>CRANBERRY </TD></TR><TR><TD>(American cranberry, large cranberry, cranberry extract) </TD><TD>Possibly effective for preventing recurrent urinary-tract infections. </TD><TD>Large amounts can cause stomach upset, diarrhea. </TD><TD>Might increase the effects of the blood thinner warfarin. </TD></TR><TR><TD>FISH OIL </TD></TR><TR><TD>(EPA/DHA, omega-3 fatty acids, PUFA) </TD><TD>Effective for reducing triglyceride levels. Likely effective for decreasing the risk of heart attack, stroke, and progression of hardening of the arteries in people with existing heart disease. </TD><TD>Fishy aftertaste, upset stomach, nausea, loose stools. High doses can increase levels of LDL (bad) cholesterol in some people or increase the chance of bleeding. </TD><TD>Might increase the effect of blood-thinning drugs and high blood pressure medications. </TD></TR><TR><TD>GLUCOSAMINE SULFATE </TD></TR><TR><TD>(G6S, glucosamine sulfate 2KCl, glucosamine sulfate-potassium chloride) </TD><TD>Likely effective treatment for reducing symptoms of osteoarthritis of the knee. Might also help slow progression of osteoarthritis. </TD><TD>Nausea, heartburn, diarrhea, constipation, headache. </TD><TD>Might increase the blood-thinning effect of warfarin and cause bruising and bleeding. </TD></TR><TR><TD>LACTASE </TD></TR><TR><TD>(beta-galactosidase) </TD><TD>Likely effective for reducing gastrointestinal symptoms in lactoseintolerant people when used before consuming lactose or when added to milk. </TD><TD>No reported side effects. </TD><TD>None known. </TD></TR><TR><TD>LACTOBACILLUS </TD></TR><TR><TD>(acidophilus, acidophilus lactobacillus, probiotics) </TD><TD>Possibly effective for preventing diarrhea while taking antibiotics. </TD><TD>Gas. People with poor immune function should check with their doctor first. </TD><TD>Might cause infection in people taking immunosuppressant drugs. </TD></TR><TR><TD>PSYLLIUM </TD></TR><TR><TD>(blond plantago, blonde psyllium, plantago, isabgola) </TD><TD>Effective as a bulk laxative for reducing constipation or softening stools. Likely effective for lowering cholesterol in people with mild to moderately high cholesterol. </TD><TD>Gas, stomach pain, diarrhea, constipation, nausea. Some people can have a serious allergic response that requires immediate medical attention. </TD><TD>Might decrease the effectiveness of carbamazepine, an antiseizure drug; digoxin, a heart drug; and lithium, for bipolar disorder. Might cause low blood sugar when taken with some diabetes drugs. </TD></TR><TR><TD>PYGEUM </TD></TR><TR><TD>(African plum tree, African prune, Prunus africana) </TD><TD>Likely effective for reducing symptoms of an enlarged prostate. </TD><TD>Nausea, abdominal pain. </TD><TD>None known. </TD></TR><TR><TD>SAMe </TD></TR><TR><TD>(ademetionine, adenosylmethionine, S-Adenosyl-L-Methionine, sammy) </TD><TD>Likely effective in reducing symptoms of major depression, reducing pain, and improving functioning in people with osteoarthritis. </TD><TD>GI symptoms, dry mouth, headache, mild insomnia, anorexia, sweating, dizziness, and nervousness, especially at higher doses. It can make some people with depression feel anxious. </TD><TD>Might lead to a toxic reaction when taken with the cough suppressant dextromethorphan, certain antidepressants, or narcotic pain relievers. Might worsen symptoms when taken with the Parkinson's drug levodopa. </TD></TR><TR><TD>ST. JOHN'S WORT </TD></TR><TR><TD>(Hypericum perforatum, Saynt Johannes Wort, SJW) </TD><TD>Likely effective for improving symptoms of some forms of depression. </TD><TD>Insomnia, vivid dreams, anxiety, dizziness, headache, skin rash, and tingling. It can cause skin to become extra-sensitive to the sun. </TD><TD>Can decrease the effectiveness of a wide range of drugs, including birth-control pills, heart medications, HIV/AIDS drugs, and warfarin. Might also increase the effects or side effects of certain antidepressants. </TD></TR><TR><TD>VITAMIN D </TD></TR><TR><TD>(Cholecalciferol, vitamin D3, ergocalciferol, vitamin D2) </TD><TD>Likely effective when taken with calcium to help prevent osteoporosis. Might help reduce falls in people with vitamin D deficiency and bone loss in people taking corticosteroids. </TD><TD>Extremely large amounts might cause weakness, fatigue, headache, and nausea, though side effects are rare. </TD><TD>Might reduce the effectiveness of some medications, such as atorvastatin (Lipitor), other heart medications, birth-control pills, HIV/AIDS drugs.</td></tr></table>

<font color="ff0000">Children's Day Celebration
Date : 25 September 2010
Venue: TBC (depends on response)
fidgets/yishun safra/peekaboo/condo function room?
Time : Evening (dinner)

1. bbmar
2. pink
3. nanabear
4. Giolyn
5. irin???
6. MichK???
7. Joelle???
8. astro???
9. autum???
10. edde???

due to the fact that its for childrens' day, we need to book the venue early cos maybe be crowded and also need to know the attendance response to really decide where to book.. becos for example if book fidgets or peekaboo.. their package is for a number of children only..and of cos we need to hit tat number of children.. if not per head will be quite ex too..