(2007/01) Jan

2nd time mummies how does contraction feels like? lately i have some sharp pains ard my tummy. feels like stomachache but is sharp pain leh. then feel very uncomfortable.

2nd-time mummies, I also got qn to ask. Over the past couple of weeks, every now and then, I feel my belly hardening and there's some discomfort, like my organs are all compressed. Then I will see something(s) hard popping up from my tummy. Dunno if they're the BBs' head or butt, but very hard. After 10 secs or so, then my belly will become flat and calm again.

icy,

maybe it's your body's way of preparing you for baby's schedule? kekekekekekeke... a few weeks ago I was waking up around 2am every night without fail... think maybe next time my ger will wake up at 2am to feed, so now body preparing me. Maybe same thing for you. kekekekekekekekekeke

snow,
thanks! Really very last resort liao because hubby and I just cannot agree on any names. Dunnoe what to do if I have a second girl next time.

icylemon, contractions not really sharp pain...more like dull pain that come and go.

Sherl, my auntie's daughter's name is Claire. This name quite nice.

Snow, Icy, the funny thing is I cannot fall asleep on Sunday night...many weeks already...yesterday I took a piriton, the small yellow tab for flu to help me sleep better. Other days seems ok though I will wake up middle of night but Sundays totally cannot fall asleep one.

sherl izzit? har.. 3am.. OMG!! i want to sleep one leh. how i wish my girl will wake up ard 6am next time. can be my alarm clock mah.

aquarius so is not sharp pain at all? is jux normal pain tat comes & go very fast??

aqua, i can't slp almost every night. bad position, or just totally can't slp. baby will kick and kick if i lay on sides and peace down after awhile though.

mommies, feel like easier to slp in the day?

Thks, Janey/Icy/Serrich

Alethea - What type of mattress is actually up to individual's preference and budget. Those latex with holes are supposed to be more breathable and cooling but cost much more. think will cost about $100-130 for the size you mentioned. I've one of that for day use when baby is not sleeping in aircon room. But for night, I just use the foam type which comes with the cot, since at night got aircon, it shouldn't be warm for baby.
Wrt bottoms for baby, although baby is in diapers, I still wear shorts for baby for daywear. Don't really need to wrap them in longsleeved tops and bottoms during the day since S'pore weather can be quite warm. But keep the bootees and mittens on for the 1st 3 months.

Icy - My SIL had insomnia problem when pregnant. She will be up at 3am watching DVDs whole night coz can't sleep. Think better let your gynae know about your pains.

icy, not really those sharp sharp pain but it comes and go with few mins.

snow, I also find it easier to sleep in the day. But got to work leh how to sleep?

Ashleymom, this pregnancy I become very light-sleeper...even my hubby walk in/out of room I also know. Cannot really sleep well unless super duper tired.

Snow,
i also.. now like cannot find the "right" position to sleep..

I do agree, i can sleep better during day time.. BUT HOW TO?? i need to work!!
kao_yawn.gif

icy, ya piriton is safe to take during pregnancy...it's for itch and runny nose...yesterday I machiam whole body itchy but dunno where is the itch...you know what I mean...like cannot find where is the itch...sometimes it's in the blood thus no matter where you scratch it will still be there one. But I dun take often...only when I have runny, itchy nose then I take. That is the medicine most GP will give to preggie ladies.

aqua,

is it Monday blues that's keeping you awake? kekekekekeke... sometimes when I'm very stressed at work I'll suffer from insomnia on Sunday nights, cannot sleep because keep dreading Monday's arrival.

Alethea,
I prefer one or two-syllable names...
Kekekeke, think my hubby's surname sound too weird with three or more syllable names leh.

icy,
chances are your girl will wake up at 3am AND 6am... hhahahahhahahahhahahhahaha

snow & janey me too. turn left & right oso does not help. when i finally found a nice position to sleep. my girl keeps kicking me.

aquarius & janey ooh.. next time if i have difficulty in sleeping. i can oso take tat. kekeke...

<font color="0000ff">Alethea,</font>
I also saw the Disney wallpaper promo on the papers.. Very tempted bt its super ex.. I will just get Disney borders and paint the walls 2 different colors.. Still dunno wat color to use ley.. Prob either pearl white &amp; lilac or pearl white &amp; pink.. Think my hubby will prob need to take 2-3 off days to complete the painting and pasting of wall papers. Bt this can only be done after my bb turns 4 mths old. Still a long wait..

I started my post-natal massage ard the 4th week cos I had an infection and my stitches ruptured from one of the sides. I was sitting on the toilet bowl then suddenly i saw blood and pus shooting out from my stitches!! For a moment i tot i was doing to die, cried and screamed for help! Hahaha... Luckily my hubby managed to calm me down, told me to sit still and let all the blood and pus flow out first.. I felt much better after tat.. The swell was also gone.. Went back to gynae and he said its ok to have open wound. It will heal on its own.. So I waited until it healed then i start my massage..

Hardening of ur tummy: Could u be experiencing Braxton Hicks?? It's some kind of contractions bt its nt a sign of labour lah..

keke. aquarius, agree on the light-sleeping thingy. i wake up for the slightest reasons, now i dun even need an alarm clock to awake at 5.30 am every morning w/o fail.

find the weather lately also very warm. cannot slp properly grr! air con too cold, fan too warm. gosh!

baby's name: was thinking of changing bb's name to something simplier and easier to pronounce but still undecided keke.

Sherl, I like the name Claire. Wanted to name my ger after that but its the name of my friend's new born. Good choice!!!
Me same as you.also prefer one or two syllabus name.

janey, menses cramp..maybe its uterus stretching? Contraction is like tightening of the womb right? Should be different.

icylemon, yah!! I attended 2nd lesson of the antenatal class by Wong Boh Bui. HB and I truly enjoy yourselves and look forward to every lesson.
Btw, I have borrowed the books from the library. Dun waste money buying. Juz go library and get.

Juz fyi, Wong Boh Bui will be one of the speaker at the Avent seminar.

sherl, but my boss dun give me pressure leh...thus I dun understand why I cannot sleep well. Actually that day I go Guan Yin Temple, also was told I think too much. Maybe I should plan a short getaway soon. Get away from housework and work. Just enjoy myself.

Ashleymom, so good can sleep so well...kekeke morning I also dun feel like going to work.

aquarius, why not go for a short break or something? Stress is bad for baby. I dun feel much stress nowadays but I also keep waking up in the night. Haiz..somtimes feel very tired in the day. Understand how you feel.

alethea, must tell Dr Chan about what you experience. My friend has Braxton Hicks on her 6th month and her gynae found that her cervix dilated 1cm!! No significant danger but she has to be very careful

Bluegrapes, u r scaring me!! U don't think it's the BBs' heads or butts jutting? Maybe they're moving their bodies or something?

bluegrapes, ya lor...think must plan short break...sentosa good enough...maybe try the sijori beach resort.

Ya if have Braxton Hicks must tell gynae...that day my gynae also checked if my cervix is dilated or not.

<font color="aa00aa">Aquarius,</font>
Tat time i very disciplined, no matter how uncomfortable i felt i still leave the binder on cos i wanna slim down fast.. Imagine all those 18kgs i gained thru the pregnancy. I only managed to lose 5kg right after birth lor!! When i saw my flabby tummy, it reminded me of a fat sow! Is the OSIM binder really that good??

<font color="ff6000">Snow,</font>
I cant fit in most of my pre-preggie clothes cos my hip size increased leow.. Can only wear those clothings tat i bgt during my early first trimester..

I tot u wanted to save more $$ then u still tempt us wf those BP?! U so notti!!

<font color="0000ff">Aquarius,</font>
I also sleep like a log ley.. Only awaken by my gals' cry at nite.. Other than tat I can sleep thru if i sleep on my side. Nowadays I have been snoring in my sleep ley. Nt too sure if its due to my blocked nose.. I also find myself drooling in my sleep!! Kekeke..

aqua,

But do you find that it's very hard to stop thinking sometimes? I think nowadays my mind is much more active than before pregnancy lo, somehow it's very difficult to stop leh, dunnoe why.
Agree with you all that sleeping during the day is easier.... in fact now I try to grab power naps, and it's so much better than trying to grab 2hours rest every night.

bluegrapes,
thanks thanks.... me still gathering opinions, but so far so good... kekekekekekekeke...

icy,
but first couple of months your ger will sure wake up every two or three hours one leh....

serrich, me too...that time after give birth I still have 11kg to lose...I put on total 16kg. I tried to put the cloth binder overnight but middle of night will sure wake up to take out cos really cannot sleep...so envy you can sleep so well.
The OSIM binder am not sure good or not but my friend use after give birth. I think it should be better than those normal binders.

sherl, ya lor...I also cannot stop thinking cos I have not found a babysitter for baby.

serrich, no!!! think thr some mommies who missed out the prev carters receiving blankie BP, this one is cheaper i think keke. $500 got special discount added, hope thr will be pp organising BP for it keke, i saw something bb rompers!

saw that OSIM slimming belt to, priced at $88 i think. hopefully dun need to buy that can slim down keke.

alethea, could be hands or legs
babies head are heavy, not so easy to move.

is it true that women looks more haggard/chao lao after delivering baby?!!!!

Serrich - You are indeed very disciplined
I tried the OSIM binder for like an hour, then gave up and never used again. Coz very uncomfy lei.

Snow - Not sure if this is true. But people said for C-section, the hips won't expand. I'd c-section and I could wear back even my tighest pre-pregnancy bottoms after 1.5year max. According to my SIL, the pelvic/hip bone will shift and expand in most cases for natural birth. BTW, this is not to encourage c-section ok

Snow - Don't worry lah. Some women actually look better after becoming a mommy. I guess just don't neglect our own looks, even if busy with baby

oops..<font color="0000ff">Alethea</font>, sorry ah..juz sharing with you what my friend experience. Not meant to scare you. Yours most likely is baby's head or butt. I rem my mum sharing with me she experienced that too!! Plus yours is LFT!!

<font color="ff0000">icylemon</font>, search for 'Wong Boh Bui' for the books at www.nlb.gov.sg. I can't paste the search result url here.

<font color="119911">Serrich</font>, nice meeting you ytd. Thanks for waiting patiently to pass us the fish oil!

Serrich, why must wait until BB 4 months old then paint? Is it becos' of the toxic odour of the paintwork? Hubby thinking of putting up the border and painting next weekend.

Bluegrapes, no worries, just that I got a little panicky. Anyways, now surfing for Braxton Hicks info and checking with my pals who've popped on the symptoms.

snow,
it depends, there are a lot of factors involved. For one, if the mother is totally looking after the baby herself 24 hours a day, inevitably she'd be exhausted, and it translates into your look and attitude also, like vicious cycle like that. E.g. if every night you dun get a good rest, and you are so tired out, where got energy to ta ban in the day? That's why it's very important to have adequate support around you. It's also very difficult for mothers who have to juggle motherhood and work - as it is I find it a struggle to juggle pregnancy and work liao.
But sometimes it is also a matter of learning to handle the situation and manage your time properly.

Alethea,

if your hubby does the painting dun go into the room leh. The toxic fumes not good for you.

2nd time mummies, how does Braxton-Hicks feel like exactly? Have read before the symptoms liao but still feel qutie confused about it, dun think I can identify it even if I have it leh.

<font color="ff6000">Snow,</font>
I like the duckie and doggie design.. Bt the duckie one is OOS.. Tot of getting a doggie one for my gal since she is born is year of Doggie. But hor the doggie "or bak kak" one ley.. I still haven source for a new set of apparel for her to wear on the day of discharge.. Still waiting for best deals via BP or Gym spree.. Kekeke...

<font color="0000ff">Aquarius / Ashley_mom,</font>
The OSIM binder exp ley.. The normal ones that i bgt from gynae is abt $20.. I find it good enuf ley.

<font color="119911">Bluegrapes,</font>
Dun mention it. Nice meeting u too!! After meeting u, i was telling my hubby the Jan mommies all so slim and pretty ley.. I feel like a fat sow now.. Kekeke.. I will be very motivated to start my slimming session after giving birth!!

<font color="aa00aa">Alethea,</font>
Dunno ley.. My mil say cannot shift furniture or paint the house until bb is 4 mths old. Another pantang myth of the folks lah. Up to u to believe or nt. Actually i tot once bb turn 1 mth old can start to deco leow.. But hubby say better be safe than sorry lor.. So we will have plenty of time to think of how to do up my gals' playroom..

serrich, I bought one from maternity house but I find after using for a while it gets bigger...I saw the OSIM one like quite firm...so maybe will get that.

Serrich, but no shifting of furniture, only paintwork and putting up of the wall borders. Else, when BBs arrive, how to paint, esp. when the fumes are bad for them? Oh dear, this kind of thing pantang one, ah? Then I'd better check.

Sherl, thanks, yah, will close my MBR door, switch on aircom and sleep while he does the work