(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

crystallized

u can let R play first no problem. I am fine with it since it is also sitting there collecting dust and another 3 weeks before i see u leh. i prefer to let R play than collecting dust haha! hope u can go to BG gathering then i can collect the toy from u. if not dont know when i can collect from u liao

wendytan
tks for the bday wishes! Cheyenne finally hit her 6mths mark today!

jo
seems like u really enjoyed the trip! envy envy.. im also gg for a short break to phuket in 2weeks's time. will be spending my bday there!

selina
abt the BG gathering, i might be coming with 2 of my frens, their baby and C. but i cant cfm yet. will post here to confirm our attendance soon

C can sit without support and is starting to crawl now. but she still cant sit up by herself tho. Have started her on bananas and apples, am gonna try pear tmr! so far this gal very greedy, will gobble everything down, even new foods. haiz, no wonder when i was preggie i ate everything also.

<font color="0000ff">HJ, starz, shirley</font> dun worry abt bombing thread with relevance. we dun mind that.

n tks for all your well wishes for Caleb who is still having block nose. bought the nasal aspirator n will try to clear his nose tonight. hope after that he will b better.

<font color="0000ff">crystallized</font> boo hoo... y u ask esther abt Caleb n dun ask me?

<font color="0000ff">storm</font> sure. your friend is welcome too. let me know lah

just pop in to let off some steam

gastric hurting like hell and having lunch now in front of my workstation.

there were so much things to clear and my email system hang everytime i open my email, was told that is becos my inbox is bursting

needless to say, can ot all the way till end of the week liao

hi hi weikuan..
thks..thks..let's look forward to it ahh..me also hope i can cope well in the new role..

hi hi starz..
thks..thks..i hope i can adapt lor..keke..so hw's ur scan?do u hv any morn sickness?hope this pregnancy is a smooth one for u..so that u get to spend more time with A ahh..

hi hi mummies working at town area..
since me tendered liao..shall we hv a lunch together in town area..hopefully ard tanjong pagar area again..keke..date/time to be confirmed..probably next wk?

1) wendy
2) jackiejon

hi hi wei kuan..
wow..so nice ahh..only handover liao..gd ah..i think i got tons of stuff to do lor, now i m worried..duno got time for handover anot...i think the lunch shd be ard tanjong pagar area ba..coz i know some mummies cant travel far..

<font color="0000ff">Wendy, Storm, Starz, Shirley</font>

I did indeed have a good time, so post some pictures here to share my happiness with u ladies and to give sis & my pals a quicker access to the pictures by sending them the link ;)

hope u gals dun mind hor..cos Japan is such a pretty place and just wana share my joy with u all

<font color="0000ff">Storm</font>
it is my time to envy envy when i seee ur Phuket pictures
hehe, nice to celebrate bday elsewhere instead of Spore

The last time was it in Phuket too , as in those pictures u posted here where every1 commented that u look very sexy and figure resumes back so fast
?

<font color="0000ff">Wendy</font>
glad to hear that u r moving on to a better job that will have nicer colleagues
it is awful to be working in an environment with lousy colleagues

Hope Mav recover asap !

<font color="0000ff">Shirley</font>

a working trip is hardly fun ! i agree abt the the rain there..that is y ended up buying new umbrellas cos the ones i brot from spore all kenna spoilt by the heavy rain, esp at Tokyo Disneyland

Isaac is standing very well indeed

hehe, can tobang u to buy the masks the next time u r there, only if it wun cost u too much trouble ?

<font color="0000ff">Huijun</font>

That reminds me about the beach ball that u ask me to get for u , when r u coming over to get it ? I am home on sunday

<font color="0000ff">ladies</font>

paiseh for the long posting, forgive me hor, since i never post for 6 days liao mah :p

Having a gathering at my hse this sun with some pals to distribute japanese tibits & souvenirs and one of them was asking

"jo, r we gonna sit thru another 2 hrs of pic-viewing? ;-p"

think that was the bad memory from 2006 viewing of the 1000 plus pics taken at New Zealand

<font color="0000ff">btw, to share</font>

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353640/306776.html?1176188634

so nice rite, my pal's son is one of those at the birthday bash

PS: looking forward to our kids having their 1st year birthday bash !

<font color="0000ff">jrt</font>

hehe, L went thru the previous 2 hrs viewing last year and fell asleep in the middle of it

<font color="0000ff">esther</font>

i went thru the archives and saw that we can no longer post pictures without babies..

my apologies

<font color="0000ff">will email the moderator to remove the posts</font>

<font color="aa00aa">purple spinach</font> <font color="aa00aa">hi mummies, those making veg puree for bbs can consider getting this spinach. dad told me it is higher in iron content compared to the normal ones. the leaves has wee bit of purple colour n the juice after cooking is purplish. dad told me it is not easy to find so if u can find, do buy to make for bb ba. now if i m home, i dun give caleb frozen puree. i will put the spinach into his porridge to cook together. here's a pix to share. hope u all find this useful. sorry pix a bit blur.</font>
756555.jpg

<font color="0000ff">Oct 06 Mummies Babies Gathering</font>

<font color="0000ff">Date:</font> <font color="0000ff">Saturday, 28 April 2007</font>
<font color="0000ff">Time:</font> <font color="0000ff">5pm</font>
<font color="0000ff">Venue:</font> <font color="0000ff">Botanic Gardens, Swan Lake</font>
<font color="0000ff">Parking:</font> <font color="0000ff">Basement carpark near hawker centre opposite main entrance of Botanic Gardens</font>

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="ff6000"><font size="-1">Mummy</font></font></TD><TD><font color="ff6000"><font size="-1">Baby</font></font></TD><TD><font color="ff6000"><font size="-1">HB/Helper</font></font></TD><TD><font color="ff6000"><font size="-1">Food</font></font></TD><TD><font color="ff6000"><font size="-1">Logistics</font></font></TD><TD><font color="ff6000"><font size="-1">Location</font></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Selina</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Caleb</font>, <font color="0000ff">Liam (7)</font>, <font color="ff0000">Clydi (3)</font></TD><TD>Leslie</TD><TD>Fruits Salad</TD><TD>Bumbo / Name Tags / Paper Plates, Forks & Spoons, Plastic cups</TD><TD>from Jurong East </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Mango</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Megan</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Honey Chicken Wings</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Delphine</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Desiree</font></TD><TD>N.A.</TD><TD>Agar Agar</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Tong Pang Vivian </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Karen</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Brayden</font></TD><TD>HB</TD><TD>Snacks (Potato Chips etc)</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Jerene</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Alexis</font></TD><TD>Adrian/Sriyati</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Bumbo/Tissues/Serviettes</TD><TD>from Marine Parade </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Doreen</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Damien</font></TD><TD>N.A.</TD><TD>Bread (TBC)</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>from Bishan </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Esther</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Jovan</font></TD><TD>HB</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Bumbo / Canvas</TD><TD>from Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Bbgrace</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Emma</font> & <font color="0000ff">Joshua</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>from Sengkang </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Vivian</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Rhys</font></TD><TD>Cheng Liang</TD><TD>Chilled Packet Drinks</TD><TD>Bumbo</TD><TD>Tong Pang Delphine </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Gemini</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Tricia</font></TD><TD>HB</TD><TD>Bee Hoon</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>from Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Coral</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Charlotte</font></TD><TD>HB</TD><TD>Chilled Packet Drinks</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>from Simei </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Shirley</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Isaac</font></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>from Sengkang </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">jenny</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">jaslyn</font> & <font color="ff0000">jolene</font></TD><TD>HB</TD><TD>Eclairs</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>from Sembawang/Pandan </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Littlekid</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Kennedy, Aloysius (7), Jefferson (4)</font> </TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Curry (TBC)</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>from Sembawang </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Momconomics</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Jaeden</font> </TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Jo</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Kelicia</font></TD><TD>David</TD><TD>Potato Salad</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>from Bt Batok </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>
<font color="ff0000"><font size="-1"><u>Terms & Conditions:</u></font></font>
<font color="ff0000"><font size="-1">1. Those who are not well or just recovered, you know what to do</font></font>
<font color="ff0000"><font size="-1">2. Pictures taken, especially with mummies & daddies & helpers, </font></font><font color="ff0000"><font size="-1">NOT</font></font><font color="ff0000"><font size="-1"> be posted in forum but kept to Yahoo Groups</font></font>

did i miss out anyone? <font color="0000ff">storm</font> have not added your name cos will wait till your confirmation can. tks

oh ya, might be celebrating my niece's bday that day. hope everyone can help her celebrate. her bday is the day b4 our picnic

<font color="ff0000">Lunch at Tanjong pagar area </font>
date/time: to be confirmed

1) wendy
2) jackiejon
3) momconomics
4) bbgrace

<font color="0000ff">crystallized</font>
Yes, the lock n lock container can be placed in the freezer. it didn't occur to me that the cereal could have aggravated her rashes till i found some on her torso. So i thought better play safe.

hi mummies, sorry to barge into your thread ...

I've overstocked my Desitin as I have changed brands. Anyone keen to buy?

I've got 5 tubes of <font color="0000ff">Desitin Creamy Fresh Scent, 4oz</font> to let go at <font color="ff0000">$9.50</font>, pick up at Sengkang/Punggol. <font color="ff0000">Expiry 2008</font>

Pls pm me if u r keen.

Tks!

starz,
hubby put mittens on emma last night to stop her from scratching herself but this girl started chewing / sucking the mittens till it's all wet! sigh!

i'm going to monitor her and not feed her any solids over the next few days to see if rash clears. I've got quite a few types of creams that is supposed to soothe rashes. If it still doesn't clear, then i'll send her to the PD. My take is that even if i send her there now, PD will still tell me to go back and monitor.
I find that as a 2nd time mommy, i tend to be more laid back now compared to before where i would rush to the PD. haha!

starz,
As for your question on why cannot start greens first. i'm not too sure also but books that i've read always indicated the age for starting greens eg brocolli, spinach etc is 7-8 mths whereas fruits / root veg like apples, pears, sweet potato is 4-6 mths old.
Therefore i just drawn my conclusion that fruits / root veg comes before greens.

One possible reason for starting greens later is the concern on the nitrate level present in green vegetables. To quote what i've read in wholesomebabyfood.com

"Nitrates are naturally occurring nitrogen/oxygen compounds found in almost every vegetable that we eat and the soils they are grown in. Nitrates are also laboratory formulated and used in fertilizers. Nitrates are ingested either from vegetables or drinking water. Nitrates/nitrites have been found to be responsible for "Blue Baby Syndrome." Adults are not affected by nitrates or nitrites because their stomachs produce acids that fight the bacteria that help convert nitrates into nitrites. This conversion, and the resulting nitrite, is what allows for nitrate poisoning or Blue Baby Syndrome.

Therefore it is recommended that greens be fed to bb only when their digestive system gets more developed.

My own rationale is that green veg are more fibrous and is more difficult to swallow / digest. Therefore i would prefer to feed easier to swallow fruits / root veg first before introducing the greens.

wah, for once i can catch up with this thread pretty quickly.

Congrats to <font color="0000ff">Wendy</font> and <font color="0000ff">HJ</font>! guess u 2 having ORD mood now.

<font color="ff0000">Lunch at Tanjong pagar area</font>

1) wendy
2) jackiejon
3) momconomics
4) bbgrace
5) Coolmum

Qn: Can meet at IP or LPS? Cos I'll be taking a bus down from Harbour Front and have to walk to the TV12 side to take bus back.

<font color="0000ff">Selina</font>
u hv missed me out from the BG.

<font color="0000ff">Gemini</font>
Totally understand your frustration. i was damn pissed off with my PILs too.

Mummies, pardon me for vetting my anger here also. yday, hb and i took off due to infant centre closed. then my PILs came to our place. first thing she did was to carry my bb, and she could carried him for the <font color="aa00aa">whole day</font> even i've explained to them that bb are very smart, u just need to do it once and they'll ask for it in the future. when he spoke, she just use the excuse that he was asking her to carry him. of course she can carry until very shiok cos she only do it for feel hours, after she left who suffers? I DO!

i told them that i'm training him to hold the bottle himself, so just leave him lying on the sofa and he can drink on his on. my MIL told me now that she is here she'll carry him, train him when she is not around! @#@$$%&&!! wah piang... i spent so much effort to train him to drink by himself and she just come and spoil it! and my FIL insisted that bb 8mth old then know how to hold bottle even though i already showed him my bb can do it! told him PD said KB might be growing teeth soon and he insisted that not poseible.

last time when they are not at my place my bb can sleep at 8-9pm. that day when he was still awake at 10pm plus my MIL said good, better dont let him sleep too early!! wah piang, she didnt even know that normal bb sleeps from 8 till next morning! think she just wanted to carry him.

last Sat KB had his 6-in-1 jab and after the jab he slept from 5 to 9pm, woke up for milk then cried again. i told them he wanted to sleep again most prob due to the jab and they insisted no cos he just woke up. next moment he zzzz.... felt like telling them if they know nothing about bb go <font color="ff0000">FXXX OFF</font>!

so yday i told them off that they carry him until so shiok next day he go infant centre no one carry him then he suffers! I said it in a very hash tone and with a very black face. then i complained to my hb in English infront of them. <font color="0000ff">do u all think i very bad huh?</font> i really dont know how to tell them this is my son so pls do it my way!

sorry for my long posting, now forget what else i want to say. hv to go thru those postings again.

starting solid
==============

hv started KB on cereal last Fri using nestle plain rice cereal. day 1 i mixed with BM and he could finished. day 2&3 i used FM and he didnt finish it. yday i changed to Heinz plain cereal with BM and he could finished it. today i added pear pureen to it and he also finished it.
i didnt fetch him from the centre today but hb told him he pooed twice vs his norm of every 3 days. <font color="0000ff">qn: is that normal?</font>

i understand that we can only introduce need food to bb one at a time. how long do we hv to do this?

coolmum
*sayang sayang* relax ya...take a deep breathe keke..happy mummy = happy baby

for solid food always try for at least 3 days to see if there is any allergy bf intro others

Aquaducks Trial
===================
The girl called me late afternoon..She said we have to gather our own MAx 6 babies to form a group for the trial else have to join other babies in order for the instructor to start the trial..As for timing wise once gathered enough babies, call them to arrange for their available timing cos instructor got classes to teach upon confirmation of our trial they will let us know the timing.. So mummies we shall arrange and see who is interested ok

Baby sleeping hour
==================
actually most of the babies i know sleep ard 8-10pm.. but my C sleeps at 12am. dunno y leh.. there was once she "tong" until 2am dun wanna sleep. can tell she's very tired coz kept rubbing eyes and yawning. but when i put her into her cot/yaolan, she start smiling, laughing and kicking her legs. wah lau.. buay tahan!

jo
last time i went krabi. nv been to phuket before. go holiday with hubby can onli go beach destinations. he's a beach bum

and im not sexy la, tummy still there and arms still fat. haiz. thinking of doing mesotherapy liao

selina,
R on this purple spinach since 6mths. this is the only spinach she tried so far. I bought it from the west coast market (near my mun house) every sunday @ 6am.
Now i every sunday went to wet market @ 6am and wake up @ 5.45am cos the codfish is very fresh. will start R on fish this sun cos she is 7mths old this fri. she also sian everyday veges and fruits. I tried to give her sweet peas last week. She like it a lot cos it sweet. You can try that too.
Like Caleb, she start crawling liao. Was so surprise to see one milestone after another.

SORRY gals, I change my mind and may go to BG gathering, u gals mind or not? Can I comfirm w u gals next week.
Jo,
Will take the ball from u at BG gathering if I am going.

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">WOO HOO!!!</font></font>
<font color="0000ff">Happy 6 mths to the 2 princesses,</font> <font color="aa00aa"><font size="+2"> Emma & Charlotte</font></font> <font color="0000ff">and our little prince,</font> <font size="+2"><font color="119911">Alvis!</font></font>

will reply on postings later if i hv the time.

Good Morning Mummies

Have been missing since last week because Jonathan was down with viral fever.

<font color="0000ff">Babygrace</font>
I told my hubby regarding your sister and you know what he said....he bump into your sister & BIL outside our place during CNY (dont know which day) when he was outside our door and both my hubby and your sister + your BIL greeted each other. Then I asked him how come when Sunday, 25 March I saw your sister & your BIL at the church canteen and mentioned that your BIL looks like our next door neigbour, he just kept quiet (wanna to faint).

I asked him since you know that the two guys (your BIL and our neighbour) are related how come never tell me and let me always keep on guessing and whenever I see your BIL in church I always comment that they look alike.

That is my husband. Always know about things and keep quiet.

<font color="0000ff">Starz & Bunny</font>
If you need to find Confinement Lady, just pm me. I can give you her contact number. She is a very nice lady who did my confinement last October and till now she often call me up to ask about Joanna.

<font color="0000ff">Little Kid</font>
I understand how you feel. This is what happen to us when we had Jonathan:

When I gave birth of Jonathan @ Gleneagles 4 years ago, he was premature (he was born 1 month ahead). When I was discharged from the hospital, I had to go home without him because he had jaundice and need to stay behind. After staying in the hospital for about 6 days, the doctors found out that he had hole in the heart (AVSD). Not one but two holes. 1 big and 1 small (thank goodness the smaller hole closed by itself when he was about 6 months old). Just imaging just giving birth to the first child and inexperience, both my hubby and myself had to go round looking for doctors and finding out more about his condition through asking, talking to people and reading up about it on the internet.

We managed to find this heart specialist at Gleneagles but he is charging about $80,000 just to do the operation (that exclude medical, hospital bill etc). When Jonathan was discharged, we brought him to Polyclinic and got a refer letter to refer us to KKH. Every month he had to see doctor at least twice a month and when Jonathan was about 1 1/2 years old, he had to go through the heart operation to close up the "big hole". Before that heart operation, we had to go through councelling from the doctors @ KKH. The operation at KKH cost us only $2,000 compare to private hospital.

It was a nightmare going through that period, seeing Jonathan so small yet had to go through such a major operation. We stayed there overnight at the Children ICU to keep him company and when he was wheeled out from the Operation Theater (I can still remember the way he look), he had many tubes poke on this tiny body and for the 1st 2 days after his operation, he was put on the life support until his heart pump on its own.

That is why when I wanted to try for the 2nd child, without any hesitation, I choose KKH. This is because I also worry about the health condition of the 2nd child, expenses of the operation etc because there is a slight chance that the 2nd child might have heart condition as Jonathan. Moreover, my husband side, my husband's two other cousins have such condition but for them they do not have to have any operation done the "repair the heart".

With Jonathan's case, it actually pull both my hubby and me closer.

That is why, when my gynae & the PD @ KKH declare Joanna to be healthy we are extremely happy.

Now, its has been coming 2 years since Jonathan had that operation. On his chest, there is this long scar that is about 5 cm long that remind us what we all went through during that time. Till now sometimes he still touches his scar as though telling me that he also remember what he had gone through. With his condition, he will be exempted from PE lesson in school next time he enter Primary school.

Even now, we are extremely blessed and we really thank God for giving us both Jonathan & Joanna.

<font color="0000ff">Sorry for the long post</font>

<font color="119911">HAPPY 6TH MONTHS OF EMMA, CHARLOTTE & ALVIS</font>

jackiejon
cant helped feeling so touched hearing this story abt jonathan... now tt i am oso a mum, i certainly can understd how u felt then. glad tt jonathan is healthy aft the op.

hi hi mummies

will be joining the BG gathering!

1. me + cheyenne + helper otih (tbc) - ngor hiang
2. fren + hubby + bb dillon - ham&cheese sandwich

<font color="ff6000">hi mummies. me just got back from PD. brought caleb for review. poor boy kana slight bronchitis. need to use neubaliser now to speed up the recovery. rented 1 home. now dunno whether to go for my dive trip on fri tho mum says she can manage. haiz</font>

happy 6th month Emma, Charlotte and Alvis

jackiejon....it really pains us to see our little one going thro...i can imagine hw u and yr hb felt during this time..cos my boy nearly came out premature when he is only 6mths....it was the longest time in my whole life staying at the labour ward that time....glad jon pulled through the ordeal and is a healthy boy now...

selina..hope caleb recovers fast as well...u too must rest well ya....

<font color="0000ff">coolmum</font> sorry. included. plse let me know what u bringing

<font color="0000ff">storm</font> updated.

<font color="119911">BG Picnic</font> hi mummies going for the picnic. remember hor dun prepare too much food hor otherwise we have to stay till 10pm to finish all the food then can go home. think just prepare for max 50% of the attendance can liaoz. acutally i think prepare abt 30% of the attendance might be enf too.

Lunch
======
I would like to join you all for lunch next week but if the lunch is on Monday then you gals go ahead cos I'm on leave that day.

Lunch at Tanjong pagar area

1) wendy
2) jackiejon
3) momconomics
4) bbgrace
5) Coolmum
6) Littlekid

Hi Jackiejon,
Thanks for telling me your story, I can't imagine how you go through the mental stress that time. Now I only hope that the doctor's word is real that he should be discharged by the next visit. Btw, for the lunch next week, just in case if I didn't log in the next few days, please sms me, ok.

Hi Selina,
I think there is virus everywhere, a lot of people sick these days. Today Kenndy is not feeling well too, he got fever since Monday, don't know whether it's because his teeth are coming out or he got the virus from the eldest boy who also got fever since Sunday and just heard from my mum that he got cough and flu too. I think I have to bring him back to the PD later this evening. Bronchitis can be quite serious, hope he get well soon and you too, take care.