(2007/01) Jan

Hi Alethea / Charm & other mummies lookin for playgroups,

Apple Tree PG is another one you can consider... Similar to Talent Plus, they have PGs located islandwide.
www.appletree.com.sg

I have been searching high and low for playgroups near my house leh... Only know of Talent Plus and Apple Tree Playgroups, but they are not really near my house.
Do you know of any websites or any other playgroups available? I am at a loss now, cos all the centres near my house are childcare centres. They offer half day childcare programmes, but I am not keen on that as the charge for half day childcare programmes is ridiculously expensive!

Thanks, JanMum. Apple Tree looks good but none near my place leh.
I need those that are literally just downstiars or within 5 mins' walk from my place.

Leng Mong, I hope he can make it there at 11am, else I will be very angry cos' it's pretty near his office. Last time, he missed the Meiji sale even tho I reminded him abt it and it's so near his office. I was mighty frus!

JanMum, check out YWCA/YMCA. They offer half-day or full-day childcare and have branches across the island. Each child is about $300 for half-day CC (7am-1pm), still quite affordable.

Alethea, thx for recommendin YWCA and YMCA.

I just called them. YMCA only has 3 centres, not near my house at all... YWCA nearest centre is not near my house too
need at least 5 min of bus ride from my place.

Me at a loss again! ha.

sherl:
happy birthday!
you're really one young mummy! hahaha..
anyways, about chickenpox vaccination, i'm still quite undecided. need to discuss with hubby and the PD.

bout claire being angry with you.. wow.. you mean you could have done something to make her angry yesterday and you weren't aware of it? claire mei mei must be a sensitive girl!
hahahaha.. oops. hope she forgives you by this evening so that you can have a nice birthday..

janmum:
thx for the info on apple tree.. will go check it out. why are you looking out for a PG for ur baby?

icy - i going to take urgent leave (me can't take leave now cos got stuff to do), kate took leave liao if i'm not wrong... hehehehe

msn-q - i can pick u up if u can meet us at yio chu kang mrt station (cos i'll be dropping belle at my mum's place) and i not very sure hougang area.

icy,

You can call and ask your gynae, I think panadol is safe to take during pregnancy. Just make sure that it only contains paracetamol and nothing else (cannot take panadol extra strong).

icy:
yeps, like what sherl said... think it should be ok to take normal panadol.. not the extra strong type. if you'd rather not take any medication, then maybe try to drink more water.. and rest!

take care...

Char,

I am lookin for a playgroup for my gal when she reach 18 mths or 2 yrs old... so that she wil be more exposed, sociable, and learn new things, as compared to staying at home whole day with my mum. Of coz, the flip side of it is really that our children may get sick easily, so have to really visit all the centres to take a look. Btw, heard that Apple Tree may be better than Talent Plus, but again it depends on which centre and the teachers.... What abt you? Y r u looking for playgroups?

Icy,

Ya... I think you can take panadols leh.. it's safe... I remembered my gynae did say it's safe too. As what Char says, try to rest more is best remedy. Take care.

Afternoon Mummies!

icylemon - hope that Rachel is much better now. the HFMD really scares me, every now & then will touch my girl's forehead when I'm ard. Somemore she had her chickenpox vaccine ard 10 days ago.

alethea - did yr PD says that red dots will appeared elsewhere beside the injection area? As my girl has 5-6 red dots ard one side of her face, am wondering due to heatiness or chickenpox symptoms?

msn_queen - any kitchen set there at the sale? Thanks for the info on the warehouse sale, must go must go..

Yah yah! I also wanna get a kitchen set for my kids! Those huge ones where they stand and play masak masak with!

Janjanmum, no leh, PD only said look out for a ring of red dots on the area where my boy was given the jab....Think Jannelle's ones may be heat rash? Esp. if she doesn't have a temp.

alethea - my mom in-law says so too, but pretty suprising that babies so young will be heaty, as they don't get to eat fried stuff,etc...

Icy,

i c ic. Then you better just take a rest for a while, like what Char suggested. Last time if I really felt very very bad I will just go to the lounge and rest after telling my boss. :p Just dun do it on a frequent basis, if you only do this on a need-basis hor, most people will be understanding about it.

Janjanmum,
Could be heat rash? Coz the weather going crazy again. Claire's eczema starts up whenever weather turns hot/stuffy, and recently she's having an attack.

sherl, no lah.. boss wont like. plus these few nights, i only get to sleep ard 4am. earliest 3.30am. coz rachel has been very cranky.

sherl & alethea - oh, silly me, so tired aft a whole morning workshop...hee hee...due to weather...most probably.

sherl - Hug* for Claire

Mummies, for those who have used both Medela PIS and Ameda,which pump is better? I'm uses to Ameda but I've a fren who said that tho Ameda's letdown is better, the amount of BM collected is more for Medela PIS *scratch head* Any comments?

Hi moms, finally got time to check forum ...

Alethea - Yes, that is what I heard too, between Ameda and Medela. But I only used Ameda and Medela single pump, never tried PIS so dont know true or not. Do you have friend who can lend you the PIS and try?

Sambees, but by and large, u satisfied with Ameda? I've been using Ameda, so I would prefer to stick to that. But if Medela PIS can work miracles and collect more milk, then I will invest in it.

Alethea,

if you want i think you can rent from Mums and Babes to try out first, coz PIS a bit of a hefty investment. Heard that their suction methods are different (PIS and Ameda) so doesn't work the same way for everyone, depends on which method you prefer.

Alethea - I thought the Ameda work yield more than Medela single but it did not work for me. I hope to try PIS next round but will certainly rent/borrow first before investing this time round!

Alethea,

I never use Amenda b4 but I used Medela PIS & Medela single electric pump, I can collect 180ml to 210ml at 6 hourly interval. My boy never suck directly, so i can only rely on electric pump to stimulate my ss. Hope this help..

Icy,

hope you will be better after see ur gynea tomorrow.. can post here how much is teh little ppl zoo collection if you see it at the toys sales..

Mymelody,

think i wan to get aquadoodle thomas the train, can help me to get?? wat is the price now??

Sherl,

How much is the aquadoodle you get last time from the spree??

Sherl, happy birthday! Me not too late, i hope.

Re: chickenpox vaccine
Will go let en bi take the jab a mth later. right now, so heart ache after the 2 jabs on her arms plus the nite before 5 mosquito bites on her right arm alone!!!

alethea, i still staying at simei. no hopes of moving to katong wif prices sky high rite now. but it quite near my hb work place, so tot he cld fetch the gal back after she finished mah. MMI= Modern Montessori International

mymelody, yes, me here! *wave* u asleep leow? can discuss tis over skype? my user name is 'juneleow' btw, r u tokking abt amazon prime? i oso have $5 discount now. but not a lot compared to the px of the aquadoodle set lah.

re: mattel sale
i soooo gian to take leave tis friday to go leh.. but hor, oredi took lip on fri. mebbe scoot away during lunch. see how. anyone willing to be assigned to grab good buys on my behalf?

Hi Sherl
Happy Birthday
Wishing you good health and good wealth

Hi icy
hope rachel feeling better
u also take good care of yourself

Hi janmum
Me also looking for PG for Alex. Initially, wanted to send him to once a week(end) when he is 18m but now wif HFMD, till i will postpone when he is about 2yo
Main reason: my boy is extremely shy and i am quite worried - so i am hoping tat a weekend PG would help him to socialise.

Jus wanna share this PG with you and other mummies who are interested:
http://www.gifted-learners.blogspot.com/

Faeriekim, you have you decided to buy the wall mat from amazon or singapore?? you are more interested at the wall mat than thomas teh train floor mat?? after seeing your post, now in teh delimma whether to get the floor mat or wall mat.

Hi Poo_power

Me at first wanted to bring my gal along to compare the centres / PGs, but cannot bring her during this period of HFMD outbreak.. Have to postpone our visit to the centres.

My reason is to expose my gal more and let her learn things, also at the same time, my mum can have her "break" of few hours in the morning.

Quite scary ya, saw the news yesterday that there are another more than 500 cases of HFMD reported just last Monday, and this statistics is only the figure of those children attending childcare centres.

JanMum, scary hor? I think I will only let my twins start PG/childcare after CNY next yr (CNY in Jan 09). Don't want to take any risks. I was watching the news. The mums interviewed were all saying that they've been taking leave non-stop to look after their children be it cos' they're sick or the childcare centres have been closed, etc.

good morning...

wat sale u gals talking?

sherl, happy belated birthday!

alethea & janmum, apple tree is for 2yrs n above n apparantly they go by year bb is borned. i enquired b4 n was told for 2007 bb, we ve to wait for 2 more yrs!

Alethea, precisely. I am also surprised to know that Pat's Schoolhouse - the best premium and childcare centre in Singapore has been ordered by MCYS to close down for a period of time mandatorily due to 18 cases of HFMD reported. This really shows that the amount of $ you pay for a childcare centre ($1,300 a month?!) does not guarantee that their hygience level is top notch.

Zenn
Oh.. If apple tree is for 2 years and above, our bbs shld be able to enrol next year? Ya, usually most centres go by year the bb is borned, after they reach 18 mths & above.

Mymelody, thanks for checking the aquadoodle for me, my sister just told me she has one for me, so i think i don't need to buy now. Thanks..

icy - is Rachel better now? hope she recover soon.. the HFMD very scary!!!

sherl - happy belated birthday to u. hope u enjoy yr day yday!

Sherl - HAPPY BELATED B'DAY!!! Joining my club soon? Wakakak!

Zenn - I brgt Kimi to the zoo y'day. Sooo hot & humid!!! Bring lots of drinks!!