(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Coral,

thank u for the offer if u r planning to call them can help me ask these questions:

1) max and min number of people to hold private function on a saturday
2) cost per person
3) type of food serve
4) any time duration
5) can bring doggies
6) do they decorate the place for the party

Shirley, I'll call them tomorrow with the list of qns. I'll go check out their contact nos now.

Hello hope you have all received an email from Selina and me. If you have not pls PM either of us immediately.

<font color="ff0000">Helper</font>
Wah, seem like I am quite easy with my helper in comparison with the rest...for instance, she has her own TV so she can watch Suria while we are on AXN, she also has her own radio so she can tune in to Melayu music if she wishes, she sleeps in her own room in a queen size bed (there is a/c but she prefers the fan), and she has own mobile phone to contact her friends and relatives.

<font color="ff0000">Birthday party</font>
I am quite excited abt alexis's one year old birthday party too, will start planning once move is done!

<font color="ff0000">Zoo</font>
Went to to zoo today and sign up as Friends of the Zoo, hence the change in nick. Learnt a lot, such as polar bears' fur is transparent, the white color is due to light reflection. Will certainly be heading there more often, wanna come?

Hi Vivian, Huijun,
my 1st 3 maids r from the same agency n current 1 is another 1 recommended by babygrace. all my maids are w/out experience when they come, hb prefers no experience 1. i don really blame agencies for the attitute of the maids cos tink hving bad attitute is not the agencies' fault. but i can say the service of the agencies count lor. like my current 1, i called the agent to tell her wat the maid said to me n she immd suggest to come over to councel her. whereas the previous agency did not even bother.

Vivian, we oso celebrate maid's bday for the 1st 1 n the current 1. the other 2 left us b4 their bday so no chance for celebrate for them. the current 1 is the best cos her bday is less than 2 wks aft she started workg for us but we still celebrate for her n even bot 2 pcs of new clothes for her.

Babygrace,
my hb oso scare her by saying she only work here for 1 mth she not happy n 1 2 trf, like tat she go to another employer, she may oso feel unhappy cos here she so gd life she oredi complain liao. we told her s'porean's standard quite high lor. if here she cant take it, den she may not b able to take it elsewhere too. we told her MOM may send her back if she keep requesting to change employer. aft hearing tis she told my hb she'll stay and tis is when she tel him tat she prefers to stay at hm than to go to my mum's plc. i feel like she's bargaining lor.

Gemini,
me too try not to spoil the maid by asking wat she 1 2 eat. but she quite smart 1. got 1 time i ask my fren to tabao for me, n i ask the maid wat she 1 2 eat, she say chicken rice n added she 1 the malay stall 1. haiyo... she really know hw to choose lor. den tat day i went to foodcourt to tabao lunch, i decide not to ask her n buy for her the same food as me. while i was q-ing she looked ard den tel me she 1 the nasi lemak frm another stall. i look at the q not so long so i juz buy for her lor. sometimes i juz duno hw to reject lor cos its juz a small request. but i feel if i continue to let her choose, it'll become a habit lor.

hi hi... bz bz since came back from lunchie, only abit "free" now...

<font color="0000ff">coral</font>,
hehehe.. thanks for saying A's a happy bb.. he is, most of e time.. but now super cranky cos his gums irritating him bah...
abt porridge flavours, he hor, "xi xing yan jiu" (like new, dislike old)... cos if its new flavour, he will like it for e 1st day, n open mouth big big to eat... but 2nd day onwards "pattern" come out liaoz...

<font color="0000ff">huili</font>,
yupz, bring A to BG on saturday... but i didnt go with A alone lah.. my parents came along.. cos we were all visiting my hb in gleneagles mah.. then with A didnt wana stay there too long, saw hb for awhile then bring A go for walk at BG lor....
aiyoo... its reli quite scary e way u describe.. u muz hv been toooooo tired out liaoz... quite dangerous leh... pls take care of urself leh... try to rest as much as possible n take some chix essence & DOM to help boost ur health hor...

<font color="0000ff">coolmum, coral, n a few other mummies who also mention tis</font>
hehehe... u all very "you xing" leh.. can remember hb n A like soccer... well.. if its confirm a didi, am sure they'll both b happy.. but no way i'm giving birth to a "soccer team"... NOT EVEN if i strike TOTO on thursday...

<font color="0000ff">jRt</font>,
eh, R super cute leh.. so young already got colour preference.... but lucky u, no need to worry abt him not taking his veges...

<font color="0000ff">nedlands</font>,
well... i certainly hope i will get e same situation (read "miracle") as you then!!! but then again, where did u hv ur scans?? did u go for detail scan at 5mths??? n tat came back as a didi as well???

<font color="0000ff">shirley</font>,
zac zac "zhang da le".... he looks so cute n stable in e "pooh bear series"... btw, u dont put cot-bumper anymore liaoz huh??? when can stop using it ar??
well.. i also try almost all e "tricks" i know liaoz... every mealtime i machiam "clown" like tat... ya, juz hope that this is transition period.. n one day they will both guai guai sit there n finish e whole meal...
abt pooh bear figurines hor.. why dont u try HK?? they hv quite alot of shops selling all these knick knacks of different cartoon character... n very very wide variety somemore...

<font color="0000ff">pingping</font>
glad to hear ah beng recover liaoz... wah... he enjoying swimming hor... i'll view his video when at home...
hahahaha... his new photo reli reli "chao" leh!! with sunglasses n e scowling expression, looks cool & fierce at e same time lor....

<font color="0000ff">bunny</font>
hi, long time no see u... r u abt 5+mths liaoz??
ur boss reli very very unreasonable... actually you cld hv "told" e headhunter tat u r preggy, but leave it to e other company if they r still keen to see u mah.... im also kinda in e same boat.. but my tummy not visible yet, n i stil hvnt tell my boss yet... i reli scared of his reaction, so am trying to "drag" till i finish doing my budget before telling him lor...
i cant help much on ur maid issue... i also bo pian going to hire a maid in another few mths time...

<font color="0000ff">adeline</font>
hehehe.... prob im e rare 1, i hv no problem with my MIL.. cos she got TOO many sons & daughters & SILs & DILs liaoz... no time to bother me... plus i dont reli understand hokkien, so whenever we "talk", its "chicken n duck chatting".. i juz go "ya ya ya, ok ok ok..." n tats it... hahahaha....

shujing

i left hk liao and only know my friend looking for it when i am back in singapore. ha ha i know what u mean when u said "machiam like clown". i also like that during his meal time sometimes dance and sing in front of him to distract him a bit but still didnt work.

oh shirley, i did not know u r not in singapore.
since PS cannot hold function, i want to rent chalet for the d party at safra.
and YEs i want to bake the cake by myself but need my mum help

coral,
the 1st 3 mths i also can't logging much and same as u, i predict it hell for me for the 1st three mth cos my ex-boss and also my boss now already plan what i must do to help in her promtion liao.

vivian, when u free, i want to pass u the 4cubes soon cos i am not going to logging in forum for at least 3-4 mths starting next week onwards.
and so sad.no ngm for me, even weekends cos weekends is only for FF and rest time w/o computer

today i take FF photo and i tie her hair, so cute and funny (sorry for being thick skin) will try to upload tonite cos now at my sis house

Shirley, I'll call and check again...Dunno leh the woman said no immediately when I told her I wanna hold function on Sat. Maybe they do other days? I check again.

Starz, then get your mum to rotate the flavour lor, so its new to him everytime.

Hi ladies... hope u gals still
remember m Mango...

shirley,
wow...really fasts zac zac can stand
already..is he consider fast ??
My megan can sit but still humpty
dumpty ..

starz,
my gal was drooling when she sees ur
A naked nia...
Hei.. u change your sroller ?
U havn;t tell ur boss yet ?? haha;p

bunny,
5 mths liao .. half the journey already..
i salute you man..
Is it taxing on your body ??
Any different fronm your past pregg ??

babygrace ,
once again .. tks for your "mi ji"...
Have been a great help.Now thou she didn't follow the schedule but at least she knows our requirement and i count myself lucky to hv this maid. She had been working in spore for 5 years. well trained by the ex employers so she everything do sui sui and v auto also..
she will offer to help to arrange and clean ALL my stuffs from storeroom to fringe to shoes rack..all the drawers in the house ..
i very happy to have her around .

I always remember what u and jackie told m before is to let her take care of the bb so i will get her to change and bath megan at times.
But i will feed megan myself and will make sure my hubby feed and play wif M every night for bonding ...
As for the discipline, my hubby claims tt
he is super in managing people so i jolly
let him incharge of disciplinary ..so she
scare of my hubby more than me.

Gemini,
See the posting of the war btw u and hubby .
So how's things now ??

As for the food..she eats what we eats ... we had been bringing her to the restaurants and will order a set for her also.
Treat her like a family BUT we will never
let her chOOse. We will buy for her and can
see that she quite happy with the arrangement...
As for the bread,,, i dun see the problem.
We eating bread everyday also ..

No matter how good is the maid , we muz always STAY a distance from them as there's a chinese saying " ju li shi mei" ( staying distance is beauty ) .

vivian,

Your R huh really "siao3 da4 ren 2" leh...
Like mother like son soooo full of tricks...
Your hubby muz be very happy ..
to hv 2 "kai xin guo" at home..

Sorry.. what's the chinese name about??
so difficult to remember leh...;P

Jackie,

Tks for the "tian xin " sms ...
We can always catch up for lunch,
shopping ..
will give u a call if i at CDB around heee..
How's your cough ??

Coral,

Eversince you say your char can bite ,
i very paraniod of my Megan liao coz i can
still remember my younger bro biting me when he was bb..

My baby megan got 2 pearly ..so cute

congrats to bbs hitting those devt milestones

PS Cafe. Been there once. Quite nice restaurant. Nice alfesco dining area, though mozzie might indeed be an issue. Food is ok :p but im no connoisseur of fine dining.Heard the place is owned by a gay couple, and its the frequent haunt of this sub-culture :p (no offence, i like them as friends...)

Maids.
Sigh. Think the world would be a better place wo maids. They would be happier staying back in their ctys and we would all be happier not dealing with them. Am very frustrated with maid issue even now, so forgive me if i have nothing good to say about them. I think a well-programmed robot could follow isntructions better than them.

shirley,
wow, zac zac can stand so well!!i still rem the photo of him falling asleep while your hb was burping him. thought it was so cute.wow...all our bbs growing up so fast...

Jun Fang,
So nice to have girls, can do so much with their hair, their dresses, their etc...

jerene,
was zoo good today? love the zoo too! we can have a nice gathering at the zoo one of these days!its a nice place to bring our los.

Am in a rather bad patch recently. Laptop down and still down, and mobile phone lost...long story.but its reli not my week.

only good thing, CY managed to eat some of the porridge i made today. It was (to me) a totally gross concoction of porridge, spinach, carrots and avocado puree. The end result resembles someting out of slimer in ghost busters. but he ate it and that;s what matters. maybe he goes for gorss things. will try to make his food gross tomo and see how he takes to it..

emails? am i missing something here?

eat CY eat:
I also prepared gross things for my girl. Good things she take it. Her fav is avocado but i will vomit if i take it.

Having girls also means spent more $$$. From hair clips etc...

wei kuan

so sad, coral said PS cafe dont allow private function.... asking my sister to find out how her friend manage to hold the party leh

must think of alternative plan liao. how is ur planning coming along?

lilyboymum
ps cafe is fine dining meh? tot its jus normal cafe near dempsey road. like it for the serenity and greenery

CY:
She got lot of hair, but most of the time is WET cos she sweat a lot, esp with the weather now and she also very active now

Shirley,
From the website, I find the place not bad, but too bad. discuss with hb he suggest chalet at safra. I also want an open place. Sentosa is too far for relatives and friends travel there for the bd party. Now it is like my wedding cos my wedding is at sentosa beaufort

shirley
Went there in the evening for dinner. Hmm...seems quite ex to me leh. four of us were billed up to a couple of hundred. And we didnt take anything expensive. Just the usual assorted cooked animals...so that was to me, very fine dining. heeee

Maybe your manager got lo bang. you should ask.

i called PS Cafe right after ur post saying u r in japan, but the network was down, so could not post.
OK here goes --> they do not allow private function (like coral siad) and reservations of more than 20 pax.
HOWEVER, if there are more than 20 pax, u can write to their general manager. the email addy is in my ofc so will give it to you tomorrow. perhaps u can request for ur private function to the GM.

<font color="0000ff">starz</font>,
I did detail scan but babe was so active swimming so could not tell so we did not push further till 7 mths.

<font color="0000ff">lilboymum</font>,
PS cafe is linked to the PS clothing chain? if yes, founder has a lot of pink dollars to spend.

no mossies came near us when we were there on sat arvo.

u can take the indoor section if anything.

<font color="0000ff">Bunny</font>,
Hopefully the agent can make her "wake up her ideas". Some of them are very choosy, they think they are here for holiday. I'm quite happy with the agent's service also. When i first had problem with my maid (cos she doesn't seem to understand my instructions), the agent spoke to her on the phone to counsel her also.
I agree with you that the agency can't control the bad attitude of the maids. They can only train them on how to do the work but if the maid is inherently lazy or selfish, there's nothing that the agency can do about it.

<font color="0000ff">Gemini / Bunny</font>,
I don't let my maid decide what she wants to eat. I decide what's good for her. I limit the amount of fried / spicy food she eats and makes sure that she eats enough greens in her meals. Machiam like her mother like that. haha!
In fact my maid told me that her mother wants to thank me cos when she was back home, she is quite fussy about food and will usually skip her meal. Over here, she's scared that she'll fall sick if she doesn't eat and she's also scared that i'll be angry. And the good thing is that she's not fussy over what i give her.
I'm glad she is appreciative of all the things that i've given her. The first time i brought her to a japanese restaurant, she thanked me when she got home. To me, it wasn't much, juz a bowl of katsu-don and some sushi.
She told me that she likes staying here cos she got to try so many new food, even sharks fin and abalone (during CNY and family dinners). I don't spoil her but these are some treats that she gets at times. Hopefully she wont take it for granted as time pass by.

<font color="0000ff">Mango</font>
I was still thinking about you today. Wondering how come you have not log in for so long.
Glad to hear that your maid is good. We should meet up for tea sometime at CP if you are free.

<font color="0000ff">FRIENDS OF THE ZOO</font>
<font color="ff6000">Jerene</font>, yes the membership is really worth it. I'm very impressed with the zoo cos they update the exhibits frequently so there are new things to see each time.
My membership juz expired 2 mths back so we'll take break for a while and wait till Emma turns 1 before joining again. It's good to join when bb starts walking cos they will enjoy the water play in the children's zoo. And as they grow older, the visit becomes more educational for them cos they can start to recognise the more common animals eg elephants, giraffe etc.

wei kuan

still no idea yet, looking through the webby for nearby cafe only manage to find highwood cafe which is more suitable, the rest all looks like drinking places.

last resort, will hold it at my place then i will spend more on decoration to make it special.

nedlands

thanky thanky! PS cafe must be thinking why all of a sudden so many pp wanna hold private function at their place haha

babygrace,
Funny thing is, i took my maid to Jap restaurant and she nearly puked when we gave her some chuka-itako (those red coloured squids thingy??). Aiyoh. Think it must have traumatised her. For now, whenever we go there, she only wants to eat plain rice, egg and miso soup...

Your maid seems nice. At least she is appreciative.

i agree with you on the zoo membership. when the children are older, then it'll be friends of the science centre! :p

nedlands,
hmm. never made that link. maybe. heh..

lilboymum,
Your maid must have been shocked to see the squids. haha!
she probably has never seen them like that before.

Yes i'm glad that my maid has a good heart. She's a simple girl which also means she gave me lots of grief when she first came cos everything also dunno how to do. Thankfully i persisted and spent lots of time in training her. She still have slip-ups every now and then but still quite ok. The most important thing is that she treats the kids well and as a way with them.
She told me that she wants to stay on to work for me until Joshua goes to school.

AIyoh I'm so sad leh. Sat D was having abit of running nose then I feed him the allergy medi seems to stop liao. Then Sun he was abit quiet keep doing the fake cough even playing water at Vivo.
Then I had Carl's Jr for dinner n after that had very bad sore throat n flu. Jialat. So I suspect D also same as me lor sore throat n flu plus his fake cough even slp also have abit. So should be his throat uncomfy.

Went pd comfirm his throat red n gave me somthing to 'wash' his mucus out. AIYOH!!!! So horrifying to do that. THink he might hate me for LIFE man. Wash liao still need to drip inside......sigh.....

N me went doc same day think I more serious then D lor becos I am so bloody tired n he can still smile smile......n dun want to slp somemore at MOST is 1 hr naps......aiyoh I wanna slp with him also cannot I lie down he wakes...
I tell hubby I so poor thing hor sick also cannot rest n u know what he say???
YAH LOR......blooody idiot....dun understand my HINT meh..

HJ,
I still dunno if the maid can handle 2 kids on her own. As for now, Joshua is still very demanding and emma is getting more difficult to handle now that she's more mobile.
i probably have to put J in at least half day childcare. But i really dread it.

bbgrace,
My frd told m tt she got 2 maids transferred out already.(one work for a mth and the other after 2 mth )They claim tt her 2 children v demanding but i think they should count themselves lucky cos my frd and her hubby working and basically no one at home !!
And the children , one is 10 mths old and
the other is 2+ years only. (both gals)

<font color="ff0000">Can the maid suka suka ask for transfer
out meh ??</font>
They even willing to pay for the transfer
out fees !!! That's terrible...

One thing i worry about this maid is tt
she seems to homesick terribly coz she got a
2 yrs old boy ...as a mother i can understand that but hor seriously i v scare tt she might one day q and go back . then i may hv problem liao

Adeline,
can check out which PD is good at your area, then bring Kim to see the PD.
When you delivered tat time, no PD to check on Kim at hospital meh? Then how abt the 1 week later review after discharged from hospital?

iceystarz,
when I was young, I stayed at my grandma's place till its time to go to sch (K1) kekeke... At first, I also "hate" to go home. Cos at home, only me facing bro (my bro bullied me last time). I have lots of cousins to play with at my grandma's place wor.

Bunny,
Yr boss sucks!
As for the maid, I think if they want to leave, just let them leave cos making them stay will just worsen things. They will do all sorts to make employer angry in order to go.

Gemini,
Is it from Amosco? If so, yes.

Coral,
I need to ask my hb for the PT contact, cos in my hb's hp.

Shirley,
You in Japan? Try Disneyland, but very ex.
I got mine from those putting $1 coin in and a ball come out tat machine. Bo pian, cos I really can't find the figurines during Jo's time, and I dun wan to use mine which I bought from Disneyland.

MAIDS
=====
There's really a lot of problems with maids. Anyway, there's no called perfect maid in this world lah. They are human beings also. So being to strict with them also won't work out one lah.

Vivian
like the pix with R with the glasses!

Shirley
hope my maid will be a gd one , coming today

icestarz
ya i brought him went shopping at orchard haha

HJ
its ok dun mention it

Huijun,
will miss you when you away for the next 3-4 mths. Wah, so fast starting new job le!

First Cake
========
Mummies ever tot of baking the 1st cake? kekeke... I know there's mummies doing that for their kids.

Shirley, won't feel kua zhang lah. I mean this is very individual mah. But for me, I just order buffet and cake will do. My relatives too many, can't afford to spend too much. I rather save up the $ for kids' eduacation

<font color="0000ff">Jenny</font>,
I thought of baking my own, but but, rusty already as its been ages since I done that. sO prob have to keep baking a few to get the perfect one, maybe just go out and buy better option. hhehehehe

<font color="119911">bunny</font>,
think ur workplace is in expansion mode so growth phase, not sure ur dept but a co in general. that meaning, lotsa things to do and must do within a short time. my friend works there, v v busy and hectic.

nedlands

Thanks for your help. I have just dropped him an email. Had a lengthy talk with my hubby on venue for zac one year birthday party. He pointed out something which i may have overlooked. that is to find a place that zac can rest comfortably when he gets too tired after all the excitement.

my hubby very much wanted to hold it at our place cos he felt it will be easier and more comfortable for zac. moreover, we will be inviting relatives and old folks may not welcome the idea to travel so far for birthday celebration.

Sign sometimes in the midst of my excitment in planning i may have overlooked these details.

well, celebrating at home can be fun too! (actually deep inside i still have nt given up the idea of holding it somewhere special haha)

Anyone giving bb Bonvil or Marmite mixed in porridge? BBsitter say can put abit in porridge but i think it is too salty for bb... how to tell her not to give? She is like insisting abit is ok ...

jenny

dont think will be going disneylands cos i will be all alone during weekend. most likely will just go shopping and meet up with some friends

hmm the $1 machine is a good idea i will suggest to my friend. thanks.

baking is out of question for me cos i have never baked in my whole life! unless i attedn some crash course to pick up the skill. i strongly encourage mummies who can bake to bake the first cake. very special and meaningful mah.... mayb can bake a small one jus for baby and then order one for the guests.

wow..looks like everyone is planning for the babies 1st yr party..hmm.. any nice venues to suggest?

think we will return to spore to celebrate for chloe princess..if not she only have us and some of our frenz in tokyo.. haiz.. dun wan her to ask me when she grow up: why i only have a small cake? cos the cake in tokyo is damn exp!!

Yes I understand the comfort thingy and holding it somewhere special esp with nice ambience. Not to say the house is not nice but because we are always at home, its nice to do a b'day at a diff place.
However if u have logistics issue and etc, best to celebrate at home coz u will be bogged down with many other issues {some will pop up unexpectedly} so having one more will definitely put on some stress. we dont need that , less is better

just to let u know, there is a section with sofas like lounge sofas and low sitting stoolsand and the other end, tables and chairs. i waited for a while at the sofa side coz they were full on sat. its comfy and u can look out to the greenery.

ok ok, i will stop here..else PScafe ambassador liao.

i like tokyo, are u there? which part u putting up at? stayed ard asakusa mitsuke last time. i miss the shabu shabu all u can eat. like to visit again someday.

will look thro' the rest of the postings and reply later...

Custom Cakes
============
tot i have posted this, but cant find it, nevertheless, my colleague's friend is doing custom cakes, so here's her URL.... can take a look. (i'm not taking any commission)

http://www.freewebs.com/vivcakes