2006/2007-Twins/Triplets MTBs

wow, this thread is so active i can hardly keep up! i am so amazed by all the energies of the mums and mums to be here. it really keeps my spirits up.

i have found 2 mums in the preemies thread that have gone through the experience and it is very very heartwarming to read about what they went through with the twins. really inspires me to be a patient and good mother to be. at times like this, i realise how support is so important.

jaspire, congrats on ur pregnancy. i detected one sac at wk 5+ and by the next visit at wk 8, already saw the 2 of them in the same sac with a thin membrane (identicals). it's a very different experience from carrying singletons.. much more movement. Do hope you will have a wonderful smooth pregnancy.

Hi irin and xbliss, many thanks! At least I know that if at wk5 seeing one sac may not necessary means that I am going to hv just 1 baby until its confirmed further down the wk in wk7 or 8. Hee, must be mentally prepared first. Kekeke.

just like to share that i deliver at KKH n before that, was hospitalised there for a few days due to bleeding. Stayed in B wards but had very good experience with the services. In tems of gyne, I recommend Dr June Tan (if you more comfy with female) or Dr SF Loh. Dr Loh is very experienced with multiple births. i had to go for c-section as both twins were breached n he delivered them in one minute apart! The whole experience was good n fun even! (i was on epidural)

blessed mom,

We had similar experiences at KKH.
I went thru c-section too but cos my cervix didn't dilate after water bag broke for very long. And I also thought that that it was fun cos the nurse and my gynae was telling me jokes to distract me and my twins came out a minute apart too.

The only difference is probably my gynae is Dr John Tee.

good morning mummies. i'm definitely feeling better today after talking and emailing with 2 other mummies who have had ttts. actually looking forward to my check up at kk tomorrow. maybe its becos i'm in better spirits, feel the 2 of them kicking better, etc.

kais, i was very anti-kk cos of previous experiences when i accompanied friends there. So i was at TMC until we found out we had tts. Then got transferred to KK. Seriously, i must say my opinion of them have changed. They actually do give a lot of attention to multiple pregnancies, esp like mine so complicated. During my stay last week, they took good care of me. I won't say they are the most coordinated (sometimes need to ask few pple to get what you need) but at the end of the day, they still try their best. Make the best use of the time that you have now to rest and get hubby to do the errands instead. thats what they are here for right?!

I have started a thread for 2007/jan/feb/mar mommies, so that it would be great to share as we would be more or less in the same stage. Those interested see u there too

I started this twins/triplets mtbs thread thinking there may not be many mtbs with multiples now i m amazed as in how many of us hav multiples......great!

will post the link soon

xbliss,
Glad to know that u r feeling better.......stay happy and cheerful k

I too became anit-kk after my experience with the nursery at ward 86 and when my 6day old was admitted in B2 ward (Children tower) for one day but i must say that the nurses who took care of me after delivery and my doc (SF Loh) are really great, recently my second son was aslo admitted for 3 days in ward 80(A1) and the nurses were really great with him........so its the experience that makes up our perception. Now i go kkh when its really necessary.

I am currently 29 weeks pregnant with twins. Are any of you a subsidize patient @ KKH? In KKH do they encourage natural birth instead of c-section for twins. Also becos I do not have a fixed gynae, are the midwives there friendly/experienced etc...

Would appreciate any advice. Thanks in advance.

Longxia,

welcome & congrats!
I gave birth at KKH but not a subsidize patient. My gynae don't really encourage c-section. It was cos my water bag broke for too long then he suggested c-section. The nurses there are quite friendly & helpful though some can be quite fierce. But those at the neonatal side are very caring & nice.

Thank you so much to all for your take on KKH. I will go to see Dr SF Loh. He apparently is recmd by everyone i know so he must be really jai. It's just that i'll be going to B2 to get subsidy (with 3 bb. it's gonna coast a bomb)so i hope he will deliver me even though i cannot choose.

Then again, i believe in the higher power. He will take care of us. <'.'>v

Hi Kais,

Talk to Dr Loh, he is very helpful and also mindful of your cost. It is true that you cannot choose doc coz of the subsidy but if he is around, he will def help. ypu can also consider b2 first n then downgrade after you give birth. Talk to the nurses at KKH, they can advise you. this way, you get the doc you want to deliver you n yet get the subsidy n cheaper rates after you give birth (ie, downgrade yr class after delivery). when my twin needed to stay in special nursery, straight away, i am being advised of cost n how i can save money if i downgrade, etc. so don't be shy to discuss or ask KKH staff.

Ah Da,
which goverment hospital are you with? I was with KKH, and gynae gave me leave from 26 weeks onwards. I did not even ask. for twins pregnancy usually they are willing to give leave unless you want to work till give birth?

Kais,
no worries. think KKH is quite good, even through I have some complaints on the SCN, my boys are premature at 34 weeks, and 1 of the twins stay for another week after I was discharge. delivery wise, is okay. my gynae is very careful, i have to see 2 gynae actually in kkh. haha, quite costly.

Hi Ah_may,

I'm in SGH. I've tried asking my gynea for leave. He said that I'll need to take my own leave leh. I'll ask him again in the next checkup which is 2 weeks from now. Hopefully he can give me MC to rest at home. I'll be 31 weeks by then.

Did your gynea from KKH give you MC or hospitalisation leave?

Blessed mom & Ah May
i will take your advice on KKH. Guess having multiples and singles are so different. The other thread i was in everyone is expecting singles so all can afford pte hospital and the pic painted of KKH wasnt tt rosy.

we all know how medical bills can add up so it's gd to know tt most multiple moms went to kkh. it's comforting. KKH must have a lot of experience with multiples as well. i was a result of multiple birth at KKH and i turn out great... hehehhe

sigh,tmw i will have to bade dr eunice chua farewell.

"...all things work tog for the good to those who love God..." :>

<font color="0000ff">Kais</font>,
Yes, as long as you're in HIS Hands, it doesn't really matter which gynae, midwives or nurses will attend to you at KKH. HE will ensure the right personnel be there with you at the right place and right time. PTL.

kais,

I understand what you meant cos another thread I went to was also strongly against KKH but they are singletons' mummies. And the problem is they were only there for 2-3 days with their babies & they had so much complaints about KKH. On the other hand, some of us here were in KKH for quite sometime before delivery & some of our babies in the NICU/SCN too also didn't have as much negative feedback.

Ah Da,
he giving me hosiptalisation leave cause MC exhausted liao. during pregnancy 1st trimester I took abt 2 months of MC due to excessive vomiting and sharp back pain. the gynae who offer me hospitalisation leave is a twins specialist, but now he is in raffles medical liao.

hi mummies and mtbs, i would think that kkh is actually pretty automatic in giving MCs/Hospitalisation leaves to twin/triplet mtbs. I din have much problem. and i think that bedrest did me a real lot of good both physically and psychologically.

some updates about the babies..we went for our regular scan yesterday, the smaller twin had only grown a little. the docs are still rather negative. in the end, based on someone's experience and advice, we went ahead for tcm. will update on progress next week when we go for our scan again.

anyway, just a note on subsidies.. we enquired at ADC and they told us to see Clinic C (mainly operated by MOs) to get subsidies. So we did.. and yes, we are finally classified as subsidized! It's quite a big difference from pte patient cost ok? Not that we are being petty, but if we have to go for regular scans and maybe hospitalisation (in my case) plus if i foresee the possiblity of NICU, i thought it made much more sense. hope this info helps.

Ah Da, I too was given hospitalisation leave to rest from 30/31 wks onwards. In fact, I was hospitalised for 2 days when I had contractions in my 32 week. Think my gynae is the same as Ah May- Dr Tony Tan, he's specialised in multiple pregnancies (think Ah may has more than 1 gynae at KK.. Ah May, am I right?). Think i was his last KK Hosp patient. I was previously seeing a A/Prof in SGH.. during one of my check-up, the doc used the doppler to listen to the bbs' heartbeats. He just pressed and said,' this is the heartbeat.. ur bb is fine'. Then, he went on to tend to other matters. I tried to explain to the nurse that there should be 2 sets of heartbeats and she gave me a puzzled look. It was after this check-up that I made up my mind to switch to KK Hosp.

Jlyn,
yes, I seeing Dr Benjamin Tham initially, refer by my first gynae in the private hospital. Dr Tham scan me first time confirm identical twins with another empty sac. so he is worried plus one twin much smaller than the other, suspect ttts. so at start of 12 weeks or so, i see Tony Tan as well. I did amnio because of the thick neck scan at 18 weeks, got mc again. At 22 weeks, preg sort of stablised with good blood flow to both twins, although one much smaller than the other. at 26 weeks, tony just told me can give me leave all the way to delivery. that time I am seeing him and the other gynae almost weekly or bi weekly. quite expensive, and yes if can down grade to C class will be good for me. haha, but I want to stick to the two gynaes, so did not dare to downgrade. actually when tony feel my case quite safe that time, he did not see me liao but ask his "assistance" to see me. this young gynae, doc lau, quite sad my babies bully him, scan with him take 1 hr plus. tony can scan me in less than 20 minutes. from 30 weeks onwards, i see mostly dr tham, to prepare for delivery. ctg monitor plus scan, very time consumning.

Hi Irin (wiky), Thanks for the reply. I am actually seeing another Gynae at Gleneagles so when I go to KK for appts I don't feel secure. I have not decided to go to which hospital to give birth. So many worries on the mind now even though so far the pregnancy is uneventful.

longxia,
I think you cannot chose to have natural or c-section.
both my gynaes are different, dr tham dun give me no chance, to him, identical twins with 1 placenta, safe period is birth time within 10 minutes difference, hence only c-section especially I am first time mother.
he dun want any risk for the mother or babies.

whereas for dr tan, he encourage natural, mainly he was trained in uk, where almost all twins are usually born via natural. but he did stress that you will have to take the risk that in the event if there is a problem during the second delivery, you could lose the baby or undergo emergency c-section.

another consideration, when I deliver my boys at 34 weeks, dr tham was worried and delay the birth by 24hr to give me the injection to mature the lungs. no more place at nicu at kkh, so if got problem, my boys may be in danger.
if I am in house patient at kkh, no place, others will be turn away, as later i found another mummy complaint her baby was turn away and send to sgh in the end around that time.

hi ah may, could i check for your case, how different were your twin's weight when they suspected ttts? how did the twins do throughout the 3 trimesters and and wat was their birth weight?

I am very encouraged to hear that in your case, the blood flow evened out by 22 weeks and u could deliver at 34 weeks (my current target.. aim higher a bit, at least if fail miss by a bit lor). i am now with ttts stage 2 and nearing 22 weeks.. really do hope for better news cos my donor twin is prob like half of his bro's size only. do share with me? thanks.

xbliss,
they suspect ttts because at 12 weeks, my boys are 55mm and 66mm.
by 18 weeks or so, they even out to abt 81mm. they suspect I may be having ttts, but not really suffering from. Dr tony tan monitor closely till 22 weeks before he told me should be quite okay liao. Along the way, I did research and read that high protein diet (drink ensure) and music to relax help the babies. I drink soya bean milk instead, everyday abt 1 box, i think abt 1 litre. actually the risk for ttts is all the way to giving birth, so try to relax and talk to your babies all the time. think it helps.

actually when my boys are born, they are 1.9kg and 2.3kg only, quite different from the esitmated 2.5 kg and 2.3kg.
by 24 weeks, i am on ADALAT to prevent premature delivery till 32 weeks. I stop work from 26 weeks onwards. actually think that time I pregnant, i work very little. keke.
Jia You.

hi ah may, u were really hardworking in terms of ensuring best for ur kids! we thot everythin was ok cos by 4th month, the weight diff was still acceptable. who knows. now bz eating proteins n soya milk. hopefully it works!!

hi, also to share my experience, at KKH, i was also seeing 2 gyne n do scan at ADC every 2 weeks. Doc also concern about tts. anyway, there is this graph that ADC plots after every scan n you will be able to see the risk factor. at one stage one twin was growing faster than the other n later it sort of stablized. At birth, one twin was 1.9kg so had to stay on special nursery for extra week. i was given ADALAT too, from 2nd trimester onwards n deliver at 35 weeks. was given hospitalisation leave from 31 weeks to rest so as to prolong the preg and it really worked. of course prayers as well! now to think back, wish i took mc even earlier...
leaving one twin behind was very heart-breaking. cried everyday till he came home.

i also recommend the book supernatural childbirth by jackie mize. my contractions were not painful n it made me thought that i was till long way from delivery....but was actually quite dilated n babies ready to come out! The Rock bookshop at SUNTEC sells, if anyone is interested.

this ADC always never give me a copy of all the scans and reports. I will ask them for all of it next week. sometimes nothing to refer to also feel a bit helpless. blessedmom, u still have the book? i'm now on bedrest and not sure how to get out to get the book. maybe i could buy it from u?

Best Twins mom, the link is not working, it seems.

xbliss

You can buy the book on sg.auction yahoo. I went online and found two Supernatural Childbirth being auctioned. It's cheaper than in bookshop too. Mount Zion is selling it for
$16. Auction - $7.90.

The supernatural childbirth book is indeed an inspiring read. Pity I didn't get to use it when I delivered.

Question for mommies, any of your babies had umbilical hernia? I have a suspicion that my boy has it.

hi xbliss, can you pm me yr address, i will give you my book if you dont mind it being second hand. i will mail it to you by next week.

xbliss, i didnt ask for all the reports from ADC lah but did ask for a photo copy of 1 or 2 and they quite obliging. didnt ask for all since we are there every 2 weeks anyway. who is yr ADC revewing doc? the doc always show us the report and the graph and explain what it means, where the twins stands etc.

hi blessedmom, thanks so much for the offer. i have already bid for the other copy on the auctions kais mentioned!

I go back to kk on a weekly basis. The reviewing doctor depends on who is around frm the high risk pregnancy team, but usually is Dr June Tan. They dun really show us the graph, but rather analyse it for us. Who was reviewing your case then?

ondine (you are EnJ?),

my boy's belly button protruded out for 1st few months of his birth too. The PD says it's a small hernia but will go off by itself within a year and true enough, it disppear when he was 3-4 months old. You can check with your PD if you are still unsure.

EnJ
my girl had umbilical hernia. it sort of appeared when she was abt 6 wks old after a bout of crying, but went away by the time she was 3 mths. it's generally harmless (just looks alarming) and will disappear on its own. but you do need to monitor it meanwhile. just press down on it gently, maybe each time you bath him. it shld be soft and yielding, and not hard and rigid (which might mean that his intestines have potruded into the space, and that's not good). you can google the condition on the Net - there's quite a bit of info on it. don't worry - evan's prob fine and not bothered by it. my girl's belly button looks perfectly normal now.

EnJ, my DS had umbilica hernia. It only appeared in the 2nd month when his bout of severe colic started (prolonged crying). The protrusion was huge and spongy. When relatives and frens saw it, they were alarmed, but the PDs all said it was harmless and would go away. And like what Irin said, it did go away when DS was about 5 months old. Now his belly-button looks as normal as can be!

> Only multips support group in Singapore
> http://www.twinsplussing.com/
>
> Here are links to articles on the La Leche League website
> Nursing Multiples
> http://www.llli.org/NB/NBmultiples.html
>
> Breastfeeding Premature Infants
> http://www.llli.org/NB/NBpremature.html
>
> Great books to read are
> - 'Mothering Multiples' by Karen Kerkhoff Gromada.
> - 'Attachment Parenting' by Alison Granja
> - 'The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding' by La Leche League
>
> DO NOT read these books bcos they don't teach the right things - 'On
> Becoming Babywise', 'What to Expect When you're expecting', any sleep
> training books.

The above info was sent to me by a fren. Hope it will useful

Thanks all, it makes me feel alot better! And strangely, it's on the boy who doesn't cry as much as his sister.

My girl now is very sticky with the maid. She only take the bottle from the maid. Bit worried about what will happen when my maid goes on off days!

And oh! I found out that my stomach muscles have split because of the size I grew to during pregnancy. Any of the mommies out there get this?

EnJ - the stomach muscles splitting is normal, even for mummies with singletons... you can do exercises to get it to get back together... I think the nurse did come to show me after my first, but I never bothered to do it... it was gross though, feeling how they moved apart... but yes, there are things you can do about it. Something like stomach crunches... if I remember correctly.

anyone had two confinement nanny? I tried looking for one confinement nanny for my triplets but most rather reluctant.

$4K for two. What exactly should a confinement nanny do? Anyone with a detailed job scope?

<font color="0000ff">kais</font>,
$4K for 2 CLs? Its a bit expensive, I think. Are you delivering near CNY???

I do agree its quite impossible for one CL to take care of mommy and 3 newborns. But if you have another helper, like maid, mother or in-laws, you may be able to get by with the help of just one CL. But she'll have to be a capable one though. CL's job scope covers taking care of mommy's confinement meals, helping with "everything" related to babies so that mommy can rest, as well as other chores like laundry and cleaning up the kitchen after she cooks.

In my case, there was just me and CL alone, so I have to close one eye on the household chores part. Afterall, she's only human and I cannot expect her to do everything. She takes good care of my twins 24/7, cook meals, boil herbal water for my shower, make red dates tea twice a day, clean the house daily with magic clean, mop the kitchen every evening after dinner, does the laundry. I think basically that's about it. I did the same (minus confinement meals and herbal shower) for 2 weeks after she left and I was "zombified". I feel like a dead person living in a warm body bcos I'm totally exhausted and incoherent. Kekeke... Btw, I paid $2650 for my CL.

If you have no issues financially , I think its better to engage 2 CLs. Or perhaps mommies with triplets here may have a better solution.

kais, happen to see your poat, i recently gave birth tp my triplets... i had 1 CL. btw the babies may not come home with you so soon... my triplet 1 came home 3 days after me, and my triplet 2 came home after 30 days in scn, triplet 3 came home 37 days later.... so my CL only had to take care of me and tr1. tr2 came back 2 days before she left,.. so i negotiated with her to charge singleton's price...you can try...