(2007/01) Jan

AMM, you got reason to be humpty dumpty mah...we all no reason. Am sure you will slim back after giving birth.

Think chief will think you siao... one more complain too much stress, next moment ask for more stress. He will be convinced that you are really overstressed liao. LOL

good morning....

estelle still got fear of shower! last nite n this morn i ve to use her cup toy to put her into her tub

icy, will give this sat trial a pass. thanks for arranging.

aqu, estelle also started walkin over the cny. in fact oni on the eve itself n she was like walkin all over my sis hse kekekkee btw i uploaded the video in her blog http://www.darlingchan.blogspot.com/

AMM, i think u still look v good even tho preggie. pretty mummy!

cashewnut, mayb ur boy saw 1st bb gal drink so go back also follow heee

haiz.... wonder when will be my turn to announce that Claire is walking. heeheehee. So envious when I see the walkers trotting along during Kindermusik class!!!!

Estelle and Kimi both walk until quite 'zai' already.

aqu, high 5! kekekeke

sherl, estelle looks like ah ma when walkin hehehehe hey u nv know hor, claire may just suddenly start walkin one day

Gd Morning!

Same as Cashewnut, indeed very suprised to see all babies holding on to a sippy cup, irregardless of teat, spout or straw. My girl don't like to drink water...help!!

The first time I knew she knows how to drink from a straw is....she insisted when she saw us drinking ice milk tea, my hb thinking that at most she will only bite the straw (as cannot drink leh), gave it to her, and after a few bites/sucks, saw that some milk tea dripped out from the corner of her mouth. Then end up fighting with her to withdraw the straw from her mouth. oh boy, end up her clothes, hb clothes, all sticky :)

afternoon mummies!

sherl:
don't worry... kienan also can't walk yet.
he doesn't even want to stand on his own without support though i'm quite sure he can do it.. haiz. don't want to force him too..cause i know he'll do it in his own time.

but the little tot likes us to hold his hand and walk with him. he doesn't want to stand on his own, or try taking a few steps on his own.. and yet wants to walk with us holding his hand! *faint!*

estelle and kimi very zai leh! can walk already.. hahaha..

hi jan mum
my boy is also not a great fan of water.. but i also just give it to him to drink.. over time, he's beginning to take more water already. thank God!

i just tried giving kienan water to drink from the mag mag straw spout cup.. and thankfully, he drank from it.. but not that much also lah, what he drank. i think the speed of drinking water from the straw spout is much faster than the step 2 spout.. hehe.

icy:
when i first tried giving kienan water from a straw, my friend taught me to hold one end of the straw with my finger and taking water from the cup, and let kienan drink from the other end.. think this way, he slowly learns how to such water from the straw.. then over time, you can put the straw vertically in the cup and let rachel suck..
you try?

but like what AMM/Zenn/Sherl says... no need to rush rachel lah. let her take her time.

Hello Mummies!

I am on leave today! Hurray
not been appearing in the thread for long time liao...occasionally do pop in at times to see what's the conversation....

ya, as for the aquaducks thing, that's what i heard too, that they practise the dunking... I think to the instructors, that's a way to overcome baby's fear of water?

Hi Charmaine,
I will try the method you mentioned

Hi Icy
Thanks for organising the swimming trial class... I may be interested in Marsden swim trial....

I am currently updating karis' blog.... haven't been updating since two months back liao... meanwhile, I will be adding all the other jan mummies and babies' blog link to karis' blog okie? Do PM me if any objections and I will de-link yours

Charmaine - mmm....I must go and buy a mag mag straw sippy cup already. Must force my girl a bit as she seems very heaty.

Oh Mummies, does anyone know whether Avent has straw sippy cup, a smaller one, like mag mag, as the one I saw is a pretty big bottle.

Hello all Mummies,

Long time no post liao..
Happy Birthday to everyone as today is "ren ri"... hehehe...
Hope all of u had a great new year break!

aqua,
i didnt see u for a long time... so cant comment...hahaha... but hor i think 1kg is not alot lar... anyway, u were slim before...the 1kg wont make any diff lar...hehe.. *winks*

sherl,
u really very slim wor...fr the last time i saw u... maybe ur metabolic rate very fast...so u can eat & eat but still wont put on weight... many pp envy one leh... so make good use of it... eat & eat...ok?? hehehe..

zenn, aqua,
i also dunno how to swim... in fact i also quite scared of head being dunked under water... my mum said that when i was a baby, i refused to wash hair one cos scared of water on my face... then hor they gotta let me wear a special hat so that the water wont run down my face...haha..

amm,
u r not fat leh... u r just bigger boned...
anyway, u preggie now...got all the excuse now... hehehe..
urs is galgal or boyboy this round??

Janjanmum,

From what I know Avent's magic cup only got the flat spout. Their straw cup only got big size one. Sugarbean was telling us that she heard Combi's sippy cups are better? Not sure in what sense also... but the straw is definitely slimmer than the magmag cup's one. So maybe that makes a diff? I find the combi straw top design better than magmag's one though.

Charmaine,
Same, Claire also doesn't want to stand on her own. She must have something to hold on to, even if it's just my little pinkie.
She refuses to take steps even with me holding her also, but at least now she will push her walker along.
Actually I'm not worried about her not walking yet, but you know sometimes people around you will make you kancheong when they keep asking why she's not walking and comment that she's very slow to start.

Agree with you Sherl. Actually, I'm quite comfy with them progressing at their own pace i.e. take their time to walk when they gain more confidence. But I've a nephew who's only 1 month older than my twins (but he was an overdue baby) and he's now even capable of running. It gets on my nerves when my FIL keeps comparing them cos my twins are still not walking yet!

Alethea,

yeah lo yeah lo. Claire is not even 13 months yet and some of my hubby's relatives already commented that she must be like daddy, slow to walk (coz my hubby only walked at 16 months). Then the more people who comment on that, the more kancheong you get, when at first you are quite ok one right??!!

Agreed with J&S and sherl. Some think that estelle is abit slow in walkin cos she was able to stand at 6mths but to me I don't see anything wrong since she enjoys crawling around. even now when she knows how to walk, at times she still likes to crawl around. as long as she is comfy i think its fine. afterall every bb is diff

actually according to stats only about half of all babies walk by 13 months... so actually even if our babies are not walking yet it is quite acceptable... guess we should only start to worry if our babies still dun walk by 2 years old or something (touch wood!)

Trial class for My Gym @ Marine Parade is confirmed!!! Can ve a max of 13 babies & 1 parent each time & parent will need to wear socks. Here is the details :

Date : 23 Feb 08 (Sat)

Time : 1.15-2pm

Venue : Blk 86 Marine Parade Central #01-670B Tel : 6440 9916

Fee : $30 nett

1) mymelody
2) fae
3) zenn
4) sugarbean
5) babyapples (TBC)
6) icylemon
7)
8)
9)
10)
11)
12)
13)

But with every milestone I pass I will have the bittersweet feeling lo... heehee... they really grow up very fast.

I think esp when you have a batch of kids growing up in the family even when you dun want to be kiasu it's very hard not to because you just keep hearing people making comparisons between the babies all the time. My hubby and I always say luckily ours is 2007 baby coz there are 2 other Sep 06 babies in his family... if they attend same school year, will sure kena compared again!

zenn,

I think when I send her to school next time I will cry, heehee. Mummy get separation anxiety before kid does. Think that's why sometimes people have babies again after their babies grow up. LOL.

zenn, must wait at least 2 years more la... heehee. Claire still very baby.

Alethea,
Yeah lo, understand understand. And now we think it's still a long way down the road, but actually time passes by very fast de wor...

sherl - oh, combi also has, will go and take a look. Thanks so much :) Bec the magmag one, my mom bought a spout one, it leaks easily, maybe combi one will be better. Buying one for my girl's use at our own hse.

J&S - yr twins can walk already, right? As saw the pic in Changi Airport T3.

I agreed on the comparison, not talking only abt babies ard the same age in the hse. They will compare and tell me that their tot whom a few years older already started turning, crawling, walking lah ard 3mths, 4mths, 1yr old, respectively etc etc....sigh!
My girl is always a few mths slower.

Mymelody, I can feel the 1kg wakakkaka btw, I cannot find the email contact of that australian bp. Sherl, you have or not. Seems like Mildy got the same prob as you! Terrible hor. So expensive somemore this type of material.

Janjanmum, my twins can stand and take a few steps before sitting down again. Walking still hasn't come naturally to them yet. Sometimes, I get pek chek, and also ask them, 'Hey, pple can walk and run aldy, how come u both still want to crawl?!' But then I think again, like Sherl said, I will miss each milestone one, since time flies and I always don't spend enough time with them.

Trial class for My Gym @ Marine Parade is confirmed!!! Can ve a max of 13 babies & 1 parent each time & parent will need to wear socks. Here is the details :

Date : 23 Feb 08 (Sat)

Time : 1.15-2pm

Venue : Blk 86 Marine Parade Central #01-670B Tel : 6440 9916

Fee : $30 nett

1) mymelody
2) fae
3) zenn
4) sugarbean
5) babyapples (TBC)
6) icylemon
7) aquarius_888 (TBC, need to check if hubby is working on that sat )
8)
9)
10)
11)
12)
13)

aqua, i haven't weigh myself too. think fatter over this cny period too :p

sherl, you have the contact for the australian dress?

mildy, your dress runs as well? mine confirmed runs until quite ugly. but i still let her wear else bohua leh. :p

alethea:
haha.. you should tell your FIL that kids develop at their own pace.. plus, can't compare! cause your nephew is overdue baby.. and your twins were premmies, rite?

sherl:
claire and kienan sama sama...

can totally identify with you when you say that you're not gan jiong about our baby's speed of picking up walking,etc.. but then there are ppl who ask you if they've started walking,talking, etc. and make us feel gan jiong! :p

mymelody, I know her website add is bbtinz.com

Strange leh... I wash liao no prob leh. Somemore I wash in my egg washing machine. I have 3 pieces, all no problem. *touch wood*

J&S - ic, but that's very gd already, my girl don't dare to let go of hand on any things for support. I somewhat force her to stand and walk with me holding on to her both arms, but she refuse and wants to sit down, and so I give up, no strength to carry on also...

melody,

yeah lo, that's why I touch wood. heeheehee

zenn,
Seen this website before. Really very sad. There are pictures inside not suitable for the faint-hearted wor... if you are easily upset please dun read.

janjanmum,

My gal oso like that, dun dare to let go of hand on anything for support. Only once she walk one step cos she's on our mattress, and knows that if fall down it's not painful

happy ren ri!

I tried the straw on Trisha today and amazingly she drank! I gave her normal straw to drink from 2 weeks agobut she don't want and keep biting the straw so I was quite surprised she sucked from the mag mag straw today.

icy - don't worry, I agree tat when our babies are ready, they really learn fast!

replied from aquaducks.

Sent: Tuesday, February 12, 2008 6:07 PM
To: Leong, Yvonne
Subject: Re: Trial Class

Hi Yvonne,

Thank you for your email.

Our main goal is for the children to be happy, so we ensure that the children are never forced to do something that they are uncomfortable to do. We do practice putting the children under water unless the coaches are confident that the child is ready and happy to do so. ;-) And yes, parents may exit the class at anytime should they feel that the child is too tired/sleepy,etc. Sometimes, the coaches may also recommend for the parents to sit by the poolside with the child if we observed that the child is feeling a little tired that day and maybe crying quite bit.

The showers are open for use for both the parent and children.

Should you have any questions, please feel free to email us. Thank you and have a nice day!

Best regards,

Lindy
Swim Centre Verhoef