(2007/01) Jan

*mildy takes the spade and pail of water and starts scoping out the mud and wash clean her hole with her big tummy and ta mo (hair) sum sum plus tears in her eyes....*

Seems like my gal intake of milk is the lowest. She is rejecting milk for wks liao. But is still taking solid food well. Her milk intake is only 50ml per day! PD mentions to give her yogurt and cheese.

Oh no, seems like most of Jan tots are having more solids, but meals for Janelle still the same since young, only two solids, brown rice or cereal for lunch and porridge for dinner, the rest of the time is milk. And always had some difficulties feeding her solids, refused to sit down for long, etc. She had 8oz of milk for breakfast and mid afternoon ard 3pm plus and then 10oz before sleep. In between, she does snack on bread and biscuits. Hee Hee, so lazy of us adults...

After coming back from holiday, having a difficult time with my girl. A little bit will cry so loud and long that people will think that she is being tortured. Once either of us step out of the house, even just to throw rubbish outside, she will start to cry and chase after us. Sigh! This was never the case before the trip.

talking abt milk,
i think none can beat my little JK. he still rejects FM. only drinks with cereal n latch on. weight wise still below 8kg. i so stressed. nowadays so busy trying to think of what to feed him, give him more food, but still not much results...think might try to visit a chinese physician soon. sigh...

alethea,
haha... i also bathe in front of jk, no choice, if not can't see what he's doing or climbing anywhere. he likes to play peekaboo when i'm bathing. haha... i think this stage they still innocent lah... u think too much!

Hui,
Ryan also reject FM. I managed to feed him FM while he sleep. Other than that he prefers BM.

JJM,
Not too worry, Ryan also on 2 solids per day. This whole week, he was running high fever bet 38-39.8deg...I only feed him with milk. Today he still refused to take solid.Haiz...dunno when he his appettie will get better.

icy,
Last week went for jab , his weight taken is 15.9kg, din increase much...I think started to slow down now.
But this week cos he is not well, maybe his weight reduce liao...

These few days, me & hb took turns to carry him till my backahes, had sleepless night cos for 2 nights, brought him to KKH & NUH, fever dunno y very high at night.
Have any mummies experience child having rashes after a viral fever. How to cure the rashness?

Hi everyone....

Long time never post liao...
Been busy with work and studies as having exam now...

RE:Milk
Janson long time ago stopped drinking milk liao...
All these while been taking solid food aka adult food...
whatever we eat, he will just follow...

Now he just like a sumo wrestler!
weighing 11.5kg...
got chance will upload his photo!
wahaha!

His condition is now better, but somehow the platlet remained 140++...
Still on medication to monitor how....

Most of your babies all very big leh!

My twins are still below 10kg *shake head* Shannen is 9.9kg and Jayden is 9.3kg only. I dunno what else to do. Take them to a dietician? They don't like adult food. Eat a bit then will spit out. How? I rem. when I was a kid, I would eat almost anything and everything I was fed. It was such a joy to feed me, according to my nanny and parents. How come my kids turn out like that? They only like biscuits. and chocolate and ice-cream.

Alethea,

Claire even lighter, she was only 9.1kg at last check. But the PD said it's ok, as long as her weight does not drop. Even if it goes up only like 0.1kg every month or something, is ok. Coz her development and all is normal. Strange hor, at 5 months everyone was saying my baby very fat, and now she end up one of the slimest. LOL.

afternoon mummies
think most of u would have gone home already..

just to share kienan's schedule:
7am - wake up and bf
8am - breakfast
12 noon - lunch
3pm - 180ml milk
6pm - dinner
8.30pm - bf

he seems to drink very little milk compared to some of the babies here leh...

hui:
you and me still have the same problem!
kienan also doesn't want to be weaned.
i've tried..and it's a really tiring battle to fight. cause when i don't let him latch on at night, he'll cry and cry and won't sleep and won't let me sleep as well.

i'll have to take leave to weane him off.. if not, come to office sure very tired.
AND, he's still waking up at nite.

his weight now is about 10.2kg.

liyen:
wow! ryan is of good weight!

iceblue:
glad to see you here... good to hear that janson is doing much better and is of good weight! take care!

alethea / zenn:
i shower with kienan all the time actually... heh. either my husband or myself will shower with him when we bathe him. we only use the showerhead now, cause it's easier this way..

sherl / alethea:
it's interesting to see how babies' weights differ. dunno.. but from what i read from ur posts, it seems like ur tots are eating quite well? kienan has been really difficult to feed in the past month. porridge also don't want.. only wants to eat the nestle cereal.. which doesn't have as much nutrition as cooked meals, i feel...

alethea:
kienan's also like that. he always asks for biscuits... and doesn't want to eat his proper meals! *faint*

hihi....

thank you mummies for sharing!

aqu, charmaine, LY & hui, wow keep up the good job! its not easy to bf for so long!

LY, ryan really super good weight. tho estelle oni 10kg, i already feel tired carrying. cannot imagine u carrying ryan whole night!

JJM, janelle drinks alot ya. did u tryin cutting down the milk & see if she eats better? thats y i m trying now. hope it works for estelle. btw think she too used of seeing u guys thro out the trip n now got separation anixety?

charmine, estelle & kienan same bd & same weight :p

iceblue, glad to know that janson is better. is the result from US out?

charmaine, i wonder issit 20 jan bb all difficult to feed
sometimes i really duno what she likes -shake head-

zenn:
hellos!

hahah.. think only estelle and kienan are born on 20 jan rite? dunno leh.. seems like estelle eats better than kienan. he's really very picky with food. and he doesn't even want to try our adult food!
hahaha.. they are of the same weight!

charmaine, still in ofc? ya think oni 2 of them 2o jan. estelle not v adventure too. today i try scrambled, she doesnt even want to try at all! i cheated by addin to the bread she is taking n she spilt out! -faint-

Zenn,
Not true lah...Ryan also very difficult to feed, he only likes milk, everytime he see me with the porridge he will run away.Somemore he refuse to eat grainy food, all his food must be soft & easy to swallow. He dun like adult food too except milk shake, icecream & adult tibits. I bought many type of baby biscuit but he just refuse to eat.

LY, hope that Ryan is ok now. Oh, so cute, Ryan will run away upon seeing porridge, but his weight is ok, so no cause of worry
Janelle will just spit out without any warning when she no longer feel like eating.

Janelle is very choosy, also don't know what she likes. Nothing to do with 20 Jan...Ha Ha!

Zenn, yes, maybe I should ask my IL to reduce her milk intake. btw no milk bottle with me as at work now, how many mls are that? Janelle's weight is 10.8kg, no one can believe it
Just took 2 days ago, as visiting the PD for her last routine injection.
Was thinking too that it might be due to 24 hours with us during the trip, but sigh! 2 weeks from the trip already still have not come back to routine. Going to faint already
kao_dizzy.gif

Zenn, charmaine, LY,

Trisha also like that. A bit grainy or more textured food, she'll either spit out or just keep in mouth and don't swallow! Sometimes, when she don't swallow I rather she spit it out!

she's also choosy about her food, only likes smooth and easy to swallow too. When she sees us eat fruits like apples, etc, she looks interested but once I put near her mouth, she shunned away or just lick and then don't want liao.

I'm slowly trying to get her to learn to chew by giving her raisins. This she eats with gusto. but if I give her a slice of apple, she munch of a few pcs then keep in mouth and don't really chew liao! But I'll keep trying!

She's also eating porridge with mashed vege/meat etc for her solids and also drinks milk 3 times (150ml for the 2 day feeds and 180ml before bedtime).

She's about 10.7kg now.

LY

is Ryan having the fake measles? high fever for about 4-5 days and after fever starts to subside, rashes will come out for like 2-3 days. Will go away on its own and no need to apply anything. Trisha had it in Apr and her fever was like 38-39C and also at night was worse. Kept feeding her med and sponging her.

lawpei, LY & JJM,

think our bbs can shake hands! estelle also like to spit out when she dun like. after few wks of 'good times' these 1 wk she starts to get choosy again. but i notice she starts to like to feed herself so sometimes i will let her feed her own & she will eat.

JJM, 1oz is 30ml right? 10oz meaning 300ml & 8oz is 240ml. if so 1day = 780ml of milk! wow its really alot

lawpei,
Thanks for sharing. I am not sure wat is it, doc just told just is virual fever.His rashes is getting lesser after 3rd days

JJM,
Thanks, Ryan is getting active today but haha...after carrying him for past few days, he also became very gluey with us.Always cling to us wherever we sat.Also cranky for no reasons.

I think as children grow up, they will start to like adult food, so not to worry too much that they not eating solids or variety of food... Just that some kids are slower to learn eating texture food or quite choosy. My in laws always ask me y i din feed ryan with different kinds of food to let him get use to it, but they just dun understand that he will vomit out if i force him to eat. Today i brought ryan to McDonld kid party, they all insist I let him eat some Mc's food, after awhile, he just got choke on the food & vomit all out & make a mess of himself, then all of them just kept quiet.

Zenn - Ha Ha! No idea leh! Event milk bottle measurement shows 8oz is 220ml while 10oz is roughly 280ml. That means a total of 720ml per day. Wow, that's seems a lot of milk. Hee Hee! Her PD was saying that's just the right amount of milk per day.

Need some feedback from mummy who have send ur kid to the playgroup. May I know is ur kid very easy to get sick after go to playgroup? From what i know that when kid go to childcare will be easier get sick for the 1st 6 mth.

I intend to send my boy to 1.5hr playgroup next yr. N my #2 will be ard 2month+, so i have a bit worry.... I scare my 1st get sick then i cannot handle 2... need some feedback or experience mum give me advice.. thanks!

LY ur ryan is heavy!! in very good weight. when i saw him during our last gathering he already looked heavy & indeed he is heavy when i carried him.

iceblue glad to see u here. send my regards to celest.

karen, congrats! another boy for u??

mornin'!

zenn/LY/lawpei:
hahaa.. think all our kiddos the same lah. kienan is also like that. whatever he doesn't like, when i try to "sneak" it into the other food that he's eating, he'll spit it out. like, that day, i put some cheese dip on his cracker.. and he spat it out.

lawpei:
i'm also giving kienan raisins as treats/snacks. he used to not really know how to eat it. now, he's quite a pro! but i moderate it, cause sometimes i feel that raisins are too sweet?

hui:
don't say that jk will only put on weight if he's not under your care! all babies are different. as long as he's eating.. that should be good enough?
maybe you can try cooking more exciting food for him? what does he usually eat now?

mummies:
any of u have problems feeding ur babies fruits? kienan doesn't seem to like to eat fruits, which is kinda bad, cause there's lots of vits found in fruits.

I'm back!!
tiring but fun, now think will can start planning for the next trip liao.. hehehe!!!

tons of work to do, check back later..

morning mummies...
zenn, trisha's mum,
tot my boy is not drinking enuff too, but reading this forum is a comfort now! ;)
9am cereal wif milk or 1 slice bread wif 120ml milk
1130am fruit (apple or kiwi or watever i haf)
1pm porridge for lunch (tried to do bee hoon, pasta but he doesnt' wan to eat, will oni take a few spoonful n fight. any suggestions anyone? me so sian of porridge man! he loves noodles but will oni pinch n play wif it..)
3pm yogurt / cheese
530pm dinner (mainly porridge but recently started to give rice wif steam fish/chicken wif soup)
9pm 240ml milk (mostly cannot finish)
4 or 5am 180ml milk
yes yes he is still waking up in the wea morning for milk... dunno wat do wif him... me tried not feeding him n juz give pacifier but doesn't work... when will he ever sleep thru' the nite n juz eat bf??.... btw, he is nw 11.5kg
LY,
my boy aso had fever for a couple of days some time back, n he hates the cooling sticker on his forehead, (will even wake up n cry if i secretly stick it one him in the middle of the night)!!! i bought this cooling pad fr petrol kisok (meant for car seats) which is super gd. it feels like a water bed so it is very comfy to lie on n it keeps him cool all nite so his fever actually subsides in the nite. should consider investing one coz it's oni less than $20.

HI Mommies
My belle's schedule

8 or 9am - 8 oz (depending wat time she wakes up)
10.30 - raisin or biscuits
11am - Nap (she may skip this)
12 or 1 pm - 8 0z or porridge or mee(1 adult rice bowl)
2 or 3 pm - tea time milk 6oz
4 or 5 pm - 80z or porridge or mee
8 or 9pm - 8 oz
after this is drink some water then sleep

her weight now is abt 10.8kg

good afternoon.

charmanine,
thanks for the comforting words. but i do feel lousy and demoralised at times when he's so underweight. sigh..

did u try to give kienan the gold kiwi fruits? after sugarbean introduced, i gave JK, he loves them. especially if i let him use spoon to scoop the cut fruits from his bowl... he'll gobble up.

hui:
yeah..can understand what you mean about feeling demoralised and all. but what's important is that you're doing the best you can.

i've tried giving k the golden kiwi... but he doesn't like it leh. maybe i'll try again. will scoop into his bowl and let him feed himself. will try tonite!

Hi all, didn't read the thread for awhile!

2ndbaby, your girl seems pretty obedient the last time I met you, unlike my girl, headache!!!

rice/porridge intake: approximately how much do your babies take?

Good Morning everyone!

Janey,
talentplus is playgroup school name is it? it sounds like those "cai hua heng yi chu xin xiu" school. awkakak... if u understand my han yu pin yin. kekek...

Morning Mildy,
haha... ya. go there to learn "talent" so far she pick up a lot of "talent" from her classmates leh.. all those bu san bu si de talent... haiz