(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

pink
5?
you, mr tan, leia, bb & your mum?
where are u staying? i've been to penang liao..

astro
i took pencil n paper n jotted down.. then lazy me gave up :p mummies who can solve this, clap clap clap! i really lazy le

pink: how come u got half of the answer ah? :p
good lei u.. at least u get.. half the marks? :p
hahahhaha..

shhhh.. we all keep quiet ah.. shhhh.. Juni is working out the answer.. shhhh.. DO NOT DISTURB.. :p

Astro,
Miser is right.. there is a certain 'formula' or method to arrive at the answer.. and the kids are drilled using that 'formula'.. so to them, they can arrive quite fast at that.. (i think)

belle,
i watched hk serial ma. then about to sleep. saw the math question, so take a pen and paper and calculate lor.

now i wanna go sleep liao. very tired..
haha!!
so i got the answer right.. hb still cannot get the answer. haha!!

QQ: steady! how u do it? :p
ha. P6 hasn't started alegbra leh.. :p

autum: sad leh. as in.. i feel so sad tat i cannot do it :p.. ha. (like real)
then i asked miser how if teng kena this kind of questions..
his reply.. 'get a maths tutor lor'. wah liew. :p

my answers.. as in this is how i wld write in the exam scripts ---> 'Both Ken and Jim would get tooth decay and would need to see their dentists as soon as possible'...
*straight face*

whahahahhahahahahaha .. goodness! i am really BORED!

QQ, YY,
I can get the answer with algebra too but don't think Pri 6 learnt that yet liao, right? If they do then it's scary. :p

Pinkpink,
you got the answer thru algebra also?

RR: hasn't learn algebra yet.. i think they learned it in another method. dunno draw diagrams.. some guess work. chiam. i am more and more convinced. that teng.. WILL flunk his maths.. IF i am the tutor.. the resident appointed maths tutor said he might be busy wor! hahahhaha..

Autum: ditto here.. hence my answer in the script.. hahahaha

Astro,
ya la. this one is for my cousin. so that's why i made as a gift (on top of ang-pow la). the other day that one, was for a very good friend.. so also make lor. if just normal friends/acquaintance, i won't make a gift la.. cos seems to be so personal! :p

YY,
ok lah, if the method is in their syllabus then not so bad. I heard that this is the 1st year they are allowed to use calculator. Don't know whether it's a good or bad thing.

RR
yes. it has to be algebra.
we did learnt a bit of algebra in P6 if i remember correctly?

autum
how abt housewarming :p any idea for nice ones for kids' room?

Autum: if u make a shadow box for every wedding u go to.. i wld go 'wow!'.. hahahhaa

RR: i let u read this excerpt.. from the blogspot which i saw the question from. real amusing.. the solution is kinda described there.. but i dunnowhat it means. i just find it so amusing :p

<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

My brain shut down after Ken bought some sweets. Anyway, 12 year-olds are expected to solve this. How? I don't know.

Not bad enough, I was also duly informed that when what 6+8 is, 14 is incorrect.

6+8 has to first, = 10+4 and then subsequently= 14
11+11 has to first, = 10+1+10+1 = 20+ 2 before arriving at 22.

If the child had the audacity to skip from 6+8 to 14, he would be marked wrong.<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

pink: in the blog entry.. it was mentioned.. not algebra.. :p we got learn alegbra? maye syllabus changed.. ops.. i got to ask my SIL.. she is a primary school teacher.. ha.. her kid is Band 1 one hor.. wah. teng going to be super stressed with competition in the family! hahahahaha...

juni: nvm.. it is not our problem.. :p but let's start sourcing good tutors for our kids! :p:p

YY,
wah!! What's that??!!

Pinkpink,
no lah, algebra was not in Pri 6 syllabus. Think we learnt that only in Sec 1. But I do remember we have similar questions in PSLE like the one YY posted but not as complicated and there's a simpler method than algebra to get it.

RR: i also dunno what's that. but it is the way the question would e marked by the teachers.. so supposed.. the answer is 14.. u cannot write 6+8 =14.. u MUST write 6+8=10+4=14.. then u can the mark! hence i am saying i am amused! :p

Pink: ya.. the draw diagram method lor. the draw one rectangle then drawn another rectangle below it.. and spilt into dunno how many smaller rectangles method lor.. not x or y.. remember?

Pink,
haha.. for kids, usually will use cuter stuff. Like the LO that AAA post today, used a lot of cute stuff. usually animals, flowers, fruits, etc.. to decorate to make it look cute.

watching a cooking show on OKTO, the cook aka daddy so cool! can bake with his 2 toddlers n let them mess up their hands in the bowl! so nice to see the kids pair up with daddy with their chubby fingers in the bowl.

mummies i go zz liao, tom is busy day for me
nite nite.

pink: yvonne said it was the model method.. ya. i meant subsets..

hahaha. yalor yvonne should know.. yvonne u konw how to do? :p

juni: good night!

HJ" send back - some of them could well be pre-existing conditions and they just hide the problems. esp older maids with high BP issues.

my current maid turns out to have an asthma background, but if asthma flares up again, we will send her back also as much as we like her cuz we have to foot the bills and it's not cheap.

SQ:So early?

Wha i am so sad.. the vest that i wanted for rae from jshopper is OOS. anyone knows where i can get a fur trimmed vest for tods? let me know. thanks

star,
yesterday i saw fur trimmed vest for tod at woodlands causeway point... they have a fair at level 1. hmm, i think they clearing stock for the winter clothes.. u wan to go check it out? is the winter shop forget wad is the name...

yvonne: really can u remember how much. the one at jshopper was not ex, after conversion about $30 plus only. but causeway pt damn far lah.

wa i wanna beat AAA's backside!
quick tell me which ramly stall and which fruit stall for the coconut jelly. i must go and buy later. i know the row of shops opp tiong bahru mrt, but how do i turn into the carpark?

star
i find the good stuff (as in really good) in jshoppers run out of stocks v fast. i've been wanting to buy socks for meimei but all the NB are OOS. even the "neutral" or more boy colors like black and white. i need socks and mittens for meimei but too bad jshoppers dun have mittens wor