(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

Dora,
i have same thinking as ur frds.. i tell my hb say id dotter bday falls on xmas. nxy time she will recv combined gift from BF or parents.. lugi ...

dey,
ur gynae so good! give u mc to rest. i told my gynae abt the pains, she only told me it will get worse. :p

dey,CF Chang,
my tummy oso always itchy.. sometimes i scratch until red red... but can't help leh.. will subconsciously scratch one.. :p den last night, while hugging hubby, i was scratching his tummy subconsciously too.. hubby asked y i scratch his tummy.. den i told him it's becoming auto reflex liao.. :p

i had bad tummy rashes few wks ago.. went to see GP n she gave me 1% hydrocortisone cream to apply.. supposedly to stop itch.. quite effective.. within 1 week, my rashes clear up..

och,
i think for our gynae, as long as no complication, all other complaints are part n parcel of pregnancy.. :p

Chang,
My itchiness is all over the body lor, not only the tummy..I also dun dare to scratch, scared got scar if scratch too hard..

Bobianah,
Dun think it is dry skin leh..initially i tot it is dry skin too but it still feel itchy after i put moisturer leh... Gynae mentioned something about itch can happen to preggies if liver unable to purge out the tonic...i never asked in details..just hv to bear with it lor...

Bobianah, och,
I called the gynae a few times to complain about the pains and cramps..moreover, i am walking like a penguin already...prehaps thats why she gave me MC to rest...

Qianhui,
sometimes u can try changing the type of moisturizer u used.. initially, i was using mustela anti stretchmark cream.. den everytime aft apply, i feel itchy... aft tt, gynae recommended tt i switch to J&J baby oil.. supposedly very mild.. but ended up with rashes.. den i change to lanolin cream (the onli moisturizer i hav) n it's okie liao.. but heard b4 tt lanolin not gd for bb.. so i switch to bodyshop's Vit E body lotion.. now so far so gd.. :p

My tummy not so itchy liao, but now my skin is very very dry, not only on tummy but all over my body... Now moisturizer got to put almost whole body. But it's still drying up. I was telling hubby that baby is sucking me dry, I'm drying up like a raisin :p

dey,

So shiok, got MC to stay home, me kana sai, that time complain whole body ache also no MC, not even 1 day

Qianhui,

Stop scratching liao, later ur tummy not nice cannot wear bikini or short t-shirt then u will cry liao....

shihui,
i agree, i think our gynae v. calm, as long as not bleeding, she is ok. that time i told her i was running a 39 deg fever, she just asked me if i already hv appt to see the ent doc, din even give me mc.

Today the tread abit slow hor...Think alot of ppl MIA like me or on leave liao...

Shihui,
Just sms yr friend and say hubby worry so cannot attend the wedding......

Vanessa,
Last night was asking hubby to bring me out for a breather during x-mas but he wont't promise me
...Say must see how we are coping with BB 1st

Dey,
Got MC can rest at home....Enjoy kekek

Qianhui,
Dry skin will lead to itchy skin...Try applying moisturiser.

I also dunno why itchy sometimes.. even applied the moisturizer liao still itchy.
Think I'm Sun Wukong, obessed with scratchin liao..

Qianhui
Try changing the moisturise... sometimes you might be sensitive to certain compounds in the moisturiser

Jackie,
my hb told me we sit in the car should b ok lah, furthermore bf, so no need bottles, just a hankerchief plus my nei nei can liao....haha

oh ya.. ladies, i think my pregnancy hormones getting lesser now..

the hormone which makes my hair fuller is decreasing and i drop a little bit of hair (not as much as last time before pregnant) but more when compared to the past few months whereby i almost didn't drop hair.

erm..i dunnoe whether i scratch my tummy unconsciously but there are lines (red veins) forming leow..i tink they are stretchmarks loo~ initially, jus mrt map then like sg map...now seem like world map leh....T.T

jackie,
wanna ask u..dat day u all mentioning the sickness dat only bb boy will inherit whereas bb girl only are carriers..wat sickness is dat??? and hor, hv u bought any manual pump?? i tinking of buying but dunnoe wanna wait or jus buy tis sat since it's our last lesson...i olso tinking of getting dat sling cloth..BSMG got sell rite?? how much hor?? u noe??

Vanessa,

3-4 mths.. aiyo.. then how? will rebonding make it worse? I thinking of rebonding a few day b4 BB's full mth.. in time for the CNY.. but rebonding will make hair looks thinner.. then more hair drops.. even thinner..

why BB drop hair also?

qianhui,
oh... me too leh... the whole house used to be full of my hair... after i got preggie... was so happy to find tat my house was so much cleaner... but these couple of days realise tat seems to be increasing...

Vanessa,
aiyo... is it really bad? should we go cut our hair short short?

Calynn
I think it can get quite bad one... I've a colleague who refused to cut her hair short, and even when to colour etc... in the end she was dropping so much, can start to see her scalp leh...
Think I will go cut my hair short short... :p

Calynn,

U too ah..

Me also.. yesterday I was telling hubby that my hair is going to start to drop again..

I remember for the past 6-8 mths.. my hair dun really drop.. now.. it's slowly going to be back to normal liao.. (meaning dropping more and more soon)

Doremi,
Personally, I like Avent manual pump and so far I have only use Avent manual pump. According to BMSG, there's another pump which is cheaper, good, effective and less parts to wash, but think it's make of glass and it's very very old fashion... the brand is Kaneson... heard of it?

Qianhui,
Dunno leh, rebonding think will make it worst leh... I also dunno why bb hair will drop, think that's also another reason y ppl shave it at full month. Some bb will drop their hair until very ulgy, like 1 patch 1 patch bald and u can see it very obviously... take note of bb around u.... luckily for my bbs, not that bad lah, my bb only show thinning, but not bald patches....

Calynn,
Ok lah, if u don't mind, then not neccessary to cut short lor, usually I don't bothers..

dora,
yee..u sound very scary leh..can see scalp...now is ur colleague getting better??? now i olso worried...i tinking of going for rebonding follow by colouring too leh..

vanessa,
ya ya..i heard of kaneson from the forum. actually i tinking of buying dat one but i dunnoe whether it's real good loo~ heard dat very hard to get it elsewhere except in BSMG n thomson hospital which usually run out of stock. erm...mayb i shd go n c tis sat...thks for ur info..tink will consider kaneson n avent manual pump then...^^

Vanessa,
U noe hor, my hubby was just telling me that we shld get a tin of formula at home to stand by....So upset
......He worry that i will starve his son
.....Told him i need his support for BF and BB will have fat to last for 1 weeks....Must show him i can do it

doremi,
Red veins are sign of stretchmark....Quickly got apply more stretchmark cream...

Actually i also dont noe what illness is that. My question for the speaker was whether BF can drink tonic and chinese medi. Than she start telling me if BB got that particular illness (cant remember the term) which will be detected by PD after birth than PD will give a list of food to avoid. N like what u mention, it affect boy only...

As for pump, my GF have pass me her manual avent pump so will see how it goes after BB is born. Think is $50+ if i am not wrong. Maybe u want to get one to standby 1st.

MIM sling cost $40+ at robinson. I got 2nd hand from this forum at $25
....BSMG do sell all the items u are asking but not too sure abt the price...I am getting the cream this week too. Last week was in a hurry to leave cause hubby was already waiting

Qianhui, Calynn,
Vanessa is right, after birth our hair will start to drop with BB till 3-4mth....According to my MIL can drink so chinese herb (hair like fern) to "bu" hair.....That why i have cut my hair to shoulder length

Doremi

Not trying to scare you lah, I was also very scared... she took very long lor... went for dunno wat hair treatment etc... now better liao... but her girl is like 2 years old now liao lah....

Think I will let my hair stabilise before I trying anything funny on it, cos before pregnant, I already have hair loss problem leh... only when pregnant then very happy that hair stop dropping... but if after delivering, everything start dropping again, I think I will become botak very soon lor... haiyo...

Actually my hair not too thin to start with.. everytime I go hair cut the hairdresser always complain.. always say my hair too thick needs to layer a lot..

My sister hair a bit leser..

Thus actually I think if I rebonding and hair drops, will still looks so so..
But women are vain creatures lah.. I still will not be able to stand hair leaving home..

Jackie and Doremi

I think the illness that you gals are talking abt sounds like G6PD (Glucose-6-phosphate deficiency). The body is lacking in a particular enzyme. Cannot eat broad beans and cannot go near napthalene (those strong smelling white waxy things that you put in the cupboard to prevent mould)
It's not true that only boys will get it, but boys will have a much higher chance of getting it. I have a galfriend who has it too.

doremi, qianhui,
i was also planning on rebonding after giving birth. aiyo, hope all my hair wun fall out.

jackie, doremi,
i think the illness is g6pd issit? it's caused by a lack of enzyme or something, so bb with that condition dun break down some foods well. but i din know that it only passes down to sons.

jackie,
oO..icic..so chim leh, they kept saying dunnoe wat illness making my eyes go round n round. hahaha...hopefully, our boys are healthy loo~

wow...so good leh, got frens to pass u her manual pump. i tinking of trying kaneson or avent but seem like avent cost more...erm..tink perhaps try kaneson 1st cos i still dunnoe whether i will succeed in BF not. sekali, change my mind or give up halfway hor very waste $$$ loo~

erm...perhaps tis wk we go n check wat items they are selling there. u going before or after lesson?..erm..mayb i shd get the cream too?? wow...tink i going to broke loo~ if i give up on BF hor, very waste $$$$..T.T hopefully, tis wk de speaker hor can really inspire me to BF...

Dora,
wah... sounds bad... coz i already dropping lot of hair type b4 pregnancy... then during this whole pregnancy ... even the toilet drain was clear of hair!!!

i'm worried it will come back with a vengence after birth!!!

Qianhui,
ya lor... back to normal still ok... like i mention to Dora... i worried tat it will get worse... maybe will go cut very short after the confinement

Jackie,

Show him u can do it man!! For ur info, last time I also dun have formula in my hse, only got for my no.1 one, so she cannot drink, so no choice die die also got to breastfeed lor....

Is the illness known as G6PD? Cos this illness alot of things cannot take, will cause serious problem if accidentally taken.

For ur info, MIM sling now selling $49 - $69 depending on what material u r choosing.... cotton one can last very long, but very hot, sateen one is comfortable, but cannot last and more expensive than the cotton one if I'm not wrong. I've got 1 cotton and 1 sateen sling...

Avent Manual pump cost more than $50, it's now abt $90 at Robinson... I'm also aimming at new avent manual pump, cos lesser parts, currently my one got more parts than the new model one.... envy man.. but stupid hb won't let me change

dora, och,
ya ya...i rem got the wat "G6" de sound..hehe...tink u all are rite abt the illness name...lihai leh. how come got dat kinda illness hor?? izzit by family history de hor?? so weird de...i very shallow..hehe..neber heard before..
579014.gif

dora,
oo...the hair drop sound real serious leh. i got very thick hair but hor somehow olso scare cos who noes hor, wat will happen if my hair thick on one side n botak in another side..very ugly de leh..if drop proportionately, still ok..erm..tink i better wait n c 1st...if really got alot of hair dropping hor, tink i better go cut hair loo~ scary..2 yrs leh, dunnoe how much ur colleague spent on her hair n it must be upsetting loo since the process is so long~
579015.gif

vanessa,
OO..avent manual pump so expensive ah~~~ tink i go buy kaneson bah...my determination for BF up n down at times de..tink dun invest too heavily...
579020.gif

oo..sound like the sling are not cheap too~ erm...one pc of cloth cost so much ah...BF not cheap leh~~

doremi,
the illness is genetic n common. the deficiency is carried in the x chromosome, hence boys, with only 1 x chromosome, hv greater chance of getting it, but girls can also get it if both her x chromosomes r deficient. i only know abt this cos i worked as a clinical assistant after a-levels. everyday, will see 5-10 pple with g6pd, n they r all healthy pple, just hv to be careful of what they eat.

doremi,
wah... u make it sound so scary leh... drop on 1 side only ah???? then will look so weird right???

Vanessa,
is the sling useful? it looks pretty uncomfortable to me and i'm afraid tat i'll drop the bb if i use it?

Doremi

It's by inheritance. Paiseh, the full name should be glucose-6-phosphate dehydrogenase deficiency. You can read more here:
http://www.kidshealth.org/parent/general/aches/g6pd.html

Calynn, Doremi
For the hairloss, I think it's individual, not everyone would be so bad ba... Think my colleague also lah... went to colour her hair many times even though she was losing hair, and refused to cut her hair short, that's why it took so long...

Doremi,

If u spend more, the more successful u will be BFing... cos last time I also the same, spend lots of $$ liao, buay kam wan to give up, that's y perservered till now loo....

Calynn,
To me the sling is very useful lor, with bottle feeding or breastfeeding..... but of cos we got to be careful, if u worry abt dropping the bb (which sometimes I do worry too), use 1 hand to support ur bb a little at times lor.... if u put bb in properly, it should not be a problem.... I know the sling is very useful cos I remembered last time b4 I bought the sling, with my no.1, when we go shopping, we have to find a place to sit in order to feed her bottle and at times we couldn't find a seat at all... after we bought the sling, we just need to make the milk and continue our shopping while bb is drinking milk in the sling. It's is also more comfortable, cos bb loves to be snuggled, so they tends to sleep longer in the sling :

sorry interrupt a while...

i remember u ladies talk abt menses like type of pain and wanting to poo poo feeling... what does it mean har? does it mean gg to labor soon?? if soon how soon?? today me like alternately feeling both... but i still long way from edd.

och,
oo..icic...now i noe le..thks.^^ tink really can learn alot from here.

calynn,
yalor. my frens always said dat i very safe cos i got very thick hair mah but somehow hor i feel dat it really depends de. thick hair dun mean safer cos it might look more cham if only one portion of hair is gone. so hor, i tik it's better to be careful even if i got thick hair...hehehe..i'm the kiasi type...

vanessa,
oo...very high investment leh. must buy nursing bras n nursing clothes too leh...erm....tink formula milk look cheaper to me now..hahaha...anyway, tink i will just get those very basic one lah, basic ones oredi consider not cheap for me leow...manual pump ah, sling or those carriers ah, cream, etc etc...oo..many things leh...T.T

Manual pumps
I recently bought the Medela Harmony one as supposely easy to use. Use to have the pigeon one but there is no replacement for spare parts easily avaliable.
Slings- used to have a cotton one but super hot..so gave it away and bought bb carrier instead. Now waiting to see if any gf want to sponser a sateen one

doremi,
the sling is not neccessary actually, cos it's only a supplement to help u to breastfeed. Nursing bras n clothes can just buy 1 or 2 pcs till u r really ready to continue ur bfing career, forum there r ppl selling 2nd hand one and it's good enough to tahan u for a while, else, if u r not going out with ur bb during confinement period, not need nursing clothes, at home wear t-shirt can liao lah.... formula milk only look cheap n convenient for a short moment.... my gals are both on formula now, u know how shiong or not.... I almost need to buy formula every week.... and it's not cheap, 1 900g tin can easily cost me $30 which last only 1-2 weeks.....that's y I now hope my no.2 can go back to breastmilk, so much cheaper cos it's free....

Vanessa,
wow FM sooo exp ar??somemore last 2wks nia ar? faint hor. for myself lar. drinking anmum milk powder also finished within 1 mth leh. very fast hor.

Jen,

Ya lor, that's y when hb buys milk powder, he also very heartache, sometimes he asked me to buy those cheap cheap one, like dumex, but I dun want, cos my no.1 drink Enfa has been very good mah, so I want to be fair, but recently I also change no.1 to dumex, too shiong liao, n no. 2 to gain IQ, suppose to be cheaper.... :p

Vanessa
isit possible to go clinic & get free sample? got one u know. last time i work in clinic got many many small tin of milk samples leh. but of cos they hide it lar. must go to ur regular clinic which u see doc to ask from nurse. Last time my doc very "keng" one.. he give it to his church members lor. Too bad i dun hv frds working in clinic liao. else can help u get some to lighten ur burden abit.

mi wake up from my sleep liao.. after taking the flu medicine, make mi feel drowsiness n sleep for sometimes. can feel my flu better but sore throat still pain.. tink hav to drink some honey water.

speaking of manual pump:
actually i bought pigeon manual pump during the taka bb fair few mths bk.. dunno whether good ornot. but i got try pumping on both breast n seem like the suction quite good.
Ruffybear, u use pigeon manual pump before huh.. how do u feel abt their pump? isst really hard to buy the replacement for the spare parts?