(2007/01) Jan

Charmaine, yes, must bk apptm. If not have to be on waiting list. Zenn, I love the place too.

For passport, I just rec email that its ready for collection. So it takes just 3 working days to process.

Good day, mummies!

talking about going on a holiday. at the tods' age now, it'll be best if other family members come along. we went on a cruise in mar and we didnt get to enjoy the buffets and all onboard facilities. My girl couldn't keep still. We were running after her most of the time.

I have a question regarding teething. Have your tod's first molars erupted? My girl was inconsolable even after we applied teething gel. Carry, rock, pat were of no use. She was cranky in the last few days and was running a fever. Did yours have diarrhoea?

zenn:
haha.. yah, i was also thinking of checking out on the brands of diapers when i'm there. was thinking of not bringing that many so that can just buy there.
will check and let you know when i get back okies?

firstbaby:
okies! i'll make an appt for the massage.
i just wonder whether i should make the appt before i go to bkk.. be a cao kiasu.. haha.

Zenn & Charmaine, thanks for sharing your potting training.. Guess I am lazy mama, i just leave my boy to poo in the diaper even though i saw his expression wanted to poo, think i will take out his diaper start tomorrow..

for mummies whose baby is drinking Gain IQ, I went to NTUC finest at Bukit Timah today, knowing that Gain IQ is selling at discounted price of S$24.10, however limited 4 per person, so I have grab some for my baby. Not sure whether such promotion apply in other NTUC outlet too.. cheers

how many teeths ur bb has now? estelle oni havin her 9th n 10th. quite slow hor?

tam, estelle is havin her pre molar. she been wakin up on n off at night, some meals not eatin v well

charm, sure! thanks!!!

cashewnut, how u managed to wean off pacifier? yest i tried to hide n she refused to sleep even tho she was tired

Zenn - my girl only got 7 teeths so far, so for Estelle, it's considered pretty fast already. My MIL says that the slower the better, as then the milk teeth will stay with them longer.
I heard a method of weaning off pacifier, to cut off the tip and let babies try it, they will find that it's no longer that shiok, so eventually they wil no longer ask for it. Not sure if you want to give it a try.

charm, u must b happy that finally u see the TWO teeths heee btw is the trainin pants good? i pickin up fm mildy tonite :p

mummies, will ur little one play on their own? mine can hardly do so for long

alamak i see wrongly!!! readin the healthbook now... the pre is for adult teeth heheehe so estelle is considerin havin her 1st molar on the left but so far nothin fm the right. weird is her 2nd molar seems to erupt soon tho the book stated it should b 20-30mths. hmmm....

jan mum, hmmm perhaps will give it a try. actually when should we start to wean off pacifier?

zenn,

my girl seeks attention nowadays. Can't play by herself for long, wants to sit on our laps and ask us to hold her fingers to press those sound buttons on cloth books. Wants company to watch tv with her too, not just anyone but daddy and mummy only.

zenn - earlier the better I think....

Hi Mummies, me too interested in JG trial Jan thread is organising one, looking at PlayClub...Pls count me in, thanks.

Zenn, I think there is no right rule saying when to wean off the pacifier, for me i think the earlier the better cos i saw my fren's daughter has addited to the pacifier, n she can't wean her off from the pacifier although she is 26 mths now..

Everytime i bring Owen out for shopping, he can just dose off without teh pacifier, so i know he can just sleep by his own without pacifier, but i can't just wait for him to sleep when he is super tire, so i just replace his pacifier with water bottle, while he is almost falling at sleep, i just pull off the bottle.. but this oso develope another bad habit for him where he need few sip of water when he wake up in middle of nite.. I just take it as he is too heaty n dry in throat with air-con, so i let him have few mouth sip of water.. then he will fall back at sleep very fast. I dun think mine is very good example to learn..

tam, estelle too! sometimes really cannot breath right?

jan mum & cashewnut, thanks for sharing! cashewnut, sometimes estelle also zzz w/o pacifier esp in car seat or after milk when she is v tired. so when u started to wean off, u replaced wif water or let him turn n tose first? last nite i try to let her turn n toss n make noise until i cannot tahan so end up givin her pacifier again. mayb i try cuttin off the tips heee

zenn:
hahaa... ya,you're right! i was so happy when i finally saw the little white tips of kienan's bottom two teeth emerging. you know that i've been waiting for ages for his teeth to come out. think he was 14 mths when it first appeared... haha.

the training pants are not too bad, but if pee in it, confirm will be wet and uncomfortable, so think can train with that pants.. just that i haven't tried training kienan yet. personally, i feel that i can wait a while more till he can communicate better..

zenn, i think if owen is still wif pacifier, i will try the cut off the teats method.. but too bad, he is wif water now.. last time he require pacifier b4 sleeping, without pacifier, he will keep toking n turning n tossing, inorder to shut his mouth up, i replace by water bottle, starting this Mon, i let him turn n toss 1st, sometime he will fall at sleep without requesting for water, but sometime he will request it when he abt to sleep.. i am still in process to wean him off from water bottle.. Is it not good to give him water cos the bottle is similar to pacifier?? but my sis say it is ok cos her daugther oso need to have the water when going to sleep, but one thing better than owen, she dun request it in the middle of nite unlike owen..

Hi karen,
Sorry hasn't been checking forum recently and missed your question regarding intussception (I got the earlier spelling wrong). You can probably read on the info:
http://www.drhull.com/EncyMaster/I/intussusception.html

As what the dr and Pd has advised, usually rotavirus(RV) jab sometime will caused intussception, though it has not really been proven to have a link to it. However, if that happened, it's usually fall on the younger bb unsually below 1yr old and few week after RV jab. And to why Darrius got it after 15mth old and so long after his RV vac is uncommon.

Anyway, my PD mentioned that if the child is over 1yr old, he will not usually recommended for them to take RV jab. We are lucky to has discover it fast. However, there is a 10% reoccurrence rate when he is abt 2-3yrs old. we had to look out again for sign of tummyache.

Questions on whether to take RV jab anot, still has to depends on yourself. Anyway, there must be a reason y the jab is been introduced, and I guessed it did help in preventing young bb from serious stomach diarrhoea.

Some other site got more info on Intussusceptions you may want to do a goggle site.

Hope the info is useful.

Hi Mummies, me awaken by the thunder & lightning ... How are the tods coping wif the recent thunder & lightning in the nite

JG trial Jan thread is organising one...Pls count me in, many thanks.

Happy Mummies Day..... ENJOY

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Happy Mother's Day!</font></font>
kao_kiss.gif

jaclyn,
welcome! sherl lives bt batok, but she's a working mum. i'm SAHM, but lives bt panjang. :p

Long time no log in n chat liao... missed our preggie days when Jan thread was soooo alive...

Anyhow, another year has passed and we are having our 2nd Mother's Day! So, here's wishing all mummies a very <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Happy Mother's Day.</font></font>

I just want to share a little something I wrote which I belive will echoes all our thoughts... can you recognise any traits? Keke!

Until You Become A Mother
- Sugarbean -

Until you become a mother,
You never knew love.
Those selfless sacrifices for another,
You never knew you are capable.

You never knew pain.
Scraped knees and bruised egos,
You vow to make it all rosy again.

You never knew patience.
A tiny being that wields such power,
You trudge on without grievance.

You never knew happiness.
A silly smile, a thoughtless antic,
You feel you are on top of the universe.

You never knew exhaustion.
Endless days and sleepless nights,
You only wished it could get better.

You never knew multi-tasking.
Baby on the feed, dinner on the stove and a floor to clean,
You wished you had 10 limbs.

You never knew humility.
Cajoling and dancing to a screaming brat,
You just know his well-being is your entirety.

You never knew discipline.
Whether it’s 3 or 5am and your baby needs a cuddle,
You jump up immediately without a struggle.

You never knew separation anxiety.
When your happy tot goes to nursery,
You hoped he was still a baby, worrying endlessly.

You never knew such was life.
How a baby so little,
Can make you love him ever and ever.

hello mummies!

happy mama day to the mummies here..

icy, how u doing? recovered bo?

sugarbean, i like ur thots! really reflected our xin jing leh...keke

Good morning all...

Angry leh. Yesterday had lunch with in-law in Jumbo. Matthan was sitting in between me and MIL. I only gave matt plain rice plus some fish, but my MIL kept giving him CRAB, PRAWN, SPICY fired rice. I do not want to offend her, thus did not tell her my dislike.

In the end how?? Poor Matthan was feeling so uncomfortable and vomitted when we reach home, am was cranky for hours.

Have you all fed bb with these? any reaction so far?

Long time did not log in here to chat coz very busy at work at the moment.

Sugar,
What you wrote really applies to us... heehee

babymilk,
Understand how you feel. On sat afternoon we went for mother's day lunch and the restaurant served prawn crackers, my MIL keep asking me to let Claire have one. And she keep urging me to let Claire try prawn stuff but I tell her no. Somemore she laments that Claire has sensitive skin!!! sometimes hor, very hard to talk to them.
I dun let Claire try seafood personally but I myself have taken seafood and nursed her afterwards, is ok le. LAst time when she was younger and maybe drinking more milk, she always had reaction if I took scallops, so for a long time I didn't take seafood. Until recently around her 1st birthday then I try. But for Claire herself I think I will keep her away from seafood and peanuts till at least 3 years old.

LUNCH FOR JAN THREAD

Date: 20 May 2008, Tuesday

Time: 12pm

Venue: Raffles City (Either Sushi Tei "Our VIP Rm" or Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar)

1. icylemon with lil Rachel
2. Aqua
3. AMM

Icy,

Peanuts is actually highly allergenic. Esp pregnant women are advised to keep away from peanuts because the component contained inside can bring out the gene that causes allergies. If you have asthma gene (that is the same gene that causes most allergies) it is best to stay off peanuts. Children whose parents have allergic tendencies are also advised to keep off peanuts until they are older.

You can read here for more info:
http://www.babycenter.com/0_foods-that-can-be-unsafe-for-your-baby_9195.bc

I didn't believe when I was pregnant with Claire and didn't control my diet, ate quite a lot of peanuts. That's why I feel very guilty about Claire's eczema condition. If get pregnant again I will become Ms Dietician for sure. heehee.

Icy, peanuts can trigger allergies in babes, just like honey. Also, I've heard of a case from my aunt, whose fren's hubby fed their grandson a peanut. The poor tot, who'se abt 1 yr of age, choked on it, then got sent to hospital. He subsequently went into a coma and was declared brain-dead. Not so much allergy, but cos he choked on it and his brain lacked oxygen. Very scary!

So far, I've not fed the twins with seafood, save for fish. Not sure why, but I think seafood like crab and prawns are highly toxic and can trigger skin outbreaks, so I've decided to err on the side of caution. Thus, the only 'meat' the twins are only still eating include fish, chicken, beef and pork.

Alethea,

that is very scary and very unfortunate!!!!

I also believe in this toxic thing. LOL. Actually this is more of a Chinese food belief right? But I think it makes some sense as this kind of shellfish generally eat rubbish on the seabed. But when you have wounds hor, if eat seafood, will really itch leh.

sherl &amp; alethea, i happened to fed rachel with some peanuts for the past few days not knowing tat peanuts will cause allergy. i oso took a few.

Icy,

If nothing happen to Rachel then good lo, maybe for her peanuts is ok. Does not mean that every kid will be affected by it. But coz Claire got allergic tendencies so I also err on the side of caution, like Alethea.

yes peanut is highly allergenic. During preggie times got to avoid, bf also got to avoid. But can take peanut soup which is actually very good for preggies. But hor during my early pregnancy with deszi I crave for peanut spread so eat very often but in moderation.

last week when taking mrt, i catch a glimpse of someone chinese newspaper headline saying to avoid taking seafood for babies below 3 years old... anyone read that? before i can read all, that person flip the paper liao

zenn, cashewnut,

I successfully wean off pacifier for Lucas since he turn 1yr old. It takes about one week to totally wean off. For tat one week, bb will cry and be cranky before he can drift to sleep. Once you decided to wean bb off, u must be persistent and cannot be soft hearted and give him the pacifier back leh. Cos when u do that, bb will know that if he cry and cry and be cranky u will give him the pacifier. In result it will be more diff to wean off each time.

cashewnut, i think teats and pacifier is different. Lucas din take water bottle teats as pacifier after weaning off. i think they knows the difference when suck teats is water goes in and no so shiok as pacifier..

Gd Morning Mummies!

Belated Happy Mother's Day to all!

usually it's my mother who likes to let my girl tries out new adult food that I do not agreed, so I dare to comment and says 'No'. The meats so far my girl ate are only fish, pork &amp; chicken. Even chicken is seldom, as MIL says that it will cause phlegm. Quite boring right? I also don't know what else to add into her diet. Seafood, I thought they can take after age 2???

U all let your kids take beef? I find that my kids like beef (porridge or rice with soup) every much, esp. when I add a bit of Marmite to enhance the taste. They really lap up everything.

Alethea - I have not let my girl take any beef as family don't take beef (worship Guanyin), but it's good for children, maybe next time let her try when outside.

icy - what else the article say huh? can tell me?

AletheaT - i cooked n let lucas try marcoroni with minced beef once but he eat so slowly. I refuse to cook that again. Or when we out eating and when we taking yakiniku rice, we give him eat small bits. hee, he like it.
How u cook with porridge? same like chicken or pork? when u cook with porridge, do u let them eat the meat?

alethea, i dun let rachel take beef coz of religon. i oso pray to guan yin.

bluesky, maybe ur minced beef put abit of corn flour to soften the texture lah... beef cooked too long very hard de.