(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

<font color="0000ff">cher</font> caleb already started on porridge but i dun give him plain porridge. his porridge is mix wif ikan bilis powder my dad prepared. if u ask me, i think both are equally good. anyway, bbs cant b on rice cereals forever. ultimately they still need to eat porridge. just make sure porridge is mix wif nutritious things like veg, fish or meat (balance diet).

it is recommended for bb to start on fish or meat at 8mths cos by then their stomach n intestine will be more developed to digest them. but some PDs, like Doreen's PD says can start giving fish so it really depends on bb's development. i will start caleb on fish when he turns 7mths.

snow fish is good i think cos it is very high fat ie. omega3 which is needed for bb's development. salmon is good but try to start with white fish or meat first ba since salmon is considered red meat n i think might be more difficult for bb to digest at a young age. hope u find this helpful.

and yes. you looks like evelyn tan. alot like her.

Think I missed out some postings... Been reading but no time to post and haiz... something happened at home, si bei sianz...

Sorry Littlekid, wat happened huh? Think I missed yr posting.

Shirley,
You said Issac cranky, keep crying ah? Maybe he pek chek. BB at this age is like tat one. Su Gar Su Gar will cry one. Be more patient with him.

Huijun,
Now I know why you always pray bb for good health and dun wan yr mum to look after RE. Is so sad to hear your niece condition.

Jackie,
So shocked to hear Jonathan's condition. But everything is well now.

Selina,
Saw your nick in MSN, dun worry too much, take care hor.

cher,
cod fish is snow fish, good for bb. The other one is threadfin (ngor yu). Cod fish with porridge super nice!! I started Jo at 8th mth for fish porridge after her pork porridge.

babygrace,
I agreed 2nd time mum more bor hwey.

crystallized,
errr... yr area pasar malam still got or not ah? I got craving again :p

selina,
Hope that C gets well soon. I always dread hearing the word nebuliser.

jackiejon,
It must have been a stressful time for you and your hubby when Jon was sick. Thank God that he's ok now and the ordeal made you a stronger person.

And all these while you didn't know that your hubby already knows my BIL. haha!

delphine,
i'm always of the opinion that it's easier for the daughter to stay with her mother than MIL. Mothers get along better than son-in-laws than daughter-in-laws. So long as your hubby don't mind staying at your mum's place, it's more comfy at your mum's place.

However, you must be prepared on the "consequences" of placing D in a childcare.

1) she may fall sick more frequently.
2) although the entry age for child care is 18 mths, toddlers at this age is still very small compared to the other kids in there. I always have this fear that the child will not be able to eat as much in CC cos the caregiver can't give dedicated attention to her. To train her for CC, make sure you train her to self-feed herself relatively well.

But having said that, i know of kids who went to CC at a young age and there were significant improvements in their behaviour and motor skills cos they learn to be independent.

mango,
How's the maid so far?

cher,
cereal vs plain porridge - Cereal is better because most of them are iron-fortified. Cereal is also convenient which you can bring out and mix with milk to feed.

However you can't feed cereal forever. It's best to start bb on porridge with meat / fish so that she can get the required nutrients.

If you can't find suitable fish in Japan. Just start with pork first. I cook the porridge in the slow cooker with pork and either potato / sweet potato / carrot / pumpkin. I also use beef as they are a rich source of iron.

Cod fish is a good source of omega 3 fatty acids which is good for brain developement. However, there are reports that say that oily fish eg cod, tuna, salmon contain traces of mecury so it's best to limit the intake of such fish.

jenny,
i've learnt my lesson after gg to PD only to be told that i've got to go back to monitor. So these days i monitor first before gg to the doc.

Hope everything is ok at home.

babygrace,

long story... this guy is a freelance that's why he wanted us to issue cheque under his name. His company in the name card and the MOM application form is not the same.
He type my DOB and IC wrongly soooo application rejected . The most hilarious part is that we from the very beginning told him tt we only keen to take in "new bird" , he then recommend a maid to us and claim tt she "new bird" but hor we FOUND OUT tt this maid is actually an "OLD bird" .. very disappointed wif the agency , talk rubbish.., but already gave him the $300 and desperately need a maid now so give him the benefit of doubt..now dun know when she coming..He keeps on delaying the date ...<font color="ff0000">xian</font>

Cher
U look so much like her (CYY)) and chloe is so pretty too like mummy and she get to enjoy all the nice scenery...U too Pretty mummy
i do concur with what selina, jenny and babyrace mentioned above..u cannot feed cereals forever..try whenever possible start fresh instead of commercial products like heinz no doubt its good cos homecooked porriage is still the best as no added thingy etc..unless like FTWM nobody to help than no choice else homecook still the best.. As for fish, I dun see to the point why gota wait till 1 year.. As fish is very good protein for babies as recommended by magazine and books and websites even my PD..so i dun see to the point or rather agree to the point of feeding till later stage..infact my niece all were fed with fish porriage since 6months by my parents and all the kids that she take care...important thing is feed the correct thing and correct manner than should be fine!!however must eat whatever food moderately and not always the same cereals and nothing else

Delphine
i like yr D pics leh forever so angelic keke..A btw hor just on air-con lah now supper hot leh weather abit wield nowadays..was talking to doreen its raining at my side by the time she reach my house already supper hot...hope yr flat can be ready real soon..me still sad cannot join u all on 15 leh..next rnd jio me k keke

Wendy
M is sooooooooooooooo cute can i cuddle him haha

Huijun, Jackiejon
So sad to hear that..Jackiejon am so happy that Jonathon is ok le dun worry he will be a healty and strong boy!!

<font size="-2">why direct also no laksa huh.......really scratch head leh..</font>

esther,
I agree that why i start R soon on fish cos I afraid wait till 1yr old she will be VERY PRICKY and dun want food just like one of my colleague son. VERY JIALAT one.
I am one who use dun always depends on what a piece of paper said

FEEDING FISH
I agree with esther that fish is a good source of nutrients and should not wait till 1 yr old.

I know that some books and mags will write that fish is an allergic food. But bear in mind that usually these articles are written by people staying in temperate countries, eg US, UK and the type of fish that they take is different from us.

Moreover, my own belief is that fish is very much part of our Asian diet and many babies have started taking fish from 7 or 8 mths onwards without much problem. Just like some pregnant Japanese women still continue to take sashimi without much problem.

My point is <font color="ff0000"> DO NOT FOLLOW BLINDLY WHAT IS STATED IN BOOKS AND MAGAZINES</font> and deprive bb of the necessary nutrients. It's good to ask around, research and form your own opinion thereafter on what / when to give a certain food.

finally managed to seriously go thru all the postings.

<font color="0000ff">jo</font> wow! looks like you really enjoyed your trip hor. i can nv imagine myself taking so many pictures for my holidays. guess cos i dun have the habit of taking pixs of everything i buy or eat ba. looks like ST needs to be shot for giving you wrong info on the sakura hur.

Jo
Personally from gathered life experienced hor i dun understand why fish cannot be fed at this moment of time leh..Magazine say will trigger allergy and never state gota really wait till year right..hope hor you dun mislead other hor..cos at this growing stage baby should be getting all the nutrients in all kind of food as specify and not just limited to HEINZ cereals nia!!! And not exactly all babies will kana allergy to food intake hor..touch wood if the food will trigger allergy than gota stop and not assuming that the book say 1 year cos will kana allergy than we don feed..abit misleading somehow..The best person to seek advise is still our PD cos they are the ones who access our baby development..guess polyclinic dun give advise rite..and hope u dun give info that is not really exactly by reading nia leh must seek other experience mummies around to confirm the statement bf u post else the poor baby will be lack of important nutrients as needed wor..Cos not all info posted is relevant to all babies leh..hope u understand hor kam sia..

If i dun give R fish at 7-8mths, I feel that she is from some poor country with no food.
She my daughter and i will give the best to her

<font color="0000ff">delphine</font> me is say one thing n do another. initially i super on to leave caleb in infantcare but now that he is so sick just after 2 days there (tho i dunno if he caught the virus there or fr me) i having 2nd thoughts liaoz

<font color="0000ff">littlekid</font> think i missed your posting but watever it is **sayang sayang** hor. pray for the best.

alamak i realise that my engrish is not powderful. The heading of my previous post says "Feeding Fish". Machiam like go pond to feed the fish like that.

selina,
Me too! i only started taking more photos with the birth of Joshua and Emma. I'm only interested in babies' photos and not adult ones. I remember last time when i visited hubby when he was studying in London, he didn't even allow me to take pictures at times cos he says no one will be interested to see our pics.

babygrace, selina
Hi five!!! Me and hubby only take few shots together nia leh..normally we use our precious time to shoot J cos he is the limelight in the family and NOT JUST THE 2 of us..hehe babygrace my hubby also say :y take ourself u think people is interested in the 2 of us..take baby better lah dun waste battery ...

<font color="0000ff">bbgrace</font> aiya actually i also take quite a lot of pics of myself during holis but not tt much lah cos after a while i get sick of taking photos liaoz. think like u now wif caleb i snap non-stop lor. but of course snap including myself but those i post usually those i really like or more meaningful ones.

Selina
Both hands and legs agree with you cos if really wana show or post will post those meaningful or with theme leh and not just post for the sake of posting..cos I thInK mY frIenDs aRe noT inTerEsTed to seE ah <font size="+2">whahahahahahaha</font>

esther,
i like what your hubby says about wasting battery! i'm more concerned about using memory space in my SD card.

Speaking of memory space, i think pictures take up a lot of memory space in the servers of this forum.
I'm so thankful for that this forum here is free for us to share our joys of being a mother. Let's not tax the server too much with so many photos such that the owner of this forum may find it financially straining to fund this forum.

selina,
i always enjoy seeing the pics of you and C. Very heartwarming ones

babygrace
ya agree with you totally..photos really take up alot of space..Once again thanks to Singapore Motherhood Chin leng wor..ya pity the thread leh duno is it financially straining boh hor cos too much of photos scarly one day charge becos of this photo thingy...

Huijun
Thanks hor..ya the reason why got blog hor is to post there and link ppl to see PROVIDED THEY ARE THE WILLINGLY PARTY TO SEE kekekekekekekeke

Fish Porridge
--------------------------------
I am currently feeding Damien with fish porridge becos he had bad constipation(still is) after taking the Heinz rice cereal. N since he has been taking it for a while already n has no problem eating fish porridge at my mum place I jus continue with porridge instead.
My pd actually also advise me to feed porridge with fish n minced meat. But I worry the meat will not be small enough so just feeding fish porridge for now. Oh yah pd ask me to add a veg in the porridge so now I adding tomatos.

btw things written in books n magazine cannot take as standard as my pd says asian bbs can tolerate fish VERY well. N my mum belongs to the old kind where allergys r not common so when she cooks for D she jus do it the old fashion way n D is still growing very well.

huijun
what to do i cannot post here assuming all mummies want to see ma rite..I like it CONSIDERATE IS THE WORD!! Else what is the creation of blog for teo boh..

Esther
Yah lor blog is the best way to let me friend know about D's progress n what we do with our bbs. But u know lah not everyone use their blog for their bb's development ma.

N blog best hor if ppl wana see what u r doing they can straight away go in n see cos every day of the yr ITS THE SAME LINK!! No need to update.

Jo,
I dun know how come cannot feed fish leh. I agreed with bbgrace they all that babies cannot rely on cereals solely until 1 year old hor...sorry but i thot that is common sense and basic read up. I usually read up first, then if possible, will double check with the mummies here and of coz can double check with PD lor. My PD also say can start porridge with fish and meat from 7mth onwards. Maybe you should check with the other experience mummies or PD before giving advices to others. I will be starting Rhys on porridge with fish next week liao.

<font color="0000ff">HJ</font> boo hoo... so all along u must be cursing n swearing at me for being so bu yao lian post my own pixs here....
but freak not, i've learned my lesson after the april fool's day episode (tho i didnt see what it was but freaked out when i was told) so now i wont post pixs of myself here anymore.... scary scary scary

COOKING FISH PORRIDGE
There are 2 ways cook porridge.
1) Cook the fish together in the porridge
2) Cook porridge with pork / veg. steam fish and then mash it and mix into the porridge to feed.

i use the second method because i'm paranoid about fish bones. Although i use threadfin fillet which is carefully checked by my mum already. I'm still cautious. I would rather steam the fish and then mash it to check for bones. Also, i cook the porridge in the slow cooker so by cooking the fish together with the porridge, it may make the fish a little "dry" and overcooked. When the fish is steamed, there will be some "soup" with the fish which i will pour over the porridge and serve.

<font color="ff0000">Selina</font>
Hope you'll find the above useful. No lah, you are not clueless lah. It's good that you ask, we are all here to learn from each other. Afterall this is a MOTHERHOOD forum, we are all here to journey together with our babies.

selina, u diff mah, ur photos always w caleb one. I AM INTEREST IN THAT TOO. and u have actress face. many also comment that mah. unless u comment yourself then not counted. so many pp said u look like actress

<font color="0000ff">HJ, Vivian</font> me too joining the gang very soon but let me go find out more on how to prepare first tho i know my mum has her own way of doing. i prefer to have alternatives just in case. hee hee notti daughter.

Vivian
U starting Rhys at 7 mths aah. I went to pd when D only 6 mths exactly my pd already tell me can feed with fish n meat liao.
But my mum already started cooking porridge for D when I go her place when he was 5mths+. Think our mothers know best lah we actually just need to check with our own mummy n pd can liao.
Cos MOTHERS KNOW BEST like how we know our own bbs now. We also grew up healthy on their food mah

Shirley
Dun bother about what ur relatives say lah. How can they comment that Issac is very hard to take care. So bad. Dun they have moods of their own too?
Issac is also a human being with emotions when he is unhappy or not comfortable of cos he needs to cry right?
Maybe issac dun like ur relatives's face so he gets cranky??.....hehehehe

Talking abt posting pix and blogs, wah.. i long time never update my blog liao...
But then again, cannot everything and anything all post in forum rite? wait everyone also sianz... just scroll scroll scroll when see me post pix... hee...
So everytime I must spend lots of time picking the meaningful ones and funnie ones of Rhys to share here... hee...

Huijun, Vivian
My mum also keep telling me to bring J back for her to start porriage with fish leh..But i still want my PD to clear him for his phlegm thingy before i proceed further..Good thing is i added puree to his cereals so he wont be just eating cereals 24/7 nia lor poor thing leh if only feed cereals nia..

Doreen, Selina
Both D and C are growing very well.. Well done mummy
ya listen to people is better than looking at a piece of paper leh..Could lead to unhealthy wor..

<font color="0000ff">bbgrace</font> i also read abt the 2nd mthd but knowing my mum, her's definitely the 1st. so wif your advice i will use 2nd mthd cos i also paranoid of bones tho i know my dad will check n double check n triple check b4 he release the fish for me....

<font color="0000ff">HJ</font> aiyo dun say that again lah. me pai sei big time liaoz lah.

BBGrace,
I also read that 2nd method is better coz not only abt the fish bone but the overcooked fish might be hard and not tat nice lor... thanks for sharing...

Now talking abt fish, makes me hungry... cannot imagine Rhys' reaction when he start his porridge... this naughty boy loves to eat different food... also cannot imagine his reaction if he has been taking plain cereal for 1 year... think he will hate me for that...

Selina
Agree lor u so nice to ur parents. Even thought they are willing to look after Caleb for u without any returns U still compensate them not only in monetary form but also give them time to do their own things n have their own life. Ur parents so lucky to have such an understanding daughter.

<font color="0000ff">HJ</font> aiya i really feeling very guilty to leave sick Caleb wif my mum tis wkend for my dive trip leh but hor paid liaoz n dun wanna waste the $$$. also my mum kept insisting we go cos we hardly have time to ourselves since Caleb arrived. tho i still dun feel good even only for 3N2D but guess will try to make good the trip ba cos dunno when i will have another chance to do so.

HJ
Haha u think i so chiam meh supplement myself and hubby with symptous food and just feed cereals to J.......kekeke no lah i am saying hor i started to add pumpkins, snow peas, pear and apple to his cereals le..What supper??Which bo liao mummy go and feed supper to baby wa pianzzzzzz that clueless ah Oh goosh!! God please forgive clueless mummy if any!!

HJ
hehehe me is the type that will not go and harm my J for the sake of reading up or just do as i want type leh..like bbgrace say lor we learn from one another..so we share share lor unless the info Boey Zun lah than po pianzzzzz..

Selina
U are indeed a good, understanding daughter..Cos our mother bring us up already very xin ku than happily see us married got kids than tie them down with our kids while i happy happy jalan jalan hor i personally think Sin leh i scare my god dun forgive me ah..unlessotherwise hor i will die die sacrifice my time with hubby just to be with J..althought i SAHM but i still insist my parents to rest even if i got errands to run .. And i dun wanna stress them to take care of J while i sneak out with hubby..i try not to lor maybe say limit ourself once a month or so bah..We know the hardship of taking care baby than still make our parents go through again meh they old liao leh..

<font color="0000ff">esther</font> same thinking i dun wanna tax my parents too much if i can help it. tis wk is the worst cos Caleb is not well, cannot go infantcare n is my 2nd last wk so need to b in office more days. fri mum needs to go office so i headache wat to do wif caleb. lucky hb took half day cos of our dive trip so he can take over n mum can go office

selina,
i was like you. All garang about putting joshua in the infantcare. In the end i couldn't deal with all the falling sick and visits to the pd that i had to pull him out and look after him myself.
But looking at how well HJ's R is in the infantcare, i guess it's different for different babies.
Plus C went at the time when he's 6 mths old where bb are starting to lose their strong immunity. Just like Joshua's case who fell sick within the 1st week also. And worse still his rhinitis makes it even worse whenever he catches a nasty flu bug.
it'll be good if your mum can help with looking after C.
My mum doesn't want to look after my kids full-time and i don't blame her. I've never taken for granted that our parents will have to look after our kids. They have already devoted a part of their life looking after us. Now it's time for them to enjoy. I'm already grateful that my parents come a few days in a week to play with the kids.

Having kids is my own business. It's not my character to give birth to children and expect other people to care for them while i go enjoy myself.

i'm already resigned to the fact that i can't go for another holiday till Emma is older. So <font color="0000ff">Selina</font>, go for this short short trip just to recharge yourself. In fact, my Feb 05 mummy friends (Joshua's peers) are organising a getaway to Bali to stay in a villa and those with 1 kid are bringing the kiddos along. I very much want to go but i know that bringing 2 kids without a maid is definitely no holiday. Neither do i want to dump Emma here while we go enjoy ourselves.

Sorry for rambling here. But this has touched a raw nerve cos i always strongly believe in being responsible for our own children if you want to give birth to them. Even if it means giving up my job and a comfortable pay package to do so.