(2006/11) November 2006 MTBs

Bearyhugs
It like tat 1 always seem brave then who noes next moment different story liao and actually kenise cry on-off for 4mths then totally settle down and now she happily going to sch unless she in sleepy mood or sick mood then she will be upset easily.

Hello mummies...
Hehe, so many posts lately.
Corum has been attending a nearby Montessori. We put him in since last Sept when he was 21 months. He cried for about 2-3 weeks everytime we bring him to school. Will even hide before it's time to go school. Haha! The Montessori from day 1 don't let us stay back. So, we just 'dump' him at the gate and that's it... But now he likes to go to school.

Bearyhugs,
How come you decided against Gracefields at the end? How is Learning Vision?

heehee...indeed our thread is getting more active lately.

Ashley just finished lessons. Today she attended class all by herself..and never cry..YEH!!
but my mum told me she doesn't wanna do her work in class.. they're supposed to do printing with fruits ..today is handprinting..
she says it's "ang-zhang = dirty"..so refused to do coz her hand will get dirty.. in the end, she held her teacher's hands and ask teacher to do instead..haha

Really upset me when alden is crying on and off in his playgroup. Think He is scared in this new environment. During lunch time, he will stand at the gate and cry.........really painful to see that. Any advise????

teojen...nothing u can do much is a passing phase, before going to school will reassure him i will come n pick him up
today when i go fetch him no red nose hahaha can still wave to me when queuing to come out...

Hi Peng,

My boy is very 'sticky' to me........think he need 2 to 3 wks to adapt. During lunch time, he will eat half way on his own and then stand at the gate there and cry.......think wanna go home.

Mycrysania,
Long time din see your post. How's your 2nd preg? Hope everything had been smooth for u.

I decided to go with Learning vision cos its just at my workplace and after all the gov subsidy now, its only abt $140 per month! So much cheaper lor plus the convenience too. For gracefields, I would have to arrange for transport like school bus to pick zavier up cos my parents are only available after 2pm. So total monthly costs end up much higher. Hence, I just chose the more practical option. :p

Bbgal, just when I thought the crying would stop. Today, Zavier whinned again when I was leaving. Sigh... let's wait and see lah. But he's alright once I step out of the school, that's wat the teacher told me. I tried to comfort myself by seeing that he had learnt some self help skills lah e.g. toileting on toilet bowl, self feeding, self napping n wearing his own pants. Not too bad lah.

mummies with kids who are at morning playgroup,
we've been trying to toilet train Ashley..but now as she goes to PG, it's hard to find time to toilet train her. When she comes back from school, she'll take her shower, then nap..so it's only a few hours in the evening she goes without diapers.

How are you all doing the toilet training for them? Any suggestions?

bbroom
the playgroup aunty will bring them to toilet. You just remind her that Ashley not wearing diaper pls remember to ask her to go toilet then shld be ok. You can bring 1 extra uniform in the bag to prevent her to get wet. And the school also got some uniform there to let them change if they are wet.

Yesterday Ashley was so cute as ZL refuse to let me go away, she came to hold his hand n ask him to play together, hehe!

Eileen,
Ashley can remember Zhe Lei's name when I asked her for her classmate's name. Also another boy call Yi-Chen .. =)

So far, I think she's able to attend PG by herself liao.. today my mum went home during the 2 hours..u also right? heehee..since your posting is 10.20am, u should be at home.

Hopefully they'll be ok on Monday after the weekend at home. My mum say today they all look very cute because they're carrying the appletree school bag.. Ashley told me she is eating strawberry over the phone..

Hi mummies...

today as usual pull me into the classroom, tell him i wait for him outside he say no no...haiz in the end the teacher carry him up tell him give him bubbles to play, i then say bye bye to him and go off..then i went to peep into the classroom and saw him sobbing n playing at the same time and calling me hahaha...the teacher try to wipe away his tears he dun want, he want to do it himself, he then sit on the floor holding the tissue and wipe his nose and eyes hahaha...

bbroom
ya, I left Zhe Lei in the classroom n I went back home. He was ok since yesterday, no more crying. Think the children there now are mostly ok except the china boy.

Hi bearyhugs, wah, $140 at LV even cheaper than Appletree leh.. Zavier is attending 2hrs playgrp or half day or full day childcare? But I heard LV gives priorty to those kids that parents work ard that area, is it true?

bearyhugs,

i am super stressed now. Chloe was doing very well during the first day because I was there. She has been crying non-stop when it's time to take the bus to school. At school, she will cry on and off. I am so busy at work, and having to deal with this preschool stress makes me really want to break down!

After reading about your experience and with other mummies, I feel so much better. I will perservere with this and see if it gets better after a month. Otherwise, it may be better to place her at another nursery closer to home.

Karin, good to hear from you! Hope you are doing well. Really taking my hat off to mummies with 2 kids!!!!

Helloo mummies..! Long time no chat. Suddenly this place has gotten really active! Haha..

Brandon has been with his childcare for 2 mths + now, so fast.. He's now in N1.

I remember the first few days he didn’t cry in sch, probably every thing is new and there's a lot toys to entertain him. After the novelty wore off, he would cry in the morning when I leave for work. Very clingy.. He even had nightmares every night. I didn’t get proper sleep for 1 whole month as he would wake up crying several times a night and threw tantrums and was simply impossible to appease.

After 1.5mths, he doesn’t cry when I leave him in school in the mornings, he would even hold his lunch box, sit down and eat his breakfast obediently with his friends. I can leave the school with a peace of mind.

He has grown up a lot since. It is so much easier to take care of him now, more obedient, independent. I don't need to cook specially for him or feed him while dining out. He's a pro at self feeding now. Haha.. Even refuses to let me feed him; he will insist on feeding himself. Its great cos there's no mess and I don't need to worry about feeding him while my food is getting cold. Hehe..can relax more now that he's more independent.

Tantrums are also getting fewer and his temper is better now. He would follow his friends and queue up in an orderly manner. When he first started out, he wouldn’t stay with his class and classroom and will not queue up to use the bathroom. Now I've seen a HUGE improvement in him. I'm a proud mama. :D hee

rkjk, yah, in a way, u are right cos I placed zavier's name in learning vision for a year before they called me to say that he has a placement.

Stacey, I totally understand what you wrote. Same for Zavier too cos in the first week of sch, he had problems sleeping. The seperation anxiety is so bad esp at home after sch. He would cling on to me even to toilet. Kept waking up at night too. I was so glad that I started him abt 3weeks before I went back to work after my maternity else the stress is also too much for me to handle. Now into his 4th week, he's still crying occasionally when I dropped him at sch but once I leave the door, he would be alright. At least, that's wat the teacher said and I observed from peeping. He can do self toileting and even wear back his own underwear plus pants after toileting - quite happy abt it. Self feeding still a bit messy but much better than last time. The best part is that he can fall asleep by himself now. Last time, he has to hold my hands and get me to tap him to sleep but now jus tug him in bed with his bolster, within 5mins, he's fast asleep.

Bblush, don give up yet. Perserve and you would see the light soon. Haha..

Hi Stacey and bearyhugs,

Glad to hear that your child is getting fine now in childcare and is coping well.

Wayne started childcare on 2 Jan and he is ok with for the first 3 days but started runny nose on wed so i kept him at home. And he is down with fever on fri, unti today still fluctuating. Dunno if he can recover this week and go back to school.

He have phobia with school whenever I mention. Have nightmare initially and cling to me like a superglue.

Hubby told me he will get used to it, is just a period of time but I see liao very heartpain. Especially when he is quite weak and get easily sick...

mummies, since most of ur kiddos started school must savekeep ur leave.. because ever since Brandon started school, he falls sick more easily. its inevitable.. can't afford to anyhow take leave already.. so once he has a slight fever, i will administer paracetamol, lest he ends up with a fever, and won't be able to go to school..

bearyhugs yah our babies are all growing up.. brandon is independent enough to sleep by himself. don't even need me to sit beside him anymore. goes to bed when i tell him that its bed time. that leaves me with more "ME" time after bath to surf net (like now), facial mask etc.. hahaha i dont think i ever want a #2 liao.

hi all...
i'm been down with food poisoning for the past 2 days...yesterday puked so much i choked the sink.. =(
lucky feeling much better today..should be able to work tomorrow.
lucky Ashley has been a good girl over the past 2 days...told her mummy is sick and need to rest..she has been playing by herself or with her daddy and letting me rest..

but i was told that teachers have been "complaining" about her because she doesn't wanna do painting work ..today also got complain because she doesn't wanna sit down probably..and leading her friends in class to walk around the tables ..

my mum went to pick up Chloe at school yesterday, and she found her crying in the corner, holding her blanket, while the other kids were listening to a story.
very pitiful leh...

babyblush...aiyoh sound very pitiful
YH still whine when i say wanting to leave, i just ignore and leave let the teacher handle, after crying a while he stop and play already. Understand from a parent that when he cannot find me he will look for solace from other parent, keeps holding on to their hands instead of the teacher!

Hi all, how's everyone? And yes, a happy new year to all mummies!

Alyssa also started her school last week. It's her 2nd week in school now. From day 1, she's got no separation anxiety (should this be good news or bad news leh? doesn't feel sad to be separated from us leh). She din cry in school, except when it's approaching noon, and she's getting sleepy and cranky (class'naptime starts at 1pm). Comes to going home, we have to like "drag" her out of school, as she'll be busy watching tv programmes at 6+. So far, she's coping well, but I felt she's gotten abit too active. She's got more "pointed" backside now. Can't sit still, and always wanting this n that. Learning to talk back also eg. when I beat her, she'll say, ouch so pain leh, why u beat me?? My god, almost fell off the chair!

Zhe Lei from the starting of this week start to cry when I leave the classroom. Today even worst said not going to school n asked me to bring him go home. Then when I left the classroom when he was doing the painting, he cried n bang the door again. The teacher said some children is like that, don't cry on the 1st week but on 2nd week. The teacher said he kept on crying but still asked the teacher need to throw the paper to dustbin or not. Then she asked him to help her to do things, he stopped crying n keep follow the teacher. Make the teacher feel so funny.

bbroom
Ashley refuse to do the coloring n paste the paper on the big bird today. But when I asked her to do it n she then follow others to do it. The teacher passing around the yellow n red objects n asked her to pick the yellow one but she refused to do it, hehe! Think she likes to do what she wants n not follow the instruction.

bbroom
Tat gd ashley is so guai and let u rest and wish u get well soon.

babyblush
aiyo pity chloe btw dun the teacher carry chloe and put her in their lap instead?As last time when my gal started CCC the teacher will carry her and make her to go through the lesson together so she won't walk around the class.

Doggymum
Dun be surprise ltr suddenly ur gal cry for u in sch leh btw she half or full day?
She really cute to talk back to u and say why u beat her.

Peng
YH sound so poor thing to seek solace in other parents.

Bblush, don worry. I'm sure Chloe would adapt soon. Giv her some time. Continue your perseverance. Some books do say tat if your kids do hav nightmares or scared to go school even after 3 months, might want to reaccess if the environment is really suitable for them.

Garfield, did I post before wat Zavier would argue back when I tell him to stop his nonsence sometimes?
From me: "Stop it!"
Zavier: "Mummy, don tell me to stop it"

Last evening, we brought him to the supermart to buy stuff. When he saw his fav yakult, he exclaimed/shouted:
"Yakult, I found you! You are so beautiful. I love you!"
I was like dumbfounded. Some aunties beside heard him n started laughing too. He's really in love with yakult! Haha...

bearyhugs,
Think i miss tat post of ur tat zavier talk back btw zavier is very vocal and always has surprise to stun me and now u make me want to see his antics in action.keke.

Eileen

Yah..i saw the big bird..thanks to you..otherwise she got no craftwork from school again..

Strangely, she enjoys going to school a lot..very excited in the morning when she knows she's going to school.. I guess the problem is she's not afraid of anything...little rascal..

Yesterday I went to buy the non-toxic, washable paint from TOyrus.. she enjoys doing handpainting at home though..hopefully can do some work in school today..

Hi mommies, seems like the teachers fr appletree teaches the same thing at every branch hor? Did ur baby bring back 1 banana today?

yoyoz mummies,
today i finally registered JK in one of the playgroup very near my place, Kiddy abc, should be familiar to those who are staying in Punggol.
Surprisingly JK likes this playgroup as compared to appletree... yesterday brought him to try out and this morning already start asking me to bring him to school again... but no response to appletree and even requested to go home halfway...

I think he has a preference for other races' teachers (or darker complexion)? :p cos Kiddy's teacher is an Indian... same thing for his weekend GUG, he requested to return to his Malay teacher class instead of the Chinese :p funnie boy... hahahaha

rkjk...today no bring back banana leh...this 2 days think they learning the colour yellow, yesterday bring back the 'big bird', today star colouring. Eversince start attending PG, YH fall sick again, coughing non-stop, his last cough was like more than 6mths ago!

garfied
Chloe's teachers 'complained' to me saying Chloe always ask them to carry her. They don't encourage carrying the children there. When I went there to pick her up yesterday, I was horrified to find her lying at the mattress at one corner with a boy sitting on her!!! The teacher didn't notice because they were busy with other kids. I walked into the classroom and Chloe started crying very loudly. Ai yoh...

So I told Chloe at home:
'If anybody disturbs you or try to push you, you push the boy back!' (hahaha, sorry lah, bad advice but I was quite angry with the boy)

Then Chloe told me
'No, Teacher says we cannot push'

Ok lor, win liao.

rkjk
today Zhe Lei also bring back a banana.
Now he refuses to go school every morning n keep crying when I leave the classroom. Yesterday when the teacher play the good morning song n he asked her to change to good bye song. Because I told him when they sing good bye song I will come to fetch him. Faint!

babyblush
Wow seem to me the teacher is abit harsh by complaining to u regarding carrying but guess is the school policy and teaching method but anyway they can actually overlook tat chloe was being bullied.

I think u better ask chloe to shout for help than push the boy or later the teacher cmplain again.

Garfield,
Maybe Chloe wasn't bullied? Think at this age, the kids are just innocent when it comes to playtime. How do they know the real difference between girl or boy?

Bblush, thought the teacher to student ratio at Chiltern should be small enough for the teachers to keep a close eye on the kids?

Peng, Zavier's cousin also fell sick after attending appletree PG. Came down with fever and cough. Take care!

I think Corum is going through the terrible two age now... everything also 'No'... faint! Think hubby and I must be firmer with him...

Bearyhugs,
Ooh... ya that makes a lot more sense to send him to LV then.
I am in my 7th month now. 2nd trimester has been a dream, after a quite nightmarish 1st trimester. Hope 3rd trimester would be good too, cos will be travelling lots...

garfield, beary

i don't know if she's being bullied or not. it seems that the other kids are always 'consoling' her when she cries, esp that boy who sat on her. nevertheless, i asked the teacher what's going on, and she said that that boy likes to hug and go near chloe, she didn't think he meant any harm, like what beary said. Will definitely monitor the situation, afterall she is still so small sized.

There is 1 teacher to 6 students.

Chloe and I are getting used to this arrangement, so it gets better everyday. However, I am worried about something. She has been toilet trained for a while now, but in school she just refused to go to the toilet. She will 'hold' her pee until she comes home. One day, she couldn't and pee in her underwear. So I had to let her wear pull-ups to school. Regressing? sigh.

bearyhugs,
ya true but then when this kinda things happen muz quickly go talk to them or it will be a norm for the kid.

babyblush
I though CH very strict and from wat i noe is tat they muz be toilet train before start term so how if chloe din pee at all? Teacher never say anything?

Heh Mummies,
Anyone keen to organize any gatherings for our Nov 06 thread kiddos for CNY?

By the way, Mummies, if anyone of you are interested to get kids books by Eric Carle, Dr Suess and Rod Campbell. Pls let me know cos one of my friends has some cheap lobang. But got to wait abt 2 weeks for stocks. I've bought a few n Zavier luvs them. Good for phonics training.
2096351.jpg

2096352.jpg

2096353.jpg
$10
2096354.jpg
Flip the flap pocket Library (6books) = $20
2096355.jpg
Flip the flap collection (8books) = $39
All hardcover board books except for the brown bear series where its paperback. You can pm me for more details!

hi all mums,
No time to view this thread for more than 4 mth i guess, busy with 2 monsters...

My Ian also went to apple tree playgroup, still cry til today. Even though cry, but he still want to go..no idea why

2099882.jpg

<font size="+2">Mummies, pls help to advise...!</font>

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Cayden have been coughing for more than 2 weeks since he joined playgroup. What can i do ? Any vaccinations to build on the immune system?</font></font>

Hi Pauline,

I am giving Wayne a lung tonic called Ketotifen. I think must prescribe by doctors. It is for building immunity especially for cough and wheezing.

Also i give him Vit C everyday.

Wayne also miss school from 9 Jan to 16 Jan due to fever, cough and block/runy nose. When he is ready to go back to school last thur, the teacher called on Wednesday that they have 2 kids kanna HFMD, so i kept him at home on last thur and fri.

Luckily the 2 children got it outside from the school, the parent just call to inform and the kids never step to the school at all. At least not got it from the center.

Wayne have to start getting used to CC all over again, he cry on mon and yty when my hubby left him for work. Today he better liao, no cry at all. Think he slowly get used to the idea he have to go school everyday.

Ryan oso fell sick le.. *Heart pain* Have been coughing for the past 2 days &amp; today temp. shot up liao.. There's 2 other kids who are sick in his playgrp &amp; yet their parents still send them to sch! Damned bu zidong! ..My mom kept saying he is too young to attend sch .. now I a bit regret my decision too!

Wayne's Mummy,
Ketotifen is not a lung tonic. Its an antihistamine which reduces histamine release in the body and hence, reduce the allergen causing symptoms like runny nose, sneezing and post nasal drip cough.

Pauline, I advise you to bring Cayden to see the Doc. Coughing for more than 2 weeks is not a small matter. Need to check lungs to see if he needs nebulizers. No vaccination to build on the immune system. You can try giving him multivit syrups to build up on immunity. Try this Multivit syrup by brand, "Robovit/Vita health" can get it from most pharmacies and orange flavoured. It also has cod liver oil content (builds up on lung function) and gingko (builds on mental development). Zavier takes it everyday. Cheap and good.