(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

Qwer,

For John Little. Pigeon breastpads got 20% off so long it's a regular price item.

Only diapers and special price items got no discount.

hi all! Monday again....

Wow, toking abt bathing or not? I definitely will. Like qwer, I wash hair everyday type, if one day dun wash, cannot stand the oiliness and itch. =P I definitely will bathe everyday...Singapore so hot leh. And if have lochia, dun bathe I dunno how I can tahan. Dun think i can cuddle bb if i'm hot and sticky. =P Like choo, I oso cleanliness freak. At most bathe in afternoon and make sure dry thorougly and dress up warmly before open windows. Fortunately my family nobody traditional.

Dunno abt taking alcohol during BF...maybe a bit... cos alcohol will go into the BM and bb will drink it leh... Vanessa, what do BFMG say abt this?

Oh, I went Robinsons and Taka Fair. Bought carseat at Robinsons, same model cheaper after 20% discount than at Taka Fair. But bought a lot of other stuff like nailclipper, breastpads, thermometer, nasal mucous remover. All compare prices with NTUC liao... prices cheaper at Robinsons and with discount, even cheaper. At Taka fair bought blanket, towels, cot liner, Pigeon laundry detergent, Avent Diaper Bag. Oso bought maternity pads from Mothercare and 3 baby sleepsuits.

Qwer,
haha.. i think i will hide in the room and on aircon 24hr.. :p think hubby will kill me when he sees the bill.. hahaha.. :p luckily not staying with in law... but i dunnoe if they will start appearing everyday anot... hai~~ although got CL to help.. but still needs MIL to help me buy grocery.. i so scare tt they will come in the morning den stay all the way till night den go home... i will faint if they do tt... :p

initially MIL offered to do confinement for me.. but i dun want.. i afraid later they come stay for a mth, den bcome two mths den become forever liao.. :p so i quickly go hire CL.. haha.. i so bad.. :p

Vanessa,
i dun like ginger b4 preg oso leh... den suddenly dunnoe y.. aft preg, i like ginger.. i can even take raw ginger... was quite amazed.. :p

Bobianah,

BMSG says cook the alcohol before drinking, it will destroy the alcohol content, else, drink the alcohol rite after feed so that u will have 2 hours time before the next feed to let ur body dispense the alcohol contents, but very difficult one, cos some bb drinks hourly in the 1st month, so i normally use the 1st method, anyway, I tried taking dom before I sleep, but nearly vomit everything out, so I won't drink alcohol raw.... I wasted 1 bottom of dom which I open and drink only 1 small cup...

Anyone of you bought $30 n above of Avent products and can spare me the receipt? Cos I feel like participanting the photo contest for my gal....

qwer,
Than our office is rather far from each other lor. Imgaine walking all the way to Amoy during 1230pm. Super warm man.

Yr parents so good, allow you to shower. My MIL doing confinement for me. She mention better not to shower and wash hair every day. Now i already worry to to "ta-han"....Gosh, than i am a walking baterica in the house..

Vanessa,
Yr mum really strict leh, no shower for 12 days. How you "ren"????

need to seek opinion here.. :p we juz found a 2nd hand aprica stroller (1 year plus) selling at $270.. isit a gd buy? both hubby n i can't decide yet coz we hav never really went stroller shopping b4... got zero knowledge on stroller.. haha.. :p we r okie with it being 2nd hand as long as it's in gd working condition.. :p how huh? shd i grab it? heee~ :p

shihui,
haha you very smart & quick... I also dun like MIL to stay at my house. lucky so far so good... I'll be doing confinement at my parent's place.
as for the stroller, what's the usual price? is it old model?

Qianhui,

Vanessa,
i go back check my shopping bags.. :p bought the advent manual pump and IQ steriliser fr robinson.. juz dunnoe where i throw the receipt liao.. :p

bobianah,

wat is the car seat model u bought? how much is it?We are eyeing for Nania brand.didn't go down robinson thought cos sat burnt for servcicing of car n went fd's hse for steamboat!

Geri,

for the herbs for bathing during confinement,we just let the medical hall n they will pack for us?

jackie,
try to ask your hubby persuade your mil lor...
btw, no offense on my asking hor...why pple say 12 days can't bathe? why not 10 days or 14 days or 11 days?

my mum also mentioned to me b4 that some pple will say after 12 days then can visit the mother & the newborn baby... i asked her why 12 days she also dunno.

Hi Choo,

Its already prepacked. You just ask them do they sell the herbal bags for bathing during confinement.

I go home and check with my mum in law where she bought it from and will let you know. :D

choo,
i bot those instant herbs, already pre-packed in pkts...something like a maggi mee pkt like that. each is individually wrapped. once opened, it's something like a tea bag. only thing it is much much bigger size than normal tea bag. my mum throw in a pot of water to boil it.

Jackie,
Everyday complain lor... hahaha... hoping that complain will make her give in and ask me to shower, but everytime fails....haha.... just keep myself cool lor, especially after meal, cos need to eat hot food and drink soup, definitely will sweat, but at nite too hot I will on air-con but wear a jacket and long pants to sleep... at least not so bad.... but it's bad for bb lah, so I try not to on if I can and I realise especially during confinement, the air-con is very cold, even with jacket n blanket can still shiver.... I very scare, cos my mum say she last time fall sick during confinement, and she suffers alot so now I also scare....

Shihui,
Thanks in advance...

hi everyone!
long time no post liao. jus to share some info on bb's clothes...

i went to the wholesaler at Queens St last Sat (MBB, not sure if tt's the same one you went to also, coz its quite near Bugis.... heheh)... its opp the Guan Yin Temple.

Anyway, prices are as follows:
- mittens & booties set (6 sets) $6.50
- short sleeved tops (6 pcs) $9
- long sleeved tops (6 pcs) $10
- long pants (6 pcs) $9
- cloth diapers (12 pcs) $8

Think the items are quite cheap... but the bb clothes are all plained coloured or white ones... But I suppose if its jus for wearing at hme, they r good enuf...

Shihui,

U saw the stroller which you SIL wants to give u yet? How was it? If good then no need to buy, else, do go and chk out the condition of the Aprica stroller 1st b4 buying leh.. The model, etc..
I almost wanted to buy a Aprica 2nd hand last time, going for $120, but the model seems very long liao.. thus didn't buy. Plus the collection pt is at SengKang, way too far for me who doesn't own car, imagine take MRT to there alone is very xian liao..

Vanessa,
Thanks for info abt alcohol and the tip for BF. Yah, maybe bb want to feed less than 2 hr after we just drink it then kena liao! =P I guess put in food is ok...like eating tiramisu! Heehee! I'll remember not to buy DOM... wait oso puke out... wasted.

choo,
I bought the Safe n Sound (Britax) Royale. It can be rear facing for infant and supposedly all the way till 4yrs old. It also has a carseat protector with pockets. I'm satisfied with the padding etc. Usual Price abt $400plus (cant remember), at Taka fair after less, $378, in Robinsons after 20% less $350. Then still have 5% off with Robinson card, so cheaper lor. http://www.britax.com.au/Websites/Business/brproddb.nsf/LUPages/Child%20Car%20Seats-Royale

I was asking my hubby if he would be sleeping next to me during confinement... he was puzzled and ask me why not leh?

told him i cannot bath for at least 12 days leh!! he was stunned, hesitated... then said... of cos lah... i'm his wife mah...

i told him he answered too slow liao... tink he was trying to imagine the smell!!! ha ha..

bobianah,
i'm also looking at tat model leh... most places selling at $438. still considering lor... everyone keep saying tat dun need car seat until the bb's older...

jackie, doremi,

thanks for e congrats!

starluster,

huh? e bb movt will get 6 or 7 times stronger? then i sian liao cos now bb movt already disrupting my sleep... last nite kicking thru'out e nite. i woke up liao, v hard to fall asleep again... next time how? i noe this mtb who had to sleep sitting up in her last trimester cos once she lie down, e bb wld kick v hard non-stop. so poor thing...

talking bt confinement. yest went for my mum's side family gathering, my aunt n my mum start to persuade me to let my mum do confinement for me, which me n hubby dun want. my aunt still ask my mum to 'chop' 1st dun let my mil do. luckily my mum said must respect my husband's side decision 1st.

so scary u noe.i just sat there n smile while they talk talk talk, luckily my hubby nt there or he'll be quite annoyed. cos they said they tink my mil dunno how to do confinement one, n my mum's a better bb-sitter looking at my hubby being so thin. so ridiculous hor? i oso quite thin wat...

in e end, we asked my mil coming in e day 4 e 1st week. then i'll bluff my mum she's coming 4 e whole month so my mum won't come. we want to do confinement by ourselves lah...dun want our mums to help.

Geri/qwer,

wow thanks for the info on the herbal bag!can i buy now or nearere the date?so i jus put the herbal bag into pails with warm water then just bathe like tat?

decnk,

thanks for the update on the bb shop.Guan yin temple is it the one n only at si ma lu?

bobianah,

wow wat a good buy! we shd be only buying the car seat after delivery of bb...now just left small small items to be bought

those who sleep at night n bb kicks how do u handle it? i slept on my left n bb kick left so i tot he might not be feeling comfortable..so i turn right..he kick right so i turn left again...i have to maintain a certain sleeping position cos i so afraid he not comfortable n 'kick' to protest!

Bobianah,
Can buy dom lah, use it for cooking lor... my mum use hennesy and put ginseng inside to soak then confinement cook for me.... plus dom is to use for tonic..... anyway, I really loves confinement food, hahaha, especially the pig trotter's vinegar, my favourite man,.... can eat that for the whole months.... hahaha... but too bad, breastfeeding, got to control intake.

Calynn,
haha, my 1st confinement, my hubby slept with me... but for my 2nd, he use my gal as excuse to sleep next door, need to accompany her...haha... this time round I asked him again, he told me see how first, cos now got maid, cannot sleep with my gal liao...hahaha....

Kimi,
it sounds really scary leh... especially when aunties r involved.. :p if it's onli mum toking, den we can still negotiate.. with aunt ard n aunt doingt he toking, it's really hard to voice out ur opinion.... i think they noe ur hubby not ard tt's y they dare complain abt ur MIL lah.. if ur hubby ard, definitely won't say one.. :p my mom oso lidat mah.. sometimes if my hubby not ard, we can gossip non stop on my PIL one... aiyo... really bad ah... but no harms done lah.. juz for fun onli.. heee~ :p

Calynn,
ur hubby so cute.. need to think so long.. my hubby dun need to think already tell me tt he's not going to hug me if i dun bathe.. :p

Qianhui,
yup, we planning to go look at the stroller on wed night.. tonight we going to baby kingdom to look at various stroller models (combi) first.. we already noe aprica's price range liao.. now need to noe abit more on combi can liao lor...

Choo,

My BB, he kicks both side of the tummy yesterday at the same time, (maybe using both hands and legs). End up I sleep on my back lor. Else some other times, I juz sleep on either side which he doesn't kick.

Actually very blur, coz I read from books that sometimes BB kicks because they are comfortable, as there are more space for them to move around when we sleep on certain sides.
But not sure why most of us always felt that BB kicks because they are uncomfortable.

Qianhui,
we went to look at my SIL's stroller liao.. very big n bulky.. it's okie if hubby is ard to help me.. but if it's onli me n bb, it will be either bb drop or stroller drop lor... i won't be able to handle it.. :p so we no choice.. got to buy.. the aprica stroller looks fine in the photo.. now juz need to look at the actual thing b4 we decide lor..

Qianhui,

haha i also dun know why we mummies felt they are uncomfortable ah..please try not to sleep on your back cos read tat in book/website it is not good..(but opps i can't recall the reason) i tink coming to 3rd tri,we will feel more uncomfortable when bb kick so much more than now!

hey u have reach 3rd tri?? congrats wow!!

calynn, choo,
yah, we oso thot the britax safe n sound was a good buy. The padding felt better than nania too. Bit more exp, but after discount it is worth it. So, we just buy lor. Cos anyway, from moment we leave hospital in a car, must put bb in carseat liao.

vanessa,
u one of those love the pig trotter vinegar one ah? =P anyway, aiyoh, my family and in laws all so non-traditional hor, i dun even think i'm gonna get to eat much traditional confinement food. =P I thinking of catering...maybe one meal a day... last time we discussed abt caterer for confinement food, in the end, which is the best ah?

Qianhui, Choo,
i oso sleep on my back sometimes.. but dunnoe y... can't control one.. i will start sleeping at the left side... den when i wake up, i realised i'm sleeping on my back.. :p i oso read fr "what to expect when u r expecting" tt we shd avoid laying on back starting fr 4th mth...

Vanessa,
wah.. u like pig trotter vinegar ah?? last time when i was a kid, i almost puke when i smell pig trotter vinegar during my mom's confinement.. :p now dunnoe how i will react... haha.. but i like pig trotters alot... yum yum... drooling.... :p

choo,
no leh...my mum put the herbal bag into a big pot & boil until water started to boil. then she poured it into a big tub, I mixed it with tap water then bathe.

bobianah,

Depends on ur sources lor, if u have ppl to do confinement or cook for u, of cos home cooked food is better n it's hot n fresh n sure the ingredients are good, else if you really like ur name, bo bian, then cater lor..... When's ur EDD, if we near each other, then can ask ur hubby to come over to collect pig trotter vinegar if my mum cook... :p

qwer,
huh, my mum say no good to mix with tap water leh, any water we use for washing must be boiled... so every morning my hubby will boil 2 - 3 kettles of water and pour into the pail to cool it, then when my mum comes, she will boil the herbs and add into the water, leave it to cool awhile before I shower.....

Shihui,

Aiyo, big and bulky ah.. then will be hard on u liao, u petite size wan rite, how to handle the pram alone? Imagine, if hubby carry BB, then u carry the pram.. then all the barang barang hanging on the pram.. erh.. u get what i mean?

Choo,

Bo pian leh.. dunno why sleeping on my back is the most comfortable for me. Every nite I tried to sleep on my left, then every morning I'm lying very comfortably on my back. Hubby tells me I'm already on my back during midnight lor.
Our body will auto sleep the way it finds is the most comfortable..
Yup, I know... coz sleeping on the back means less oxygen lor..

Me not yet 3 Tri leh.. will only be 27 wks this coming friday/saturday.

Hi Qianhui,

Me too, baby has been kicking me at both side. Told hubby, bb must be playing happily inside

Baby has been really active, can really feel the kicks and movement most of the time.

And i realised something, whenever bb didn't really kicks or move. Just when i was thinking about it, the next moment baby starts to kick or move. Told hubby about it, he said this bb's ESP (i think is Extraordinary Sensing Power) is very strong. Alamak i didn't even know of such a thing.

Geri,qwer,

oh oh so meaning i need ask CL to boil the herbal bag in one cooking pot or wat then let it boil then can mix with tap water to bathe?so we need 28 packs in all??
how much is one pack ah?

Qianhui,

yup lor...when i felt kicking then i change position liao..then kept tinking if bb is alright..if i am' crashing'him or not..aiyo..

choo, qianhui, shihui,

nt advisable to sleep on our bk cos e weight o our bb will be resting on the vena cava which is the bllod vessel tt brings oxygen to our heart (tink so). so if it's being squeezed, then there might be less oxygen n blood going to e baby + our own blood circulation might be poor. some preggies get giddy if they lie on their back.

but my doc said any position oso can. i tink as long as nt giddy can liao. but i realise lie on side for a while liao then lie on e bk, tummmy wld suddenly become v big n stretched. quite uncomfortable.

so bb move is happy or nt huh?

Shihui,
Ya, I love pig trotters too whether it's stewed or vinegar, but very fattening.... hahaha.... aiyo me drooling upon saying pig trotter's vinegar
kao_drool.gif

Qianhui,
I think Pig kunckers are very much bigger rite? Pig trotters are zhu jiao, or "thu ka".

Qianhui,

u shd try the pig kunckers at Paulaua Brahaus at Millenia Walk ..yummy!!

sat went tat fd's hse for steamboat mah.but she didn't know i preggie until she saw me!
then she told me the CL i booked is very good in cooking confinement food! wow hope i can take it leh...i quite like pig trotter vinegar,cod fish,ginger chicken etc...hubby said he also want eat my share bt i said can't lah..too heaty for him ha

Qianhui,
I also find sleeping on the back most comfortable..but now i try to avoid cos i noticed sleeping on the back tend to give me more leg cramps..

Vanessa,
I only eat the lean meat of the pig trotter..the rest of the parts too fattening leh..

kimi,
ur doc like mine...say sleep any position is fine as long as not feel giddy.
But I was thinking, if I'm sleeping, how I know if i feel giddy or not? hahahah! anyway, lately I starting to feel sleeping on back getting a bit more uncomfortable cos of the weight.

Vanessa,
haha! Ya, some times a lot of things are bo bian, so my nick is "bo bian ah". I live in bukit panjang. Thanks for the offer of thu kar... i think that one my MIL does make... actually i oso dunno wat confinement food really consists of other than the vinegar thu kar....

wow... looks like all of u looking fwd to confinement food? me never a fan of "thu ka" or vinegar-ish type of food, also saw got another type of mee sua soup red red one, i think got add kidney oso... colick say tats very good for confinement... yuckz!
i rather eat plain porridge w bovril than those food! but bo pian for ownself sake will force myself to eat wat i can lor...

bobianah,

got plenty of yummy food, like pig kidney n liver with ginger plus wine n eggs, drunken chicken, yao zi mee suan, fried eggs with gingers, pig stomach pepper soup (
kao_drool.gif
), steam threadfin, aiyo, plenty to list....

dey,
hee hee, in fact I like the fattening parts, lean meat I'm not that interested, the pig trotters mostly are the nerves and veins so not really fattening.

shihui,

ya lor. e power o aunties v strong one! Ha ha. luckily i prepared liao! i noe they're gonna psycho me during e gathering. so my hubby deliberately nv go n tot o this plan to ask my mil to help.

Me dun eat the 'zhu jiao chu' leh.. I dun really like vinegar in fact, not even with sharkfin. The only vinegar I take is potatoe chips in vinegar & salt favour leh..

I only like crispy fried pig knuckles leh.. Dun think confinement food have that rite?

Confinement food nice meh? I told my mum that I want to order confinement food coz she is a bad cook. She tells me what outside food sure got MSG, salt, etc even though they said dun hv. She tell me rather take the money to buy 'bu' to eat. And she also tell me that my aunt wake up the 1st thing in the morning to cook for my cousin to eat during confinement. but my cousin got no appetite, bloated, dun mood to eat, etc! She nag nag nag me not to spend $$ to order confinement food.

Starluster,
btw, can ask ur colick where can find the red red things, I know it's call "hong(2) zao(1)", it contains wine, I love that, but dunno where can get it leh....

dey,
u missed the gd part of the pig trotter liao.. heee~ when i eat pig trotter, i will eat everything.. the skin, the fats, the meat, the "jin1"... wah... the thot of it makes me drool liao........ ahhhhh... :p ask my mom to cook for the weekend.. heheheee.. :p

starluster,
the mee sua u toking abt is hong2 zhao1 mee sua.. something like red rice wine... very yummy actually.. :p ahhhh... toking abt it... craving liao...... heeee~ :p

btw, to those who likes hong2 zhao1 mee sua, the first coffeeship at waterloo street (opp si ma lu guanyin temple) sells very yummy mee sua... can go there try... yum yum.. :p

qwer,
Vanessa is the one that mention 12 days cannot shower. Me also blur on such tradition...Just follow lar.

Choo, Qianhui, dey, kimi,
I also try to sleep on the left but wake up on the back....It seem the most comfortable position at the moment. Never know sleep on the back mean less oxygen for BB. Aido will try to tell myself to sleep sideway...

Qianhui,
agreed with ur mum, cos MSG, too much salt and soya bean are not good for confinement. My mum also told me all those things... guess these old ppl knows better...