(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Janice,
Maybe to be safe, go back after 3 weeks bah. Chicken pox is contagious nearer to the end of recovery of the patient. Get someone to go over your place one day earlier to open up all windows for sunlight and fresh air to shine in.
As for washing machine, if you feel safe to run it once with dettol, go ahead. But, how abt the rest of the stuff like furnitures, utensils etc ah?

Regarding the vagina loose issue, dun think so. Cos gynae gotta stitch it leh. Most feedback is vagina tightness for the first few times for sex. Pelvix bone will be expanded by a few inches instead.

janice,
i heard the dried scaps contagious so i think better not go back first lah. b4 u go back, ask your mum or someone to go ahead a few days to open the windows at home to let fresh air in first ba... not sure abt disinfecting washing machine but mayb run it once using higher temp water to kill the bacteria before you wash bb's clothes with it lor. mayb other mummies got better suggestions.

heard of the thing abt vaginal being loose after natural birth but i think even without natural will also loose when we age so i think the pelvic floor exercise might help a little too... otherwise ask gynae to sew and make it smaller lor...

Selina,
Thank you for organising the gathering. I'm OK with both dates.

Now sometimes feel tailbone pain like u. Mayb cos getting heavier and the body weight pressing on the bum when sit too long?

I bought an underwire nursing bra (Impressions) from Metro at $14.90. Plus the optional bra padding is additional $6.50.

janice,
noted your attendance. jenny has a point. the furnitures etc. utensils wise u can soak them using boiling water first lor. as for furniture, not sure if you can get someone to help u clean them using dettol.

my tailbone pain still here n getting worst as my boy grows. sit too long pain, stand too long pain, sleep too long also pain... i oso dunno what to do now lah... just let it pain lor. a bit immune to it liao.

jenny,
showed hb the fridge on the go webby and he went thru the cooling technology n said might not be advisable to get it as the temp will drop after a while... so think will not be getting it already.

Jenny, Selina,
Hahaha.. u both are twins ah? got brain frequency leh.
Ya lor, also think that's y forum always comment whose gynae's stitching is good etc.

Er.. dun think my washing machine can increase temp leh. My hubby will be back in 3 weeks and baby's EDD is 17 Oct. Dunno if safe to do confinement in our house or not. Actually we have another tenant leh. Though she had chicken pox before, sekali *TOUCH WOOD* she gets infected after this tenant. Wah....

Gemini,
My 1st one was thru' c-section and Dr Ho feels that it's safer for me to undergo c-section this time round cos of the risk that uterus may tear during natural birth. However, i wanted to explore the possibility of natural birth this time round so that recovery can be faster. C-section would mean that i can't even carry my elder one for at least 3 mths.
So he told me that he'll discuss with me at the coming growth scan. If bb is too big (which i don't think so) he will also not consider natural birth for me. So i'll see how it goes this friday.

crystallized,
ya lor, somehow i always feel i short-changed #2 in terms of attention given. i try to make up for it by having my boy sayang and kiss his mei-mei everyday. in that way, i kill 2 birds with one stone, spend time with both of them at the same time. haha! and hopefully bb can also hear and form an attachment to her gor-gor.

Jenny
Yah not a sgl pack left lor. din check out the sample pack though. forgot abt it. is the sample pack any cheaper?
yah i will try watson's other branches. if really dun hv, then get fr NTUC lor. Boh bian. u managed to get only 3 packs so far huh? Yah man, 1 pack save $0.50, 10 packs save $5 liao. alot man! i getting more auntie liao. kekeke

Janice
eeee, better dun take chances. dun share the washing machine or anything tt the person has come into contact wif.

heard abt our V being loose aft delivery. but since jenny said its ok, think shld b fine bah.

Selina
u so funny!!!!
ask the gynae to sew and make it smaller?! kekeke

BBgrace,
yah i think ur idea is gd, to make ur boy bond wif his sis b4 she arrives. its easier 4 him to accept her when she pops. i read abt jealously and always wondered how wld i handle it. i think wat u r doing is great. really killing 2 birds wif 1 stone.

Crystallized,
I think I bought 2 packs at first @ $2.50 each from Toa Payoh. Then when I saw the hougang store selling @ $2.30 each, I bought another 3 packs i think. Coz 1 pack only have 8 pcs so I was thinking can buy a few more. My friend still told me NOT ENUFF one somemore... See how lor. I also dun want my hb to go buy lah... so malu... :p

I find sofy not bad lah.. before I switch to tampons (to me, is a THE BEST INVENTION EVER..), I always got rashes, only sofy pads are slightly better, esp. the cotton ones... extra long somemore, good for heavy flow-ers like me...

Jenny, thanks for the advice on using tampons. Think got to stick with pads for that few weeks first. Hopefully, fast fast can use back the BEST INVENTION... I dun want my rashes back... sob sob...

Selina,
Yep, agreed with your hb's point. Better to get a mini fridge for office use instead.

Janice,
Dun worry too much. Dun think so "suay" lah.
It should be safe to do confinement in Oct since now is end Aug. If washer can't increase temp, then you add a bit of dettol lor. But after the wash with dettol.

crystallized,
Bo pian, when bb arrives, will need to spend a lot of $. So gotta save savings from this little discount.
Ya lor, managed to get 3 packs only. But I still have 3 packs leftover before preggie, so now I got 6 packs. Going to stock up more.

Selina,
Oh dear, better dun ask gynae to sew to make the vagina smaller. Wait ML pain pain wor.

Vivian,
Sure not enough. Get more packs bah. Before Sofy, I was using Whisper cos it has the ultra thin pad. Now I love Softy, think and super long. Best for nite use. Sofy got the net and cotton type. I think for sensitive skin better opt for cotton one right? Cos my colleague uses cotton one for her sensitive skin.

Janice,
Oh yeap, forgot to tell you. Dun worry abt the vagina loose issue after birth. Cos I heard ppl complaining 1st ML after birth is damn painful. I find it ok lah, in fact, I find it a bit tight at first.

Vivian
Hahaha, 4 me, i oso prefer to use tampons for the 1st few days coz i got a bad habit of staining! then i switch to using pads for the last few days.

Yah lor, think our hubbies skin too thin to buy 4 us.

Jenny
Yah man, save a bit better than nothing. sometimes my hb says he cant understd wat pleasure i derived fr saving a few cents. hahaha

as 4 the part on using dettol, can u elaborate? my washing machine cannot use hot water so i gotta rely on dettol. so we use those normal dettol and pour in aft the final rinse or wat? idiot me needs guidance. thks.

hi hi ladies..
i got this birth plan from one of the threads..i guess it might be useful to u all here..cheers~

mime_msword.gif
Birth Plan
Birth Plan.doc (28.7 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Janice, so far the complain I heard from Mummies is that they experience pain when they BD for the first time. So I think need not worry abt natural delivery loosening virginal ba. i think nature is amazing, make womens' body so flexible...Can stretch and go back to normal...And like most of the ladies here said, chicken pox is most contagious towards the end, so stay away for one more wk ba.

Gathering
=========
Any HB going along? Mine will come too if there's other HB, if not will prob get him to wonder around...Sorry Selina, where's the venue again? I remember it's 3pm.
Pads
====
I bought 2 packs of M, 2 packs of Kotex(stick on), a pack of Kotex(tie string) left over from last year. And lots of whisper, so should be more than enuf ba.

Vivian, go buy toto or 4D and strike first prize must give us a treat.

jenny,
yesterday i try to pack my stuffs for delivery. then hor, i'm thinking since hospital provide loop pads, do we need to bring whole pack of M pads (20pcs) or jz bring fews will b enuf? &amp; i forgot liao, do we need to bring breast pump &amp; milk bottle to hospital? suddenly a lot of things come out in my mind...

crystallized,
i remember u said u bought nursing bra or nursing dress at impression at metro? me cant find at metro tampines lel.//

crystallized,
Tell your hb, this is nu ren de tian xing hahaha...
You know there is this dettol for washing clothes? You can pour 1/2 cup or 1 cup (the cup of the dettol), depends on how much your clothings, together with the washing powder into the washer and wash as per normal. The last round of the washer will be left with water only mah, the water will do the final rinse.

Jasmine,
I'll be bringing one pack of Sofy (8 pcs) to hospital only. If really not enough, then buy from the stores at the hospital, if not get extra from hospital and pay for it lor. No need to bring the whole pack of M pads lah, so bulky.
No need to bring breast pump and milk bottle. 1st few days no milkflow. That time I called hb to bring over cos I stayed for 5 days and milkflow came in on the 4th day.

<font color="ff0000">
Delivery Bag
For Mothers
- Breast Pads, at least 4 pairs if using 2 pairs per day
- 1 pack of Maternity or normal Pads
- 2 sets of nite gowns
- 1 pack of disposable panties
- nursing bras
- new sets of clothings for discharge
- socks (especially for c-section mummies)
- sweater
- slippers
- HP + charger
- camera/vid cam + charger

For Baby (Those giving birth at TMC, don't need to bring BB stuff)
- new sets of clothings for discharge
- Mittens
- Booties
- Receiving blacket

For Daddy who are staying over in hospital
- clothings, towels, slipper, toiletries etc
- sweater (Very impt cos delivery room is very cold, must bring even not staying over)

Did I left out anything???

Other than preparing on what to pack in the hospital bag, you all may wish to take note of the following:

1. Don't wear any jewellery, not even earrings. In my final month, i stopped wearing necklace, earrings and rings in case i got to go to hospital anytime.

2. No nail polish on nails.

All these are in case you end up having c-section.
i went to hospital without jewellery and watch but i forgot about the nail polish on my toes. So when i had to undergo emergency c-section, the midwife had to use nail polish remover at the last minute before they wheeled me into the op theatre.

Jenny,
Dun forget those lab reports and most imptly, the pre-natal receipts for claiming medisave...

Those who need relaxation, can bring your ipod and your fav music...

Oh yes, Vivian,

Also need to bring:
<font color="ff0000">

- Marriage Cert (if you wanna register BB BC at hospital)
- Parents IC
- Admission Letter from gynae
- All bills from the gynae checkup (To claim $$$ from Medisave)

Yes, like what babygrace mentioned. No nail polish and jewellaries and watches. All have to remove when you enter delivery room

jenny,
thanks for the details info. most of the things u listed i oredi packed into my bag. leftover nite gowns cos wanna find those cheap &amp; nice front button one. hehe... tat's y last nite look at the M pads, &amp; thinking so bulky how to bring the whole pack? afraid not enuf coz someone said hospital will charge very expensive for the pads.
bt, for the new sets of clothings fo discharge, shall we bring our maternity dress coz i dun think our tummy will totally flat hor?
for baby, tat's the things need to bring, rite? the mittens &amp; booties is use when discharge, so 1 pair shld b enuf, rite?
sorry for asking so many quetions becoz no one can check wif.
thousand thanks....

Jasmine,
You are right
New set of clothings for Mummy got to be maternity clothing, cos tummy will be like 3 to 4 mths preggie

Yes, hospital charge ex for the pads, but if really not enough then get from them lor. If not, ask someone who is going to visit you to buy 1 pack. You can also get the pads from the store at the lobby of the hospital. You giving birth at Raffles Hospital right? The most ask your hb to walk over to Bugis Juction Cold Storage to buy lor

Yes, basically for bb stuff, that's about it. Some ppl will bring a cap/hat to cover bb's head. But receiving blanket has a hood to cover bb's head already. 1 pair of mittens and booties is enough. You may want to note an infant carseat is required if you drive. But most ppl hand carry lah. For me, I will ensure there's an infant carseat in the boot if hand carry. In case kena check by TP. In most cases, if there's carseat, TP will close one eye.

You may also like to note for day of discharge. Beside having hb around to help, you may like to get 1 or 2 more relatives/friends to help to carry stuff. (Not sure for Raffles Hospital lah, cos I remembered Wendy mentioned RH dun give free stuff.)
1 can help to carry bb, while 1 or 2 to help to carry stuff home. There may be stuff like free stuff from hospital, hospital bags, gifts from your friends etc. Mummy, best to relax and just dun take anything hahaha

jasmine
mayb the one in tampines dun hv. bought mine at Causeway Pt. check out Paragon branch mayb? they shld hv. the brand is fr impressions.

jenny
washing powder can mix wif dettol ah? i thot better dun mix. anyway the pigeon washing powder smells horrid.
dunno why when i initially bot it, it smells heavenly leh. luckily i nvr stock up. am gg to switch to liquid detergent liao.

if dun wanna register BB birth cert, then no need to bring marriage cert yet right? coz we def wun register immed.

we dun carry the baby on the day of discharge meh? i thot baby is carried by us leh. i find it v irritating to hv so many pple accompanying on the day of discharge leh.

BBgrace
thks 4 reminding on no jewellery. i was quite puzzled oso initially. but aft u said scully end up emergency c-section, i got it.

I heard another 2 cases of chicken pox! One of them is 60 year old ++ uncle hor! SO <font color="ff0000">PLEASE BE EXTRA CAREFUL!</font>

jenny,
thanks thanks for ur info.
now me going to weeks 35, hb said his feeling is excited but i said my feeling is anxious.
so, we hav to prepared for it. yes, i will giv birth at RH. will ask hb go to buy those things still lack but better to bring enuf things , if not he oso panic. hehe....

Jasmine
u pack abt 5 maternity pads 1st lah. no need bring the whole pack. then if really not enuff, ask ur hb to come home and bring 4 u. moreover hospital provides the pads, so the ones u bring is for juz in case not enuff.

hi cystallize,
mayb i shall doucle confirm this weekend. if not, jz bought frm those neighbourhood shop lor.
i jz open the washing powder this morning. the smells ok arr...i wun stock up too. .. coz thinking of swift to those adult washng powder after finish this 1kg pack.
i think jenny is rite. like my case, when i discharge frm RH, sure PIL will follow coz FIL is driving. at least someone can help hb to carry the stuffs. of cause we r the one carry our precious baby la.

jasmine
i wun switch to adult detergent so fast leh. dun think its a wise decision. i cant rem why liao.

4 my case, my hb might b driving, so no need PILs to follow mah. anyway i was thinking to take cab back lah. so troublesome. i dun like to hv so many pple ard. v irritating to me.

crystallized,
Can mix lah. I've been mixing for years. Those wat softener also liquid form wat.
Anyway this is the pic of the dettol for washing clothes.
501659.jpg

Ha, your hormones is acting... so you find the powder smelly.
Ya, if dun wan to register bb's BC immediately, then no need to bring marriage cert.
Up to you lah, more ppl can help to carry bb and stuff. Sometimes mothers still weak mah. (I kena wheeled out on the day of discharge, dun even have strength to walk, let alone carry bb.)
Actually not for c-section case, normal delivery also cannot wear jewellary. Remembered, my waterbag burst at midnite 12+? Ended, I took off all my jewellaries and removed my nail polish at 3am+.

Jasmine,
Most impt, dun throw those pad packaging. Ask hb to bring along to compare in case he buys the wrong one haha...

crystallized, jasmine,
Actually for my No. 1, I din use bb washing powder to wash her clothes. I started off with adult washing powder immediately. Just dun put so much, a little bit will do.

hi hi jenny &amp; babygrace..
thks for sharing on the packing stuff for hospital..ya, Raffles Hospital only give free milk samples..nothing else..so i think Jasmine &amp; myself will have the most barang barang..kekeke...oh ya, ask u hor, for nursing bras, do we buy a size bigger coz we will most likely be using breastpads, so i duno if we buy actual size to fit us, will it be too tight..hmm..

Janice,
I do not think the vagina will be more if natural birth cos my friends hubby commend more tight cos gynae got stitch back mah.

In 10more days, I will be in my 36weeks, that the time I will give birth anytime.
Really cannot tanhan this few days, the menses kind of pain on and off non-stop and did not have a good sleep for sometime liao.

Hi bbgrace,

I see. ur 1st one is by c-section. That explains why ur 2nd one may have to be c-section. Dun worry about not showing enuff care on ur 2nd one, after she is born, you can then make up for it.

Hi vivian,

i find that the toiletries shop at Hougang may not be so cheap for everything, i prefer to go to those toiletries shop in Chinatown. But again, the few cents saved may not make up for the distance travelled down to Chinatown, unless u are in the area.

Hi jasmine,

I was thinking of what clothes to bring for our discharge this morning. Same thinking, i can only think of our maternity dress as I dun think we can fit into our normal clothes, even of a bigger size.

Do you all always feel BB kicks or it is more like wriggling type of feeling, like BB is shifting his position slightly with some real kicks periodically?

jenny,
tat's y...this mrng my MIL wanna help me to wash all the hand-me-down bb clothes (she hand wash). then i take out the bb washing powder lal. my FIL saw &amp; joke tat nowday anything oso hav even bb washing powder oso different.
but then i oso told hb think can change to normal washing powder like u, my sis oso use the adult washing powder to wash bb clothes, only things is she soap &amp; wash separate wif adult clothes.

wendy,
yeah....i think both of us hav a lot of barabgs to bring. but like wa jenny said, RH is so near to bugis junction. if anything still lack, ask hb to go &amp; buy lor.
while packing my stuffs last nite, suddnly ask my hb will me &amp; u deliver on same day...hehe

Weikuan,
I think it's the wound part that'll heal back. So even if gynae stitch smaller, also will be back to our normal size ba. My logic lah.

Wow.. very fast hor. We're going to be mummies very soon!

Jenny,
Will the stitching thread melt by itself? Or we need to go back to let gynae remove? Ermm.. when can we start to ML after birth?

Wendy,
I just bought an underwire nursing bra which fits me nicely. Dun think our breasts will grow somemore ba. The nursing bra is soft material. Can insert either padding or those disposable pads. Enough space lah. Looks better with padding. Otherwise can see a machine line running along the middle of the bra cup. Very ugly if u wear thin clothes leh.

hi gemini,
yeah...dun think can wear our previous dress. so, maternity dress is the good choice. i think dress still better than pants, rite?

Jenny
dun think its my hormones leh, coz my hb was the 1st one tt complained the powder how come so smelly? he asked if it has gone bad!!!
so funny!

anyway i will finish it and move on to liquid one lah.

wah this dettol detergent quite exp rite? think its $6+... i thot buy those undiluted ones (multi purpose) can use 4 washing fl, tiles etc.

i dunno lah, on the day of discharge, i see how many pple gonna come and "escort" me and baby.

no jewellery ah? i feel so empty one leh. think i remove in hospital bah.

jasmine
i asked my hb if we can bring the small trolley travelling bag anot, coz i can forsee i am gonna stuff alot of things inside! hahaha
so u r not the only one!

Wei Kuan
mayb ur feet got water retention so it hurts when u walk? 4 me, it hurts only when i am stationary in tt position for too long.

hi hi jenny..
okok..thks ahh..since breastpads are very thin then i guess i will buy actual size to fit me ba..coz i m sure aft that, i dun think the bras can fit me lor..thks hor..

hi hi jasmine..
just use the washing powder u bought to wash baby's clothes ba..since u bought liao..dun waste lor..maybe for 1st round, use then for 2nd round onwards, u see how MIL want to wash for u lah..i dun think we will deliver at the same date..coz i hv been telling my boy to come out on a date..haha..so that i dun have to do mth-end closing..haha..

hi hi janice..
oh..u bought with underwired ones ahh..hmm..actually i already bought 3 pcs..also wearing them now..just that i was thinking if i shd get another 2 more lor..at least can have spare also better..dun think i will be getting the underwired ones..coz i sweat by free..so ahh..it will be too thick for me for the underwired ones..thks ahh..thks..

Rhythm beat from tummy?
=======================

can't sleep again these 2 days, feel something like rhythm beat from tummy, like heart pounding after a run. hb put hand on tummy can also feel it pounding. It continue like a few mins, anyone also feel something like this?

Weikuan,
U feel the pressure down there? But do u feel pelvic bone aching? I'm feeling that these few days. Especially when walking to work in the morning. Wonder is it because baby's getting engaged?

I feel foot pain too. Looking for shoes to wear leh. Selina and Jenny wearing crocs. But i can't wear to work.

I'm getting water retention. Very obvious as many ppl commented lor. Pain when walking or get out of bed in morning.

Wendy,
wah u bought so many ah. I only bought 1 so far. The underwired one is cotton cloth type, no pad one. Definately can absorb sweat. I'm used to underwired bras, more support.

Jasmine, but some people say confinement must wear long pants...

Wei Kuan I had foot pain but prob I stand and walk too much last 2 days.

crystallized,
last nite i packed my stuffs into a tote bag, &amp; it's full but i still hav things haven pack into. hehe...will change my bag to a bigger one. if not, other thna tote bag, hav to bring a paper bag too. too troble liao....
u bring trolley travelling bag arr? good idea lel. i got a small one. will see how tonite. later hb say i siao liao..am i going to deliver or travel?

wendy,
oo.no wonder u r telling me we wun deliver on same date. 'naughty' arr..
no, wat i mean is i will finish this 1kg pack of washing powder 1st. aftertat, wun buy the bb washing powder &amp; will use normal washing powder same as adult use.
actually hor, i will work till 30/9. so, no need to do sept closing too..hehe. oso telling my boy come out within the week so tat mummy no need to waste so much maternity leave &amp; can accompany him more after he born.