(2007/01) Jan

ashley mum so cfm can take honey during pregnancy ah.. coz i really tot of mixing the concentrated birdnest with abit of honey to enhance the taste.

Q: I have heard that kids under the age of one should not consume honey. Why is this so?

A: Honey is not safe for babies under the age of one. Honey can harbor the botulinum spore. This spore, under the right conditions, can grow and give off a deadly toxin. The spore is inhibited from growing in environments of high acidity. The acidity of an infant's digestive system is not high enough to prevent the growth of the spore. By the time a baby is one year old, stomach acidity has risen closer to that of an adults, and is at a level that would inhibit the growth of the spore.

aqua,

I buy the normal one..
Find the taste better than Brand's. I'm one weird person who actually likes to drink chicken essence. Kekekeekekke.. I never try New Moon before leh. Maybe next time I'll try...

Bluegrapes, my mom uses the double boiler (or broiler). It's shaped like a metal bell. And within the bell, is the actual container containing the birds' nest. She cooks it with water, adds rock sugar and pao4 shen and double-boiled it for around 1 hour.

Icy / Ashley_mom, so the big bottle is $138, ah? Why that sales lady told me it's $300+? Hmmm... Maybe I will try the smaller one first ($88). But it really looks disgusting, leh. So concentrated....But Lao Hang Jia got another type of instant birds' nest, got more water one. About $40 per bottle. Dunno if that will go down slightly easier down the throat....

Ashley_mom, maybe your complexion was good to begin with, that's why your girl has such good complexion
But seriously, does birds' nest really improve complexion? I mean, it really looks and tastes like chai yan. Even if someone were to give me fake birds' nest, I may not be able to tell....

baby_milk,

icic.... Aiyo, didn't know that such an ordinary food can be so hazardous to bb... think really must research more before Charlene comes out... Going to start reading childcare books soon, coz heard from many mummies that once bb is born you won't have time to do your research anymore.

Chicken's essence is another weird-tasting thingy. Sigh! Both birds' nest and chicken essence are supposedly good, but I really find that they taste farnee. I only like hashima, double boiled with red dates, but it's not encouraged to be eaten during pregnancy.

alethea i dun recalled got $88 one leh.. if you have menber's card then buy the $138 one lah.. coz after discount is abt $124+. maybe cab try out like me... mix with honey. tell the sales person u r pregnant. she will advice u how to eat.

may I know what is the frequency for the normal check-up? heard from wk 28 will be twice a month, and from wk 36 will be every week need to go to checkup... is it true?

bb milk sometimes i really blur leh. to me honey seems harmless.

alethea to me drinking chicken essence like drinking soya sauce, kekeke...

alethea is not very sweet leh. i dun taste the sweetness at all. the sales lady was telling me is abt 3% only.

u check see whether can use member card no. w/o showing the card or not. if can, i can sms u the no. in order to get discount. 10$ oso better than nothing.

Alethea,
Think those myths abt taking birdnest so tat bb will have very good complexion is nt so true for my gal ley. My cousin's wife didnt take birdnest ley but their son's complexion so smooth unlike my gal who got very sensitive skin, complexion also nt as smooth as compared to my nephew even thou i took birdnest on weekly basis..

Icylemon - Can take honey, don't worry. Just don't feed to your baby when he/she is below 2.

Alethea -I'm very sure about the price. You just check with them again

Actually also dunno whether birds nest really good for skin or not. But since mother-in-law buys, so better eat.
I don't dare to eat chicken essence, even during confinement. The smell makes me want to vomit (no offense to those who like it
). So my mum just double boil black chicken and I drink the essence from there. Usually 1 black chicken boil until only left 1 small bowl. Don't add water so it's very concentrated.

serrich i oso agree with u. coz my sis in law she didnt take birdnest at all. she eat as per normal. healthy diet. she avoid deep fried food. she oso eat fruits. my niece oso got very nice complexion. even now until 6 yrs old. she still have very nice complexion.

Icy, Serrich, if like that, maybe don't need to eat everyday after all, hor. Since it may or may not help.

Ashley_mom, of course lah, if my mom-in-law buys for me, I sure eat one. Some more, if it's FOC! haha! :p

oh ya talking abt chicken essence...

some of my colleagues who gone thru the normal delivery told me to drink at least 2 - 3 btls of chicken essence before admit to hospital on the actual day. so when giving natural birth got more strength to push the baby out wor...

Icy, is it?! The LHJ lady said must take 1 teaspoonful, twice a day. for the small one, eat consecutively for 12 days. For the big one, it's 3 weeks. their birds' nest got preservatives?

Hi, mommies, I saw a thread somewhere before that lists the places that we can get kids' clothes like OshKosh, Gap, Old Navy, etc from. I remembered in Chinatown, AMK area but can't find the thread for the exact location. Anyone has any idea?

alethea the LHJ lady at IMM tolf me to take 1 tablespoon on morning & at nite. i was like... har!!

i didnt follow her instructions. i took twice a week only. i drink more fresh milk & soya bean milk instead.

I take 1 teaspoon twice a day. On empty stomach 1st thing in morning and before sleeping at night. 1 big bottle does last 3 weeks. Their birds nest got no preservatives and need to be consumed within 3 weeks once opened and to be kept refrigerated.

Alethea,
U can try to eat everyday if u wish to.. When i was expecting my #1 i was also very enthu, started taking bird nest when i was 4 mths preggie. Hubby even bgt those "Jin Si Yen" for me.. It cost abt $280 for abt 5 pieces!! So can u imgaine?!

Now already 24 weeks, I havent take birdnest yet.. Hahaha.. Anyway i have bgt those normal grade birdnest. So now i will be taking "dong chong chao" and birdnest at alternate weeks..

Third Trimester:
Oh yah starting of third trimester can start to take young coconut..

Serrich, yah, that time u 1st-time mother, so everything also more on, mah.

Icy, yah, the sales lady also told me the same thing as was told to her mother-in-law. Said that once opened, must consume within x days.

baby complexion : is it true that baby's complexion gets affected by parents' complexion?? im guilty of not taking doctor's pills everyday cos sometimes my mom brew some chinese herbal thingy then didnt take pills. abit worried -.-

find instant birdnest got weird taste not nice..

serrich, i remember people saying can start to take young coconut but wad is it for?

icylemon, frog legs with chicken essence. but very heaty one...then chicken with chicken essence also ok.
I seldom eat frog legs too but I like the one at Sin Ma.

ashley_mom,

the two places I know of that sell these children's clothes near Chinatown area:

1) Rekidz - a pushcart outlet at Far East Sq. Great variety, reasonable price, nice lady boss.

2) Shop at/near Temple Street/Smith Street area - limited variety, but quite cheap.

snow,
I believe complexion is at least 50% inherited... if you have bad skin probs, chances are your child's skin may be sensitive also. Note that the gene for asthma and eczema is actually the same - they are all due to allergies. So some people's asthma genes may turn out to be eczema in their kids. I'm one such case - my brother has asthma and great skin, I don't have asthma, but I inherited eczema. My mum's side has asthma genes. But of course, no matter what, you should take care of bb's skin...

young coconut - some people say it's to "clean" up the baby, so that bb is not so bloody when he/she is born. Think it's got some cleansing effect of some sort la. but dun take too early, because it's very cooling.

sherl, conplexion inherits from mom or dad? neither of us got asthma. but my bf's skin is dry like snake...mine in comparison much different. my mom said if dun drink a lot of water baby's skin will be dry...and i dun drink ALOT of water :S

Thanks, Sherl.

Snow - think no matter whether water will make baby's skin dry or not, must still drink a lot of water when pregnant. Especially to prevent water retention. Also when my cousin-in-law was low in amniotic fluid in the 3rd trimester, the gynae prescribe bedrest and reminded her to drink a lot of water to increase the fluid.

sherl ya agree... i oso inherots my mum asthma & my dad's complexion. hahaha...

ashley mom, why some ppl told me not to consume too much water during 3rd trimester. said will bloated. izzit true??

snow - think can inherit from other party ba? See which side's gene's stronger lo. kekekekeekeke

ashley mom - I dun get it lo... how come drink more water can PREVENT water retention? *Blur*

young coconut:
Yah its believed to have cleansing effect... So tat the baby "cleaner" during birth.

Last Sat, my auntie told me to start taking 1 young coconut per week from 30 weeks onwards. It's also to relieve the heatiness in our body & bb's body system so tt bb have lower chances of contracting jaundice ley.. I wonder how true is this lah.. Anyway her grandson didnt have jaundice and has extremely good complexion(the nephew which i mentioned earlier).

Icylemon / Sherl- what I know from what I read from articles and internet is drinking water does prevent water retention. I know it sounds bizzare and weird but apparently it's true. And it not only applies when we are pregnant- I've actually read the same thing from fashion mag before. Other ways to prevent water retention (according to other experienced mums) is to drink watercress soup. Not sure if true.

When I was expecting my 1st one, I cook watercress soup with pork ribs often and also make sure I drink a lot of water. Amazingly despite gaining 17-18kg, I barely had any water retention. Even my gynae was quite surprised.

ashley mom tot watercress soup very liang de??

i very blur le.. to drink more water or drink lesser water to prevent from bloated??

Heard barley water is good to prevent urinary tract infection which is common for pregnant women too. Again, these are what experienced mums told me
But I guess no harm drinking.

Frankly sometimes I also dunno who to listen to. So many schools of thoughts and different people say different things. Very confusing
But I personally take almost everything. Even cold water, watercress soup, lamb, etc.
Some things I definitely stay away from are raw/half-cooked food, coffee, canned food. I guess everything in moderation.

aiyo v confusing :S which way to prevent water retention - drink more water??? i already put on almost 10g... so sad only 24 weeks
im more scared of water retention and having flabby tummy compared to weight

Hi, was searching through the net for the water retention thingy. Found this :-

Swelling feet and ankles Swelling of feet or edema is due to excessive water retention. This is very common in the third trimester, causing discomfort, particularly in the ankles. The swelling increases over the course of the day. However, if hands or face begin to swell, it could be a sign of hypertensive disease in pregnancy and you should consult your obstetrician immediately. If there is no hypertension, you can prop up your legs more often and wear support hose designed specifically for pregnant women. Wear comfortable, low-heeled shoes. Avoid wearing elastic-top socks or stockings. Avoid crossing your legs when sitting. Avoid salty food including soya sauce. Continue to drink plenty of water. This does not cause more swelling.

Icy,
Can take barley water.. I used to take barley water when i go makan wf hubby & family ley.. My mil also nvr say no good.. So should be okie bah..

Snow - I also put on 9kg already and I'm only in my 21st weeks
I put on total 17-18kg during my 1st pregnancy, think this one will break record
I'm now going for prenatal massage to hopefully tone the body a bit and prevent water retention.

I guess at the end of the day, we just listen to whatever we are comfy with and hope to have a smooth pregnancy and a healthy, chubby baby

*runs to pantry to grab huge jug of water*

Me very naughty, even before pregnancy also machiam camel liao, so must change habit.

ashley_mom...im still v young, furthermore nv fat before so panariod to lose the pre-preggie figures. hopefully the bb will be v chubby n cute :D