(2007/02) February

smurfy, my maid will still feed my G on time. yesterday while she is feedin her, she say zz keep rolling on the floor again lor. i think fighting for attention but dun know how to say. then once my maid put back mei mei on cot, he rush to her n wan to hug...

morning to all

early morning so many postings...

Gig - yeah I've yet to decide on A's care-giving. haiz, nt tat I wana slack on it, bt those cc I chked on were full, nw have to find 1 day to really go scouting.... Hb has asked his fren who's in 1 of the CC to help us find out more info.

talking abt disciplinee - yeah, my boy is also one of those kind. Sometimes I really feel like slapping him! He's so notti tat every day when i m hme, mum will surely tell me wat bad thing he did tat day.

He's bn throwing tantrums also, on things he's nt happy abt, he wanted bt yet didn't get & etc. He would rub his feet on the flr, lie on the flr & cry. I dun care, he cry, let him lie down lor. He just wanna catch attn, & the moment we throw him on the flr & cry, he automatically turned ard & stood up instead. Cos he knew he will nt get wat he wanted even if he did tat.

then the 2nd thing I got to learn hw to discipline him was, doing the reverse conversation. Since by telling him straight NO doesn't help, I did the other way round. I'll ask him if he wanted xxxxx, he will nod his head. Then I'll say, if he wants it, he has to do xxxx. In this way, he listens & understands.

Likewise when he whines & whines, instead of telling him to stop it, I will say I dun like him to b making such noise. I will give him a count to 3. & I'll start counting. By 3 he will stop somehow.

Of cos it doesn't work all the time, bt @ least let him have a taste of hw he shld behave.

When we go out, instead of asking him nt to round abt, I told him, he has to hold our hands wherever he goes. he has learnt to take the escalator side by side instead of us carrying him. Cos he simply didn't want us to carry when we were on it. So no choice, we put him down, let him step on the escalator w/ us bt w/ his hand holding on to ours.

Perhaps you mummies can try doing the reverse lecture, may or may nt apply to all though... bt no harm.

Las Sat, he was drinking Vitagen, I told him not to tilt the bottle cos it'll spill. He refused to listen. I told him, if he did tat again, I will take the btl frm him. he refused to listen, then it spilled. I took the btl away frm him, he cried till no sound. I didnt' care. Bt of cos hb was scared stiff cos no sound frm A for like abt 30 secs or so... FIL also got a scare. I didn't care, went to the kitchen to wash the btl.

Hb carried him to the kitchen to look for me, shouted at me for snatching the btl away frm him. I told him, it's the way to teach him, if he doesn't listen after several warnings, he'll just hv to lose wat he has. Then A wanted me to carry him, I took over, & I told him to kip quiet. I asked if he wanted the Vitagen, he nodded, then I said if he wants, he ahs to kip quiet. Then he stopped, in less than 1min.

SIL also agreed w/ my disciplinary actions cos she's also like tat. If we gv in, means they know they will get wat they want whenever they cry. I told her, yeah I know bt hb doesn't c it tat way. He just didn't want the kid to kip crying.

My A nt scared of both of us.... bt I would say hb is bad in disciplining A. he tends to b more giving in, so long as it makes him stop crying. He's notti to the extend of throwing things when he's unhappy. I guess he learnt quite alot of bad things frm my niece too... monkey c monkey do mah.

Bt I think boys generally r worse than gals.. I wonder ware he learnt of jumping onto ppl's stomach, slapping others on the face & getting things to hit ppl. Cos my niece has nv done tat b4....

Haiz...

I told him - dun ever let me get hold of a cane, he'll die jia lat jia lat. Mum always warn A, his mama ME is v fierce one, then he's so skinny, sonner or later will b beaten to death.

Mum told me nt to hit him on the top part of the hands, cos tare are veins. If wanna hit him, hit on the palm, @ least it's nt tat painful.

Garfield - mum also said tat abt A!!!!!!! She asked A, is it we paid $500 for him to learn hw to hit ppl! ~!@#$%^&*()_ & also kept comparing A w/ my niece...

Think our kids are really starting the terrible 2s. Ryan does "throw tantrums" now too. He can cry and cry but me and my hubby will not give in.

When I refuse to open the cupboard to let him take the things inside, he will just lie on the floor to cry and I ignored him.... then my MIL will ask him to come and sayang him... so spoilt.

That day me and my hubby brought ryan to vivo and we training him to sit in stroller cos he kept wanting to be carried. You should see the scene he created in vivo but we just have to persist. If we give in, they will know that crying works.

ah ger, i also try yr method many times liao but sometimes work soemtimes doesn't cos he v stubborn 1. we often warn him too. like climbin onto chair, i let him climb but i tell him if he fall down, noone will sayang him. true enough he fell down n cry then i will explain to him. but within min, he climbin again.

haha zz cry many times no sound b4 liao. quite drama. when he start, he will open his mouth, no sound come out for 30 sec.... then we just watch the show lor. then after tat got sound liao, then tears.

haha everyone son so noti... gals seem to be more guai ah...

maybe we shld put a cloth on the floor n they lie down to "mop" the floor... haha

yesterday when i leave the mei mei room, he also scream cos i didn't wait for him. so he keep on rolling on the floor outside for me to "watch"

ah ger, ya they learn some violent moves from dunno where... my hb can be quite fierce with him too. he dun seems to be scare of us. but he will cry lor. so last nite i use cane to tell him i not kiddin w him. yr mum takes care of niece since birth rgt? my nephew also so my mum v pamper him. now she tellin me my son also noti cos last time i hint nephew abit pamper n spolit.
but at least i tell zz he doin wrong ok? ratehr than let him wrong.

ah ger, last time i beat zz backside, my papa also scold me say cannot hit too hard will kenna kidney or wat if hit above. i told him i hit the pampers where got pain.

smurfy, yes she will be taking confinement food from Natal
My mom has also been boiling tonics and cooking steak for her to boost her iron levels. Doesn't mean that we dun do traditional confinement means we don't take care of body.. just that we eat other non-chinese forms of nourishment la. Don't worry.. hehe..
So your maid - you dun wanna make it clear that you will not hesitate to take police action if you find out she slaps QY? Maybe show her the Youtube maid abuse video and tell her that the maid got police case lor. :p

Ah Ger, think your method of reasoning is good... keep it up!

Garfield, har? Why so anti-cc???? WEird lei..

Today alone with 2 kids - Timo no school 'cos he's got flu. Baby and sis supposed to discharge today but turns out his jaundice went up so prob gotta stay one more day. Just as well 'cos she's having very bad engorgement.. at least she can seek LC help in TMC.

garfield,
good idea.... next time wrap them in cloth...

this pregnancy, i really eat alot of rubbish leh... I never control my craving... been drinking coke cos i really felt like drinking everyday.... even the shop owner tell me dun drink so much else will hv phlegm when born....

Seems like we are all facing the terrible two in our kiddos nowadays.

catz, is there any offer now on books from amazon? I am contemplating whether to order from amazon or acmamall which provide free delivery for order more than S$80. I have compared the price and acmall's price (in SGD) is like x2 of the amazon price.

smurfy, thanks for frequent Xi's blog.
Lil smurfy's blog is one of my fav blogs too! Eh, how come no more update on QY's at d'storey club? Yday the jubilee park branch called me for a trial. Most likely will be next sat. So happy!

jas
QY onli interested in food, music and crafts but not the story time leh.. i, lazy these days, have many many entries not updated lor.. :p oso coz busy at work these days.. then nite time too late to update....ehhh dun expect too much for ah-xi from 1st lesson k? just go and perhaps ask for 2nd, 3rd trial before deciding.

jelly, Amazon has some books which are 4 for the price of 3.. guess it's only worthwhile if you get those. But honestly a lot of books you cannot find here and usually they are pricier even after adding in Borderlinx shipping costs. Acmamall - yah pricey.

jas/catz
yes yes, get the 4 for the price of 3 books, very worth it lar, if u get all around the same price (otherwise they choose the cheapest one as the free book lor) alot nice nice titles.... QY's favourite book now is "goodnite moon"..

GOG, emailed you
Your drugstore loot's here.

jelly, acmamall.. hmm.. :p They use a courier to deliver and they're quite inflexible. That's what I don't like about them. Will go looksee Amazon.. heheheheh.. love books!

i just registered A for Julia Gabriel, starting lessons this week. I will stop kindermusik since the next class doesnt start till a few weeks later. My mil is very insistent that A has to go for classes.

Ah ger, A is also in billingual playclub right? How does he like it? which one are u attending evans rd or forum?

catz, cherry, jelly,

muahahha i oso dunno wat i feed tyler le...i gave him wat he's suppose to eat...but he drinks loads of water, green tea, mainly liquids...then he wans to eat biscuit, cheese...goes to the fridge and insist he wans cheese...i gave lor..to shut him up...

jelly,
yah yah..feed him "stronger"..keke...hopefully he grows taller oso...dun be like me...

ah ger,
your method sounds good....although i haf no confidence dat tyler will haf patience to listen to me..keke..i go bk and try....

how long did it take for A to cry until "no sound"?? i let tyler cry 15min oredi "givae in and give up"

garfield,
yah true enuff, they hate sitting in the baby chairs in food places le...but if i let him run loose..v scary..coz he will go bump into tables or waitress...

garfield, I think A is like zz, very stubborn and naughty. There is something that I still cant get him to learnt. He likes to bang things on table or throw things when he wants to show that he is angry. This is very embarassing and what if he threw something heavy and hits someone?? How to stop him??

Cherry, better check with gynae before you take the anti-biotic. I only took the cough syrup.

Catz,well I really tired to act as bad guy leh, need lots more energy. Your sis got really gd milk ss.

Smurfy, this current maid is the same one that you had rite?

Garfield, how old is your nephew? The best method is to ignore them when they throw tantrums.

Ah ger, your disciplinary actions are gd, kids dun like to take no as answer everytime so reverse lecture is more acceptable by them.
Men usu give in cos they cant tahan kids' cries.

wah.............. so many postings... I mia a long while just nw cos bz ordering ON stuff w/ my gfs... ha ha ha....

Garfield, yes - they work at times only, bt I dun care, better than nothing working @ all right?

Mine also climbed umpteen times liao, bt I dunc are, he fall his business, I will tell him off. bt so far still quite alright @ tat split min. Ha ha ha... after tat will b back to sq one. Bt somehw he has a deep impression of bumping his head when he climbed underneath the table & also scalded his hand when he touched hot items. These r the only 2 things he dare nt do again. I guess mine is those must kena the extreme cases then will b afraid.

garfield - yes, mum takes care of niece since birth & she stays w/ her 6 out of 7 days a week. She pampers her more I feel.

Cherry - A was v resistent to JG Mandarin session for the 1st fw weeks bt las wk (Wk5 already) it seems like he started to enjoy. I could c him being more involved in the activities. He's in Evans rd cos hv outdoor activities, & we wanted a Sat. Forum wkend Bilingual is on Sun which we didn't want.

Fat babe - sometimes just hv to b more hard-hearted lor... let him cry lor... he cry liao, nobody bothers abt him he will stop. Tats wat my parents do now also. He cry rubbing the flr, dad let him be, then he auto stands up & stop.

Cry no sound arh... the moment he scream then no sound liao lor.... It's ugly scene lah, mucus & tears all over since he's also having a running nose. Bt I boh chap, I just walked to the kitchen. FIL & hb tare kan cheong over his way of crying... cos they find it terrifying. When hb rushed to the kitchen & scolded me, I shouted back at him, I said - if I nv do tat to him, he'll 4ever know we can b bullied. I know FIL surely know we quarreled bt I dun care lor. Cos I know if I beat him at their house, they will intervene, so I did the reverse way... cos I know ultimately, betwn grandparents vs parents (dad or mum), A chooses me. So i know I m the only person who can tame him down. Must first know who is the one who has more 'power' also lah. Ha ha ha....

A made me lose my voice & scream like mad woman so many times also no use liao, so y shld I waste my energy leh? I always make sure he will nod his head or watever whenever I tell him something, make sure he understands wat I expect frm him. of cos tare'll b times when he's still beyond my limits bt @ least nt tat often.

nwadays A wanna self-feed himself. Many a times when we refused to let him eay by himself, he will scream & snatch the bowl & spoon frm us. Then instead of saying "mummy feed u", I will tell him "mummy help/ show/ teach u". In this way, I feel he'll feel tat we r nt trying to restrict him frm learning hw to eat by himself. Although it'll still b messy at times bt @ least I can get to eat my food as he eats. No need to take turns w/ hb to eat liao.... A usually doesn't know hw to feed himself direct frm cup cos all along we scared it's messy. bt I teach him to hold the cup & sip slowly, frm tare he learns. @ JG they also dun hv straw.

Hmm, I also dunno hw I get to learn such methods leh.. maybe natural guts bah... since tis doesn't work, then use other methods lor. Surely one way will work. ha ha ha...

fat babe, A hated the high chair las time also. bt cos he wants to eat, I told him, if u wanna eat, u hv to sit down ok? he will nod his head, then I will tell him tat I will b putting him at the chair. After he 'agrees' then I will put him down. In a way, it's like getting his consent & letting him know wat we r gng to do nx, instead of placing him straight onto the chair.

A is afraid of strangers too... bt whenever we go to frens' hse, b4 we go back, we'll ask him to hug everybody b4 we leave. Make him say gdbye & wave to them. We will also tell him, he can't do tis/ tat when outside. if we happen to c a child misbehave outside, we will tell him at the ears tat such action is intolerable.

I guess basically is just talk & talk & talk bah... maybe also bcos he knows if he gets nottier, he will surely get it jia lat jia lat frm me.

bt again, overall he's still v notti lah... likes to run abt bt must slowly 'educate' him lor.

Catz - I m hoping to c more improvements in my discipline.

Hb & I always make sure we dun interfere when either one of us discipline him. There'll b times when A runs to me after hb scolded him, I'll tell him again y he shldn't do tat. Likewise when I did the same to A, hb will tell him the same thing.

ah ger, ya when he afraid of my frens, i also patient n make it feel like it nothing to be afraid but he still scare lor. sometimes he listen soemtimes he dun wish to listen n will try to bury his head to the floor hahaha

nowadays if we tell him soemthing is wrong like touching the switches can electric shock him, he hear n then start to whine n wan to carry... aiyo can't tahan him. but he will wan to touch again after that.

cherry, my boy also stubborn. he also likes to step on things. got 1 time he step on his papa cd... his papa angry. when he angry, he throw things off table. so we take everything away. he scream and we dun care lor.

then he also likes to bang things n make noise tat mei mei wake up.. poor gal.

ah ger, ya it good tat u 2 dun intervene in discipline. i agree with tat so tat the child wun confuse. tat is y we prefer to educate him ourselves... grandparents tend to pamper la.

yeah, A will cling on to me when I go fren's hse. Then I will start getting things to distract him, like food, tv, toys & etc. then I also sit down w/ him, let him warm up awhile, & eventually he can even sit w/ my gf while I go & get my food.

A knows it's nt right to touch the switches bt he doesn't listen. Cos he likes to hear the clicking sound. So instead of kip telling him he can't do it, we put safety plugs (IKEA ones r gd!) so tat he can't even pull it off. Those bought outside at those neighbourhood shops r nt gd cos it's inverted out & he can easily pull the plug off whereas Ikea's concave in.

Grandparents sure pamper one lah.... we scold nia, they run forward liao... so since we can't beat them at their plc, i do the talking & boh chap method lor....

on urgent leave these 2 days cos MIL hosipitalised on sun..as she fainted at the temple.. luckily FIl was with her.. suspected excess bleeding from her piles.. she was discharges yesterday.

she insisted to go to polyclinic to see 1st b4 going for specialist.. sigh..

so these 2 days had been busy with Lil J.

Re: Puzzles
Little J had been fixing those wooden cut-outs puzzles.. meaning a big board with cut out then kids fixed back in.. for daily palying puzzles she can fix them quickly with no assistance need so i got her new ones and she got the hang of it real fast too.

re: discipline
Lil J will whine quite a bit these days.. I got fedup and sometimes ignore / walk away.. she will start to cry... then i'll walk away.. she'll chase after me.. then i'll bend down and hug her.. then tell her what wrong she did why mummy / adult says its wrong to do it... and insisted her to apologise for her wrong doings..

like that rite or wrong?

I guess, sometimes tare's no exact rite or wrong way of teaching lor... so long as ur child can absorb wat u inculcate to her, I think tats the most impt thing. Wat method I can use to tame A may nt b applicable to the rest also.

A will do tat to me at times also, I will carry him up & tell him wat he did to make my angry. & tell him nx time cannot do tat again. hv to do several times lor... cos def once is nv enuff to make him learn.

Ah ger, you got potential to be cc teacher, hehehe... Sherwin also want to self-feed nowadays, he'll say "I know, I know" if we try to feed him. LOL

ah ger, so A also cling on to u... i only thot mine do... cos last time he not like tat...
now become koala n i had to do many coaxin for him to get down n play. i will also sit w him n reassure him tat it fine. sometimes after a while he settle. my gf still can feed him. but after while, he might run back to me then i reassure him again.

i also had those safety plugs on but he likes to on and off the switch. i can't stop him even when the safety plug is there. so i need to let him know it dangerous. but he dun listen. liek wat u say, he likes the click sound.

i guess u must have patience to guide the child...

i realise my patience improvin since i have kids hahahah... but some times i still get heated lar... tat is y i cannot be a teacher... but parent wo bian la.

zz doesn't feed himself.. he lazy... lazy to eat as well, let alone feed himself.

smurfy, that is cute!!! Free admission for our kids somemore. But like both days all sessions all fully taken up liao...

catzzzz, u doing ON spree??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

why no jio???

Luckily i pop in to look see look see!!!!!

Just read also that your sis gave birth to Zach. Congrats.
I really got to keep myself updated here man...So many things happening here but so little time to log on nowadays.

Email me babe
Lazy to SMS.. hehe.. thought you busy mahhhhhhh.. never hear from you at all :p Yes, Zach has arrived.. all 3.6kg of him

nowadays, cherish got a habit to tell strangers that she is "shy".. eg: when someone approach her, she will say "shy" and bury her head..dunno whether to cry or laugh..

she is also another drama queen.. cry as and when she likes. And "no" is totally ineffective on her.
anyway i am v v used to her having meltdown in public.. i can just carry her and let her cry while i shop ard..

Julian hasn't been feeling well since Saturday but the vomiting and fever (stomach flu most likely - self medicated) are gone so I thought there was no need to consult a doctor...

Yesterday he started to cough a little and nose started to drip as well... At night, he couldn't sleep cos his nose was blocked even after using the nose drips. Worse, his phelgm was coating the whole of his throat and he had problem breathing through his mouth as well... the whole night, poor boy kept waking up and cried... fell asleep a few times seated as well... REally, so poor thing...

Finally, I decided to suck out the mucus in his nose as the pump that we used was not effective (ask me where I got the courage to do that, I don't know... My mum is good at it and she does it so naturally as if she is having a drink) After that, he got a little better and started to sleep more soundly. However, short-lived... he woke up again at intervals of 30 minutes to cry... and I didn't know what to do, except to pat him to sleep again...this carried on till 3.30am and I hardly slept... couldn't take it anymore so went to hubby and ask him to take over (sleep with him). And miraculously, he slept all the way through to 7.30am. Now, my maid just rang to say that he is a little feverish

Can you advise me on what to do? Will bring him to the dr after I knocked off at 2pm. In the meanwhile, what can I do to help him feel better?

GOG, no wonder you didn't reply SMS and emails... your stuff is here btw. Sounds like poor Julian has a very blocked nose. Guess apart from trying to suck out the phlegm, there's nothing much you can do now.. pd might have to nebulise him to help him breath easier for the next few days. Do you have any cold medicine on standby? Like rhinaramine, polaramine or zyrtec? Can adminster some before you bring him to the pd for temporary relief. Provided he's taken those meds before and they're not expired.

GOG, yah in fact I always buy spare cold/cough/allergy meds for the kids from the pd.. 'cos sometimes it's not serious enough to warrant a visit to the pd. Most times it works :p

GOG, poor julian. Hope he will be fine after pd visit later.

smurfy, maybe i miss out ur previous posting. Ya, saw this very hungry caterpillar, but this one use puppets rite? Not sure my gal can understand. Haha...

stella, Xi also feels shy easily wif strangers. She will lower her head and "bio" that person. I am glad that last week her stickiness was due to her sickness as she is back to her old self soon after i stopped her medicine and she recovered this week. My aunt and I have also been telling her no crying, no carrying and no holding of hands when mama driving. And everyday we remind her and ask her to repeat. So these few days she is all ok in the car. *touch wood*