(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

<font color="0000ff">crystallized</font>,
Great that R is taking well to porridge! I intend to let Emma try some of Joshua's porridge tmrw. While probably put sweet potato in there cos she loves it so much. So hopefully she'll take to the porridge as well as R did. Then it will be v easy for me, just scoop out a bit from J's porridge everyday. hehe!

<font color="0000ff">jenny</font>,
yah so fast hor? 3rd mother's day already.

<font color="0000ff">Angelic</font>,
If i remember correctly each pneumococal jab is about $150. Kids above 2 yrs old need only 1 jab.

<font color="ff0000">SPENDING TIME WITH ALONE WITH EMMA</font>
I sometimes feel that i shortchange Emma cos being the 2nd born, i hardly can give her my full attention. Likewise on going out, we tend to bring Joshua out more often especially when she was a newborn and some places that we go to are not that suitable eg beach or crowded places. Or when we need to run some errands eg grocery shopping, we will leave her at home with the maid and take Joshua along. Although Joshua is quite a handful, either hubby or me will handle him while the other does the shopping. And we usually don't like to bring the maid along cos we want to spend some private time as a family.
Now that Emma is older, we try to take her along. Hubby and i will handle 1 kid each.

This morning, we took the kids to East Coast Park. Hubby cycled with Joshua while i strolled along the beach with Emma. Emma was so excited that she didn't even want to nap.

Hubby and i decided that perhaps we should try to spend time alone with 1 kid at times cos when we bring both out, we are so occupied with each taking care of one that we neglect the other. And since Joshua has his fair share of spending time alone with us, Emma should also do the same. Furthermore, Joshua hasn't been in the best of moods today. He kept throwing tantrums both time he went out. It's definitely less draining to leave him at home, although i was feeling a little guilty.

So we took Joshua for his music lessons and left Emma at home and then after that, left Joshua home and took Emma to Orchard in the evening.

Comparing Emma with Joshua when he was her age, Emma is easier to manage (i hope i don't jinx myself by saying this). She was quite happy to sit in the stroller so long as it's moving. We managed to buy the watch that hubby has been wanting to get for me and then have our dinner in peace. 3 of us had an enjoyable time together.

Joshua didn't seem to miss us. He was quite happy to be home and equally happy to see us when we came back.

So hubby and i have decided that we should have individual "dates" with each kid on some occasions. It allows us to focus on the child without other distractions.

have not been loggin in since wed. my mum was sick so i was on leave to take care of tricia. yesterday was my turn, down with sore throat, runny nose is coming up soon....
now dare not be too close to tricia, afraid that i spread to her.. now i'm mixin stage 2 milk powder with stage 1 and she seems to have some phelgm. does anyone faced this problem?

<font color="ff0000">for those babies & mummies that are sick, hope that all will recover well soon!</font>

hi delphine,

haha... i'm seeing the same PD as u.

talking of Mother Day, this is the 1st yr i'm celebrating, but doubt that i can celebrate, as i'm sick. have to stay @ home and rest...

hi bbgrace,

heard about the "individual dates" from 1 of my colleagues. that what she did so with her daughters, 1 is 30 mths, the other is 14 mths.

Jenny and jrt,
I agree with you, baby take too much frozen cubs is not healthy. My mum also complain to me.
My sister and I will engage a maid and we will share the cost. I also perfer fresh food/vege/fruit every meal with the maid and mum help.

Jrt,
been enjoying and love spending time with R cos when I start work on the 28/5, will miss her alot. As I have been at my mum house most of the time, she was very close to my mum. When my mum was around, she perfer my mum leh. But I do not mind cos she will be the main caretaker.

Hi all Happy mommies day!!!

Oh.. so that means that i can still take that vaccine? Kim only taken the hep B and 5 in 1 jab. What are the necessary jabs that can be taken for further prevention? I am not sure. Cause i go polyclinic take they never advise one. I also saw rotavirus vaccine wor.. but that one best taken before 6 mths old right?

Adeline,
If your child not at risk with Pneumoccoal, then can delay the jab. My girl been to infantcare, so I have to take, if not I will let her take when she is 1-2 yrs old

hi adeline,

polyclinic onli have the basic jabs like HepB & the 5-in-1 jab. they dun offer the rotavirus and pneumococcal jabs. rotavirus jab has to be taken before 6 mths. as for the pneunococcal jab, my pd did say that if want, can be taken at 7 mthss. but this jab is not cheap loh. my pd charge, dun know $150 or $160 per jab

okie,
i know this is stupid. but i just cannot find esthers instruction on how to get to the aquaducks place. can someone help??!! the instructions on yellow parking lot and some lift to someplace...o dear...sorry sorry...anyone PM me can or something...

Adeline,
think the 'in' vaccination is the pneumococcal one leh.

babygrace,
i find it hard to give equal attention to my children and hubby.. when we bring them out, we have to rush thru our food..when the older one is cranky, all the attention goes to her. my small one is neglected most of the time. sighz

lilboymum,
u can find physiogel at pharmacy, not sure about phyiosgelAL..if u can find, please let me know hor

jo,
u cannot imagine how heartpain i was when the doctor and nurses had to hold her down so they can poke the needle into her hand..i cant go in to the room so i stood outside,crying.. thank God everything is fine now

Gemini
So the rota virus jab cant be taken anymore now huh? since she is 6 mths 2 weeks. but is it impt for that? cause i read that if baby got rota virus can dehydrate fast and might lead to death.

lilboymum
I dont think it's in the 5 in 1 one wor. That should be seperate one.

what jabs do you all let ur baby take?

That day when kim went for her hep B jab, the poly nurse only mention that 9 mths is her hearing test and 15mths her MMR jab. then tell me to let her slowly take Egg yolk 1 tea spoon from 9 mths onwards.

crystallized,
huh, maybe cos you said you sick of making puree bah, anyway not only message to you but to other mummies as well lah.
I agreed with you lor, cooking porridge much more easier than puree. Thats why I never did for Jo last time. I made once for Jas, she gave me the "ka lun chun" (pronouce in hokkien) look hahaha... but mixed with cereal, she ok. My hb said very nice. I gave him a "this kind of food very nice meh?" look kekeke...

Esther,
The tui-na is good, let J continues with it, though is slow. Sometimes I really doubt western medicine one. Din seems to cure but seems to worsen things.

Adeline,
Re: Pneumoccoal Vaccination, I read somewhere that MOH is considering putting this jab as compulsory jab, but yet to confirm.
I let Jo took this jab after she turns 2, same for Jas. 1 jab cost $160.
Under 1 year old, 3 jabs.
1 to 2 years old, 2 jabs.
After 2 years old, 1 jab.
This jab is q painful. Take effect 1 mth after injection.
If you compare this with Rotavirus, this is more "impt" than Rotavirus cos if serious, this will led to death. No medicine to cure for this yet.
The other jab you may wanna consider is the chicken pox one.
To prepare for MMR jab, after 9 mths, intro egg yolk. After 1 year old, intro egg WHITE.

lilboymum,
You need the glass bottle for storing milk or feeding???
Why glass is better? It sounds more dangerous to me.
I just intro Mag Mag Cup with Sprout to Jas today.

babygrace,
Me having the same thoughts too! Also feeling bad I can't give her full attention like Jo's time. Today, brought the 2 gals out for celebrations for Mother's Day, saw the 2 gals so happy, I also happy. Must really praise Jas for her "performance" today. She today super guai, let us finished the meal w/o fuss.

Thanks HJ and Jenny
Oh i can let her take after 2 years then since she isnt attending any play school yet right?

Jenny
what do you mean by painful? for baby huh? Is the after effect or during the jab?
Ya for MMR jab nurse ask me to prepare see if baby is ready for the jab or not. if not ready then cannot inject as the condition might be very severe.

Adeline,
actually up to you. Personally I feel the compulsory jabs are enough, so I let Jo takes after she turns 2. If Kim is not attending any class, then wait till she turns 2 lor.
I read somewhere the jab is very painful compare to other jabs. Is during the injection. But hor, Jo's skin is like elephant skin lah, she never cry for any of her jab.

Adeline, i go to the polyclinic for 5in 1.Other jabs will go to the PD

Huijun, thanks for the info

Mommies, heard of gymboree n tumble tots? any comments? anyone interested to go tog??

hi adeline,

rotavirus will be more effective if taken before 6 mths. tis is to prevent diarrhea. tis is the only optional jab that tricia take. as for the pneumoccoal jab, i only intend to let her take when she go childcare.

Ok i guess currently the 5 in 1 and the Hep B one should be enuff. Thought i missed out any other jabs. Cause i dont visit PD. Only know that time heard of the rivervale malls Pd only.

Angelic
Yea heard of it and yes interested to join

lilboymum,
i also let Emma use the Magmag cup with soft spout to drink water. She's more interested in chewing the spout.

Jenny,
Maybe Emma and Jas know they better guai guai so that we will bring them out more often. hehe...

lilboymum, is this the one?
Kindly note the following from Aquaducks:-
-Reach there 15mins earlier to change and look for Coach Michelle
-Please bring along your own toiletries
-Assemble at pool area and Coach Michelle will be there to conduct the free half an hour trial
-Please DON'T be late as classes will start 2.30pm sharp and ends at 3.00pm sharp as well!!
-Mummies or whoever who accompany baby inside the pool must be in swimsuit strictly NO T-SHIRT AND SHORTS ALLOW

For those who drive, kindly park your car at Suntec City Tower 2 basement2 look out for yellow lots and proceed to take lift at T5 to 4th storey where the pool is. Those who take public transport, look out for Glamour Studio at level 1 take the lift T5 outside Glamour Studio to level 4

Sad ah.. tomorrow mother's day but i cannot go visit kim. HB working though he asked what i want. hope u all enjoy ur mother's day kk!

I can only stay home and rest rest rest..

Adeline
Y the nurse at the polyclinic didn't inform you of the jabs available in the polyclinic meh? I brought Max there for his 1st jab and they explain everything to me and advise me to do the jabs in the same day if i intend to let him have the additional jabs (reta & pneumoccoal). Rota is not a jab jus a medicine to swallow on the spot, cost $90.

Angelic
I brought Max to JWT gym, it's beside Katong Mall. Personally, i find it good for them and i did find out that they got relevant certs for the job. But a bit xpensive and the duration only 45 mins. After the gym, Max will have a good sleep. Normally, they will have a trial for about $39.90 then you can decide to sign up a nt.

how come at this hr still hv so many postings??? thot i'm too tired reading all backdated postings.

Happy Mother Day to all mummies!

THink celebration will just be staying at home. KB is taking back his milk as per normal liao. so i plan to make veggie porridge for him. seeing him enjoy my porridge tomor is my greatest celebration liao!

ling
no i was not being informed thats why i tot only got 5 in 1 jab and hep B jab. now from here then i realise some jabs it's better to be taken.

bbgrace
slept whole day now pretty awake. The doctor @ the MRT there north east medical center not good one hor! But he gave me pretty strong fever medicine now ALOt better.

coolmum,
ha... cos me uploading pics and video... waiting for it to finish mah.

babygrace,
I sign off from MSN cos too many programs running on my pc keke

No lah, Adeline. Jas has not attend any yet. But I brought her along to see Jo in her class. Will only let Jas attends when she's abt ~15 mths or 18 mths.

mei you lah, but I did let Jas tried some of the stuff there, not much to try also lah, cos tat time she only 4 mths old. She tried on the rocking bike and swings only.

Angelic
No, polyclinic dun have those jabs, they only have those compulsory 1 in the booklet.

Adeline
They should at least explain to you that if you intend to let Kim have the jabs what should you do. They dun offer such xpensive jabs.

Jenny
I enrol Max since 5 mths. Intend to let him continue but not JWT cos too far. Maybe will switch to gymboree or the new 1 at square 2.

Ling
If u are letting him enrol in others can inform me? And nope they didnt xplain to me leh.. only told me about the 5 in 1 jab lor which is compulsory one. maybe one of these days i head to Pd and ask myself.

ling,
so wat's for the class? Personally I feel will be better after bb starts crawling. If not, just a wast e of $ nia. You will see more activities from the class when bb can crawl/sit. If not, they can't do anything also, except for reading, watch puppets show, singing. The rest are done by parents.
What's the one at Square 2? You tried My Gym? I din try other b4 lah, but I quite like My Gym. Teachers are friendly and they are flexible. I may send Jas there when she's older, perhaps we can start our own class by then.

Adeline,
i've never gone to the doc at the mrt station cos it's always so crowded. Only sent my maid there for her half-yearly checkups.
I usually go to RMG at compasspoint cos it's my company doc but now that i'm not working, i can go anywhere. looks like now i will stick with RMG.
I don't dare to watch The Eye, quickly switched the channel when the show came on. I wake up a few times at night to check on the kids, so i dun wanna scare myself. hehe...

Adeline
He will finish this term on 4 june, i'll recce gymboree and see what's the difference. The 1 at square 2 looks small from outside. JWT is spacious so i dun want a small gym (afraid not much activities for them). Will let you know when i decide to go for trial.

Prepare Max for the aquaduck tomorrow, we use tap water (he's too comfortable in warm water liao), a bit scare when he 1st go in but got used to it quite fast.

798443.jpg

798444.jpg

798445.jpg

798446.jpg

Jenny
Where's my gym? I went JWT with my friend. True enough, it seems tat i'm the 1 doing workout (esp with Max's weight). Normally go there warm up then some exercise to work up the neck and back. After tat will be swings, songs (with movement) and lastly cool down. The staffs there are all friendly too and they will pay special attention to you if you went without a helper.