(2006/11) November 2006 MTBs

Pauline...u din bring cayden to see doc? YH also been coughing for more than 2 weeks, now not as bad as last week but still alot of phelgm..this few days also alot of kids din attend PG, today only 10 kids attend..

Hi bearyhugs,

Thanks for the clarification as that is what the doctor told me...think probably it is a easier explain layman term.

Me & Wayne am also coughing for more than 2 weeks liao, finished up whole bottle of cough mixture also not recovered yet.

If ur are coughing is best to avoid eating any chicken related product even eggs as that wat my mum told me lah it say it "han" for the body so cannot take and also all those acidic fruits like orange,grapes etc also cannot take as will cause more phlegm.

Btw I also tried a method and find it quite useful from my mum regarding fever.
She told me that instead of trying to cool down the temperature when fever let it sweat it out will be better to purge out those bad bacteria via sweat seriously I dun noe how true but then whenever my gal sick I let her sweat it out and she recover faster than I try to cool down her fever.

Bearyhugs/Veronica,

Been to see 2 different docs liao. I think his phelgm a lot la, and he is also having running nose. Basically this poor boy's breathing passageway is quite block. He hates nebulizers and medications, not mentioning to feed him vitamins or what lor..

Always we either force feed him his medications or blend it in his milk.

Wayne's mummy,

Wayne missed so much school already.. Sure he is not used to going to school liao. Have more patience, i think he will pass the phase of seperation anxiety.

I think i am also starting to cough myself already.

Bearyhugs,

Can you help to recommend anything that is very good for cough and also loosen the phlegm? Tonight i bringing Cayden back to see doctor, maybe can discuss with the doc to change medication.

The last bottle of cough syrup is yellow colour one, starts with the letter "P".. Now i no recollections whats the name.. Doctor say cannot buy over the counter, can only prescribe each time she sees Cayden.. But one bottle finish liao, Cayden also not recovering.

Bearyhugs,
I PM u liao...

yah i think most kids that attended the playgroup will have some sort of minor cough or cold.. like 2 neighbours' kids... one got stomach flu and warded, the other having cough oso...
JK oso sama sama when he started his weekend playgroup last year.. hope this time's daily class will be fine for him

Hi garfield,

I agree with the egg thing and the sweating all out as this method works best for me and my boy. I will let him wear long sleeve and let him perspire and no bathing of course, only wipe body.

Pauline, Wayne also cough for more than 2 weeks liao. But not very jialat that time, prob only cough a few times per day. Is me who is not recovering and I think I am passing the virus to him everyday.

Yty hubby told me he is ok going to school liao and today he is very happy already. Teachers say he is very easily coax so I think i can rest my mind assure he is enjoying himself in class.

Pauline...u can go eu yang sang to buy those prepacked herbs that can clear phelgm & reduce cough, yesterday i boil it with chinese pear for him to drink

PENG,

Wished i can try Eu Yang Sen also.. But Cayden very particular. Other than his milk, he only drinks his gripe water and plain water only..

Offer him Ribena or other juices he also refuse.

Sigh..

Pauline,
Not sure how's Cayden already but there are several cough syrups available in the market for our kiddos. Think most PDs would prescribe Prospan which is mild enough for 2 yrs old n below. Its a herbal preparation which reduces cough. Can also try fluimicil 100mg satchets powder for the phlegm.
Actually, all these can be bought from the pharmacist directly. No need to see Dr.

If you want stronger medicine, can try promethazine where adults also drink but most PDs are not comfortable with giving this because of the drowsiness effect. The other medicine which some PD may prescribe if the child has been coughing for v long is Ventolin syrup which helps to open up the airways and clears up phlegm.

Just my two cents worth.

Wayne mummy
I dread coughing and whenever i start cough i will quickly take medicine liao before it worsen as tat the most hated illness for me lah so i wish u get well soon ya.

Btw u seen a doctor yet?

Hi garfield,

Thanks for your well wishes. I hope I can recover fast to enjoy the new year.

Yty night I have seen doc for the 4th time liao. Today mc and will rest at home.

I have a problem as I have very very lazy gal who always want to carry when go out and dun wan walk and worst is she dun sit in her stroller long as well maybe like 10min and tat it.
How do ur try to make them walk more and carry less?

hi garfield..

i have the same problem sometimes..
the thing is...my girl likes to walk without us holding her hand.. if shopping center, i just let her walk but if we're at car park, she'll want us to carry her.. Hmm..actually not us, she wants ME to carry her..

Lucky for me is she still likes to take the stroller, so i would rather put her in the stroller ..otherwise very siong for me ..

Just brought AShley to see doctor today. She was having slight temperature yesterday and also coughing and running nose.
So thought better see doctor before PD is closed for the CNY holidays..

bbroom
lucky u at least ashley want stroller my gal is anti carry device except human hand aka hubby or mine arm to tahan her weight.

Garfield,
how heavy is kenise now?
Today brought Ashley to the PD, she weighs 14kg..

Eileen,
Ashley missed her school today and she'll also miss her lesson on Wednesday as we're going out.
How was Zhe Lei attending his classes recently?

garfield,

Wayne recently also dun want to walk, keep wanting me to carry and same he dun want stroller lor. Now every morning he go schoo, my hubby carry all the way from bt gombak to buona vista..haiz!!

Garfield, u not working today? Seems tat u can post msgs even in the PM? I saw Kenise's photo in your blog and oh my, she's really chubby n sexy leh. Ba ba one. So cute, feel like pinching her.... haha. My Zavier is quite different frm your kids leh, he kept wanting to walk on his own n refuse to let us carry or hold hands. Nowadays, the moment he reaches the void deck, would run so fast off, must run after him to catch him. So chuan. When I put my hands behind his head to direct him, he said "Mummy, don push me!" When I held his hand, he said "Mummy, don pull my hand! I walk myself." Really cannot tahan.

Peng, Zavier also weighs abt the same as YH. 14.3kg, I think. But he's shorter than YH, which means he's growing a bit horizontally now. Oh no, so afraid tat he would become obese cos his appetite became so good eversince he started school at learning vision. Come home at 5pm can still eat bread and a whole bowl of porridge for dinner. Then aftertat, when we come home for dinner, he can still drink a bowl of soup.

Bearyhugs...hahaha now no need worry they become obese lah...still growing stage, they are super active everyday need lots of food for extra energy!!

bbroom
I was told by the aunty said Ashley was sick on fri. Zhe Lei also have some running nose. Zhe Lei still make noise to ask me stay with him in the class every morning. But I don't care him and ask the teacher to hold him n run away. After I step out the classroom, he is ok then. Saw him sitting a chair beside the teacher instead of like other children sitting on the floor, so funny!

Garfield
Zhe Lei now always ask me to carry. Every morning I need to carry him to school n carry his school bag plus water bottle. When we go shopping he also don't walk and keep asking me to carry him instead of his dad. He is around 14plus kg so very tired to carry him.

bbroom
Mine gal around 83cm the last time i measure her and weight about 13kg.

Ur gal is tall so guess her weight to height ratio is average ya but then carrying our tods is tedious with their tis kinda weight.

Wayne mummy
How come carry to buona vista so far?

bearyhugs
Tat day friday my company totally nua and i alone inside the store cum office and my department ppl all doin cleaning so i very very end until can post all day but cannot msn or i won't be so bored as they block my computer msn.

Zavier is so cute to talk back at u and really very xinfu of u to no need carry him cos my arm r breaking wif kenise hefty weight.

Eileen
Same here every morning carry her to sch and her sch is 1 bus stop away from my house and have to carry her barang2 bag as well as my own bag and tat is really a very tedious morning exercise to do.Haiz.

garfield,

Cause the CC is at buona Vista so my hubby have to carry all the way lor.

Wayne is sick again last Friday and miss school for this whole week also. For the month of Jan, he only went to school for 8 days.

Wayne is small built, still at 84cm and 11.4kg only..hee but long hours of carrying is also very tiring.

Chloe is still crying in N1. Please tell me when will this stop??? Tips to maintain my sanity are welcomed. Argh...
Pay so much money for her to cry and sleep in class.

Worse still, 2 students in the class next to hers contracted HFMD before CNY. eeeee... so worried.

I am thinking of pulling her out, and placing her in a preschool nearer to my home (am session and walking distance). A new pre-school, Mindchamps Preschool just opened. Will go check them out.

Hi Mummies...today YH still on holiday heee...this morning brought him to see doc again as his cough not yet fully recover and voice still very hoarse! so the doc decide to give him 3 days antibiotics..think next week then bring him back to school...YH also wants carry every morning on the way to school, 2 bus stop away. But nowadays after school i will use stroller let him sit inside or else very tiring and breathless carrying him under the hot sun!!

bblush...u stress hur? is normal for them to behave like this for 2 mths or so u know..u now working part-time? YH kind of miss his teacher hahaha...whenever i say want to bring him out..he will say 'teacher Ros?'

Peng
ya leh, very stress. When Chloe's at home, she is such an active bubbly girl, but in school, she is so different. She always have her pacifier and blanket, and does not want to socialise with the other kids. When she see her teacher, she keep asking teacher "Where is mummy". During CNY, a lot of people ask her if she likes school, and she tells them 'No'. Then people will blame me, saying things like 'Aiyoh, so young, why put her in school?'

Now I work at home in the day. When Chloe goes to school in the afternoon, then I will go to office.

babyblush, Wayne also say no more school when he saw the uniform. My mum and relatives also say too young to put him full day.

I am giving myself 6 months timeframe, if he keep falling sick for 2-3 months a month till June, I will pull him out and put him in 3 hour N1 programme or the CC near my mum place, that one is non aircon, so hopefully the ventilation is better.

You give yourself and Chloe more time to adapt and decide later, 1-2 months is too short lah as they are still learning to adjust to the new environment.

wayne's mummy
You are right. I had given myself 3 months actually. It is just so hard when everyone tells you to take her out from school. Chloe also doesn't seem to be thriving or enjoying school. Even hubby does not support my decision and keep saying she's too young. I told him that most mummies in the forum with kids born the same month are already in school as well.

hiaz... poor Wayne keeps falling sick. Only went to school for 8 days? so lugi.

babyblush,

I heartpain the school fee as I am paying $600 per month as well as the medical fee as Wayne doesn't seem to recover seeing the GP near my house, always have to see pd. But most heartpain is keep seeing him falling sick, he xin ku so are we.

My hubby opp from you, he feel that falling sick is building immunity and in a few months time he will be better, and he feel whole day is ok. For me, I feel whole day is a bit taxing and when you go fetch him, he will give us a pity look.

When I propose alternative, he will say " You decide lah since you so heartpain for him". On hand I feel pity for Wayne, on the other hand i want him to learn more and be more independent...

Is Chloe attending full day CC also. Most of the kids here are in 2 hour program so easier to adapt.

wayne's mummy,
Chloe is not in full day. She is there from 2-5.30pm. I didn't want to put her for full day because I heard that kids in full-day tend to fall sick more often (whole day in air-con room). I think those on full day would definately be more independent though.

babyblush,

Oh, 3.5 hours should be quite ok leh. Wayne is having full day and I feel pity for him as suddenly he see lesser of his grandparents. He is ok when he is attending 2 hours playgroup last yr.

I shall monitor and see how.

babyblush
relax ya and dun be stress up as from wat i know from my gal teacher is tat the older they get it harder for them to adapt to sch but then on the other hand they r more able to communicate wif other so maybe u gal juz need more times to settle down and my gal actually took about 3-4mth to totally adapt to sch as she cry on-off.

Btw maybe u can try send her to sch and give her a pkt of biscuit and advise her to share wif her classmate and on the other hand it a kind of reward programme and also can teach her to share at the same times as tat my way to make my gal go to sch happier.

As for falling sick in sch tat is real common so dun get upset about it ya and even though they r sick u dun really need to extempt them from sch(full day care)as my gal has been in sch for about for 7-8 mths and there only once tat she was sick free for 1 mth+ and the rest of the times is like sick free for 2-3 weeks then she sick again but minor cases anyway i have tis believe is tat i would rather she have minor illness along the way then dun get sick at all else when she does get sick by then it would be very jialiat.

And for the intial mths she in sch she was like sick free for about a week+ then sick again so as times goes by thereimmunity system will be able to fight stronger.

Babyblush,wayne mummy
Ur kid may not like sch now but then as times goes by it will be better and they will have some favourite teacher and will be bringing home handicraft and singing more chinese/english songs to impress u wif their knowledge they learn in sch so do hang in there at the moment ya.

Dun let them quit sch or change another new sch as it can be real hard to adapt in new enviroment w/o familar faces for them unless the sch is no gd etc bad teacher.

garfield,

My mum will ask me not to let Wayne go to school if he have cough and block/runny nose as it will be very hard to recover inside the aircon room. And then slowly it will develop into fever. Like this week, same problem again.

Wayne is sick 4 days attending school, rest for 6 days, go to school 4 days, sick again..is too close lor. If he is sick free for 2-3 weeks then fall sick, i think is quite ok.

Next week then can go to school. I think I will give him more time to adapt. Teacher says he is very good in class and is enjoying himself in. Is only when sending him there, he will cry a bit, but once teacher let him play, he is ok liao.

wayne mummy
Intial start like i say will be very often sick like sick 1 week and then ok 1 week nia so u dun worry too much ya and if ur boy ccc is air-con then maybe u should let him be home a while but not really need to be totally well cos air con can spread the virus and if got cough it will worsen as air con can make the throat more dry.

Anyway i doubt most parent will let their kid stay home even if sick and if they have the choice to have alternative why would they send them to sch unless condition very bad which no choice to take leave and take care of their kid at home themselves.

Btw u must trust ur instinct and not worry too much about the virus as during childhood they will tend to fall sick easily even doctor themselves will tell u tat it common kid fall sick every few day in childcare as it tend to spread from one kid to another and dun really need bring them to doctor all the time or every week u would be visiting the doctor twice so juz relax and dun get over paranoid ya.

Happy "Niu" year!!

Ashley also was absent from school 2 days last week. Was well during CNY 1st and 2nd day..yesterday a bit of running nose and slight fever..so today kept her at home..
she has been wanting to go school...see if she gets well..otherwise will let her rest another day..

Just to share with you my experience. Cos I sent Corum to school since last Sept. Initially, he keeps falling sick also. And miss quite a lot of school. But we just persevere because hubby and I also think he's learning lots. Now, things are a lot better. He still falls sick now and then. But not as often.

He also cried for about 2 or 3 weeks when he first started. Did not want to go school. But now he loves to go school, and will even say 'Bye' to us.

The benefits are really amazing. Cos he's actually quite a shy kid. But now, he can play with other kids at the playground etc. A lot more sociable.

So just hang in there! Don't listen to what other people say...

bbroom
today know from the teacher Ashley was sick again. Zhe Lei keep pointing Ashley's photo n said Ashley not here. The other indian girl also miss Ashley, hehe! Hope she can recover soon and join them.

Hello all!
Mycrysania, how hav u been? How's the 2nd one getting along? When's your EDD?

I do see a lot of childcare and preschool woes here man. Guess all of us go thru the same phase when our kids start attending preschool. Now that I thought things are falling in place for Zavier too at his school, his form teacher informed me yesterday that she's leaving.... Gosh, another phase of adjustment for the kids again. Praying that the new teacher would be a good one.

Mycrysania, is Corum still attending the same school as last time? Little Woods right?

I'm not sure if its just me being kan cheong but find that the academic programe at Learning Vision a bit slow cos Zavier did not progress much academically. They spent 2-3 weeks just learning letter A for English. I was like why need so long to learn one alphabet?

Hi Eileen

Ashley made it to school today..she has been wanting to go.. =) I'm sure she'll have fun today in school. I heard from my mum you went to enrol Zhe Lei at the Church nursery. I haven't taken a look yet. How do you find it?

I think it'll be good if they can go to same school..at least they have some companion for the adjustment.

bbroom
yr mum already told u lor, hehe! Ya, just now went to enrol ZL at the Jurong Christian Church.
here's the link http://www.jcckindy.com/Index.htm
They will open total 4 nusery classes for morning n afternoon session. The max no. of children per class is 20 to 24 and 2 teachers. They will provide some food for the children when tea break. I find it quite ok n is nearby my house so already make the registration.

bbroom
Gracefields is a childcare right? I remember my neighbour sent her kid there said it is not bad. Half day childcare from 7 to 1pm n the fee is around $400plus. Jurong Christian Church kinddergarten have pre-nursery, nursery, K1 n K2 classes. There is another Jurong Calvary Church which is near Tao Ching Road which is also very popular. Their enrollment is on 19feb n the fee is $540 for 3 mths if I am not wrong.

hi eileen,
I didn't know the enrolment is so early. I thought still can wait until end of the year. I wonder if we can request the kids to be in the same class =)

Yup..Gracefields is childcare.. if I were to put Ashley there, I will just take the half-day programme. I'll probably look around too..Jurong Calvary Church is a little far..i think i'll either shortlist GF or JCC.

Hi Bearyhugs,

EDD is 7 Apr. My bump is very big liao! Haha!
Pregnancy so far so good. Apart from the normal backaches.

Yup, Corum is still attending Little Woods. Actually I have no idea how long they spend on learning one alphabet. But he seems to be able to recognise and say most of the alphabets liao. They do the animal phonics thingy. Think it's call Zoophonics.

Am thinking should I switch him to BRMCK. They start taking from 2.5 years onwards. Apparently it's one of the top 10 pre-schools in SG. But think he's quite well-adjusted here already. So probably will stay put.

hi Eileen

Did you submit any other documents such as birth cert or immunization cert when you submitted the form at JCC?

My mum quite like the place and it's more convenient for her as it's just opposite her house. By the way, is the teacher-student ratio usually this big for pre-nursery? 2 teachers to 20 - 24 students?

By the way, good news for the new year is Ashley FINALLY tells us when she wants to go toilet! so now at home, we let her go diaperless!