(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

jenny, jackiejon,
no prob. will have chance one

Actually, a thought just come to my mind. It's a gd idea we dont buy the maternity pads, cos those nite pads, even after confinement, still can use for our menses....

Hi aspialle,

ur MIL is right. The vaccinations done at polyclinic is definitely cheaper. I hope i did not get the facts wrong, my colleague was telling me if bb was delivered at private hospitals, then go polyclinics, no subsided rate...

Janice,
My gynae also said mine is 90% girl because can't see the birdie.

rhys, don't worry, once comfirm is boy, will be a 100% boy.
but when comfirm a girl, is not 100%.

hi coral,
tat day u r saying wanna buy DVD cam, rite? can check out at COMEX this weekend. i saw today The Straits Times, there come wif a lot of freebies as same as i mentioned previously.
hubby going there 2molo wif his fren, as he dun wan me to follow coz will b very crowded there.

hi Selina,
wanna join the gathering but still not sure Sat schedule yet coz i still need to work half day. will let u know 2molo.

hi jenny,
do we need so much of pads? as i saw most of u stock up this sofy pads. coz i sure wun use this long pads for my normal mense coz mine one not heavy flow.

Was going thru yesterday's posting and saw the items to pack for the hospital bag....
One more item you may wanna add is the KIT for cord blood if you have oredi signed up for one.

Wei Kuan - So far I have only bot 2 packs of Mama Poko NB pampers. Just got them over last weekend from Giant. It was going for $11 for 28pcs.

Crystallized, thanks for the explanation. Maybe it's that way ba. Any way i'll try not to scratch since scars can be ugly too.

Janice, Selina, thanks for the info. Then i'll go for foot reflexology at marina first then come over.

Vivian, aiya, boy or gal also your precious bb. But since got birdie earlier on, cannot run away liao.

Jasmine, thank you. My hb also plan to go check it out this weekend, he also don't want to let me go cos too crowded I may faint due to lack of O2 or got bump into by pple.

Wei Kuan, not enuf can always but later. No point buying too much now, later your gal grow too big for NB size then wasted.

hi hi aspialle...
ya lor..why dun just give one lump sum of $3k..at least easier for us also lor..but i think the $6k dollar-match from Govt shd let us have it in cash also lor..but only for the use of those approved prog..okok..thks ahh..thks for helping me to take the brochures on diabetics..appreciate that..

hi hi crystallized..
aft what u mentioned on the receipts..i think i will stop taking lasagne for a while lor aft giving birth..aiyo..

hi hi jenny..
i get what u meant..but i think must be fair ma..somemore 1st grandchild leh...anyway, i m ok even if they dun turn up lor..keke..i just find the co-savings like very lugi leh..coz we cannot draw out in cash lor..can only be used for those education prog by approved institutes or if not child care centres..or to purchase medishield..okok..if u can come & drop by for the gathering, give me a ring..

hi hi selina..
ok lah..at least u both make up is gd lor..got one night i also quarreled with hubby, i think i m too stressed up..so like pick on him on small little things..i also apologised aft that..aiya, me la..shd learn to relax my mind more..aft talking to one of the mother friend..i think i shd dirvert my "stress" & focus on my boy's arrival lor..

hi hi jasmine..
last night discussed with hubby on the 2 bedded & 4 bedded..indeed, the total difference is only $157.50 (w/gst)..so u r really right to take 2 bedded lor..in fact, one of the mother friend i spoke to this morn, she also gave birth in RH..she told me, RH only gave a bag with some magazines..not even free milk samples..omg..but she told me that the service level at RH is very gd..the nurses & midwives are very caring..they will give u alot of attention..i guess this is really heart-warming lor..we will need to clarify some clarifications with Kelly at the appt b4 we get to decide if we will be taking 2 bedded or 4 bedded lor..

I saw yr latest updated babies weight as at 30 August and I cldnt help comparing the weight of my baby.

My EDD is 8 Oct and I am just 5 weeks away from my big day...This is my 3rd child, as at 33 weeks, my little one weigh just 1.8kg...so tiny.

WeiKuan - I used mamapoko before for my 2 kids but I wld rather recommend during the first 6 mths or so to use Pampers premium.

My inital 2 babies have nappy rash after using other brands.

I am trying to locate a nappy rash cream, I think by the brand of Smith....(somethg). Cldnt remember the full name.

It's in white tube and I think costs abt 10.90.
Any mummy seen this anywhere, pls give me a buzz.

hi hi ladies..
me thinking of gg for a nice buffet lunch with hubby to relax ourselves & also spend time together..do u all have any recommendation for wkends buffet lunch?

Jasmine,
I use SOfy pads during menses. So stock up more is ok for me. I used to use long pads lah, even on those not heavy flow days. Sofy is great for nite use.
That time, I used 3 packs of Kotek Maternity Pads (3 x 10pcs), then I switched to Sofy. I used about 14 to 15 packs wor (15 x 8 pcs). For me, once I go toilet, I will change the pad. For hygenic purpose cos scare infection.

Wei Kuan,
I din buy any NB Pampers. I bought 1 ctn of NB Fixies. Think is 6 packs x 20 pcs. Just buy 1 pack of NB Pampers, when 3/4 finished, then ask hb to go buy lah. Very fast outgrown one, so better dun stock up. Some more who knows if got diapers as gift from relatives/friends.
Tonics take after 12 days or after your wound is healed.

Coral,
Foot reflexology??? Preggie cannot do leh.

Wendy,
Bo bian lor... just use the Co-Savings to pay for school fees next time lor. Like "lock" our $ like that hor?

hi coral,
no pro. i'm sure COMEX fair will b very crowded as usual lol. it's better for us dun go there. later hb hav to take care of us & cant really search things that wanna to buy.

hi wendy,
yeah... will check wif kelly more details 2molo. btw, remember to bring the price list tat she gave us. 1 more day to go....
oo.yea, did u receive my email few days ago? i print out frm the forum. i think RH is the only one didnt give freebies lol. but most of the mommies who gave birth there didnt bother about the freebies, most of them very happy wif the service & also their food.

Jenny,
oic... wow, u used quite a lot of pads during confinement lel.
i think i will stock up 2 or 3 packs of sofy pads jz in case the flow is heavy, at least can ask hb to buy. me also hav very sensitive skin & easy to get rashes. when i sweat, my both thigh there alwasy got rashes. so, i better change frequently to avoid infection.
thanks....

Jenny, the place where i go for my usual pre-natal massage say it's fine leh. See how, if I go and don't feel so confident, then let hb do and i watch ba. Thank you!

Hi Rzz(mum23) (rzz),
welcome!! we r having the same EDD but mine is 1st baby. Dun worry about baby weight if ur gynae didnt mention anything. the most impt is bb health. My bb oso 1.72 at weeks 32. my next appt will b 2molo.

Jasmine,
Ya lor, I used a lot. Very heavy flow for the 1st few weeks leh. Sometimes like 1-2 hrs got to change le. I rather change more often than kena infection.

Coral,
The place I used to go for foot reflexology said no no when preggie and menses period leh. So I have stopped since I know I preggie.

hi hi jenny..
ya lor..hubby & i was reading thru last night..aiyo..like very restricted lor..the use of co-savings..cannot take out as cash..kena lock the $ there..

hi hi jasmine..
oh, i dun think i recd ur email leh..can resend to me again?i think the review is very gd lor..this mother friend of mine actually stayed at 1 bedded so i think she got even better services ba..keke..

hi hi doggiesmummy..
maybe western cusine ba..i guess if the wkend buffet lunch is nice..it's worth the try, i dun mind trying out..u got any recommendation?thks..

hi hi jasmine..
okok..let me go & chk it out ahh..

jenny, prob mine going to do foot rub for me and avoid all the acu. points ba. So that's why they say ok. I think I just go for some soothing rub since my feet really tired after my moving house. Will prob not have the real foot reflex.

Me today stay at home coz super heavy rain and my school will become the most dangerous place in Singapore as the tiles of the whole school are those slippery type and some parts of the building will flood. Yesterday, when the rain starts, my students sms me specially to remind me to be careful. In the end, got a student to escort me to staff room. My colleagues also very worried that I might slip and fall.
Today, rain started and my hb really worried that I might fall so insisted I stayed at home. So here I am, at home, planning to put up Rhys's bedsheet etc...

SIL Birth Story
===============
Last nite, went to visit my SIL in TMC. She looks good. Gave birth, E-CSect with GA, at her 38 weeks. Baby gal is 2.335kg. very small in size despite her doc keep saying that the bb is over weight during her preg. So the weight is so not accurate. But my SIL's tummy is really BIG. Thats why we are saying her case is like a big durian casing with a small little seed... haaa...

The whole thing started like this...
Waterbag broke once she reached office in the morning. Panicked and got a cab to go home after waiting for long time. Went to pack her hospital bag and went TMC with my bro.
Doc checked and she is already 3cm dilated. But after that, 2 hrs liao still only 1 cm more. She did mentioned it is PAIN LIKE HELL. Doc checked again and realised that bb seems like in distress, and right after my SIL breathe in oxygen, the bb's heartbeat becomes normal again. So Doc suggested to go Emergency CSect. My SIL afraid that if she goes CSect with Epidural, she might move ard during operation as she will be awake, decided to take GA instead.
And at 1531h, baby Simin is borned. My SIL say she was awaken right after the op. Feeling ok but hungry. Doc told her that luckily took E-CSect coz they found the umbilical cord is ard the bb's neck.

Anyway, just a few note, TMC auto-upgraded my SIL 4-bedder to 2-bedder so she only pay 4-bedder price but stay in 2-bedder. Room a bit small. As last nite, my SIL family and my family went to visit her at the same time... wah... super crowded and noisy. Think the patient in the same room cannot tahan us... I actually told my hb that I think I will definitely take my 1-bedder coz this is way too noisy and cramp liao. My hb agreed too.

Vivian, thanks for sharing your SIL birth story. Moral of the story, really can't plan too much also. Never know what will happen during our time. And no point worrying abt bb's weight, cos the estimate from scan not very accurate. So let's all wait for our bb in happiness instead of worrying so much abt things outta our control! Hope we'll all be able to share our happy birth story here. getting so excited.

coral,
I see, then should be safe.

Vivian,
Your student so nice

You giving birth at TMC also? Me also intend to take 1 bedded BUT must make sure hb stays over. I told him if he is not going to stay over with me, I go for 2 bedded cos I dun dare to sleep alone in hospital.
Actually those scanning for weight not accurate one. Usually is lighter. I feel gynae just want us to eat less in case cannot go for natural delivery.
Actually TMC will upgrade the patients from 4 bedded to 2 bedded, unless really unlucky 2 bedded is fulled, then no free upgrade. I heard they are going to remove the 4 bedded room soon.

Wendy, thanks for sharing. Ya, delivery can sometimes turn out to be the most life endangering expereince. Pray that none of us will have to go thru such trauma...

doggies mummy, esther
Think my sis mention to me before 3rd tri eat cooling stuff liao. But this one is given by my FIL. Than my hubby a bit "wei nan" lor. Cos I nag at hubby before can ask ur father not to boil anymore soup for me anot than he just huh u dun want the soup aah. Think next time he boil at most I just pour away??hehe...very naughty

But he buy the things from his sinseh friend leh cannot be the friend ask him to boil for me right? Cos hubby mention his friend teach him how to boil birdnest for me.

Now still feeling so heaty and nose stuck lucky sore throat gone. Sob sob I still going malay wedding this Sun leh sick how to eat nice food.

Jenny
Is it true 2 bedded at TMC can keep baby with u if U request for total breastfeeding??
1 of the mummies tell me her SIL stay TMC 2 bedded bb stay with her wor.

I won't be taking 1 bedded cos sure hubby will be working than I dun want him to rush here rush there than I dun want to sleep alone also...hehe

rec'd this email, anyone interested? I previously bot $250+ to get the disc card and now is with every purchase. VIP card can't use for undergarment tho.

Happy Teachers' Day

Complimentary
Spring Maternity Privilege Card
with any purchase

1st - 3rd Sept

Bring along your Public Service Card as proof of identity

Suntec City, Happy Kidz #03-21B/C . Plaza Singapura #03-19

Causeway Point #03-36 . Century Square #02-27

www.springmaternity.com

janice & jenny
hehee managed to buy 2 pcs of the sofy pads in town tdy. there are still a few packs left but i din buy all coz i was gg for a mtg. looks v weird carrying so much pads. hahaha
hopefully the stocks in CWP will b replenished soon lah. i bought a pack of each coz dunno which is suits me.

bbgrace
oh u oso dun like so many pple ard u huh? hehee... i din noe the flowers not gd to leave in the rm leh. thks 4 informing. but u said u got alot, then how? everynite u got "parade" o/s ur room ah? hehehe

wendy
u freaked out at the sight of lasagne liao? hehehe, dun be lah, esp when we din see how it literally looks like yet. dun scare, dun scare. hehehe

hehehe, i am oso thinking to go and hv a nice lunch/dinner wif my hb since i am popping soon!
i heard buffet at Vienna is gd. its the hotel opp hyatt, beside DFS. Think its Plaza park Royal or sthg... cant rem.

vivian
thks 4 sharing ur SIL's story. my baby's weight oso estimated to b big and i am worried. but alot of pple incldg u gals kept saying its only an estimate. i am oso trying not to over worry. really hope everything proceeds smoothly lor.

Hello Mtbs,

Long time never log in liao...
I had just had my doc's appoinment last night.
All was well, until doc scan my tummy and commented that my amniotic fluid is really low.
Then he send me for CTG scanning. After scanning, he says the report is ok but i will have to see him again this sat.
If the amniotic fluid is even lower, then he will then have to induce me.
I'm now in my 35th week but so worry about BB's health now...

hey fret not! u r not the only one. my amniotic fluid level oso started dropping at 34wks+... gynae will b closely monitoring me as well. same thing, if my water drops furthur, i might oso hv to b induced. my CTG scanning will b done at my next visit. dun worry so much since gynae will b monitoring us closely. i am sure it doesnt really affect the baby now else gynae will oso b alarmed. cheer up!

Hi Jasmine,

I am due for my gynap checkup tomorrow too..hopefully my littleone has gained a little of weight..
The last time I did a scan, he's in a breech position, I was told to do some excercises at home for 10min -15 min to turn him around.

Unfortunately, I got dizzy spells and I ended up doing the excercises for only 5 mins.

Might have to do a massage by wk 37 to turn the baby round if he's still in a breech position.

Babybenmen - I have girlfriends who had similiar problems too..low amniotic fluid but the baby turns out fine..Dont worry too much

Coral,
Yah lor, moral of the story is we cannot control much lah. My SIL also never expect to go CSect. She was so worried that her bb is very overweight as her doc keep reminding her and wanted her to eat less during her last few weeks. Turns out mini size.
Actually, my SIL also quite bo-chup. Imagine that she gave birth liao hor, her baby cot haven buy yet... bb go home without a bed waiting for her... sigh...

Jenny,
No, I am not giving birth in TMC, me chose MAH coz parking problem plus my gynae say MAH's labour suite just renovated and she quite liked it, bright and big.
As for TMC 4-bedder, my SIL told me they left only 1 room that is 4 bedder. So very high chance of free upgrade. :p

babybenmen,
Dun worry, you and baby will be fine... jia you...

crystallized,
My bb also almost the same weight as yours. Dun worry too much... After seeing my SIL's case, I think I will try not to worry abt that at this moment liao...

doreen,
Actually the nurse there won't request you to bring bb back to nursery. You can keep bb with you but not advisable. Cos our room is cold, bb can't stand the temp and will shiver. BB's temp is different from us. They either get cold or hot easily. What you can do is, inform the nurse that you wanna TBF. So when bb needs feeding, the nurse will bring bb over to you.

crystallized,
Before you not using pad ah? Cos if using, then you will know cotton or net suitable for you. I like net type cos feel more "fresh". Hey, you can try North Point Watson also mah.

Vivian,
Oh MAH ah, aiya the 2 bedded at MAH quite spacious lah, bigger than TMC. But I dun like the room layout. They have a big mirror with washing basin facing the bed nearer to the door. Then the toilet entrance facing the bed nearer to the window. Room lighting a bit dim, I dun like lor.

crystallized,
first night i blur blur dunno so the flowers were in the room. From 2nd night onwards, hubby took some down to the chapel and left them there. he only left 1 or 2 basket of the nicer ones outside the room, on the floor. actually it's just a waste to have flowers, i would rather have diapers or chicken essence. haha!

babybenmen
crystallized is right. Don't worry too much. For my 1st one, the water level also started dropping from week 36. So long as gynae is monitoring closely, should be no problem.

vivien,
i can imagine how small your SIL's bb is. My boy was 2.4kg at birth even though gynae estimated that he'll be close to 3 kg. So for this one, i don't even bother to ask gynae about the weight cos it's just an estimate anyway and the margin for error can be as much as 400g.

Hi MTBs,

Just went for my checkup this pm. will be 35 wks tomorrow. My gal is 2615g. finally saw her face today as the previous scan, her back was facing us. I have put on 1.4 kg within 2 wks. So far total wt put on 8-9kg.

Sofy pads
=========

Waston @ Compass Pt still has stock of the 8pcs pad. I was there after my checkup.

another bz mth end today! just got time to login again to briefly go thru the thread.

wendy,
i heard shangri-la's buffet is nice but also ex but the feedback is really nice. me not a food person n have not personally tried it so cannot comment but u can check it out ba...

vivian,
ya. better stay at home if raining. tks for sharing SIL's birth story. i really cant wait to hear birth stories from mummies here. getting so excited liao.

babybemen,
dun worry too much since gynae closely monitoring you.

jasmine,
no prob. just let me know or you can even call me on sat. u have my mobile? anyway i will definitely make reservations for more since we all preggies and need more space... hee hee...

rzz(mum23), may,
kao_welcome2.gif

rzz(mum23)
dunno worry too much abt the weight lah. the column acutally meant for bb's weight at birth but since nothing to post right now so i added the weight at each visit lor. so dun worry ok

Wow the thread move really fast , got a hard time to catch up.

All the pretty mummies,
May i know any of you buying the kotex maternity pad? the one with string ? heard sis in law using and buy a few packet. open up and really shock.. dun know how to use leh . Call my mum and she said need to buy string to tie around our waist, so funny , never heard tt before ..

MummyToBabyCaleb,
Tks for effort for doing the chart . ..you really "you xin"..my bb is 1.64kg at week 30. She can really MOVE now man, turning my tummy up side down

vivian,
Sends my regards to SIL. its really lucky to get the baby out in time .Now a little bit worried of the umbilical cord.But come to think of it , its really not in our control hor
By the way, any of you stop work already since all of you EDD before me ? i already stop work liao thou my due date is end of Nov . My hubby keep bugging me to stay at home . Rest for 2 days and my feet water retention was gone, ....really painful when walking w the elephant feet like 2 tree trunk like that , brushing against one another.kekeke

Just wanna check anyone here intend to look after the baby yourself or in laws helping out ?

Hello Crystallized, Rzz, Mummie of Rhys,Selina,

Thanks for your concern.
Me now getting mentally prepared that i might get induce by this sat or sun.
Or even if can drag a little longer, might be next week liao...

Hope i still can come back and update u all.