(2007/01) Jan

Jen:
I bought just one training pants, but it became a white elephant throughout the process of toilet training my gal.

Now she's fully toilet trained despite not using the training pants at all. I think just need to keep reminding them to tell us they need to tell us they wan to "pass urine" etc... I think placing the potty in an accessible location in the house works - now my gal just automatically walks to the potty to do her biz when she feels the urge to.... haha....

Hence, no need to buy at all.

Jen:
Oki dokie...will check w them
I'm going for F & E, and have booked Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel which is 3 min walk from Shinjuku Station.

Ya lo, hv been doin research for the past few days.... Still, better play safe by asking their views.

jen:
i also agree with janmum.
i bought training pants (from jshoppers) for kienan. in the end, he didn't really wear them.. i even bought a few pairs of bumwear as well.
in the end, i didn't need the training pants to toilet train kienan.
so maybe you want to save your money?

icy:
hehehe.. so funny. i'm trying to imagine all the kids running to you and pointing to you saying "rachel's mummy"! hehehe..

icy,
rachel's jealousy sounds very STRONG!

janmum,
bluegrapes will be having c-section in 2 weeks' time. (saw her blog) so likely able to get her if u visit her blog n ask here there.

Janmum, u might wanna check out my blog as i stated my itinerary. we went last aug. how many days u going n u ve any where in mind?

jen, i also bot some training pant. in fact just ordered again but i find letttin her wear normal panty is easier to train as she can feel she is wet. as training pant is quite thick, she just urine as per norm haha but good thing is it dun wet the floor.

mummies, do we ve to wipe the gals after the toilet?

hi zenn,
i feel tickled by the way u ask the last question. hahahaha...no offence lah. u refering to after pee? although i have boy, but think when we are young, we never wipe right? only as we grow older, then we subconciously know when to start wiping. **do correct me if i'm wrong** hehe.

hui, kekekekeke ya i mean after pee. yes i also recall i oni start wipin when much older. so wondering when is the right age to teach estelle. but sometimes after pee, its abit wet leh so i do wipe for her :p

can I ask what do you look out for in childcare centers? I'm going to have to put Trisha in full day CC when we go back to SG and wants to know how to choose. Was wondering if air-con or non-aircon environment is better? Cos SG weather is pretty hot!

Also if there's no outdoor playground/playarea, is it a bad thing?

hey lawpei
think that it's really up to you about whether you prefer air-con or non-air-con.
but my pref is for a non-aircon classroom cause the ventilation is better..
air-con environment isn't too healthy for kids when they are all in one room.. germs can pass around quite easily in air-con environment.
just my personal thoughts...

Hi lawpei,

My personal preference is to ve individual room for each class. However I notice most CC usually only have low partion. Ever Dayspring which I planning to send Estelle to next yr also also the same. Actually I find it very noisy but suprisingly the kids are trained to deal with it and still able to concentrate in what they are doing

Agreed that Spore is very hot and like what charmaine said, non aircon gives a better ventilation and avoid virus spreading so easily.

Own playground and water play are add advantage. Think most CC also have cookery & excursion. Hope it helps

lawpei, to add on - you might wanna to start giving trisha fish oil & vitamin to build up her immune system

thanks charmaine and zenn!

Zenn - have been giving Trisha codliver oil since last year end. lucky she likes to take it. wonder if it's due to the orange taste. Sometimes she sees the bottle, will go "oil, oil, oil" and want to take it. I'm not sure if effective but somehow after taking it she seems to have improved a lot in her speech development. =p

As for vitamins, bought those teddybear multi vit but she don't like to suck or chew on it so I scrap into powder and add into her water.

morning all!

Char - im fine and kerryn is adapting well in CC.

Jen - I bought the training pants that time from Jshoppers too. but i din use it yet. if u wan, i can pass u 1 to use on Belle. Cozs that time i bought 3.

Good morning mummies...

Seems like only yesterday we were cuddling our little ones in the hospital and now it is time to send them off to school... sigh... and I'm already starting Claire later than other kids somemore.

I've shortlisted two kindys for Claire, visited one (No. 1) and yet to visit the other one (No. 2). The one I visited has a very cozy environment and can see the students all very happy, but the compound a bit old and classrooms are airconditioned, though there is outdoor play area. Sigh. But according to my neighbour whose kid is attending No. 1 says that the academics at No. 1 are better than No. 2. No. 2 facilities definitely better than No. 1 but supposedly academics is a bit weak. But No. 2 is cheaper than No. 1. Haiz, headache.

Lawpei,
Though I'm not sending to childcare, I'll just share with you the following factors which I would consider, if I send to cc:

1) Non-aircon environment (coz somemore they are cooped up together one whole day - but I know it is very difficult to find non-aircon childcare; at the very least I don't want Claire to be stuck in aircon room the whole day)
2) Student:Teacher ratio
3) Daily schedule
4) Amount of TV-watching
5) No. of excursions, types of activities
6) Teacher turnover rate/quality of teaching
7) Quality of care given
8) Hygiene practices
9) Outdoor play area (since they are spending one whole day in school, I think this is quite important)

Above are not in order, and sometimes the overwhelming-ness of one factor may make up for deficiencies in other factors.

<font color="ff0000">Lawpei</font>,

I agree with Sherl.

Non air con enviroment is better than air con. Rachel has been coughing non stop ever since she went to CC. Once recovered the next minute she will cough again.

Dail schedule is also very important.

<font color="0000ff">Sherl</font>,

MMI doesnt allow their students to watch TV one leh. My poor Rachel only get to watch when she is at home.

Icy,

I think that is a very good practice! Somemore when they watch TV at cc most of the time it is passive. At least when they watch at home you can have some interaction with them.

icy - Leraning Vision also no TV during normal timing except from 530pm onwards where all will be gather in the music room to wait for parents to fetch them home. tat's the only timing Kerryn get to see TV... haha.

sherl:
wow, i'm very impressed and inspired by the amt of thought you've put into selecting a school for claire!
i just anyhow wack.. i don't even know which schools are good/reputable, etc. is there an online resource that i can go to which has a listing of these schools?

btw, i also haven't started kienan on school at all. so claire is not alone!

i may have to look for a school for kienan for N1, cause he's still on wait list of SJCK. i need to have something else on stand-by in case he doens't get in.. any advice?

char,

No la, not much thought la... but needed to get started coz the kindys I shortlisted for Claire are having their registration in March...
I'm mainly concerned about giving her a good environment where she can cultivate a love for learning.

I've heard that Maris Stella (think it's near your place) is quite good. Can try and see?

<font color="ff0000">Sherl</font>,

That's true! I get to spend time with Rachel while watching Playhouse Disney Channel together.

<font color="0000ff">Kate</font>

But this MMI totally no TV at all.

char,

My 'research' actually quite limited la, lol. I had help from my friend who lives near me, as well as hubby's cousin as her girl is only a year older than Claire. And I only looked for schools close to my mum's, which turned out to be quite limited. Based on my 'critical' criteria I weeded out schools accordingly and ended up with 2 choices now.

sherl:
haha.. very systematic method!

for me, the first criteria is that the school should have a christian environment... i'm checking out some others now.. btw, out of curiosity, how much are the fees per term for the schools that you're checking out? just wanna see what the 'industry norm' is... and what is considered expensive...

icy:
no TV at MMi is good!

i also spend time interacting with kienan by watching disney playhouse with him. his all time fav. is Mickey Mouse Clubhouse!

Icy,

Me and Claire watch this funny cartoon called Gazoon on JimJam (Ch 38) every night. It only lasts 1-2min but is darn funny. We used to watch Pocoyo last time but she's lost interest in it le. But at least when I'm around when she's watching TV I try to ask her, "What is this? What is that?" so that she is not just staring at the TV.

Char,

You referring to the criteria I listed out for lawpei? That one is more like stuff for her to see if she wanna consider if she checking out cc. Wakakkakakkakaka. For me my kindy critical criteria are no spelling/tingxie for K1/K2, and must be easily accessible (if need school bus, should not spend more than 1/2hour on bus). Oh, and nice clean environment.

I like church kindys because they tend to be the more traditional 'fun' kind of kindys, but coz I not Christian, I would put my foot down if they want my child to become involved in church activities (as in, go to Sunday school, etc.). But I don't mind some Bible stories, values teaching.

Coincidentally, my two choices, No. 1 has Christian background, No. 2 is a Catholic kindy. heehee

sherl:
haha.. yes, i was actually referring to the criteria that you listed for lawpei! haha. was very impressed by that. i didn't even think through all those criterias when i was looking for a kindy for kienan..

char,

realised I forgot to answer your qn about school fees. No. 1's chrges are 750 per term, while No. 2's are $600 per term, but No. 1 is 3hr session while No. 2 is 2.5hr session.

I've also enquired at a Montessori before, they are charging $1290/term. (!!!!!)

Apple Tree Kindergarten (not the playgroups) is charging around $900/term.

how do you teach your toddler to attend lessons on their own?

My gal is attending a playgroup that allows 1 parent to sit-in....I already tried to keep a distance from my gal during the lesson...but she still very "sticky" to me leh, she'll will keep checking to see if I'm still in the room every now and then. If I'm not within sight, she'll start to cry....I always give in as I'm afraid it will affect the other parents &amp; children.

sherl:
$1,290 per term?!?! *faintz*
how do ppl afford to put their kids in montessoris!? hehe..
okies.. thx for sharing the fees..

icy:
regine is so big already!!!
rachel looks more like daddy i think.. and regine looks more like you?

Charm,

I LOVE YOU!!!

YES!! Regine looks like me. esp her sexy body!!

this Aqua always makes me angry. She said Regine looks like her daddy. no hor... looks like me hor.

icy,
wow, regine really can fight with rachel liao... are their weights getting closer?

i also think rachel looks more like daddy but regine looks like u more. hahaha...

aqua:
haha.. you say that... icy sure konk ur head!

icy:
hahaha.. you're welcome!
true leh. i feel that regine really looks more like you. rachel confirmed looks like ur hubby lor.

Hi Icy,

will be back in Aug/Sept this year. btw, I think Rachel looks like Daddy and your little Regine looks like you more than her Daddy. =)

Thanks Sherl for the list of things to look out for. Will keep that in mind. =)

good afternoon!

sherl, wow you really detailed! good sharing! care to share which are the 2 schools u considering?

icy, no tv better! btw regine changed alot hor.

charm, i tot u already gotta a seat at st james?

charm/sherl, at least it's 1k+ per term. i saw some which is $1k+ PER MTH! -faint-

aqu, LOL! actually the first time my frien told me St James, I also like huh wat st james powerstation! LOL