(2007/01) Jan

Tks bluegrapes too! Ya, the detailed scan i really enjoy as can spend so long time w bb.. normally at gynae like so fast past oradi.. When I saw our bb open and close his mouth.. it was so heartwarming...u will sure enjoy it! But i felt a little tender the next few days above the pubic area as the lady prodded quite hard as bb was not in good position to see the heart valves..

Date: 30 Sept 2006, Sat
Time: 1pm
Venue: Either Marche or Fish & Co (Suntec)

1. icylemon
2. bluegrapes
3. sugarbean
4. baby_milk ( whole family)
5. janey
6. sherl
7. snow
8. Alethea
9. iceblue
10. Aquarius (TBC)
11. Milderina (TBC)
12. Kate (TBC)
13. nana

hey mummies, got 1 good lobang for ramen! One of the best I've tasted in spore... its at marina sq.. the same floor where the teens hang-out? its called Kyonichi. The stock base don give you extreme thirst after eatin and the char-siew is so tender and yummy.. normally its tough, dry and smells porky.. this is so yummy. Remember to order the thick soup base! Take escalator in front of Venezia gelato to the floor above.

hehehe sherl! Nvm lah..i give u 1st priority for my boy to be charlene's bf ok? BB wants to go visiting durin CNY mah so mus be early so he can collect angpow! haha!! Nvm lah.. i give angpow for 12 years liao leh.. mus recoup some mah! muhaha!!! my boy is so 'kuai'.. come at right time! hahah!!

Sugarbean, glad that everything well fine for you at the detailed scan.
Like Bluegrapes, m looking forward to mine this Wed. For the ramne, could it be that it's overdosed with MSG, that's why so yummy and made u thirsty?

Nana, congrats on your PRINCE!

Icy, m buying 5 bottles cos' was thinking that I could continue taking it even when I'm BFing.

alethea, tks! cant wait for your scan results too! No, wat i meant was it din make u thirsty aft eating like many others as they don use msg! M quite sensitive to msg so tis is a good keep esp for us mummies! try it next time when u have time! ICHIBAN! m hungry now!

serrich,

for the Neurogain BP, can I order more bottles huh? Or you already confirm with seller liao??? paisei... If cannot liao I'll just take my 3 bottles...

sugarbean,

Onz lah! Next time we let your boy and my ger meet, see whether got sparks or not. hahahahahahhahahahha

hmmm... lunchtime... ger is kicking away.... she's taken to reminding me when it's time to eat and when it's time to wake up. Think she's trying to tell me something. heheh. Laterz folkz!

mummies, sori jus ck w u.. hows the quality of neurogain? m taking this fish oil from aus called Natal Care Plus by Nature's Care. It costs me $42 per 30 caps.. neurogain, is not mistaken from m'sia right? sorry, no offence to any m'sian.. but the recent Hi5 bread makes me a bit wary abt quality n processin plants.. esp with fish oils as, if, not done properly can and may contain mercury/toxic.. sorry, don mind my asking.. cos if ok, i don mind switching as mine quite ex. tks again!

Sugarbean, I've got no benchmark for comparison cos' been taking it from day 1. Yes, it's manufactured in M'sia, but under license from HK. But the label does state that that the natureal DHA, AA, EPA and OA are from Japan.

hi sugarbean...I took that for my first pregnancy...but I think the packaging a bit different from last time. Am switching over cos mine also quite expensive...$38 for 60 tablets but need to take 2 each day.

aqua.. sigh.. but i think i've missed the boat liao.. but tks for advising! if not mistaken, i think watson's was selling at $23? not sure.. jus thot i saw last time..

Yeah, AletheaT and my gynae prescribe us Neurogain fish oil on a regular basis. Supposed to be very good for baby's brain development.

AletheaT, aquarius, snow,

hai gals.... i also gotta go for the Glucose test leh.... cos last 2 visits got sugar in my urine... scared leh... hope is not GD... *praying*

nana, ya try to cut down on sweet stuff and also carbo...take wholemeal bread instead of white. I also need to go cos first pregnancy got GD...hope it won't be back this time.

Date: 30 Sept 2006, Sat
Time: 1pm
Venue: Either Marche or Fish & Co (Suntec)

1. icylemon
2. bluegrapes
3. sugarbean
4. baby_milk ( whole family)
5. janey
6. sherl
7. snow
8. Alethea
9. iceblue
10. Aquarius (TBC)
11. Milderina (TBC)
12. Kate (TBC)
13. nana

nana congrats... one more prince added to the list le.. our princess got more & more bfs to choose from... kekeke...

nana,
Congras on having a prince!!

sherl,
at the moment cannot add on orders leow.. I gg to faint at the huge orders ley?! Jialat!! Dunno who gg to help wf distribution. Pbm is seller herself cant commit the huge orders yet.. Will see how it goes bah..

I recall that some mummies here bought the Lao Hang Jia birds' nest. Was at the shop over the weekend and got recommended the concentrated one (small for $88 to be consumsed over 12 days; big for $300+, consumed over 3 weeks). But was quite turned off by the looks of it, cos' never seen birds' nest in globs.

Appreciate feedback from those mummies currently taking it. How is the taste like? Easy to swallow? Is the non-sugar one very yucky? Else, is the one with sugar too sweet? Do u all add some water to it before consuming?

*yawn* good day for sleeping.... feel very lethargic now... falling sick again, sore throat.
Think might be bug going round the office.

bluegrapes yet to leh.. only manage to get rompers from reading room only. tot of getting her a dress for CNY.

serrich wat orders?? the fish oil u mean??

alethea i bought the lao hang jia's concentrated birdnests too. at $124+ after member's discount. i bought the one with sugar de. i dun really like the smell.. coz the taste like "birdy" smell.. dunno how to describe to u. janey oso feel the same. kekeke...

sherl ya lor.. i oso feel like sleeping after lunch. kekeke...

Icy, how come got $124+? They only told me got 2 sizes - $88 or $300+. U mean they were able to give u more than 50% for the big bottle?

Yah, looking at it, I reckoned that the 'birdy'
smell would be strong too. I know that smell and taste, worse than egg white. I see also quite scared, some more it was in globs. If I don't buy this, then what other birds' nest should I get. My mom is only free to boil birds' nest soup for me over the weekend. Tawt I should get some instant one to eat on weekdays too.

Alethea,

me never liked instant bird's nest so just eating the home-boiled kind when I go back to my mum's place on weekends. That's when my mum remembers to prepare it. Up till now me eat 3 times only...

Hi, mommies, I'm new here. But also due some time in Jan 07.

Alethea - I took the Lo Hong ka birdnest when I was expecting my gal in 2004. Am taking it currently for my 2nd one. It's easy to eat (like chai yan). Took both the sweetened and non-sweetened ones before. Of coz the sweet one nicer
My mum-in-law bought for me at about $128 or $130 per bottle but if buy 3 bottles, can get 15% discount. I think your $300+ refers to 3 bottles after discount coz that's what my mum-in-law paid.

Err..."birdie" taste. Juz like Alethea, I also thinking of getting from Lao Hang Jia...uhm..think I will drop the idea then.

Btw, how to brew bird nest ah? I dun stay with mum thus dun want to keep troubling her to brew for me leh

I guess the Lo Hong Ka bird's nest is really convenient if mommies are lazy or have no time to brew the birds nest. Actually I read somewhere before that the Lo Hong Ka bottle contains 7 slices of the birds nest.

Actually I don't enjoy eating also but apparently very good for babies' skin. I only take birds nest and black chicken soup during my 1st pregnancy and my girl got beautiful skin (not sure if really attributed to the birds nest
). 1 big bottle can last for 3 weeks.

WElcome Ashley_mom!

bluegrapes, I also dunnoe how to cook actually. Think it depends on the kind of bird's nest you take. I know some you need to pluck impurities out wan. From what I see my mum do you just soak the bird's nest in water, and then you double-boil it with water and rock sugar??

alethea 1 btl is $138 mah.. i got members's discount,

akethea & bluegrapes hmm.. the sales lady would recommend us us preggy to mix 1 tablespoon of the concentrated birdnest with 1-2 tablespoon of warm water then eat. not advice to eat it cold. and oso
was told to eat everyday to get a better result. i didnt.. only eat twice a week.

as i dun like the "birdie" smell.. but boh piang lor. got to force myself to eat. i wanted very much to eat with honey. but i heard babies cannot take honey. so got to tahan the smell. no choice.

I tried long biao's concentrated bird nest before...quite ok...EYS too. Any of the SK mums bought anything during the EYS sale at Compasspoint last week?

icylemon,

Babies cannot take honey???? How come? *faint*

Speaking of EYS, if anyone sees EYS having sale anywhere let me know can? Me wanna buy the chicken essence... running out liao. The last time I bought 3 4-btl pack at $20 only during expo food fair.
kekekekekekeke

Heard that if buy those birds nest, must make sure it's clean ie. no feathers. If not, may cause asthma. Not sure if true or not.

Icylemon - Actually babies below 2 years old cannot take honey coz got some toxin inside. But pregnant women can take. I did some research on the internet coz I was coughing badly few weeks back and took honey to soothe the throat.

sherl which one you bought? that day they have the one with Ginko I think at 2 boxes(6 bottles in one box) for $26.

I always buy the normal one during the sales at $9.90 for box of 6. Actually I tried New Moon, not bad...I find it better than EYS.

aquarius i oso bought the EYS chicken essence @ $9.90 during the recent food fair.

my mum taught me to double the chicken essence with 1 chicken drumstick & drink. have you heard of??

Sherl.....Babies below 1 or 2 yrs old cannot take HONEY. Must remember.

The danger with honey is that it can potentially be contaminated with botulism spores. These spores usually do not survive in the adult human body because the environment is too acidic. However, a baby's digestive system is not yet mature, nor acidic enough, to always inhibit the growth of these spores. The problem with the spores is that they can produce the deadly botulinum toxin. Unlike other food poisonings that affect the GI system, botulism affects the nervous system.

There is no need to test your baby for botulism unless you detect symptoms. Early signs include fatigue, dizziness, and headache. Diarrhea may appear at first, but because the nervous system is affected, constipation occurs later. Symptoms usually arise in 18 to 36 hours, but can take up to a week.