(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

och
u mean ur bb actually head down then now turned up again???....alamak!!!!....wonder will mine be like dat ornt????!!!

geeeeeeeeee......sorry 2 hear abt dat......but ur mil quite bad hor.....didnt even bother 2 ask....but at least u will ve a peaceful confinement & rest well after u give birth....

CF Chang,
ohhh.. icic.. :p haha.. ya lor.. u r falling into the trap.. heee~ :p

och, calynn,
sometimes feel it nice to hav "not so bothered" in laws leh.. can hav more personal time with hubby n bb without worrying too much.. :p now i worried if mine will become frequent visitors aft my bb pop anot.. hubby even wanted his parents to come "take care" of me n bb aft CL returns... headache.. i'm soooo afraid tt they will be here to stay.. :p

shihui, bobianah, chang,
no, no, bb's head still down. but she was a lot lower last wk than she is this wk. gynae said such things sometimes happen.

shihui,
hee hee, dr rauff doesn't think my bb will be coming out early, but no guarantees lor. i'm seeing her weekly now. hv another ctg next wk. she said my bb is a happy bb, n uterus already started exercising, even tho i proclaimed to her that i din feel anything. :p

chang,
i stopped hoping my mil will be nice after i lost my bb n she treated me so shabbily. really depressed then, cos she was blaming me for losing the bb. she herself gave birth to both kids in 37th wk, n she asked me in 38th wk if bb need anything. so obviously bochap. thank goodness my mum can help me with confinement, else i will be in depression by now.

bobianah,
charges for bp only applies to bp for clothes. other bp r still free i think, unless organisers continue to make profits fr the bp.

dot cards r these cards used by shichida n glen doman. principle is that numerals r just symbols to bb. to teach bb numbers, all u need r some brightly coloured dots that u can flash at bb lor.

och,
tt means we can juz flash the card at bb n bb will absorb? hmmm.. dun need to do anything else? quite amazing leh.. :p

hee~ Dr rauff always smile when bb's happy... she will hav the happy look too... :p gd leh.. ur uterus starts exercising liao n u dun feel it.. who noes by the time ur start feeling contraction, u may be halfway thru the dilation liao.. gd leh..

bobianah,
she sleeps in seperate room lor..tats y i busy walking in n out...no aircon for bb...dun wana give her the habit..heehee.for myself..i buay tahan then on aircon..heeee

och
wah...i only know flash cards... any idea if we can get glenn doman books/cards here??

yukiee
oic...=P i was gonna put bb in my room for first few mths....got aircon...

whats the reason we cant use fan during our confinement? my hb was arguing with me say air con also consider got wind. Why air con can fan cannot? idiot man one leh. soooo idiotic one. i die die must slp on my own bed cos higher. I dun want to slp on flr with mattress cos i got wound mah. how to get up? my MIL shld slp on the flr. hahaa

shihui,
yah, amazing rite? i also cannot believe it. i borrowed the glen doman bk in mandarin n asked my mum to read. when my mum told abt all the promised milestones, i can scarcely believe it. i only learn numbers when i was 3 yrs old leh.

shichida n glen doman apparently use different card sizes, but principle is the same. according to the bk, babies can absorb anything u throw at them from birth to 2 yrs old, then learning slows a bit until 4 yrs old. some mummies flash to their kids from 1 mth old, so if u start at 3 mths old, already not the most kiasu. haha. but i think the bk recommends flashing when bb's eyesight improves lah.

bobianah,
try http://www.gdbaby.com.sg/Kits.aspx. i think the original flashcards r quite expensive. according to the glen doman bk, u need to flash 3 times a day, n change the cards day by day. it's probably more cost effective to invest in some of the bp. some of the mummies really on. they will source for pictures n organise bp of a few hundred cards at one go.

och, bobianah, shihui
hee....i m tempting 2 join the BP on the dots cards....but worried their printing not gd cos it's not the original.....dat's y cheaper.....mayb wait 4 the 2nd BP 2 c whether the comments on the 1st BP is gd ornt.

jen
i thk can use fan but dun let the fan blow directly at u......aiyoooooo....if weather so hot how 2 on aircon 4 the whole day......electric bill sure burst ah ;p btw, u cannot slp on the flr lah......very difficult 2 get up leh.....somemore u got2 get up so many times a day......how 2 tahan

chang, och
wow...interesting. can start so young at 3mths! sometimes i wish im going to be SAHM.., oh well.

I kinda like to go for original stuff cos i sometimes worry non original one not as good. but cost is lso a major factor. I've seen one or two BPs such cards go for more than hundred dollars! whew!

chang,
yah, maybe go for 2nd BP...must keep a lookout for it...lemme know if it's good and there's a 2nd BP. =P

bobianah
no prob!!!....btw, the flash cards u saw in the BP dat cost more than hundred $$$ is not original. dat's y i didnt join cos not worth it. but the dots cards cost less than $50....so can consider even thou not original ;p

bobianah,
the more i read abt children's development, the more i think the options available for home schooling is so attractive.

och
i m also considering home schooling
....if we really do it, we can meet up & bring our kids out 4 excursion to the zoo, science centre, etc juz like school ;p

och,
ya, with so much resources available, plus the not so good state of teaching at our childcare, kindergartens etc, homeschooling seems rather attractive. I hv a fren who teaches at a homeschooling "centre" (dunno if that's considered homeschool anymore! haha!).
But, hai, dunno leh, worry abt so many things like social development, whether kid can integrate back to school later, time, finances (dunno if can afford to be SAHM), etc...

Chang
wah, diapers comparison! amazing...
yup, the flashcards were soo terribly expensive. what i worry is that if quality not to standard, then may not be worthit. I wonder if the e-flashcards one is good...

chang,
even if we r not homeschooling, can still meet up for excursions!
we stay quite close to each other right? cck n bt batok. :p

i think home schooling is v. fun. i was watching xin1 xin1 mammee earlier in the yr, when they featured a mummy who did homeschooling. her kids learned such different things, so unlike what i remembered of school.

Calynn,
You pay deposit already? When I did my pre-admission, the receptionist told me the deposit could be paid when we check in on the day itself..

och, bobianah, shihui,chang,
So fast talking about flashcards already..hehee..I was given a set of flash card consisting of black and red dots during the doc's talk conducted by TMC..heard that baby is more responsive to black and red color during the early stage of development?

bobianah,
sigh, that's the difficulty of being a mummy. we r always worried. be a sahm, worried abt finances, worried abt whether our kids can integrate back, worried abt whether we will detach fr society. be a ftwm, then we start worrying if we r giving our kids a fair deal. no easy solution.

i was discussing childcare with a friend who had 2 kids. she told me that the standard of childcare really varies quite a bit across the different price range. as a result, literacy can vary by quite a bit by p1 n some p1 will even screen students, so that those with higher literacy r grouped together in the same class n those with lower literacy in other classes. kids r under a lot of stress nowadays.

if u want to go into flashcards, think u hv to read up on the flashing methods. i din read the bks myself, so i'm not sure how to flash the cards. i got some flashcards, but not intending to flash to my bb. intend to play games using those cards, so i'm not v. concerned abt quality, or whether the size matches the various methods.

dey,
yup, bb more responsive to black n red. all flashcards will use those colours i think.

ladies, i'm going to take my pm nap. :p catch up with u later.

bobianah,
You said your friend teach at 'homeschooling centre', can you let me know which is the one and where is it ? Coz i'm also interested to homeschool my kid, but i think my ability to teach like not that good leh.

Finally free to catch up on the posting....Read till i blur also...

dey,
I just spoken to my boss. Confrim ML start from 1/12 provided BB dont pop early
...So will be back to office on 1/2/07 and the 3rd mth will take as and when require

Calynn,
Yr MIL also those typical/tradition type where boy is more important than gal....She forgotten that she herself is also lady hor...

Och,
Yr MIL is worst (pardon me).....Look on the brighter side she wont come and disturb u. Than u, hubby and BB can have the lifestyle u want

Yukiee,
Vanessa is onleave so wont be able to login.....Did u mention to doc that u r BF? Than they will give u medi that is suitable for BF. If yes, than u can continue to BF

bobianah, och
sigh.....so many thgs 2 worry.......never mind we still ve time 2 consider & save $$$$

och
yeah!!!! we can organise outings when our bb re older...

dey
dat's the dots cards dat we re toking abt....it is 2 help bb 2 learn abt numbers.

och
yah, we hv a "ton" of things to worry abt! =P wonder if our hbs worry so much. I told my hb abt the flash cards/math etc...he said why do so much?? let bb enjoy childhood! =P

It is true tho, quality of childcare varies. a fren of mine, put kid in one childcare, started reading young. another fren, put in another childcare, kid same age, reading very poor. so she got worried, changed to another childcare...suddenly her kid's learning/reading improved!
I think i may not send my kid to regular childcare...sounds scary...think will pay a bit more. Even Dr Lee Wei Ling wrote abt the quality of our childcare/kindergarten a couple weeks ago.

geri
it's my church fren...i'll ask him next sunday.

Aiyo, monday posting really super long and fast leh....browse thru some posting only....

Geri,

Ya, Kiddy palace have the barney, BJ and Baby Bob, I just bought it last week, and just wrap it up yesterday in case I got no time to wrap. It cost $19.90.

Jen,
Thanks for the NTUC point. U staying in Jurong West Extension rite? What time will u be home? Or mayb I can send u a SAE? No hurry, the redemption is till January....
The reason for no fan is fan is blowing the wind/air, which can enter our pores and cause rhematisim (sp?) whereas aircon is just cooling the air, no direct blowing of strong wind/air, so should be ok. U can on the fan but just like Chang had said, don't blow directly at u, just blow the ceiling to get the air circulate in the room.

Shihui,
Aussino cot set is really good, but I find it still expensive even though it cost only $69.90, cos it comes with a quilt, and we seldom use the quilt hence it's rather expensive if they sell the whole set with quilt. I will be very happy if they sell only the bumper or the bed sheet. It's really comfortable.

Yukiee,
It's ok to breastfeed with the medication as long as it's safe for breastfeeding.... TBF bb poos many times a day, can be as frequent as every feed they poo once.... After a few weeks, bb may not poo as frequent, some bb can go up to a few days / weeks without pooing, reason given was all nutrients from breastmilk have been totally absorb by the bb, hence nothing to poo lor.... do take care and glad that u seems to enjoy ur breastfeeding career as well as ur child caring

Jackie,
I hvn't told my boss about my intention to go on ML end of the mth :p .. he kept telling me to work till the last day
I think i wld take the full 3 mths and come back 1/3/07..want to concentrate on breastfeeding my BB for full 3 months before i return to work!

Chang,
I hvn't learn how to use those cards yet..and think won't be flashing to baby so early too...he got a long time ahead of him to learn about numbers..heehee..

Vanessa,
what is SAE?
Ya i stay jurong west. My sis & hb freq NTUC one leh. dunno they got spent more than $30 & throw away the point anot. I also got 1 last time but cant find liao.

thanks for ur explaination on the fan thing. directly blow at me during confinement will cause "hong sip" ar? until when then can? 2nd mth onwards can blow direct aldy? or isit the 1st 2wks dun oni? cos pores are open...

Vanessa,
ya lor.. find the comforter wasted too since it's unlikely for us to use comforter in this kind of weather.. :p unless bb sleeps in aircon room too lah.. :p i will be really happy too if they onli sell the bumper n bedsheet...

Dey,
same here.. me planning to take full 3mths ML so tt i can concentrate on breastfeeding bb before i return to work.. since aft tt, most likely won't be breastfeeding as much liao.. :p

Jen,
i think SAE means self addressed envelope...

Shihui,
My sentiments exactly lor..i dun think i can breastfeed as much when i return to work lor, especially if i hv to go on business trip again

I will use the comfortable to cover the cot sheet and place baby on top on it..think it is softer to sleep on the comforter than on the mattress itself...

dey, Shihui,
I cant afford to take 3mth ML at one go.....Anyway good also lar cause feb short mth plus CNY office will be close for 1 week so hor will "lu gee" alot of leaves

Vanessa,
Though u going out with friends?

I just found some stretch mark ard the underwire bra area
kao_sad2.gif
......My heart really sink mah, sob, sob...

Wah a few hours never logged in, so many posts liao... read until I blur :p

Talking about cotsheets, I'm also looking for cheap cot sheets w/o the quilt leh... Think we'll need quite a few pieces right? Anybody knows where to buy cheap cotsheets w/o the quilt?

Dora,
You can buy the cotsheets separately if u dun want the quilt..I saw alot of places selling the cotsheet on its own..kiddy palace got a huge range from cheap to expensive..u can go take a look...

Dey

Thanks for the tip. Actually I saw some at $10+, only the cot sheet, no bolster and pillow case, at some neighbourhood shop. quality no good somemore.... Thought that was quite ex for such inferior quality. Thanks I'll check out kiddy palace

Many posts again...

Hai.. now, I cannot wish for BB to come out early...

My mum's only sis, met accident yesterday..

My mum received the call, she cried really badly, I also cried, never seen my mum so sad b4, after all, my mum lost her mum at age of 8 to illness, lost her only brother to accident when she was a teenager, lost her father last yr and yesterday lost her final family member who is the closest to her.. From young, they always share everything together coz they both were ill treated by the step mother..Hai.. Now my aunt is gone suddenly, she cannot take it..

Plus my aunt is very good to her even though one lives in Muar and one in Sg, my aunt helped me when I was movig house, having wedding, and she just got another grandson whom she is very happy to have in July.. Now.. she simply left, my mum is also waiting for her to come over and help out in a bit of confinement for me, see my son, etc..

My aunt is Malaysia living in Muar, she went to Thailand for holiday with a whole lot of 20 ppl all whom are my aunt's hubby's family.

The bus in Thailand spoilt and no air con, then they all came down. Then many were hit by a lorry, my aunt died on the spot straight.. in fact, 3 died on spot, my aunt is still one one piece, the other 2 in pieces... but my aunt didn't close one eye..

So sad lor, partly coz of my mum, partly coz my aunt, though we seldom see each other, but she is very very nice to me and my hubby too..

Now my mum went back to Malaysia to settle stuffs, then will be back only 1 wk later.. now I need to pray hard that BB dun come out too early liao..

I dun want my MIL to come and do confinement for me or anything.. if really give birth, think I'll managed everything myself with hubby.

So xian...

qianhui
so sorry to hear about your aunt! the accident is sooo sad!

Hope that your mum will not be too affected and she will look forward to seeing her grandchild and put the sadness behind her.
You also dun be too sad okie? bb coming soon...

Qianhui,
Sorry to hear about what happen to your aunt, especially when this is supposed to be a holiday trip for her..
Dun be too sad okie? Do console your mum too...this is going to be tough for her since your aunt is the only family member she has...

Oh no Qianhui, sorry to hear that. Your mum must be really sad..coz like 'xiang1 yi1 wei2 ming4'. Talk to bb, ask bb guai guai come out only on End Nov.

Qianhui,
I am sooo sad abt your aunty death.. Aiyooooo realli "yuan wang" leh. u "jie an shun bian" hor.. who called to tell ur mom abt this? i believe anyone (touchwood) recv this kinda of news also cant take it lar. if me i faint on the spot due to shockness aldy. Send my condolscences to your aunt family. Realli sad.

U must tell ur bb u are not ready to accept his coming so soon. Cos u are still sad in ur heart also. U need time to calm down also. But i am sure if one do confinement herself also can lar. Ask hb also take leave lor. I have a frd she will be doing confinement all by herself also. She also due Dec same as us.

Bobianah and Jackie and all,

Thanks, just that it's quite sad to see ppl leaving so suddenly, think they have many unfinished stuffs to do...

Eg: My aunt just got her grandson in July, now she is gone so suddenly, she once told my mum that she is very happy to see her grandson, coz he's so cute and clever.. Then, her son and smallest daughter also not married yet, only the middle daughter married.

Then she was supposed to go tour in China after when she is back from the Thailand trip.. now so many stuffs not done..

Think my mum is also looking forward for the day when I give birth, then my aunt come and do confinement with her, coz my mum doesn't know much bout confinement.. think my mum also hopes to share the joy with her, plus my aunt loves little babies and knows many things..

I also agree the accident is so sad lor, I mean, while 3 died on spot, the rest also have injuries... then my aunt was pulled out from under the vehicle..
then she one eye opened, think she got some unfulfilled stuffs also..

Think just last week, my mum was shopping with my aunt in Muar, now, she will never get to see her or call her sis again..