(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

Qianhui,

Oh, It's very sad to hear abt the accident.... not many ppl can easily accepted it....take it easy ok... send my condolences to your aunt's family as well....

Jackie,
Ya lor, then she nvr confirm with me, then this morning say meet for tea, I wait until my mum buy me tea she also haven't call, plus heavily raining here, so nvr go out lor...

Jen,
ya, SAE is Self-Address Envelope.
For my mum hor, she told me no fan for the whole confinement, then after 1 mth can blow also not direct or strong, cos the pores still not fully closed yet mah, that's y my confinement last 40 days.

Shihui, Dey,

Talking abt bedsheet, Aussino got sell only the cot bedsheet, but it's the plain colour type, ie either blue or pink, not sure if there's green. It's quite cheap, think $9.90 for 2 pcs. The material is very nice, it's like those T-shirt material and it's very comfortable.... u can try to buy those if you don't mind it comes only in plain colours and without pattern.

Jen,
Ya lor, today so quite....Not use to it ....Imagine when more ladies pop than even worst.

Vanessa,
Welcome back...My MIL also doing 40 days confinement for me leh. I sweat man
kao_dizzy.gif

qianhui
i m sorry to hear abt the accident......so sad
do take care ok.....bb coming out soon & ur mum needs ur support 2......take gd care

Vanessa,
u are saying ur mom stay beside the church ar? ok.. i discus with my sis. i pass the slip to my sis. she stay at Blk 136 oni. she goes market for breakfast with hb over the wkend. can ask her slot into ur mom letter box. but pls ask ur family member dun think is all junk mail & all sweep to flr leh. ahhhaha.. else i will put in envelope for u attn ur name.

Jackie,

No need to sweat lah, 40 days are tough, but all this are for our own good, at least ur MIL bothers to ask u to do for 40 days, given others MIL, don't care liao lor, afterall u r not her daughter, who cares what happen to u when old age rite? Take it easy and appreciate her kindness lor

Jen,
Ya, when we start to pop 1 by 1 hor, really quiet liao, looking at Nov thread u know...

Jen,

Oh, really thank you so much, but if it's too much a hassle, don't bother, we can always think of other way to pass me the pts. Don't worry too much abt it, k?

Vanessa,
U r right abt my MIL. Both FIl and MIL treat me like their daughter lor. Am really lucky. Will just 'ren' for my own good

Jackie,

U r very lucky to have such MIL....how I wish I've this kind of MIL / FIL, but too bad, my MIL/FIL is old enough to be my grandparents liao, so no chemistry.

Qianhui

Sorry to hear abt your aunt. I know it's easier said than done, but you have to be strong and take care of yourself. I'm sure your aunt would want you and your baby to be happy and healthy.

Vanessa
Really? Aussino sells nice cot sheets for 2 for $9.90?? Wah must really chiong there to see liao. Thanks!!!

Chang,
I dun dare to drink coconut everyday leh.. scared it will be too cooling..i drink only once a week...

Vanessa,
I just sms MBB..wait for her reply..

Dora,
Got lah, but only the cot sheets and not really nice, cos only plain colours, but very comfortable for sure lor.... not sure if it's available in all the stores, mayb u can check ur nearest store
The price should be correct lah... me also not too sure, agar-agar nia...

Qianhui,
sad to hear abt your aunt.. take care.. hope your mom will be able to overcome the lost.. maybe little grandson's arrival will brighten up ur mom's mood..
got to tell bb to be guai guai n stay inside mommy longer liao...

Jackie,
true hor.. if i take 3 mths continuous, will lugi for the CNY holiday leh.. aiya... now having 2nd thots liao.. hee~ :p

CF Chang,
i heard b4 dun drink too much coconut too.. else too liang for bb.. now we still dunnoe bb's body constitute.. if too liang, in future bb may fall sick easily.. so maybe moderate will do bah...

Vanessa,
oh.. got cheap n gd ones in Aussino? gd leh.. maybe can go take a look.. but hor, t-shirt material ah.. will it get "mao mao" easily?

Vanessa,
My hubby is the only child and i am staying with them. So all of us make an effort to make the relationship work
...Plus i really think i am lucky lor

CF,
Dont think can drink everyday....I intend to drink everyweek

dey, vanessa
heee...i thk i better dun try 2 b funny & drink so much....mayb once or twice will do......thxs ah

yarloh......neber c MBB....when is her EDD?

shihui, jackie
oh.........i thot last 2wks liao so can drink more cooling stuff......ok....i will juz keep 2 1 or 2 per wk

Shihui,
The t-shirt material bedsheet from Aussion is super comfortable but mine become "mao mao"....

So today no news of anyone popping
.....Packing up liao.....Continue chatting tml, byeee

Chang,
But coconuts taste really good leh, especially on a hot day..very refreshing..sometimes really tempted to drink more..heehee...

Jackie,
i stayed with my in laws too and we also made it a point to make the relationship work..my in laws have been very accommodating so far..even if things do get tough sometimes, just keep quiet and close one eye, things will not get out of hand..understanding + tolerance is the way to go

dey
yah!!!! very refreshing rite.....sometimes 1 is not enough

wow...u stay wif ur in laws.....i admire u.....my in laws re different fr other in laws....mine is simply bo chap.....until i cannot stand.....cannot imagine staying with them ;p

Ladies, went for bb review today. Jaundice level went up so got to continue to sunbath and monitor. Thyroid level test result not out yet. My fever went down but i suspect i may have kenna UTI so may see doc tomorrow.

Serene, i got no other symptons before my water bag burst and show.

Bloom, can understand how tiring it must have been for you to do most of the things yourself. Me too during my first delivery and that time also c-section. Must ask your hb to help out more, if you dun rest enough, will take longer for c-section wound to heal. Today hb and i quarrelled when the the cf lady is in the house, think patience is limited when tired during this period.

Jen, i using the fan now but din let it blow too direct at me.

Vanessa, you din use fan got use air con? My confinement only 28 days as i think those engaged from malaysia only does 28 days. Did you shower, wash hair during the 40 days? I starting washing my hair already.

Qianhui, sorry to hear about your aunt. Life is really unpredictable.Hope your bb will come out only after your mum is back to singapore.

CF Chang, really felt like drinking coconut, i bought one but before i could drink, i given birth liao.

QSG,

My first confinement totally no fan for 1st 2 day (cos we didn't know can blow the ceiling :p) then later we on the fan just to let the air circulate in the room lor..... For 2nd confinement, I did use aircon, but I wear track pants and t-shirt with jacket to bed lor, so it's still better than no aircon, cos initially, I wear only track pants, but middle of the nite, I was so cold, then I scare I kana fever, so the next time I wear more liao, cos my mum said if kana fever during confinement hor, very difficult to recover and very suffering, cos u will feel very cold and no amount of clothing can keep u warm, my mum experienced it herself.
I didn't on the aircon everyday also lah, try to tahan lor.... As for bathing n washing hair, I only starts my first shower on my 12th day, subsequent shower will be like once or twice a week, so will wash hair every shower, but got to blow dry lor (stupid lah, blow already liao nvr shower, cos the hot air makes u perspire again

Last time I employer CL also for 28 days, think that's the normal for all CL. I also quarrelled with hb, even cried when my CL is around for my 1st confinement, cos that stupid CL is so kpo and demanding, making our breastfeeding mission difficult, hence I didn't breastfed my no.1 due to her.... stupid idiotic CL!

dey,
Oh u also staying with inlaws ...Though i am the only odd 1 out. Agree totally, close 1 eye + understanding + tolerance is the way to go

QSG,
Continue BF and that will flush out the toxic in BB body. Evee will be fine with yr tender loving care. U also take care hor, cant afford to fall sick

Vanessa,
Aiyo yr CL really too much leh.....Guess they though they know alot and want to poke into all yr business. Lucky this time rd yr mum is helping u

Serene, unfortunately I am still washing the pumps! No choice loh... he is already complaining about being exhausted after 2 days...

doremi, oh i c... ur bb is very much bigger than mine so you definitely must be feeling very xin ku right now.. jia you..just a few more weeks!

bohbiahah, actually today get to carry my bb though she is still on drip!
also get to feed her from the milk bottle. had not tried latching her yet... somtimes the look-high-or-low thingy not accurate lah... since doctor said had engaged should be low already right?

choo, yes yes, hope ur bb will only come out during full term cos its really difficult to do without a CL especially if you had been the one doing most of the household chores and then suddenly you cannot do it anymore!

Jackie, Dora, it will be at least 2 weeks before bb can come home cos she got apnea (sp? forget to breath sometimes). Doc had given her a course of meds for one week and then they will monitor her for one more week to ensure no relapse. And that's just one of the hurdle she had to cross!

dey, I think the bleeding is more gek sim than pain..cos pump already see colostrum tainted with blood then u know that bb cannot use the healthy contents inside..
So for those that had problem with the electric pumps in the hospital pls don't think that you are a failure and then give up on bf ok!

CF, you are still here!!!!!! how are u????

Vanessa, yes, LC advise the same thing. But before that was using the stupid pump once every 3 hrs so nipples didnt get any chanc to recover...

Calynn, oh..ehhee.remember wrongly..ehehhe... what mattress are you using that is so stinko?

Shihui, have not name bb yet :p Got to get it done this week cos only got 14 days to name the baby!!! :p Sigh.hubby alrady complaining... cos last time I did most of the housework so suddenly he feel overwhelmed. But don't see him finally appreicate all that I had done for the past 2 yrs leh...

Calynn, suddenly I am putting them in the glass bottles that KKH provide (cos I told them my bb still in hospital so need to pump and store and deliver).

CF, these mommies are so evil!!!!! Your delivery date must be decided by their kids? Crazy!

Shihui, when is the aussino sale ending? Is it at all branches? What is the size of the fitted sheet? Sounds like a good bargain leh. Just told my hubby abt aussino sale..he said don't want to buy till the house is cleaned up. Stupid man! Cannot depend on him for anything one! I don't even have a single bedsheet for the bb cot!

och, ahhaha.. its confirmed that

yukiee, wahhh.not bad leh... i was staying at KKH and its 4 bedder... all 4 are occupied. Outside is the nurse station so the nurses talk alot early in the morning.. got 1 bed at night use CTG so its noisy... another bed that likes to sleep with the lights on. Another bed every 3 hours the nurse wheel the bb in for bf. And its super cold at night! One lucky thing is that I got window view else sure bored to death.

Jen, why your hubby like mine? He also die die want to sleep with fan. When I want fan, he wants aircon. Now I want aircon he wants fan!CF is right, very hard to get up if you sleep on the floor. Especially if you kena c section ....

Qianhui, that is so sad!!!!!!!

QSG, so your bb staying in jaundice to sun tan or are u doing it at home (using natural sun that is)

qianhui,
sorry to hear abt your aunt. tink only time can heal the wound bah. tink u must really be strong now n try not to b too upset...erm...sometimes things happened, usually i let time heal my most upsetting wounds cos it's really easier said than done loo~ jia you~ ^^

bobianah, dey,
i understand how u feel when pple commented on our tummy being very high up...haiz...for me hor, it's my gynae who said it loo so hor it's like confirmed kinda thing..haiz...i got no hope of early delivery...my gynae even said dat big bb plus high positioning, i shd be on time or overdue....haiz....anyway, i simply tell myself dat it's olso good news lah. means can let bb fully developed loo..but honestly, very tiring loo~ T.T

vanessa,
thks for ur info..now i noe dat the difference of the avent pumps is one wif disposal bottles (the cheaper one??)...tink tink har hor, mayb i shd get one standby if really can't get kaneson manual pump on time...haiz...will check wif BSMG again later this wk bah~

shihui,
totally agreed dat both natural delivery n c-section got its pros n cons...hehe...tink both olso not easy loo~ ^^

tink most of us are hving sleepless nites..i also keep waking in the middle of the nite going to toilet..sian loo~ sometimes, i force myself to sleep hor but can't tahan the urgentness..haiz....then go toilet, olso few drops nia...really can b very "fire" at times cos when i go back to bed...my "zhou gong" not free to entertain me leow, making me so restless n tired in the morning..haiz....T.T

OK, this is my bf questions... hope u mommies can answer some of my queries

(i) massage before bf - is it compulsory? Must we do it everytime? Cos sometimes I see leaking alreayd, panic, quick pump! Then didn't massage. Will not massaging cause block ducts?

(ii) Leaking - Will we keep leaking so long as we bf? Or will all those unwanted leaking stops once supply is established? If will always leak means forever have to use the breast pad har? Cham liao....

(iii) does leaking means that the breasts are full and its time to start expressing via feeding/pumping?

(iv) I was told by the LC to express 15 min left breast and 15 min right breast. Does that mean that I should stop after that, or should I continue if there is still output? Or not advisable to continue? (ie, leave it till next round)

(v) Increase in milk production. When will supply be established? Does increase in supply means that one can pump/express more in a fixed timeframe (eg, 5 minutes produced 10ml instead of 5ml) or does it mean that supply is more but will take a longer time to express more (eg, still 5ml per minute but can express continuously for 30 min instead of 15 min)

(vi) this question is from my sister - how to know if the BM is enough for the bb or she need to supplement with FM? Seems that all those theory about baby crying etc is just theory....

(v) must we only drink red date/logan drink? Can we drink warm water? Must the red date/logan drink be drunk warm/hot or can it be drunk at room temperate. Cos hubby making noise about always having to boil red dates/logan drink for me and want me to drink plain water

Pls advise!

bloom,
erm..i dun hv the real life experience on BF but tink i can try to answer only 2 last qns. from the BSMG workshop hor, they said dat our BF supply will tally wif our bb's demand as long as u latch them on frequently n they seem to b satisfy, ie no crying loo~ there's no specific of how much ml u shd give to ur bb cos there's no markings on our breasts loo~ they said when bb is full, he or she will automatic Zzzz n will not cry. oh, they said can use the number of diapers to check on whether bb is well-fed too. er...i forget how many diapers of sh sh n poo poo leow...err...sorry can't help much...
then for another qns hor abt the red dates de, tink dat time vanessa n some other mums got mentioned dat it's better dat we dun drink plain water during confinement period else our tummy very hard to become small?? err....sorry can't help much..:p

Hi Yukie, Bloom & QSG,
Glad to know that all of you are coping well! Thanks for ur birth stories, they are definitely very information and inspiring.

Qianhui,
Sorry to hear about your aunt, it's really unfortunate. Hope you and family can be strong during this period.

Been a busy day today. Went to pick my bro up from the airport this afternoon, followed by dinner with in-laws coz it's my FIL's birthday today, then went to see gynae, and then rushed back to in-laws' place to cut the bd cake.... whew.

Shihui,
My girl now weighs 2.86kg at 36 weeks 3 days. She's moving less recently, but the CTG says she's doing fine. Do help update in the next round, thanks very much!

Siman,
My hubby also coming back on 38th week. Everytime I visit gynae, will try to put hb on speaker phone.... and the gynae always stress hb by asking him when he is coming back to SIN...

Qianhui,

I read abt your aunt and really felt sad..bt please be strong ok..talk to bb..tell him you need some time to grieve over...so come out when your mum is back in spore....take good care.

yukiee,

wow! u still can log in!
glad u are doing well! must post bb's photos once ready!

bloom,

yup .been praying n talking to bb..ask him come out in full term...i really want my CL to do confinement for me cos she is really good!

ok...log in tomorrow...

Morning Ladies,

I'm back at work liao. That's the end of my Super long weekend, now most likely got to wait till 11 Dec to start my ML ....

Anyway, Bloom, let me answer some of your questions b4 I start work:

1) It's better to do ur massage b4 every pump/feed to prevent blocked ducts. If u r leaking, u can pump first, as advised by ur CL for abt 15 mins, then massage while u pump the other side, and when u finish with the other side, pump this side again to ensure all ducts are cleared as well as milk are emptied.

2)Leaking is only temporary, not for long. Serious leaking only happens during this initial period when u r very involve in breastfeeding, leaking is also a sign of let-down reflex (means there are milk flowing for bb), some ppl do not have this hence it's rather difficult to judge if milk is flowing. Later stage of breastfeeding, the leak will be lesser or u can actually control it. If u r leaking outside, u can use ur forearm to lightly press on ur nipple and hold it for a few seconds, the leak will stop.

3) This is true more or less true. If u r leaking, u can actually feel your breast harden up, which means ur storage is full liao, u need to pump/feed to get things going....

4) After 15 mins on each side, repeat the process till there's no more milk, this is to ensure that u have empty ur breast totally. If u r experiencing sore nipple, u may reduce the duration, but ultimately the key is to empty ur breast to allow more milk to flow...

5) Supply will be more or less established in around week 6, but some may takes longer. Increased in milk supply means u r able to pump more in a given time frame.

6)Whether bb is having enough BM, we can judge by the no. of sh sh n poo poo... Generally, a newborn will have abt 6-8 wet nappies in 24 hours and watery poo almost every feed. BB will also seems satisfied after feed, like what doremi had said, will zzzz or settled down. But sometimes it's not really true lah.
But this is the guide. Some bb feed almost hrly during the 1st 2 months.

7) All drinks we drink must be warm / hot, no cold drink..... Plain water will make u look more puffy and tummy will have difficulty to go down lor.

Aiyo, ur hb huh, really leh, bb he also got share and he is complaining now.... Talk to ur hb, there's a long way down the road that he needs to handle, this is only the starts of the journey, if he can't take it now and start complaining, what will happen down the road.... anyway, not sure if ur hb is doing this.... he can actually boil a big pot of longan drink, put it in the hot flask to maintain the temperature, then he don't need to keep boiling n boiling to make it hot for u lor....
Another convenient drink is the brown rice drink, all he needs to do is to fry the brown rice dry then just pour hot water and soak it. This will help to bring down the tummy, but longan drink is a must, this can only drink once in awhile or alternate days lor..... hope I've answered all ur questions.

Do take care and rest well, it's good for the milk production.

shihui, jackie,
ya, regarding the 'lugi of CNY'...I also took 2.5 months maternity leave. left 10 days will take slowly within 6 mths lor...when need to bring bb for vaccination etc can use.

Morning ladies

Super busy day again... so quickly come in to report my presence... before anyone starts wondering if I've popped. Will try to sneak in later on in the day if I have the time!!

Morning Ladies,

Posting on behalf for your friend Serene. I am her colleague. :>

Serene gave birth to a healthy baby boy this morning. Assisted delivery wo epidural. Both mother and son are doing fine.

She is one brave gal, her hubby told me she ensured the contaction pains for more than 3 hours.

I sure you all are as equal excited as me.
I shall leave the details to her to fill your guys in when she is back. hee hee...

good morning all!

wah! serene gave birth liao!!
Congrats Serene!

bloom,
so happy to hear u got to carry your bb!
that's really great! hope ur bb will grow fast and u can bring bb home soon.

doremi, dey
ya...dun like it when ppl comment tummy high etc etc...but i think maybe not accurate? i told my gynae last nite and he said (while prodding my tummy), no la, ur bb head oredi engaged and is very low! But he said i may carry to full-term... oso good la.

Vanessa,
I have a question on BF... I read/heard that we cannot let bb sleep throughout the nite, must wake bb up to feed (if bb is a sleeper la), so, when will this nite feeding stop? during 2nd mth? My parents think i'm crazy to wake bb up to feed in the middle of the nite. they think a "well trained" bb is one that sleeps throughout without nite feeds.

Morning ladies

Serene,
Congra
....Well done gal

Bloom,
Hope yr gal can recover fast and go home soon. Must be tough on u but do hang on

bobianah,
If yr BB can sleep throughout the nite than u dont have to wake BB up. U can use a pump to express out the milk. Must at least express once to prevent engorgement. Vanessa, pleaes correct me if i am wrong

Wow, Today finally, someone popped again....

Congratulation Serene! Hope we can be as brave as u to endure the contraction without epi....
Update us soon

Bobianah,
Some ppl say is must lah, especially first few weeks, this is to ensure bb is breathing properly, but usually bb will wake up in the middle of the nite one, so u don't worry, only rare cases u will need to wake them up for feed. BB will out grown this process after 2nd or 3rd months, else u got to train them urself liao. My mum also tells me everytime that it's better for bb to sleep than to eat, so I usually bo chap lor, but like I've said, they will wake u up themselves ;P

Serene,
Congratulations !!!!!

Jackie, dey,
My in laws are staying with me too.

Does anyone felt that your 'nei nei - nipple' pain pain ? I felt it....

Geri,
U do get to have some "2 ren shi ji" before staying with inlaws right? If i dont remember wrongly

My nei nei as per normal just super heavy

Geri,

I do feel it lah when I touch it and it's now superly sensitive.... if being touch by "foreign" object, I get very irritated and angry, dunno y... even sometimes my gal accidentally touch it, I feel like slapping them...hahaha.... dunno after delivery still have the same feeling or not...

Jackie,
I stayed with my in laws for 2 years liao..they are the quiet quiet, live in harmony type..so far no problems yet..think we are the lucky few we managed to stay with in laws without any problem

Bloom,
Glad u managed to carry your girl..aiyo, blood in the colostrum? That's means u hv to throw away the precious colostrum
I think i wld be as heartpain as u if i hv to throw it away cos contaminated with blood..

Serene,
CONGRATES!!! U r so brave!!! Done it without epidural!!!

Jackie,
Ya i did enjoy some '2 ren shi jie' before my in laws moved in with us.

Vanessa,
You too ah...my sometimes like hard hard like that..and wear bra also pain
I went to buy the barney oredi, even got a barney wrapper there and asked the lady to wrap for me

serene,
congratulations!! so amazing, u did it without epidural!

bloom,
will apnea go away after 2 wks? i read that the angelcare monitor is gd for bb with apnea, not sure if it will help when u bring bb home. http://www.vine.com.sg/