(2007/01) Jan

welcome drizzle.

Tks Milderina & Aquarius,

Actually i have craving for prawns too, but i have eczema which has turned quite bad since preggie (gynae also say will get worse).
Cannot apply my steriod cream anymore oso, so goto steer clear of prawns n crabs. *sniff*

Another preggie fren of mine doesnt take sharks fins, sardines and certain fish due to higher chance of mercury? But i still continue eating sharks fins when there's the chance heee, ok rite?

Seems diff gynae advise differently on food intake .

icylemon,
old wife myth hahaha.. think my male hormone too much. :p

btw dun think we can eat sharkfin right?? whole pregnancy also cannot becos of mercury content.

drizzler,
I also had eczema, it is still controlable, but i sometimes have to apply steriod else i cannot tahan.

my friend gynae advise dun take shark, swordfish, mackerel & tuna. Cannot take papaya, grapes & pineapple as well. I dun think i will take any shark related stuff cos mercury affect the bb nerve system.

Icy, my hubby at first also quite scared, but after try 1-2 times slow and gentle, he ok liao

Btw, I just returned from polyclinic. They did blood test...took 3 vials of blood!! and now my vein there like blue-black already...so painful!!

icylemon,
just now bought coleslaw and marshed potatoes from Popeye Chicken having them now. must keep something in the office to eat ah.

Drizzle,
my gynae is those type that every thing also can eat de. hee hee............so i everything also eat lor. but i try not to take shark fins, tuna and crayfish due to their mercury contents also.

Heard that cod fish and salmon is the best fish to take during prenancy.

Drizzle and icy,

I also have eczema, but surprisingly my eczema got better in the initial stages of my pregnancy... only last week it started itching again, then I scratched, then got worse...

icy, my gynae advised no sharksfin coz of the mercury content... best to avoid the big sea fishes as well...

Icy, mercury content in sharks' fin is alright. Unless you are talking about eatin 5-6 big bowls of it everyday then got problem...

If occasionally eat 1-2 bowls is alright

Mercury content in fishes available for sale in Singapore is not so high until it is dangerous for fetus. As long as eaten in moderation can already

Milderina, at home le la...today P let me off early cos need to go to gynae ma....

The blood test is standard antenatal blood test: HIV, Hep B, Syphilis.

Janey, 3 big big vials!! I almost fainted when I saw the nurse take so much blood!!!

sherl,
yeah, i work ard the air freight center. but just now i ate the mashed potatoes cold le, not so nice, must eat there then yummu yummy.

i juz came back from the canteen. ate one bao..

damnm hungry...

mrs wong & icy, i only get to eat shark fins during weddings only,,, sob sob...

i heard stingray oso cannot eat wor... high in mercury too...

mrs wong,

aiyoh.. need so much ar.. hmmmm must bu yi bu...

milderina,

u working as logistic personel ar? must be very stress then?

Icylemon, the blood test was done at polyclinic. I dunno Dr Woo when will ask me to do blood test.

I usually drink shark's fin soup like 2-3 times a week cos my mum will cook for me
But now my mum limit to once a week onli. Plus cannot put as much vinegar as I like, can onli put 1 tsp
*POUTS*

I used to love sting ray, but now, dun have craving for it lei...but I got craving for crabs, oyster, prawns, lala, mussels, etc...
And the fishes I normally dun like (pomfret, tuna), I suddenly just like them alot...haha...

Janey, my dad fetch me from polyclinic, I told him they take so much blood (actually I was more like cursing and swearing)...then he went to buy fish essense for me to drink, in case tonight Dr Woo also wanna take blood from me....

janey,
yeaps, very stress lor. tats y mi everyday also very tired. if financially can manage how i wish i can resign. but i cant bear to forsake my 3 mths maternity leh.

Icylemon,
its ok de. as long as u dun over eat it moderation is fine. dun feel guilty.

mrs wong,

wow.. tonight got round 2? tell ur doc u alr no much blood left to be drawn? hehehe...

Milderina,

i understand.. cos i also doing logistic/shipping stuff.. haizzz.... tired. neck always aching.. wanted to quit but feel lugi if dun take the 3 mths le... somemore, scare financial cant cope. so no choice but to stay on n bear with it...

icy, i took shark fin too but not v often.

having sore throat now. sian. i remember some gals ve sore throat rite? wat did u gals take huh?

Milderina, they dun do U/S at polyclinic. If you want U/S, they will refer you to KKH as subsidized patient.

Janey, I will tell Dr Woo tonight...one day see so much blood taken from me I will faint!!

Zenn, that time I got sore throat, only take honey mixed with lemon juice. Then doc gave some anti-inflamation meds. That's all. Oh ya, then Dr Woo told me to take pi pa gao

mrs wong, guess that ur blood test is routine blood test rite?? cos even before we try for baby, we did our own blood test too. same test like urs, HIV etc..
cos if mine wifey noe got to draw so much blood, she will faint..
wahaha!!

icylemon, can we take luo han guo?

mrs wong, u got the anti inflamation fm dr woo? ur lemon juice referring to boil hot water wif lemon and add honey?

janey, ya i took alot of water today and honey water. water like so plain

Zenn, the anti inflamation I got from my GP. My GP refuse to give me cough syrup and lozenges cos she say dunno preggie can take or not. Then happen that time saw Dr Woo, so ask him, he say can take pi pa gao

Luo Han Guo my mum dun let me take. She say v cooling, she got a m/c before after taking luo han guo, so she quite strict about that...

The honey with lemon is 2 tbsp of honey mix with 1 tsp of lemon juice (leftover lemon can put in fridge to absorb smells, then your fridge will smell nice). Just swallow the honey with lemon juice, don't drink water for 1/2 hour.

mrs wong.. last week i was sick mah.. got cough & flu. dr gynae got gave me cough syrup & lozenges leh. he told me dun take pi pa gao only. not advisable wor...

icylemon,

My GP told me can take pi pa gao so I took one tablespoon then better liao, so never take more...

But think best is dun take any medicine at all, eastern or western, just let it heal naturally...

sherl i went to see GP oso asked me dun take.. i oso curious. i asked her. pi pan gao so mild de.. oso cannot take ah... she said better not. as for gynae, he didnt give me any reason why cannot take... tats why i dare not touch...

Talk about constipation... i used to hv it b4 i pregnant. Now not so much of prob as i drink lots of water plus eat 3 servings of fruits everyday. As for yakult, i did ask my gynae and he said its ok to drink.

As i am abit kiasi, scared that will affect the baby, so i din take anything when i hv mild sorethroat, i jus drank lots of plain water.

pinky,
i also dare not take any medicine other then the vitamins gynae gave mi. sick or wat let it recover by itself.

milderina w/o medication let it heal by itself very painful de. i encountered it last week. fever for 2 days w/o medication at night suffer man...

ladies, but also must be careful when trying to let things heal by themselves, coz sometimes it might be a viral infection or something, which should not be left alone coz can be harmful to bb...

Milderina...if really buay tahan better to see doctor...like me also dare not take much medication until my flu lasted for one whole week...now still suffering...gynae also keep assuring me it's ok to take the medicines. kekeke

Sherl, you are right...my gynae said the same thing about some viral infection might affect baby but generally common flu is still ok...if too long doesn't get well then might affect baby.

milderina i saw gynae & doc le.. given panadol but i m allergy ah.. so gynae said no choice.. let my fever heal by itself...