(2007/01) Jan

Sherl, the laundry detergent not too sure cos I always get in SG...the wipes are cheaper...but I normally get Kodomo's wipes from Watson when they having promotion...each pack only $1.95 and when they have promo is buy 10 free 1. I usually buy about 30 - 40 packs when the promo is on. The reason why I like Kodomo's wipes is becos there is no fragrance...I dun like those with fragrance added one and so far this is the only one without. Tollyjoy, Pigeon, Anakku all got scent. Mittens and Bootees definitely cheaper...diapers certain brand worth buying when there is a promo.

sherl i didnt want to celebrate full month coz is near CNY. then some relatives will be ban dang oso.. haiz... so i gave up the idea. will juz buy the bengawansolo cake voucher.

then i oso very fussy one leh... dun want those aunties to carry my baby close close to kiss lah.. hug lah... baby so young. later they pass her germs how. i attended my friends' baby's full month. i saw those relatives' reaction see until i scared. one of the baby een got himself cut on the neck due to long finger nails & the gold chain around the baby's neck. i see liao very scare. so nvr tot of hold a full month.

if any mummies are celebrating full month. are we invited?? heeheehee....

by then january most of us will delivered liao.. one by one.. forum will be pretty quiet le.

colleague says I should have 'chu pattern' today since I was unwell during the weekend, insist on seeing gynae and having detailed scan today instead. Now me xin yang yang... hahahahahhaha

aqua,

ic ic, thanks! Kekekeke, then I will tell my hubby. Maybe just give up the idea and buy all in Sg lor.. after all I wonder if the petrol wasted in the jam to and fro will be worth it also. We also had an experience whereby our car performance deteriorated last time after we went to pump petrol in M'sia. Quite risky. hmmm.

sherl,

here's my details:

Name: blue_genie
EDD: 8 Jan 2007
Gynae: SM Phua
Hospital: Mt. Alvernia

btw, anyone got recommendation on breast milk pumps? my SIL told me to get Pigeon brand..any idea gd or not har?

aquarius i saw this pigeon baby wipes, 6 pack in a box. each pack got 80 wipes. $18.60 from kiddy palace & kids mall. can buy or not?? worth it?

icylemon,

Aiyoh! how come the aunties so thoughtless, never take care!

You know what's the worst thing about full month celebration? When you are bfing the baby, then all the aunties and small children all crowd into the room, machiam like exhibition like that!

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>ADD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ginger</TD><TD>1/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>ginsengmum</TD><TD>2/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr K T Tan</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aquarius_888</TD><TD>3/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>pinky</TD><TD>4/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr SP Teo</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Msn_queen</TD><TD>5/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>East Shore </TD></TR><TR><TD>serrich</TD><TD>7/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Chan KH</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>pearlein</TD><TD>7/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Tan KT</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Blue_genie</TD><TD>8/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr SM Phua</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>KC</TD><TD>8/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evelyn</TD><TD>8/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD>SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snow</TD><TD>8/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kate</TD><TD>9/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Don Wong</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jas</TD><TD>10/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr SP Teo</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Phyllis</TD><TD>11/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>janey</TD><TD>12/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mabel</TD><TD>13/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Loke</TD><TD>East Shore </TD></TR><TR><TD>Van</TD><TD>13/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>berrymum</TD><TD>13/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pinoopy</TD><TD>14/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC / Mt A (TBC) </TD></TR><TR><TD>tinkie</TD><TD>15/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>AletheaT</TD><TD>15/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Cathryn Chan</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluesky</TD><TD>16/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Milderina</TD><TD>16/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Chen Chern Yen</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>icylemon</TD><TD>17/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babyjan</TD><TD>17/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leeann</TD><TD>19/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>rin</TD><TD>19/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Christopher Chong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Doggiebebe</TD><TD>20/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr CK Chow</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>firstbaby</TD><TD>20/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yingzi</TD><TD>18/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Koh CH</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>20/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zenn</TD><TD>20/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Woo</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>iceblue</TD><TD>21/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Woo</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindy</TD><TD>22/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr HY Ang</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sugarbean</TD><TD>23/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Gordon Tan WT</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>bluegrapes</TD><TD>24/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Cathryn Chan</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sherl</TD><TD>26/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>dressaholic</TD><TD>27/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Kowa</TD><TD>Mt E </TD></TR><TR><TD>baby_milk</TD><TD>28/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janice</TD><TD>End Jan 2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lynn</TD><TD>30/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr SC Quek</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Wong</TD><TD>30/1/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Woo</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Total expected bundles of joy:

Princes: <font color="0000ff">13</font>
Princesses: <font color="ff0000">13</font>

sherl, unless you are there else no point to purposely drive in there to get...somemore nowadays there not so safe...better dun go too often.

icylemon, can buy but each pack will be about $3.10...I still prefer Kodomo...kekeke...btw, if you all dun like very wet wipes then dun get Tollyjoy cos I find theirs too wet. Dun buy those 3 in a pack Kodomo...it's expensive...I think is $9.90...wait for Watson's promo then buy more worth it.

icylemon, sherl...during my son's full month celebration...my hubby's aunties even smoke in the house when carrying my baby!!! Quickly told my hubby so he can carry my son to me...ai yo!

Morning Mummies,

Icylemon/Sherl,

me also dun wan full mth celebration le... but dunno how to tell my in law... haizzz

aquarius so far i find pigeon one not bad. maybe will buy 1 pack kodomo one &amp; try. but i heard kodomo one dry up easily wor...

aquarius, sherl &amp; janey i still think tat celebrating full month is very mah fan thing to do.

janey try to talk to ur hubby. can support from him.

Heard that the Pat Pat brand of diapers is cheap and good. Then for overnight, get the more exp. ones like Drypers and Huggies.

For a moment, tawt that maybe I should pop by JB next Sat to have a look, then can go eat at Taman Sentosa. But yah, down there really not quite safe....

Icy, Yah, the 1st month will be around CNY. But if don't invite pple, then how to receive ang pows, huh? :p I think most will be quite cheapo, may only give ang pows for CNy, but not for 1st month.... Dilemma, dilemma....

aqua,

Alamak! And sometimes dunnoe how to kai kou to ask people not to do that kind of thing hor... Own relatives not so bad, but hubby's side, if open mouth ask people dun do this dun do that, people sure say you very fussy, act atas or what. Haiz.

janey, your in-laws' first grandchild? We haven't really raised the idea of a full month celebration with anyone else yet, but so far hubby quite keen lor. Me dun really mind missing out on the ang baos la... find parties to be such a hassle. kekekeekkekeke

Alethea...you mean PetPet? My son is using that...at night he uses either Mamypoko or Pampers Premium. Actually now he is off diapers already except night time when he sleeps...even nap also can go without diapers...but we still buy one pack of Petpet in case I am bringing him out alone and taking MRT...dun want him to tell me he needs to go toilet in the mid of journey. kekeke

Oops, Petpet. *heehee* Cheap and good, is it, Aqua? How many does a newborn need a day? To save $, should I buy liners for them, so can just change the soiled liners, no need to change diapers? For 2, I really dunno how often I've to buy diapers already. Do pple still use cloth nappies nowadays?

Alethea,

For diapers, heard that Drypers is actually not very good. My colleague says it's quite rough on the skin, she recommended Pampers Premium or Nepia. My hubby's colleagues also told him that Drypers got tendency to leak...

Me think that if people 'wu sim', the ang bao will still come la... if dun have then also never mind lo... kekekekeke

Alethea...ya people still using but really a bit ma fan lor...if you have a helper to do laundry then cloth nappies ok...else better stick to diapers...I have not let my son tried liners so not sure whether it is good or not. Diapers for newborn I think got to change quite a lot...at least about 8 per day? Depending on when poo poo etc. Petpet is really cheap and good.
For the first 1-2 months, maybe you want to let your babies use pampers premium? Then after that can switch to other brands...another good brand is Nepia.

alethea i was been recommended nepia. buy 4 pks ard $48. they will delivered to our hse.

alethea dun worry la. ppl will still give ang pao de. juz tell the relatives lor. u give them cake in return they will give ang pao.

aquarius ok. noted.

Thanks, Serl and Aqua, Will bear in mind these 2 brands.

8 per day x 2 =16. If each piece costs around $0.50, then $8/day or $240 a month! *gasp*

Sherl,
ya first grandchild n first greatgrandchild..
my FIL alr tell me... must hold full mth.. n must cater vegetarian food... so i am planning to tell him.. to orgainse himself n hold at his place rather than mine...

icylemon, ya can order bulk so they can deliver to home...I really like the quality and it's much cheaper compared to Pampers Premium.
Mamypoko I find it a bit too thick thus it becomes very warm for the baby after a while.

janey is very hassle de... plus de claening up after the celebration. ya lor.. if they want hold it at their place lor.

Alethea,

I'm letting my mum look after ji dan, and mum is planning to use cloth nappies during the day, so willl only need diapers when going out and at night, can save a bit. However, do note that the washing of the cloth nappies can also be quite a hassle. My colleague's mum couldn't stand it after baby's first day home (baby used 12 nappies in one day!) and ended up they used disposable diapers all the way lo...

I remembered for my nephew last time my aunt used to save on the nappies and diapers by catching his daily big business - so a few minutes each day is dedicated to holding up his legs and encouraging him to poop so that can save on the diaper. Sometimes if can catch him about to pee also do the same thing. My nephew was very good about it, but then again every child is different. Also not sure if I will have this kind of patience.

sherl diapers is still de best. though every piece cost $$. but cloth de.. need time to wash &amp; dry up oso wasting alot of water. so end up is even more costly then using diapers. our goverment every year oso increase our PUB bill. if we are still staying in kampong i dun mind using cloth diapers. can go river there to wash. hahaha...

Was thinking that since I'll be getting a maid, might as well get her to do all these, since there's not much housework at home for her to do, save for taking care of the BBs. But then hor, I think think think, taking care of 2 BBs also quite siong one. Then, if I some more get her to wash the nappies, then if she gets so frustrated, dunno what she will do to my BBs *gasp*

And yes, Icy, good point there. Waste water to wash and maybe incur more costs. Thus, better use dispoable ones....

icylemon,

Wahahahahahhahahahahaha... now maybe can bring to reservoir to wash??!!!

Me worried that bb's skin cannot take it if covered by diapers the whole day leh... but again depends on individual bb la hor...

aqua,
Not I wash one then never mind lor.

Alethea,

You may want to install one of those remote cameras. My ex-colleague did it and was shocked at what her maid did to the kids when she wasn't around.

aleteha ur poor maid will be very tiring la.. cannot leh.. kekeke.. 2 babies already difficult to handle le. i told u b4 hor. my friend needs 2 maid plus his mum &amp; himself to take care of the twins. he said wah lao.. one cry for milk, the other one will oso cry for nothing. machiam like join in the fun like tat. hahaha...

sherl u bad leh.. reservoir water for us to drink leh. hahaha..

i heard we got to apply nappy rash cream everytime we change diapers.

aquarius can enlighten us?

i heard some said apply good la, some said chemical things dun apply la. i listen unitl i blur.

sherl, my son got no probs with diapers...maybe becos we change often enough?

icy is right there on wasting water to wash...somemore bills nowadays so sky high!

sherl i oso heard wat my neighbour complaint abt her maid when alone at home with the baby. i heard liao damn scary.

alethea ur babies will be alone with ur kids at home? any elderly can help you to pop by to check on the maid??

aquarius ya lor. if change the diapers often can oso avoid nappy rash. though wasting money on diapers la.. rather the kid get rash &amp; cry all day long. lagi siong.

see la.. vote for PAP tot we have good life.. sicks ah.. PUB bill still so high. i dun turn on air con my bill is still $90 a month. day time no one at home. lagi like got ghosts staying at my hse in the day. so ex!!

icylemon,

Or bring downstairs to multistorey carpark to wash??!! Wahahahahhahahahahhahahahaha

Alethea, i also dunnoe what other companies provide this kind of service leh...

icylemon, I feel that unless your baby has nappy rash else better not apply...I only apply baby lotion. So far I have never use nappy rash cream before.

heya.. anyone has thought about the confinement nanny question yet? I am due in late Jan, which is before Chinese New year.. am looking for a confinement nanny, but heard that it will be difficult to find one who will be willing to work through CNY, and that even if I can find out, the charges will be double...

Icy, will get my dad to be there to supervise maid, but I dunno how long he can tahan, cos' he' quite active one, need to go out and meet his frens. My abang's in sales, so he can try to pop back home in the day to check on the BBs. But this is not a fool-proof plan. Best is that I can become a SAHM. But how to? Unless abang can earn more to cover my loss of income.

Same here, always not at home in the day, tho' we switch on the air-con at night. Dunno how the PUB bills can be $110 per month!

Mummies, my friend who has a one year old son now told me that new born babies skin is too delicate for disposable diapers. It would cause rashes easily. She advised me to use normal cloth diapers for the first few months.

Kym, better start to look for one NOW!! I knew that I would have problems, some more, got twins. True enough, even tho' I started looking when I was in my 8th week, I suffered a lot of rejections. Either they don't want to do cos too near CNY, or they are complained that twins are too much work. I think the rate for a singleton nearing the CNY period may be from $1800 - $2000. But then again, u must be prepared to pay this amt. even tho' the confinement lady will not fulfill her 28 days of service cos' she has to return to M'sia.

sherl hahaha...

aquarius this is wat my cousin told me lor. ask me not to use nappy rash cream.

btw wat i was told is for our baby 1st month is better to use a better diapers 1st wor. brands like pampers or fitty or huggies.. then ater that can change to other cheaper brand. izzit true??

alethea maybe ur dad with grandchild liao wont be so active le. talk to him la. tell him you need his help.

alethea u on air con some more.. i dun leh.. still cost me $90 a month.