(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

AAA
this one. think abt $2 a pack. 2 pieces inside...can cook 2 pots. :p cheap n good!

3495068.jpg

SQ: Bingo!

1) Fried rice - egg, onions, minced meat, carrots, beans,
2) Maccaroni - hard boiled egg, brocolli, carrots, minced meat/fish
3) Mee Sua - hard boiled egg, brocoli, minced meat, fish, fishball
4) Fried Bee Hoon - egg, onions, minced meat, carrots, beans,
5) Spagetti - minced meat, sausage, frozen mixed vege, onions, cheese, potato, tomato sauce
6) Another type of pasta - same as above but in white sauce?
7) White rice with seaweed soup, minced meat balls, egg dan hua, wolfberry
8) White rice with stir fried vege, steamed egg with minced meat or chawamushi
9) Porridge - Fish, minced meat, stir fried vege
10) Sandwiches - Mashed egg with cheese

sq
there's a shop at jp..i help u check out when i go there. nowadays seth bigger liao..i 'downgrade' to market seaweed... hahaha.

oh!! can i add cod fish porridge? cod fish cook w porridge... then add some chopped cabbage and it's a dish! i love the cod fish smell in porridge!!

Pls add away!! The more the merrier..

1) Fried rice - egg, onions, minced meat, carrots, beans,
2) Maccaroni - hard boiled egg, brocolli, carrots, minced meat/fish
3) Mee Sua - hard boiled egg, brocoli, minced meat, fish, fishball
4) Fried Bee Hoon - egg, onions, minced meat, carrots, beans,
5) Spagetti - minced meat, sausage, frozen mixed vege, onions, cheese, potato, tomato sauce
6) Another type of pasta - same as above but in white sauce?
7) White rice with seaweed soup, minced meat balls, egg dan hua, wolfberry
8) White rice with stir fried vege, steamed egg with minced meat or chawamushi
9) Porridge - Fish, minced meat, stir fried vege
10) Sandwiches - Mashed egg with cheese
11) Cod fish porridge with chopped cabbage

Joelle: Wanna ask you re the chopped cabbage. Do you stir fry them first? Anna doesn't like cabbage unfortunately.. She calls them "giam peng" by association. Needless to say, she dislikes giam peng.

hi mommes, hopes kids, mummies, preg mummies are all doing well.!

hi.. Enya is out?/ congrats pink.. so happy for ya..

nanabear-I think I saw u in mrt ler..

oh... now i m so inspired! haha.... i wanna add braised minced meat w rice(lu3 rou4 fan4) like those taiwan version.

marinate minced meat w light soy sauce, salt, brown sugar, 5spice powder, rice wine(hua diao jiu) n 2 star anise plus abit of corn flour.

then in a (clay)pot heat some oil, fry some onions and add in the meat n fry till almost dry..then add water n bring to boil. after that simmer for a bit more. can add hard boiled egg for a fuller meal. and tow kua! seth's new fav. heh.

AAA/sq
haha.... my family loves giam peng! i dun stir fry them b4 cooking wan. cabbage is sweet in soups... u can use either those round chinese cabbage or those bak choy... the kimchi kind. both r sweet in soup! i love 1-pot-wonders! cabbage is the best veg to go with porridge i feel. not like green veg which has to be stir fried to get the taste. haha..so i throw in the cabbage in porridges n soups when i cook in the afternoons.... haha...now u know wat seth is eating... lazy mum! :p

another dish is water cress soup. this is the best way to make seth eat veg... he neva rejects water cress! n i freeze the leftovers for noodles the next day. :p

joelle
YE doesn't like tau gua. when i buy duck rice for her, she oni eats the lu3 dan4 i added. not the duck or rice or beancurd

aaa
YE also doesn't eat the cabbage

i also dun dare sms pink and disturb her

Enne: SQ shd be sometime this week. As for me, got to wait til end of them month.. It feels like a very very long month for me..
I'm thinking of ways to keep myself occupied and to stop counting the days left to D-date.
In the meantime, I'm spamming the forum..

joelle
i dun dare try the cabbage cos i dun like it myself. see where YE gets her fussy eater genes from....

wat do you put in your water cress soup? pork ribs and dates and wolfberries is it?

enne : really ar !??!? when ? where? sad to say.. i am already 5 months and NOBODY give up seats to me yet!!!!

and i can't fit into my previous maternity clothes liaoz.. hahaha

SQ-wow... take care take care..anytime now lo!!!

3As-like that everybody will feel something is missing when u're not here.. nobody is spamming.. hehee.... end of the mth.. meaning u spending CNY in confinement lo??

seth loves tau kwa like his dad...that day we had zhu chao somewhere n he ate most of the tofu dish! :S actually i oso not a lover of it..hahah!

for cabbage hor..maybe chop it finer..in thin strips n leave out the 'stem' part..can be rather bitter. i love cabbage leh!

Joelle, SQ: I love cabbage. So does hubby. So I don't understand why anna doesn't like it. I can have cabbage stir-fried with dried prawns.. Very yummy.

Your water cress soup sounds like my old cucumber soup - yah, pork ribs, wolfberry, red dates. Have yet to try water cress cos I'm afraid it could be too liang2 for my kids..

nana-Yesh.. in the mrt last week.. i'm not sure u recog me anot.. haha.. u work tanjong pagar izzit?? coz I took NE line i saw u but the train was packed, can't call out to u.. but u was 'standing' lo.. i also wonder how come nobody give up seats to u!!!

enne
thanks. i'm trying not to "complain" and let my impatience show. doing all kinds of stupid things to distract myself

AAA/joelle
the oni time i like cabbage is in japanese okonomiyaki

Enne: Yah lor.. I will be spending the reunion dinner alone with meimei + maybe one of the maids. Hubby wanted to arrange for the dinner to take place at our place this year but I told him not necessary lah. How can ask my ILs over to have reunion dinner here just for me?? Plus, old people may still think women in confinement are "dirty". Plus, I won't be able to take most of the dishes anyway.

SQ
dun like cabbage? maybe u shd try it in soups.... then may like it..haha...try the bak choy version first..less 'bitter' i feel. yup! i add pork ribs/chicken and wolfberries and some dried scallops n dates.

oh oh!! and hor...can fry some chopped garlic & onion then add some thinly sliced meat/bacon and fry abit then add water... when boiling add some bak choy and seasoning... very nice kiddy soup. for the adults...go buy the korean chilli paste fr korean supermart (vivo) then add some line or white vinegar... taste like kimchi soup liao!! very nice! haha...1 pot 2 tastes!

kaexin
good leh! good for her eyes!! u can cook the seaweed soup without egg oso... just dun look as nice. :p

AAA/SQ
can make ur own okinomiyaki too leh... i tried b4..haha... can add ur own ingredients... think i used cabbage n ham n onions... n cheese... woahaha..it was overflowing!

AAA
my hb is a fan of okonomiyaki. cant rem if he prefers the osaka or hiroshima kind though

joelle
i dun like korean food. makes me puke

enne
less than 1st preg. but nothing to be proud of. cos i din lose all the weight of the first preg to start off with
*grumpy*

kaexin
same. YE used to eat it as it is. but she hasn't done tat for a long time though

Joelle: I will substitute with bak choy for anna to try. Yes, the texture is much better.
Maybe she will like it.

Aiyooh, everytime I look at your menu, I wish I can be as versatile in cooking as you are. Same ingredients we have, but you add in vinegar, brown sugar, kimchi chilli paste etc etc..
And I have the imaginary taste that these make so much difference to the boring old dish. *sigh*

SQ: We still haven't started anna on seafood other than fish. She has tried sea cucumber and sharks' fin soup though. Just not prawns and crabs yet. She developed rashes when she takes dried prawns.. So I think better not start on shell fish yet.
She likes french beans (but not long beans). I like to stir fried my french beans with dried prawns too.. Ditto on ladies' fingers.. Yummy yummy!!

3As-Yeah lo. if me, I also wun ask inlaws purposely come over.. think 'not right' also.. meimei come out just in time to get angbaos.. keke..

SQ-i until now also haven't shed, resigned liao. keke.

re:wolfberries
but i heard its quite heaty too?

enne/joelle,
and her eyesight really super duper good. can see at nite too. macam like owl. but then i am also like that since young.

another good cook that K has tried is RR

soup contributed by QQ and Star.

but then i also like RR and edde and autum's cooking too! wahahahaha ....

Enne: Exactly.. Only my hubby will come up with such a suggestion.. :p
Wolfberries shouldn't be heaty.. They're good for the eyes.. The leaves can be used to cook soup too. Very yummy.. Add 1 hard boiled salted egg - chopped up, 1 hard boiled century egg - chopped up and chicken egg dan hua to the soup.. Yummy yummy..

enne
at least you start off low

AAA
ya, the oni seasoning i have in my kitchen: sugar, salt, soya sauce, pepper. period

wa i hope i can skip reunion dinner leh! let me go sound hb out. haha

kaexin-Yeah I also heard woflberries helps in eyesight.. maybe partly ur genes also. (wa.. u still perfect eyesight??)

me and HB both short sighted, so I quite worried abt my kids too.

SQ-u c-sect or natural? actually can ask to 'rest' lo.. still got excuse.. coz like 3As say.. a lot of dishes u can't makan too

AAA
i will break confinement on the first day
there's a long list of things i wanna eat
already task my dad n brother and hb to bring for me. haha... cos i cant eat now cos of GD, so i will eat IMMLY after i deliver. and eat like a hungry ghost

aaa/sq
i think RR is the mummies who adds the best ingredients... i just add the basics. as for those sauces, heh..oso use those i like...aka vinegar n fish sauce. :p hua diao n sesame oil and oyster sauce n fish oil r the must haves that i've been taught since young.

and yes! i love wolfberris leaves too!!