(2007/01) Jan

I think for this whole 9 mths i shant do anything ba.
today quite sad, my colleagues kept commenting since i got preggy i become very auntie in dressing n stuff. say i fat la wat la. but maternity wear is so expensive dun expect mi to change my whole wardrobe right? now i just try to wear whichever i can still fit then when tummy really big then get more maternity.

Hi mummies & daddy!

Sorry have been mia-ed for a long time - been bz and not well.. no mood to log on. Wah!!! this thread is moving so incredibly fast! I can;t catch up liao!

icylemon, no prob with mani/pedi whether prof or DIY. I checked with gynae during last check-up as I oso hiao one. He said no prob lah! But my advice is that do it in a well-ventilated so the fumes can be prettu strong, I normally put on a mask to be safe and kiasu.

Going for check up next wed. Haven seen baby since 27th.. very kan cheong oradi!

Milderina,

Pls don be sad.. some pple jus got no finesse! Ask them back how THEY looked when they were pregnant! You r the most beautiful person in your hubby's, baby's and family's eyes - that's what matters most!

Hey, I bought 3 tops from Blossom maternity for only $23 each.. it's such a bargain.. mayb you can take a look... when your bump blossoms.. u will look fab!! I jus told hubby I looked like a 'shui-tong' and he said, pregnant is like that one wat...somemore I not skinny one u know?? hahha!!

Hey! maybe next time we can organise shopping outings with MTBs!!

milderina ignore your colleague la... she is such a pest. she dun understand pregnancy. if she really cares, she shouldnt have commented such remarks. dun worry ok.. you have us here...

hi sugarbean, welcome back wor,,, kekeke... ya i oso very hiao one..

how many weeks are you now?

hahah!! beta still! Tell them don talk to fast - scully next time they look like amah...

Donn worry, we mummies here support u!!

icylemon,
yeah i just ignore her. say whatever they wanna say. somemore with baby coming i really tighten my purse strings. wanna save more for baby now. actually already spend 400 to 500 on maternity le. Somemore now still very tired really no mood to go shopping for more clothes. They really dun understand. I think now must wait till they preggy then they know.

Thank you for warm welcome!!

I'm 11 weeks and 2 days today!!

Eh, very good, all hiao mummies gather!! But frankly hor.. have been lazy to put make-up on the past few weeks when I need to go out... this is so unlike me!! Seems like getting lazier...I'm hoping this phase will pass quickly so that MS, fatigue and sian-ness will pass..

sugarbean,
yeah lor, now do anything also very very lazy. but make up i cannot dun put la. dun put later go out will scare ppl. hahaha.........

in the beginning i still contemplating if i should go do manicure n pedicure, now i think better dun.

Wow!! you spent so much oradi!!

I bought from Metro Tampines and Kids Mall at IMM. I live at Sengkang and happened to go to IMM and saw it. Some more that time got sale, buy 2 tops, 1 free bottom.

I just bought 2 more from Metro at TM. They have a small corner at ladies section near Sophis. Very small collection but staples are good enough. I like t-shirt material as it is stretchy and cooling. Don like shirt material.. already fat, now preggie, wear cotton feel like bak-chang. My old t-shirts still can wear but like what I tell my hubby.. i feel like am a walking sausage!

The sales-girl said that Metro Woodlands oso got but too far for me. Tomorrow I going to check out TopShop.. have u tried them?

icylemon,

My whole wardrobe is pratically from DP but their maternity line in Spore is horrendous... Imagine only 3 designs for tops the last I went to check it out...

Guess I'm a bit luckier, hubby travels all the time so he can get for me when I need something. Sis-in-law oso bought some from Old Navy for me as they live in the States. Will be going for my convocation next Sunday in Aust so I plan to do some shopping if something catches my eye... I need nursing bras too as I've got the maternity bras from Mothercare and they are pretty in the last sizes... am afraid by 3rd trimester, I would need 1 cup larger.

Its no fun being a larger mummy in Spore..

Have you started looking around for ante-natal classes and have any went on any maternity tours yet? I'm looking at TMC, Gleneagles or MA. My mom wants me to go to MA as she said it's the best... cos am born there... but that was like eons ago....36 years!! Am sure now all changed wat??

If you've been, pls share and any suggestions for ante-natal classes? Heard Birth and Beyond quite good? Any experience or heard from frends re classes at TMC?

Also, I have craving for Prawn Mee Soup... any good places.. quite sian of the fella I've been going to.. want to try others but have been disappointed the last few times...

Sugarbean, the best prawn mee I've tried so far is in Malaysia.

I will be going to TMC. Heard the price just increased but v happy with TMC after going there for the hospital tour. Don't realli like Mt A cos their facilities not v good though it is nearer to my place.

I will be going for TMC antenatal by Mrs Wong. Heard she is v good and v patient in explaining things

Aussie got alot of nice maternity clothes! My fren just moved back to SG from Melbourne, she was preggie in Melb and gave birth there. She gave me her maternity clothes, all v nice!!! But I dunno costly or not...

Topshop got some clothes the design is suitable for preggies lei! But slightly too revealing, I can't wear to work so we din buy.

Milderina, you can do mani/pedi la. Dun deprive yourself of this luxury. We already cannot go for massage, go for facial must be wary.
I bring my own cuticle oil and nail polish. Remember I told you my aunt imports 'chemical-free' products from US? She help me get the organic cuticle oil and nail polish remover and nail colours, so I bring my own things to the mani/pedi place

btw, I think your colleagues are just jealous that you are going to be young hot mama and they are not preggies yet. Dun worry about their comments. All of us here will look the same after some time. heehee...

BTW, did anyone heard of the old wives tale that if you are preggy with boy your nose will be big and swollen during pregnancy? I noticed my cousins did have bigger and swollen noses when they were preggie with boys...

Hi Mrs Wong,

Thanks for the tips.. maybe we can go for ante class together! Saw from previous threads u also staying in NE, when you shifting to Punggol?

I haven gone for any tours yet.. was thinking aft aust will make some apptm. I like it that TMC has warm bath to allow you to soothe your nerves lair.. sounds yummy.

So sad... my search for alternative hae mee will go on... btw, u say Msia right? Which part ah?

hey, I think really true abt the nose lair - I remembered an ex-colleague whom we saw thru 2 pregnancies with boys having big, swollen, red & shiny noses!!! Same for a few other frens!

But yet my good fren who just delivered in Feb was so pretty even aft birth...face not the least bit puffy.. she looked the same even in delivery suite right after birth! So jealous! So don know leh...

Also have you heard abt the wrap round and sharp stomach? wrap-round for girls and sharp for boys? My this same pretty fren, stomach wrap round but delivered boy! Amazing!

Sugarbean, my place still building lei. I think still got another 2 years b4 we can shift there. But now staying at AMK, not tt far away

TMC only allow you to go in during the labour part. They dun allow water birth lei.

Prawn mee we always go to KL, there is a v good prawn mee stall just at the outskirts of the city, near the housing estates. My dad always drive us there. The prawns are HUGE and the soup is heavenly. Plus they use home made noodles, not the normal yellow noodles.

They also got v good bak kut prawn mee. Different version. This one is more peppery and served with pork ribs. Also v yummy.

Also have claypot prawn mee. This one is my bro's fave. Got liqour one.

Mrs Wong, u r making me drool leh!! Can you share with me what is the street/road name of the prawn mee at the outskirt? Am making a trip down to KL next week. Wan to drop by the prawn mee shop u mention leh!!!

*drooooooooll*

icylemon, i booked changi side.. seaview type..
same here, mine baby oso 5.7cm at week 12...

just check wif u MTB..
when u see Dr Woo at week 12, did he gave some multi vitamin pill? pink in color.. thinking of asking Dr Woo to sub wif other smaller size pill..
mine wifey complaining that it too big for her to swallow, refuse to eat...
try cutting into half, but inside veri bitter..
sighz!

Hi iceblue, i also got vitamin pill and pink in colour, the word MATERNA is written on the pill. Is yours also the same?

Was at course the last two days so didn't log in. Wah, talk about steamboat again, make me feel like going... heeheeehee... but hubby already say this month cannot go for anymore buffet coz he's been overeating and suffering from indigestion.

iceblue,
My gynae gave me three different types of pills at my last visit - fish oil, a brown capsule containing mainly iron, and pink pills (calcium lacate?). Am taking them once a day. Perhaps you could ask your gynae if there are other alternatives to the multi-vit?

My bb was 5.3cm at 11w 6d leh... like very small hor? Never mind, play catchup!

belle, yeah..
it BIG in size for wifey..
how u manage to swallow it?
usually for panadol i will dissolve if then ask her drink..
but this pill look kind of "hard"..
not sure if it can dissolve..
sighz..
1st day wifey already vomit out 3 pill... then the 4th one eat half onli..
today only the 2nd day, but left wif 24 pill only..

sherl, y not u tell ur HB all FTB oso have to go thru the stage of indigestion? just tell him it part and parcel for FTB! just like MTB to go thru MS..
Mmmm..
seem all gynae giving different pill...
our gynae given us a white pill for calcium, pink pill as multi vit and we purchase the neutrogain which say to improve baby IQ..
dun worry, baby size doesnt matter much.. as long as he/she is healthy then it ok...

just mine 2cents worth!

Morning mummies and daddy!

Mrs Wong,
Wah so long more ah!Is this your first home together? You must be very excited! New house, new baby! Ya, I know they don allow water birth but at least can relax inside leh...

Thanks for the super visual description. I cannot tahan oradi! Sooooo hungry! I only go for the soup and don eat the noodles as m not a noodles (esp the yellow type) person. I prefer the skinny bee hoon with prawn mee. M going for it later.. cant tahan anymore!

Sherl
Wah 5.3cm good oradi! I can;t wait to see baby next week... wonder how baby growing and how big now..

Ever since gynae confirmed my pregnancy at 5 weeks+, I've been on Folic, Duphaston and Obimin (multi-vit). Sherl, what brand of fish oil your gynae gave you?

Mummies, how much weight have you put on since you found out u were preggie?

Sugarbean, I'm eating neutrogain, same as iceblue's wifey...

Weight: put on 200g from two weeks ago, but overall in 1st tri gained less than 1kg I think... But this depends on your appetite also. There were some days when I couldn't eat much because I was suffering from complete loss of appetite.

Sherl, tks for the brand name. I will check it out with my gynae. That's a very good weight gain and in the recommended bracket! I've oso not put on any maybe =/- a couple grams here and there. I'm glad as I need to control my weight lah.. Good thing is that baby is growing well as per last visit.

My appetite oso very erratic nowadays n has shrink to half of what I use to be able to hold down. The most I can stomach at lunch is (eg) a bowl of beef soup with lots of tow-gay with no noodles. And I would have to wait another 1-2 hours b4 i can even eat fruits.

Brekkie worst! Only a green apple and mayb half a slice of toast. Do u have this prob too? Sometimes so paranoid that don know baby enuf nutrition or not... I know they take most from our previous stored 'goodies' but just paranoid lor.. Feel as if like 'starving' baby like that..

sugarbean,

First trimester I didn't care so much, just take in whatever food I can, didn't really care about nutrition wise, as long as got things in the stomach can liao, but now I'm starting to watch what I eat more lor... try to keep to a more balanced diet... Don't worry too much, think our appetite will increase as the time passes? kekekeke... I try to take a good breakfast, then I usually have light lunch and dinner...

Good morn everyone!
i tik most of u have put on like 5kg in the first trimester. tik i got to eat more. but i dun have much appetite. cant eat too much but easily hungry.

i dunno why i stil have alot of burping. esp in the nite. almost wana throw up! thot 2nd trim should b feeling better.
anyone of u feeling better areadi?

pearlein,

Join the club, I'm one of the mummies feeling worse as I enter the 2nd tri... Burping and nausea getting worse, but gynae says it's ok, some people's MS get worse after 10th week and will continue on till about 15th week... which I guess is what is happening to me now...
Yesterday my mum felt so sorry for me that she burped me, so I went to bed feeling better. hahahahahhahaha

honey stars, dun worry.. mine wifey oso nv gain much weight.. ard 1kg only... but she eat alot.. just that she dun gain much weight..
check wif our gynae, he say not all preggie women will gain weight one...
wifey oso lots of burping.. she say like got lots of wind in stomach..
she feels like throwing up only when she feeling hungry...
funny rite?

any MTB here lose sleep at night?
wifey will lie on bed ard 10plus, then will toss ard till 2-3am then able to sleep.. then wake up next day noon time...
while i'm typing this msg, she still sleeping...
sighz!

iceblue,
I also feel like throwing up when I feel hungry (though that's not the only time I feel like throwing up la). Think it's due to the acid reflux or something in the stomach that makes us feel this way. I used to get this even pre-pregnancy.

Think maybe your wifey's body is used to her sleeping at 2-3am liao, so she will not be able to sleep till that time? Try asking her to adjust back bit by bit, maybe half hour, one hour, etc. One thing that always puts me in a sleepy mood is watching TV in bed... confirm will feel very tired! Or can also try putting the radio/soothing piece of music on at low volume, coz some people find it very hard to sleep in silence. Sometimes when hubby and I can't sleep we will switch on the radio, put it on auto-sleep mode so that it auto shuts off one-two hours later when we are fast asleep.

Good morning mummies and daddy!

Milderina, y ur col so bad one. Anyway ignore them lah. I been wearing the few clothes too.

Sugerbean and milderina, same here. Nowadays I also hardly put on make up. very lz...

Sugarbean, I just had prawn mee soup fm katong - one of my fav. Yummy!

Mrs wong, whats the diff in facilities btw Mt A and Thomson? When are you starting to go for Pre natal class? As for massage, we can go but oni to pre natal massage. Cannot go for normal one...

Iceblue, ya I was given the pink prenavit vit + white suncaal for calcium & vit D.

sherl, u oni put on 1kg? So nice. So far put on 2kg+

Whats neutrogain? Necessary to take?

Iceblue, for me I ve no problem sleeping but these few days start to wake up at nite again n took me awhile to slp again.

Oh ya yest went to shop for present for my client's daughter 1 yr birthday. Bought a dress for her. All the bb gals dress so cute n pretty. So tempted to buy haha My sis was hoping I will give birth to gal cos we already ve 2 nephews.

zenn, u managed to swallow the pink pill ar? mine wifey try swallowing, but she say kind of struck between the throat, so she vomit out..
then cut into half, she try once more, say very bitter, then vomit out again.. try again then finally managed to swallow half of it..

neutrogain is recommended by Dr Woo, say to be good for improving baby IQ..
mine uncle oso say must eat.. cos 2 of mine nephews was delivered by Dr Woo..

mine wifey onli got problem sleeping at night...
daytime no pro at all..
now she still sleeping...
sighz..

Zenn, the facilities at TMC and MT A realli big diff. You need to go and take a look for yourself.
The medical equipment are more advanced at TMC. Plus at TMC they have more options for natural labour pain management. They have the equipments which you can rent from them.

And their baby wards are better.

My fren gave birth in Mt A and totally regretted cos Mt A did not have the facilities to treat her son (born with birth defect). In the end they transfer her baby to TMC and the transfer procedure was long and tedious. Since TMC slightly more exp only, I rather go to TMC and feel more comfy knowing the care there will be better. Although I like the fact that you can request for the Sisters to pray for the baby once he/she is born. I will arrange with my church pastor for the prayer

Plus the breastfeeding support at TMC is realli good. All my couz that went there to deliver gave v good feedback about the breastfeeding support and nurses.

TMC prenatal class we can only book when we are in 20weeks. Wanna book now also cannot. So I now checking out the schedule for the classes first
Gotta make sure it does not clash with my aqua-aerobics and my dog's agility classes.

Neutrogain is good. Alot of my frens took it during their pregnancy also. I'm taking fish oils and mixture of other plant oils. Same effect as neutrogain but not so expensive

Mr Iceblue, I also got probs with swallow large tablets. My hubby bought the pill crusher and will crush my pills into powder, mix with some honey and I take it with warm water

mrs wong, i oso thinking of getting the pill crusher.. mind letting me noe where u can get it?
btw.. oso need to check wif u..
ur hubby brought the player to play CD for baby rite? for "tai jiao" one..
mind letting me have the address as well if possible?
thank a million!

Iceblue, the fetal speakers we saw at Kiddy Palace. But din buy cos exp. Then happen to see in this forum got someone selling second hand one so we bought from her at half the retail price

That one is only the special speakers to put on the tummy. The CD player is seperate. Can use your com, hi fi or discman. We got a discman cos it is more portable

The pill crusher we got from guardian.

just came back from Ikea.
Btw the neurogain I think can get from Guardian pharmacy...I took that for my first pregnancy, prescribed by Dr Heng...now Dr Wong gives Pro-lacta...slightly more expensive I think...am thinking of buying neurogain from pharmacy on my own.

hi iceblue, i also feel like throwing up at times when i have terrible and continuous burping! like having alot of gas near my chest.
sometimes i feel quite blue whenver i cant sleep in the nite and feeling so terrible.

last nite was bad. woke up at 2am then kept burping and cant get to sleep..until abt 6plus in the morn.

i jus have to cross my fingers, hopefully it wil get better after 15th wk like that sherl said.

Oh, regarding the pink pill..perhaps u all can try to drink it down with warm water. Not too hot. Cos i tried with hot water, hopefully can swallow easier. but worse! i threw up plus all my breakfast that i have eaten.

i saw the fetal speakers at kiddy palace too!
its abt 56dol.

have u tried using mrs wong? wat did u hear?
i suspect can only hear bubbles. so havent decide to buy yet.

Pearlein, the fetal speakers are suppose to b very soft (inaudible to human ears) so that it will not hurt the fetus' ears.

When you put the speakers to your ears, cannot hear anything. But the set I got has a headphone for us to hear what is being played.

Aquarius, I have dog at home
She sleeps with us

Aquarius, my dog is also my daughter
I will not be giving her up at all. She comes with us where ever we go
New house we already allocate the service yard and kitchen for her. She will not be allowed into bedrooms cos the flooring is parquet and she will scratch the floor.

When baby arrives, we will just keep the dog in the kitchen, away from baby's room. Then slowly introduce my dog to the baby. When baby is older (around 1-2 yo) then we will let them play together.

I just came back from dog run. Brought my dog to play, saw many preggies there. Spoke to them and many of them also said they will just seperate the dog from baby for first few years.

I grew up with my dogs sleeping with me, so don't think it will pose any harm to my baby
Anyway, my family refers to my parents as ah gong and ah ma of my dog

Ask my dog where is ah ma and she will run to my mum

btw, my dog v low maintenace one. Nothing much to do so dun think having her around will increase our workload or burden.

Just feed and change water daily, bring her for walks where she will do her daily business and bath her once a week. Weekends bring her out to play.

I tink this lifestyle also good with baby around. Can bring baby to Sentosa or dog run on weekends also. More sunshine, not so swakoo...