(2007/01) Jan

milderina i rather die if not able to bathe during confinement.

ashley mum i have 2 home made rice wine made from my friend's mum.

mildy,
My aunt was not pro-bfg and believes that nursing the mom's health is more vital than anything else.. She loves to add wine, liquor and ginger to my confinement food despite me telling her nt to do so. Anyway i just continue to take the food she cooked for me bt told her to reduce the qty she uses.. My gal had jaundice for 2 mths..

Milderina - Not sure if drink direct coz my mum only use for cooking. Only few months after then I drink direct at night but only after I breastfeed baby. And by then baby can sleep till about 5-6am, so many hours have passed before I need to breastfeed again. Why not just use in cooking first?

Milderina, I did not drink alcohol but my mum did cook martell chicken for me to eat.

I wore only those bedroom sleepers...din wear socks.

serrich,
actually i was quite worried too. cos i know ginger also cause jaundice. btw, my hubby's uncle's wife told mi that when she doing her confinement she ate ard 8kg of ginger!!!! is that kwa chang or wat? she say her sister ate 15kg!!!

Although my mum use DOM/rice wine for cooking confinement food, my gal didn't have jaundice. Except the minor bit where I just sun her for a few days. Apparently, using wine, liquor and ginger for confinement food is very good for us in building back our health and getting rid of "dirty" blood inside. But then I hate confinement food but my hubby happy only - everydy indulge in pig trotters in vinegar, rice wine chicken, dom chicken....

Aquarius - Same as you, I only wore bedroom slippers (if I remember

Actually feel so dirty, smelly and unattractive during the 1 month confinement. Clothes kena milk stain from breastfeeding, perspiring all the time coz of the heaty food and the no-fan rule. And this time kena CNY during my confinement - hopefully no one comes to visit...

ashley mom, I dun like to wear socks leh so just wore bedroom slippers.

icy, the hospital nurse did not ask me to take shower.

Milderina...kekeke will get to eat a lot during confinement.

Milderina - Think not exaggerated... My cousin-in-law also consumed kilos and kilos of ginger and dunno how many bottles of alcohol. But she wasn't breastfeeding. For me, my mum only use the ginger for cooking but I don't eat the ginger at all. I ordered 6 bottles of rice wine but use only 2 bottles. My mum kept complaining I ate so little during confinement.

Aquarius - for me, the 1st thing I do when discharge from hospital is BATHE!!!
I don't dare to bathe in hospital, scared dirty. I couldn't wait to bathe and requested to be discharged a day earlier so I can go home and rest in comfort.

Milderina - But don;t force yourself to eat. my cousin-in-law put on another 2 kg during confinement and she really looks like an oil barrel
(i mean in a cute sense) I think just eat normally can already.

The main thing I remembered from confinement is feeling so sweaty and yet cannot on the fan so I just stay in the room and on the aircon. Apparently aircon can but not fan - dunno what's the logic.

Icy - I dunno why no fan, something gotta do with moving air. That's why if you ask the old folks, they will say during their time, they can't even open windows so there will be no breeze. Can die man! Luckily can have aircon - I'll die without aircon.

Blue Genie,
yeah, also bot during lunchtime..

Re confinement:
i also dunno if i can tahan the 1st 12 days w/o bathing.. maybe i will try to secretly shower at hospital before discharge, cos if my MIL knows i shower w tap water.. she sure nag n nag one..

icy, nope did not bathe in hospital...only wash the wound area...then went back home to wipe body with towel and the white rice wine with boiled water.

Ashley mom that time I did confinement at my MIL's place...no aircon so I on fan...but dun blow at me directly.

I also cannot eat much during confinement...not much appetite.

Aquarius - me too, can't eat much during that 1st month. Also mainly I don't like confinement food like pig trotters... During my gal's 1st month celebrating, i already lost 10kg.

Actually the 1st month is the most difficult, I feel, especially for 1st time moms. Everything is so overwhelming... adapting to baby and letting baby adapt to mommy, the breastfeeding part... and also the hormonal ups/downs. i remembered feeling weepy during the 1st week. Just burst out crying when I hear baby breathing too loudly..
Everyone at home was at tenderhooks, worried I will kena postnatal blues..

Aquarius - Should be water, I guess
although I didn't have much water retention. I don't care what I lose, so long as can lose weight

I know I had quite bad water retention but this pregnancy like not that much...my legs also not swollen yet. Ya as long can lose weight can already...kekeke

Oh...so it is true that we can take DOM/rice wine and pig trotters vinegar during confinement? Cool, cos I love them!! Was sad as I thought I can't take during breastfeeding.

Err..where to buy so much rice wine and vinegar ah?

Bluegrapes - For me vinegar, bought from supermarkets. For wine, i ordered homemade ones. think couple of mummies here also have contract for the rice wine. Better buy before you deliver.

Ladies, count me in for the smoothing nipple oil.

Just came in to office, got to catch up what have been written today.

oh ya... who is doing the BP of smoothing nipple oil??

bb milk check with you. r u using medela electric breast pump?

Zenn - It depends how much your confinement helper will cook and how much you eat. I use my sis-in-law and cousin-in-law as a guide and they ate up 6 bottles (like those big beer bottle) during their confinement. I ordered 6 and used up only 2.5-3 bottles. The rest my family consumed over the next 2 years
this time I'm just ordering 3 bottles coz I know this is the amount I'll roughly take. How about other mums like Serrich and Aquarius? How many did you ladies consume?

Aquarius - I ordered from my hubby's sis's hubby's distant aunty
The rice wine is home-made, the cooking type. Can't really remember how much.. something like $15 or $18 per bottle. The bottle is those big beer bottle type. I just ordered yesterday. If you're interested, let me know.

Talking about bathing... I really pei fu those who can tahan not to bathe for few days.

I immediately wash myself up after I gave bith few hours later. And when doing my confinement, I bathe 3 times a day. Cos after giving birth, the body tends to perspire alot, and u will always feel very hot... no joke. 1 day can change a few sets of clothing.

But you gals stick to whatever you believe. Dun follow me, who knows I might be having alot of pain here & there when I grow old.
(but hoh, the older generation also stick to confinment last time, and now also here pain there pain)

I stay at near Admiralty MRT and work at Raffles City. Over weekends, i may be at Marine Parade or Boon Lay area.

My hubby will go and pick up the rice wine from dunno where
. If you want, will get hubby to pick yours up and pass to you. Where do you stay and work?

ashleymom, am staying at seng kang, work at kallang...like a bit inconvenient for you leh. Nevermind, I will check out if got other source to order from. Thanks for offering!

As for taking wine (either it is rice wine or DOM) and ginger, those intending to breast feed shouldn't take too much.

For wine, the alcohol will go directly to the baby when we breast feed. No major harm to baby, but you will tend to have a 'drunken'/sleepy baby.

For Ginger, it is also nto adviseable to consume to much. Becoz asian babies tend to have Jaundice... I have to stop taking ginger (advised by my PD) becoz Malcolm is a Breast Feeding Jaundice baby.

For those who have attended the pre-natal classes in TMC, I believe the person did tell you not to take too much wine & ginger, right?

Aquarius - Sorry, gave you wrong price. Pregnant women cannot remember things. Just called my sis-in-law, she said 1 bottle is $8, not $18. Paisei paisei...

bb milk do u know where can i buy the cooling bag? i heard the bag very good. can keep the milk for long hours with the ice pack.

Alamak just now i wrote such a long posting then my coy power trip!!! Arrrggghhh..... Have to re-type everything..

Ashley_mom,
I can feel a bit of pain during the massage.. Overall it was still bearable..

zenn,
Oh u'll be surprised and amazed.. After the first session my DH said my tummy shrunk! I can also tell the difference!! So the $$ is worth it hor?!

mildy,
It's not surprising to hear mommies consuming so many kilos of ginger during confinement.. If i am nt bfg, i will also take as much as possible. Ginger is good for reducing water retention in our body. Also helps to remove wind in our stomach..

Icylemon - I bought mine from Kiddy Palace, can't remember the brand but there's a polar bear logo on it. Cost about $25. The ice packs also from Kiddy Palace, can't rememebr how much but very ex.